DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: fuel first should be first fuel. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to analysis without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) stating “a claim to ‘collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis’ where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind.” The claims describe a mental process that could be done by mind or using pen and paper by first obtaining data, then calculating and analyzing with that data, and then displaying the output through the positioning of the wheels. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it is “[g]enerally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” MPEP 2106.04(d)(l). Here, the terms “at least one ignition assist device,” and “fuel” and “sensor” are merely applying the collecting information, analyzing, and outputting in the ignition field of use. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are “[g]enerally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.” MPEP 2106.05(l)(A). Accordingly, the claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Leone reference (US Patent Publication No. 2009/0282810).
6. Regarding claim 1, the Leone reference discloses:
a system (FIG. 1), comprising:
at least one ignition assist device (190);
a controller (12) coupled to the at least one ignition assist device (190) [Paragraph 0017], the controller (12) configured to:
receive fuel data [Paragraph 0027] for an engine (10) coupled to the at least one ignition assist device (190), the fuel data comprising a value regarding at least one of a first fuel
or a second fuel for the engine [Paragraph 0023 & 0027], the first fuel differing from the second fuel [Paragraph 0023];
determine that the value regarding the at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel is greater than a predefined threshold [Paragraph 0029—operating close to knock limits]; and adjust at least one parameter of the at least one ignition assist device based on the determined value being greater than the predefined threshold [Paragraph 0029—retarding spark timing].
7. Regarding claim 2, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the controller (12) is further configured to: receive a signal from a knock sensor indicative of an engine knock or misfire
condition [Paragraphs 0028-0029]; and
initiate, in response to receiving the signal, another adjustment of the at least
one parameter of the at least one ignition assist device using a configuration setting of a
plurality of configuration settings for the at least one ignition assist device [Paragraph 0029—retarding spark timing], each of the plurality of configuration settings is associated with a
respective value regarding at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel, wherein the another adjustment decreases an injection of the first fuel or the second fuel [Paragraph 0029].
8. Regarding claim 4, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the value corresponds to an amount of the fuel first or the second fuel [Paragraph 0029—increase direct injection].
9. Regarding claim 5, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the value corresponds to a ratio regarding an amount of the first fuel relative to an amount of the second fuel [Paragraph 0029—implicit in increasing or decreasing injection that a specific ratio would be utilized].
10. Regarding claim 8, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the at least one parameter of the at least one ignition assist device comprises at least one of an ignition energy, an ignition timing, or an ignition profile of the at least one ignition assist device [Paragraph 0040].
11. Regarding claim 9, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the ignition energy comprises at least one of an amplitude or a duration of the ignition energy (inherent).
12. Regarding claim 11, the Leone reference further discloses: wherein in adjusting the at least one parameter, the controller is configured to:
reduce the ignition energy based on the value being greater than the predefined threshold; or
retard the ignition timing based on the value being greater than the predefined threshold [Paragraph 0040].
13. Regarding claim 13, the Leone reference further discloses:
a first fuel injector [Paragraph 0038--PFI injector] and a second fuel injector [Paragraph 0038—DI fuel injector], wherein the controller (12) is configured to:
receive a first signal from the first fuel injector indicating an amount of the first fuel injected into the engine [Paragraph 0035—implicit in curve mapping because the fuel delivered by the first fuel injector will be feedbacked at least indirectly by the engine operating conditions that arise]; and
receive a second signal from the second fuel injector indicating an amount of the second fuel injected into the engine [Paragraph 0035—implicit in curve mapping because the fuel
delivered by the first fuel injector will be feedbacked at least indirectly by the engine operating conditions that arise].
14. Regarding claim 14, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to at least one of:
receive a signal from a knock sensor indicative of an engine knock or misfire condition [Paragraph 0028]; and decrease, in response to receiving the signal, an injection of the first fuel or the second fuel [Paragraph 0040—decreasing injection of the first fuel type]; or identify an absence of a signal from a knock sensor indicative of an engine knock or misfire condition; and
increase, based on the absence of the signal, an injection of one of the first fuel or the second fuel.
15. Regarding claim 15, the Leone reference discloses:
a method (FIG. 2) comprising:
receiving, by a controller (12) coupled to an ignition assist device (190), fuel data [Paragraph 0027] for an engine coupled to the ignition assist device (190), the fuel data
comprising a value regarding at least one of a first fuel or a second fuel for the engine [Paragraph 0023 & 0027], the first fuel differing from the second fuel [Paragraph 0023];
determining, by the controller, that the value regarding the at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel is greater than a predefined threshold [Paragraph 0029—operating close to knock limits]; and adjusting, by the controller, at least one parameter of the ignition assist device based on the determined value being greater than the predefined threshold [Paragraph 0029—retarding spark timing].
