DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
NOTE: Examiner’s typographical error of group 1 and group 2 claims overlapping of claim 14 do not invalidate previous restriction requirement. Applicant clearly understood the group options and was able to elect group 1.
Applicant's election with traverse of group 1, species 6 in the reply filed on 06/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed invention is drawn to the same inventive concept. This is not found persuasive as the independent claims established lack of unity as the technical features don’t make a contribution over the prior art a posteriori, as such, the species fall as well, as the genus claims cannot serve as the only unifying link. See at least Rule 13.2.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vehicle orientation machine must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230039483 A1 Strobel; Armin (hereinafter Strobel83).
Regarding claim 1, Strobel83 teaches, a vehicle recovery system comprising: a capture assembly (element 20) comprising a guide surface (element 22) and a capture passageway (element 34), the guide surface extending from the capture passageway such that a distal area defined by a perimeter of a distal edge of the guide surface (element 26 rim) is larger than a proximal area defined by a perimeter of a proximal edge of the guide surface adjacent to the capture passageway (element 35), the guide surface being angled to funnel an unmanned vehicle towards the capture passageway in response to the unmanned vehicle impacting the guide surface (fig. 10);
and a parking assembly comprising a containment device defining a vehicle receiving space (element 40), wherein the containment device is positioned such that the unmanned vehicle moves into the vehicle receiving space without requiring use of a propulsion system of the unmanned vehicle after passing through the capture passageway (fig. 9-10).
Regarding claim 10, Strobel83 teaches, the vehicle recovery system of claim 1 further comprising a net, wherein the net comprises the guide surface (element 22).
Regarding claim 13, Strobel83 teaches, the vehicle recovery system of claim 1 further comprising a vehicle orientation machine configured to automatically orient the unmanned vehicle into a desired orientation to be deposited into the vehicle receiving space of the containment device in a known orientation (fan duct element 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strobel83 as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20190241282 A1 Strobel; Armin (hereinafter known in as Strobel82).
Regarding claim 9, Strobel83 teaches, the vehicle recovery system of claim 1, but fails to teach, wherein the unmanned vehicle is a first unmanned vehicle; wherein the capture assembly comprises a vehicle queue space configured to receive and hold a second unmanned vehicle while the first unmanned vehicle is positioned within the vehicle receiving space of the containment device.
However, Strobel82 teaches, wherein the unmanned vehicle is a first unmanned vehicle; wherein the capture assembly comprises a vehicle queue space configured to receive and hold a second unmanned vehicle while the first unmanned vehicle is positioned within the vehicle receiving space of the containment device (fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recovery system taught by Strobel83 with the queue space taught by Strobel82 with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is to store a plurality UAVs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 11-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art Strobel 83 and 82 teach a vehicle capture and queue system, but they fail to teach, a control circuitry “wherein the control circuitry is configured to: detect a presence of the unmanned vehicle within the vehicle receiving space of the containment device via the vehicle presence sensor; and in response to detecting the presence of the unmanned vehicle within the vehicle receiving space of the containment device, execute a charging process comprising operably coupling the charging apparatus with the unmanned vehicle to charge an energy storage device of the unmanned vehicle via a physical electrical connection or a wireless electrical connection.” for claim 2, and “each distribution position being associated with a respective containment device of the plurality of containment devices to permit one of a plurality of unmanned vehicles to be deposited into the respective containment device; wherein the control circuitry is configured to control operation of the distribution actuator to move the movable distribution guide surface into alignment with one of the plurality of containment devices.” of claim 11.
Alone or in combination with the prior art of record, it would not have been obvious to meet the overall claim without impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642