DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 6/3/2025. Claims 1-11 are currently amended. Claims 12-19 are newly added. No claims have been canceled. Presently, claims 1-19 are pending.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 10, it is noted that applicant presented amendments to claims 1-3, 5 and 10 and improperly identified the claim as “Original”.
Applicant is reminded of the proper procedure 37 CFR 1.121 in making amendments to claims. For the purpose of this action only, the improper claim status identifier "Original" will be overlooked. Failure to follow the procedures set forth in 37 CFR1.121 for future amendments will result in a non-compliant action and thus unnecessarily furthering prosecution.
Proper status identifiers must be used (i.e., (Original), (Previously Presented), (Currently Amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (New) or (Not Entered)) for each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim (see MPEP 714). Otherwise, the amendment may be considered non-compliant.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 6/3/2025 and 10/15/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/3/2025. These drawings are not acceptable.
The drawings (see at least figures 1a, 1b, 5 and 6) are objected to because the drawings lack appropriate cross-hatchings.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) are required in this application because “hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object...”, see MPEP 608.02, IX, drawing symbols chart .
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2016/0217976 A1) in view of Tashiro et al. (US 12211674).
Regarding claim 1, the Uemura et al. reference discloses a reaction chamber (see figure 3) applied to a wafer etching device, comprising:
a chamber body (it is considered that the elements 230, 203, 204, 242, 250 and 260 constitutes a chamber body) comprising a top plate (203) and a bottom plate (260) disposed oppositely in a vertical direction, wherein the top plate (202) is provided with an inlet port (203; a plurality of process gas introducing holes are provided in the plate 203; see paragraph [0046]), the bottom plate (260) is provided with a pumping port (exhaust pump 270 is connected to the pumping port of the bottom plate 260), a wafer stage (241) is provided between the inlet port and the pumping port (see figure 3), and a pumping region (see “pumping region” in the annotated figure 3 below) is formed between an inner wall of the chamber body and the wafer stage (241);
a first support part (242) disposed between the inner wall of the chamber body and the wafer stage (241; see figure 2B); and
a pumping part comprising a valve plate (261), wherein the valve plate (261) is disposed inside the chamber body (see figure 3).
The Uemura et al. reference does not disclose wherein the pumping part includes a valve core in combination with the valve plate, wherein the valve plate is disposed inside the chamber body and connected to a first end of the valve core, a second end of the valve core is liftably inserted into the pumping port, and when the valve core is in a first working position, a first annulus is formed between the valve plate and the bottom plate; and a second annulus is formed between the valve core and the pumping port;
wherein the first annulus, the second annulus, and the pumping region are disposed coaxially.
However, the Tashiro et al. reference teaches an apparatus for treating substrates including a pumping part comprising a valve plate (208a) and a valve core (208c), wherein the valve plate (208a) is disposed inside the chamber body (see figure 1) and connected to a first end of the valve core (208c), a second end of the valve core (208c) is liftably inserted into the pumping port (215), and when the valve core (208c) is in a first working position (see the position depicted in figure 6), a first annulus (see “first annulus” in the annotated figure 6 below) is formed between the valve plate (208a) and the bottom plate (210); and a second annulus (see “second annulus” in the annotated figure 6 below) is formed between the valve core (208c) and the pumping port (215);
wherein the first annulus, the second annulus, and the pumping region are disposed coaxially (see figure 1);
wherein the valve core permits the fluctuation of the conductance of the exhaust through the exhaust opening while the accuracy in the adjustment of the exhaust can be improved (see at least col. 6, lines 19-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the pumping part of the Uemura et al. reference with a valve core as taught by the Tashiro et al. reference in order to permit the fluctuation of the conductance of the exhaust through the exhaust opening while the accuracy in the adjustment of the exhaust can be improved.
In regards to claim 2, the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the pumping part further comprises a valve body (Tashiro et al.: 215a) disposed outside the chamber body (Tashiro et al.: 209) and connected to the pumping port (Tashiro et al.: 215), the second end of the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) is liftably inserted into the pumping port (Tashiro et al.: 215) and the valve body (Tashiro et al.: 215a), and the second annulus (Tashiro et al.: see “second annulus”) is formed between the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) and the pumping port (Tashiro et al.: 215), and between the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) and an inner wall of the valve body (Tashiro et al.: 215a).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the pumping part further comprises a pump body (Tashiro et al.: 213) connected to the pumping port (Tashiro et al.: 215) via the valve body.
