Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “said conveyor body” in line 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leo (US 20120186945).
Regarding claim-1, Leo discloses a conveyor pulley (Para. [0028], pulley 10 at Fig.1) configured to contact a conveyor belt (Para. [0036], "conveyor belt" not shown in figures) along an imaginary semicylindrical surface Sc (Para. [0040], "imaginary semicylindrical surface" delineated by the underside of said conveyor belt, not shown in figures), the conveyor pulley (pulley 10) comprising:
a body (Para. [0028], drum 14 at Fig. 1, 2) having a cylindrical exterior surface (Para. [0029], outer surface 17 is cylindrical at Fig. 2);
a plurality of wings (Para. [0028], plurality of wings 4, 8 at Fig. 1) supported by said conveyor body (plurality of wings 4, 8 are supported by drum 14 at Fig. 1) and disposed circumferentially about said conveyor body (plurality of wings 4, 8 are disposed circumferentially about by drum 14 at Fig. 1), each wing (wing 4, 8) comprising at least a first wing portion (Para. [0028], wings 4 at Fig. 1), wherein a lower portion (Para. [0030], lower end 22 at Fig. 3) of said first wing portion (wings 4) is curved so as to complement said exterior surface (lower end 22 of wings 4 is curved to complement outer surface 17 as shown at Fig. 3).
Regarding claim-2, Leo discloses wherein each wing (wings 4, 8) further comprises at least a second wing portion (Para. [0028], wings 8 at Fig. 1), wherein a lower portion (Para. [0030], lower end 22 of wings 8 at Fig. 3) of said second wing portion (wings 8) is curved so as to complement said exterior surface (lower end 22 of wings 8 is curved to complement outer surface 17 as shown at Fig. 3).
Regarding claim-3, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is angled with respect to a line intersecting an outer end ("outer end" defined as the outer terminating end of wings 4 as shown at Fig. 9) of said first wing portion ("line" not shown in figures, defined as a line intersecting said outer end of wings 4 and parallel to axis A at Fig. 9) and parallel to an axis of rotation (Para. [0031], axis A at Fig. 9) for the conveyor pulley (said line is parallel axis A at Fig. 9).
Regarding claim-4, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) and said second wing portion (wings 8) are angled with respect to a line intersecting an outer end ("outer end" defined as the outer terminating end of wings 4 as shown at Fig. 9) of the first wing portion ("line" not shown in figures, defined as a line intersecting said outer end of wings 4 and parallel to axis A at Fig. 9; wings 4 and wings 8 are angled with respect to said line at Fig. 9) and parallel to an axis of rotation (Para. [0031], axis A at Fig. 9) for the conveyor pulley (said line is parallel axis A at Fig. 9).
Regarding claim-5, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is disposed at a non-zero angle relative to said second wing portion (wings 4 are disposed at a non-zero angle relative to wings 8 as shown at Fig. 9).
Regarding claim-6, Leo discloses wherein an upper portion (Para. [0028], contact bars 3 of wings 4 at Fig. 1) of said first wing portion (wings 4) is curved so as to complement said surface Sc (contact bars 3 of wings 4 are curved as shown at Fig. 1, 3), and wherein an upper portion (Para. [0028], contact bars 3 of wings 8 at Fig. 1) of said second wing portion (wings 8) is curved so as to complement said surface Sc (contact bars 3 of wings 8 are curved as shown at Fig. 1, 3).
Regarding claim-7, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is connected to said second wing portion (wings 4 are connected to wings 8 via reinforcing disk 15 at Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim-8, Leo discloses the conveyor pulley of claim 2, wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is connected to said second wing portion (wings 8) by an intermediate structure (wings 4 are connected to wings 8 via reinforcing disk 15 at Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim-9, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is not connected to said second wing portion (wings 8; contact bars 3 of wings 4 and wings 8 are not connected to each other as shown at Fig. 1).
Regarding claim-10, Leo discloses wherein an upper portion (Para. [0028], contact bars 3 of wings 4 at Fig. 1) of said first wing portion (wings 4) is curved so as to complement said surface Sc (contact bars 3 of wings 4 are curved as shown at Fig. 1, 3).
