DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the restraint for the knees at the side part of the seat cushion (claim 11) in addition to the restraint from the seat back (claim 1 in which it depends) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by E. Capener, U.S. 3,623,768 (“Capener”). Capener discloses a vehicle occupant protection device (column 1, line 5) comprising:
a vehicle seat (10 - 13); and
one or more restraint units (15, 16) for restraining an occupant (passenger 11) seated in the vehicle seat in the event of a vehicle emergency (impact), wherein the seat has a seat cushion part that supports the buttocks of the occupant and a seat back part (12) that supports the back of the occupant, and the restraint unit is configured to dynamically deform from a peripheral portion of the seat back part (fig. 2) to wrap around in front of the occupant in the event of a vehicle emergency (impact), thereby restraining the occupant.
In reference to claims 2, 3, and 10, Capener further discloses [[claim 2]] wherein the restraint unit is dynamically deformed so as to wrap around the peripheral portion of the seat back part to the front of the occupant in the event of a vehicle emergency (impact), thereby restraining the upper body or head of the occupant;
[[claim 3]] further comprising an impact absorbing mechanism (12, 15, 16, 25) that absorbs impact when the restraint unit restrains the upper body or head of the occupant, and the impact absorbing mechanism causes one or both of the seat cushion part and the seat back part (15, 16) to move forward in conjunction with the dynamic deformation of the restraint unit in the event of a vehicle emergency (impact);
[[claim 10]] wherein a plurality of the one or more restraining units (15, 16, 25) are provided, and a pair of the plurality of restraining units (15, 16) are provided so as to be positioned on each of the peripheral portions on both sides of the seat back part in the width direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capener in view of L. Zhang, CN 110775085 (“Zhang”). Capener does not disclose the impact absorbing mechanism (12, 15, 16, 25) including a weakened part provided on a frame of the seat back portion. Zhang teaches an impact absorbing mechanism (fig. 7) including a weakened part (between 1, 21, and 22) provided on a frame (hinge(s)), the weakened part deforming so as to cause the seat back portion to move forward in conjunction with the dynamic deformation of the restraint unit in the event of a vehicle emergency (fig. 7B). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Capener such that it comprised the weakened part in view of the teachings of Zhang obvious so as to generate torque, allowing each section to fold forward and protect both the seated passenger and a passenger in the immediate adjacent row (page 9, 4th paragraph beginning with “According to a still further embodiment …”).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capener in view of Aikin et al. U.S. 10,518,674 (“Aikin”). Capener does not disclose the impact absorbing mechanism including a seat slider unit. Aikin teaches an impact absorbing mechanism (216, column 4, line 50) including a seat slider unit (220) that is provided on a floor of the vehicle (fig. 6) and supports the seat cushion part (218), and the seat slider unit causes the seat cushion part to move forward in conjunction with dynamic deformation of the restraint unit in the event of a vehicle emergency (column 5, line 10). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Capener such that it comprises the seat slider unit in view of the teachings of Aikin obvious so as to allow the seat to move in response to an output signal prior to a collision to efficiently decelerate the occupant based on the forces generated against the occupant by the collision (column 5, line 50).
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capener in view of Masuda et al. U.S. 2019/0389414 (“Masuda”). Capener discloses wherein in the event of a vehicle emergency (impact), the restraint unit is dynamically deformed so as to extend forward from a side part of the seat (fig. 1), but does not disclose [[claim 11]] it at a cushion part and bend inward in the width direction of the seat cushion part to restrain the occupant near the knees from the front. Masuda teaches a restraint unit (30) dynamically deformed so as to extend forward from a side part at a cushion part of the seat (31, 36) and bend inward in the width direction of the seat cushion part to restrain the occupant near the knees from the front (fig. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Capener such that it comprised the restraint unit near the knees in view of the teachings of Masuda obvious so as to restrain the lower part of the body of an occupant from moving forward in the event of a collision of the vehicle (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 9 and 12 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art references do not disclose or teach a vehicle occupant protection device comprising, inter alia, [[claims 6 and 12]] a restraint unit having a plurality of restraint blocks connected so as to be aligned in the front-to back direction of a seat back in a non-operation state, and all or some of the plurality of restraint blocks have a tapered portion on the seat back part side (see fig. 3 – 5).
Conclusion
KAREN BECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614