In regards to claim 4, the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) is in a second working position (Tashiro et al.: considered the position depicted in figure 7; Uemura et al.: see the position of the valve plate 261 as depicted in figure 5B), the valve plate (Uemura et al.: 261) contacts the bottom plate to close the pumping port (Uemura et al.: see figure 5B).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses a seal ring (Tashiro et al.: 305) provided at the pumping port (Tashiro et al.: 215; it is considered that the seal 305 on the valve plate 208a is located at the pumping port 215 when the valve plate 208a seals the pumping port), wherein when the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) is in the second working position, the valve plate (Tashiro et al.: 208a) contacts the seal ring (Tashiro et al.: 305).
In regards to claim 6, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein a plurality of first support parts (Uemura et al.: 242) are provided and uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the wafer stage (Uemura et al.: 241; see figure 2B for the first support parts 242 being uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the wafer stage 241).
In regards to claim 7, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference does not expressly disclose wherein a cross section of each first support part in a horizontal direction has a width being one tenth to one half of a radius of the wafer stage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference to have a cross section of each first support part in a horizontal direction has a width being one tenth to one half of a radius of the wafer stage since it has been held that “where the only different between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference would not operate differently with the claimed width of the cross section of each first support part in a horizontal direction and would provide a desired interaction with the fluid flow to the pumping part when the fluid is to exhausted through the pumping part.
In regards to claim 8, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) has a tubular structure (Uemura et al.: see figure 4 for the first support part 242 having an opening therethrough defining a tubular structure), a first port of the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) is communicated with the chamber body (Uemura et al.: 230, 250; see figure 4), and a second port of the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) is communicated with the wafer stage (Uemura et al.: see figure 4 wherein the connections through the tubular part are connected to the wafer stage 241).
In regards to claim 9, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses a first jacking mechanism (Uemura et al.: 262) comprising a first tubular body (Uemura et al.: considered the portion of 262 that is located below the plate 260) and a rod body (Uemura et al.: considered the rod that extends through an opening in the plate 260 and connects to the plate 261), wherein the first tubular body is connected to the bottom plate (Uemura et al.: 260; see figure 3), one end of the rod body is slidably inserted into the first tubular body (Uemura et al.: see figure 3 for the rod being extended from the first tubular body and see figure 5B for the rod being received within the first tubular body), the other end of the rod body extends into the chamber body to be connected to the valve plate (Uemura et al.: 261), and the rod body is configured to drive the valve plate and the valve core to make lifting movement (Uemura et al.: see at least paragraph [0050]).
In regards to claim 10, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses a plurality of first jacking mechanisms (Uemura et al.: 262) uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the valve plate (Uemura et al.: see figure 3 for at least two first jacking mechanisms 262 being uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the valve plate 261).
Regarding claim 11, the Uemura et al. reference discloses a wafer etching device (see figure 3) comprising:
a reaction chamber (the wafer 300 is received within the reaction chamber) comprising:
a chamber body (it is considered that the elements 230, 203, 204, 242, 250 and 260 constitutes a chamber body) comprising a top plate (203) and a bottom plate (260) disposed oppositely in a vertical direction, wherein the top plate (202) is provided with an inlet port (203; a plurality of process gas introducing holes are provided in the plate 203; see paragraph [0046]), the bottom plate (260) is provided with a pumping port (exhaust pump 270 is connected to the pumping port of the bottom plate 260), a wafer stage (241) is provided between the inlet port and the pumping port (see figure 3), and a pumping region (see “pumping region” in the annotated figure 3 below) is formed between an inner wall of the chamber body and the wafer stage (241);
a first support part (242) disposed between the inner wall of the chamber body and the wafer stage (241; see figure 2B); and
a pumping part comprising a valve plate (261), wherein the valve plate (261) is disposed inside the chamber body (see figure 3).
The Uemura et al. reference does not disclose wherein the pumping part includes a valve core in combination with the valve plate, wherein the valve plate is disposed inside the chamber body and connected to a first end of the valve core, a second end of the valve core is liftably inserted into the pumping port, and when the valve core is in a first working position, a first annulus is formed between the valve plate and the bottom plate; and a second annulus is formed between the valve core and the pumping port;
wherein the first annulus, the second annulus, and the pumping region are disposed coaxially.