16. Regarding claim 16, the Leone reference further discloses: receiving, by the controller (12), a signal from a knock sensor indicative of an engine knock or misfire condition [Paragraphs 0028-0029]; and initiating, by the controller, in response to receiving the signal, an adjustment of the at least one parameter of the ignition assist device using a configuration setting of a plurality of configuration settings for the ignition assist device [Paragraph 0029—retarding spark timing], each of the plurality of configuration settings is associated with a respective value regarding at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel; wherein the respective value regarding the at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel comprises at least one of an amount of the fuel first or the second fuel or a ratio regarding an amount of the first fuel relative to an amount of the second fuel [Paragraph 0029].
17. Regarding claim 17, the Leone reference further discloses: receiving, by the controller, a signal from a knock sensor indicative of an engine
knock or misfire condition [Paragraph 0028]; and
decreasing, by the controller, in response to receiving the signal, an injection of the
first fuel or the second fuel [Paragraph 0040—decreasing injection of the first fuel type]; or
identifying, by the controller, an absence of a signal from a knock sensor indicative
of an engine knock or misfire condition; and
increasing, by the controller, based on the absence of the signal, an injection of one
of the first fuel or the second fuel.
18. Regarding claim 18, the Leone reference discloses:
an apparatus (FIG. 1), comprising:
one or more processors (12—implicit); and
one or more memory devices coupled to the one or more processors (implicit), the one or more memory devices storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive fuel data [Paragraph 0027] for an engine (10) coupled to an ignition assist device (190), the fuel data comprising a value regarding at least one of a first fuel or a second fuel for the engine [Paragraph 0023 & 0027],
the first fuel differing from the second fuel [Paragraph 0023];
determine that the value regarding the at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel is greater than a predefined threshold [Paragraph 0029—operating close to knock limits]; and
adjust at least one parameter of the ignition assist device based on the determined value being greater than the predefined threshold [Paragraph 0029—retarding spark timing].
19. Regarding claim 19, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the value regarding the at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel for the engine comprises at least one of an amount of the fuel first or
the second fuel or a ratio regarding an amount of the first fuel relative to an amount of the second fuel [Paragraph 0029].
20. Regarding claim 20, the Leone reference further discloses:
wherein the at least one parameter of the ignition assist device comprises at least one of an ignition energy, an ignition timing, or an ignition profile of the ignition assist device, and wherein in adjusting the at least one parameter, the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more
processors to:
reduce the ignition energy based on the value being greater than the
predefined threshold; or
retard the ignition timing based on the value being greater than the
predefined threshold [Paragraph 0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22. Claim(s) 3, 7, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leone reference.
23. Regarding claim 3, the Leone reference fails to disclose:
wherein the controller is further configured to:
identify, subsequent to the another adjustment, an absence of another signal indicative of the engine knock or misfire condition; and
determine, in response to the absence of the another signal and based on the configuration setting used for the another adjustment, a subsequent value regarding the at
least one of the first fuel or the second fuel; or
increase, based on the absence of another signal, an injection of one of the
first fuel or the second fuel.
This is an example of a simple substitution of one known element (the presence of another signal) for another (the absence of another signal) to obtain predictable results (to increase an injection of one of the first fuel or the second fuel).
24. Regarding claim 7, the Leone reference fails to disclose:
wherein one of the first fuel or the second fuel corresponds to a hydrogen fuel. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use a hydrogen fuel as a combustible fuel for the purpose of clean burning.
25. Regarding claim 10, the Leone reference fails to disclose:
wherein the ignition profile comprises at least one of a single strike ignition or a multi-strike ignition. The examiner takes Official Notice as single strike or multi-strike ignition are notoriously well known in the art of ignition for the purpose of controlling combustion.
26. Regarding claim 12, the Leone reference fails to disclose:
wherein in adjusting the at least one parameter, the controller is further configured to:
determine that the value regarding the at least one of the first fuel or the second fuel is greater than a second predefined threshold, the second predefined threshold greater than the predefined threshold; and
adjust, based on the value being greater than the second predefined threshold, an injection amount of one of the first fuel or the second fuel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above claimed features, since it has been held that mere
duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747