Regarding claim-13, Leo discloses a conveyor pulley (Para. [0028], pulley 10 at Fig. 1) configured to contact a conveyor belt (Para. [0036], "conveyor belt" not shown in figures) along an imaginary semicylindrical surface Sc (Para. [0040], "imaginary semicylindrical surface" delineated by the underside of said conveyor belt, not shown in figures), the conveyor pulley (pulley 10) comprising:
a body (Para. [0028], drum 14 at Fig. 1, 2);
a plurality of wings (Para. [0028], plurality of wings 4, 8 at Fig. 1) supported by said body (plurality of wings 4, 8 are supported by drum 14 at Fig. 1) and disposed circumferentially about said body (plurality of wings 4, 8 are disposed circumferentially about by drum 14 at Fig. 1 ), each wing (wing 4, 8) comprising at least a first wing portion (Para. [0028], wings 4 at Fig. 1), wherein an upper portion (Para. [0028], contact bars 3 of wings 4 at Fig. 1) of said first wing portion is curved to complement said surface Sc (contact bars 3 of wings 4 are curved as shown at Fig. 1, 3).
Regarding claim-14, Leo discloses wherein each wing (wings 4, 8) further comprises at least a second wing portion (Para. [0028], wings 8 at Fig. 1), wherein a lower portion (Para. [0030], lower end 22 of wings 8 at Fig. 3) of said second wing portion (wings 8) is curved to complement an exterior surface of the body (lower end 22 of wings 8 is curved to complement outer surface 17 as shown at Fig. 3).
Regarding claim-15, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is angled with respect to a line intersecting an outer end ("outer end" defined as the outer terminating end of wings 4 as shown at Fig. 9) of said first wing portion ("line" not shown in figures, defined as a line intersecting said outer end of wings 4 and parallel to axis A at Fig. 9) and parallel to an axis of rotation (Para. [0031], axis A at Fig. 9) for the conveyor pulley (said line is parallel axis A at Fig. 9).
Regarding claim-16, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) and said second wing portion (wings 8) are angled with respect to a line intersecting an outer end ("outer end" defined as the outer terminating end of wings 4 as shown at Fig. 9) of the first wing portion ("line" not shown in figures, defined as a line intersecting said outer end of wings 4 and parallel to axis A at Fig. 9; wings 4 and wings 8 are angled with respect to said line at Fig. 9) and parallel to an axis of rotation (Para. [0031], axis A at Fig. 9) for the conveyor pulley (said line is parallel axis A at Fig. 9).
Regarding claim-17, Leo discloses wherein said first wing portion (wings 4) is disposed at a nonzero angle relative to said second wing portion (wings 4 are disposed at a non-zero angle relative to wings 8 as shown at Fig.9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo (US 20120186945) in view of Brian (US 20130341162).
Regarding claim-11. Leo doesn’t explicit discloses wherein a weld seam connects a lower end of said first wing portion to said exterior surface.
Brian discloses wing pulley for use in conveyor (Abstract; Fig.1) and teaches wherein a weld seam (Para. [0037], "continuous weld" not shown in figures) connects a lower end (Para. [0038],
"lower edge" of wings 3 at Fig. 8) of a first wing portion (Para. [0037]; [0038], wings 3 at Fig. 1) to an exterior surface (Para. [0037], said lower end of wings 3 are connected to core 2 with said continuous weld, at Fig. 6, 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Leo’s pulley with weld seam as taught by Brian for purpose of creating a single subassembly.
Regarding claim-12. Leo doesn’t explicit discloses wherein said weld seam does not extend between a lower surface of said first wing portion and said exterior surface.
Brian teaches wherein said weld seam does not extend between a lower surface of said first wing portion (lower angled edge of portion of wings 3 that extend beyond the end of the core 2 in Fig. 6) and said exterior surface (weld seam does not extend between said lower angled edge of portion of wings 3 and the end of the core 2, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Leo’s pulley with the wings that extend beyond the weld seam as taught by Brian for purpose of accommodating larger conveyor webs.
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggests applicants to look at Notice of References Cited PTO-892 as there are other multiple prior arts or in combination that can be used to reject claims.
US 20210284458 A1, KR 101766215 B1, US 20140251761 A1, US 20110315517 A1, WO 2010136635 A1, US 20090107804 A1
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651