However, the Tashiro et al. reference teaches an apparatus for treating substrates including a pumping part comprising a valve plate (208a) and a valve core (208c), wherein the valve plate (208a) is disposed inside the chamber body (see figure 1) and connected to a first end of the valve core (208c), a second end of the valve core (208c) is liftably inserted into the pumping port (215), and when the valve core (208c) is in a first working position (see the position depicted in figure 6), a first annulus (see “first annulus” in the annotated figure 6 below) is formed between the valve plate (208a) and the bottom plate (210); and a second annulus (see “second annulus” in the annotated figure 6 below) is formed between the valve core (208c) and the pumping port (215);
wherein the first annulus, the second annulus, and the pumping region are disposed coaxially (see figure 1);
wherein the valve core permits the fluctuation of the conductance of the exhaust through the exhaust opening while the accuracy in the adjustment of the exhaust can be improved (see at least col. 6, lines 19-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the pumping part of the Uemura et al. reference with a valve core as taught by the Tashiro et al. reference in order to permit the fluctuation of the conductance of the exhaust through the exhaust opening while the accuracy in the adjustment of the exhaust can be improved.
In regards to claim 12, the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) is in a second working position (Tashiro et al.: considered the position depicted in figure 7; Uemura et al.: see the position of the valve plate 261 as depicted in figure 5B), the valve plate (Uemura et al.: 261) contacts the bottom plate to close the pumping port (Uemura et al.: see figure 5B).
In regards to claim 13, the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the valve core (Tashiro et al.: 208c) is in a second working position (Tashiro et al.: considered the position depicted in figure 7; Uemura et al.: see the position of the valve plate 261 as depicted in figure 5B), the valve plate (Uemura et al.: 261) contacts the bottom plate to close the pumping port (Uemura et al.: see figure 5B).
In regards to claim 14, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein a plurality of first support parts (Uemura et al.: 242) are provided and uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the wafer stage (Uemura et al.: 241; see figure 2B for the first support parts 242 being uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the wafer stage 241).
In regards to claim 15, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein a plurality of first support parts (Uemura et al.: 242) are provided and uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the wafer stage (Uemura et al.: 241; see figure 2B for the first support parts 242 being uniformly arranged along a circumferential direction of the wafer stage 241).
In regards to claim 16, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) has a tubular structure (Uemura et al.: see figure 4 for the first support part 242 having an opening therethrough defining a tubular structure), a first port of the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) is communicated with the chamber body (Uemura et al.: 230, 250; see figure 4), and a second port of the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) is communicated with the wafer stage (Uemura et al.: see figure 4 wherein the connections through the tubular part are connected to the wafer stage 241).
In regards to claim 17, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses wherein the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) has a tubular structure (Uemura et al.: see figure 4 for the first support part 242 having an opening therethrough defining a tubular structure), a first port of the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) is communicated with the chamber body (Uemura et al.: 230, 250; see figure 4), and a second port of the first support part (Uemura et al.: 242) is communicated with the wafer stage (Uemura et al.: see figure 4 wherein the connections through the tubular part are connected to the wafer stage 241).
In regards to claim 18, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses a first jacking mechanism (Uemura et al.: 262) comprising a first tubular body (Uemura et al.: considered the portion of 262 that is located below the plate 260) and a rod body (Uemura et al.: considered the rod that extends through an opening in the plate 260 and connects to the plate 261), wherein the first tubular body is connected to the bottom plate (Uemura et al.: 260; see figure 3), one end of the rod body is slidably inserted into the first tubular body (Uemura et al.: see figure 3 for the rod being extended from the first tubular body and see figure 5B for the rod being received within the first tubular body), the other end of the rod body extends into the chamber body to be connected to the valve plate (Uemura et al.: 261), and the rod body is configured to drive the valve plate and the valve core to make lifting movement (Uemura et al.: see at least paragraph [0050]).
In regards to claim 19, the Uemura et al. reference of the combination of the Uemura et al. reference and the Tashiro et al. reference discloses a first jacking mechanism (Uemura et al.: 262) comprising a first tubular body (Uemura et al.: considered the portion of 262 that is located below the plate 260) and a rod body (Uemura et al.: considered the rod that extends through an opening in the plate 260 and connects to the plate 261), wherein the first tubular body is connected to the bottom plate (Uemura et al.: 260; see figure 3), one end of the rod body is slidably inserted into the first tubular body (Uemura et al.: see figure 3 for the rod being extended from the first tubular body and see figure 5B for the rod being received within the first tubular body), the other end of the rod body extends into the chamber body to be connected to the valve plate (Uemura et al.: 261), and the rod body is configured to drive the valve plate and the valve core to make lifting movement (Uemura et al.: see at least paragraph [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 12211675), Lee et al. (US 11946138), Sakurai et al. (US 7328881), and Kusumoto et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2002/0134441) disclose various assemblies having a valve member having a valve plate and a valve core that is received within an opening that can be sealed by the valve plate.
Lai et al. (US 6364958), Yu et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0290581), Azumano (US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0105507), and Matsuura et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0061619) disclose various chamber assemblies having first support parts that support a wafer stage.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753