DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 07/11/2025.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 9-14 are cancelled.
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claims 1-8 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is labelled “Previously Presented” but is clearly marked with amendments. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (101 Analysis: Step 1). Even if the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (101 Analysis: Step 2a(Prong 1), and if so, Identify whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluate those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. (101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2). If additional elements does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception, claim still requires an evaluation of whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. If the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (there is an inventive concept in the claim), the claim is eligible. If the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more (there is no inventive concept in the claim), the claim is ineligible. (101 Analysis: Step 2b).
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter: a) Mathematical concepts b) Certain methods of organizing human activity and c) Mental processes
Analysis
In the instant case, claim 1 is directed to a method, and claim 8 is directed to an article of manufacture.
Step 2a.1– Identifying an Abstract Idea
The claims recite the steps of “generating an electronic file … adding first signature data … adding second signature data … recording … in a ledger… and determining presence or absence of an unauthorized transfer of the electronic file ….” The recited limitations fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, specifically, commercial interactions, for example, contracting in creating a contract with the parties signature, recording the contract and evaluating whether the contract was sent to an authorized party. Accordingly, the claims recites an abstract idea.
See MPEP 2106.
Step 2a.2 – Identifying a Practical Application
The claim does not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, even in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications. The claim in directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b
The claim limitations recite “generating an electronic file … adding first signature data … adding second signature data … recording … in a ledger… and determining presence or absence of an unauthorized transfer of the electronic file ….” are not additional elements and they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. This is also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs, court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner, as it is here. Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible.
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of contracting as performed by a generic computer. The claims do not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements used to perform the claimed judicial exception amount to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a network, and/or merely uses a network as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment.
Dependent claims 2-7 discuss functions in more descriptive detail of the steps geared toward the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)).
The claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The claim as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claim does not affect an improvement to another technology or technical filed; the claim does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claim does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 USC 101 based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 2-7 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a step of deleting the electronic file in which the first entity is stored when receiving the electronic file to which third signature data generated by using a private key of the second entity is added from the second entity after the electronic file is transmitted to the second entity from the first entity.” The claim is unclear and indefinite. For example, the limitation is unclear whether Applicant is claiming the “first entity” is stored in the file, and the file is deleted when receiving the electronic file. The claim language is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fritzhanns et al. (US 20230093581) (“Fritzhanns”), and further in view of Murdoch et al. (US 20230177487) (“Murdoch”).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Fritzhanns discloses generating an electronic file to which a proprietary nature set in advance is imparted (¶ 149-156, 172-175, 194, 215);
Fritzhanns – The electronic coin data set can be represented, for example, in the form of a file. A file consists of related data stored on a data carrier, data memory or storage medium. Each file is initially a one-dimensional string of bits, which are normally interpreted as a group of byte blocks. An application program (application) or an operating system itself interprets this bit or byte sequence as, for example, a text, an image or a sound recording… In this case, an electronic coin data set Ci is generated in an issuing entity 1, for example a central bank. (¶ 172, 215)
adding first signature data generated by using a private key of a central bank to the electronic file (¶ 45, 79, 103-112, 149, 165-170, 215, 355, 362);
Fritzhanns – the at least one initial electronic coin data set is created exclusively by the issuing entity,… the issuing entity may sign a masked electronic coin data set with its signature when generating the electronic coin data set. The signature of the issuing entity is stored in the monitoring entity for this purpose. The signature of the issuing entity is different from the generated signature of the first terminal… the signature added in this method for the first masking mode is a first signature and a private signature key used to generate the first signature is the obfuscation amount of the corresponding electronic coin data set. In contrast, only two signatures are used for the second masking mode, namely the central bank signature for generating and deleting (=fix private key) and the signature for switching (obfuscation amount as private key). (¶ 111, 149)
adding second signature data to the electronic file to transfer the electronic file to a second entity from the first entity after the first signature data is added (¶ 36, 37, 45, 75, 81, 103-113, 139, 265);
Fritzhanns –Preferably, the electronic coin data set is transferred from the first terminal to a second terminal as part of a payment process… a signature is created for each quasi-masked electronic coin data set. The private signature key is preferably the (unmasked) obfuscation amount of the (unmasked) coin data set…. generating a signature using the obfuscation amount of the electronic coin data set; adding the signature to the quasi-masked electronic coin data set or the fully masked electronic coin data set, wherein in the monitoring entity the fully masked electronic coin data set or the quasi-masked electronic coin data set is registered with the signature… the signature added in this method (of all masking modes) is a second signature and a private signature key for generating the second signature is generated from a difference between the obfuscation amount of the electronic coin data set and the obfuscation amount for the electronic coin data set to be switched. (¶ 36, 81, 103, 113)
recording at least a part of contents of the electronic file in a ledger; and(¶ 118-124, 139, 145, 181-183, 249, 250);
Fritzhanns – The monitoring entity is preferably a database in which the masked electronic coin data sets are registered with corresponding processing of the masked electronic coin data set. The database may be designed as a decentralized controlled database, Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) in English. (¶ 145)
determining presence or absence of an unauthorized transfer of the electronic file based on at least the contents recorded in the ledger (¶ 52, 85, 100, 101, 129, 139, 145, 151, 160-165, 215, 251-254, 301);
Fritzhanns – Switching, splitting and combining are different modifications to an electronic coin data set. These modifications require registering the masked coin data set in a monitoring entity. This registering in the course of the modifications causes the electronic coin data set sent by the first terminal to become invalid and to be recognized as correspondingly invalid when the first terminal makes a second output attempt…. In a preferred embodiment, a validity status of the (masked) electronic coin data set can be derived therefrom. Preferably, the validity of the (masked) electronic coin data set is noted in and by the monitoring entity. Registering the processing or processing steps may also involve registering verification results and interim verification results concerning the validity of an electronic coin data set. If a processing is final, this is indicated, for example, by corresponding markings or a derived overall marking Final processing then determines whether an electronic coin data set is valid or invalid. (¶ 52, 145)
Fritzhanns does not disclose second signature data generated by using a private key of a first entity.
Murdoch teaches second signature data generated by using a private key of a first entity (¶ 81-86, 102, 120);
Murdoch – Accordingly, in such embodiments the key generation module 350 generates additional public keys 208 and 209 when the additional devices execute the DID creation module 330. These additional public keys are associated with the private key 206 or in some instances are paired with a new private key… The verifiable claim or credential 600B also includes a signature 630, which is generated by signing the claim 610 by a private key of the issuer. (¶ 81, 120)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fritzhanns and Murdoch in order to provide identity verification and determine if information has been tampered with (Murdoch ¶ 2-4, 120).
Regarding claim 2, Fritzhanns discloses wherein the step of determining the presence or absence of the unauthorized transfer of the electronic file includes a step of determining whether there is a record that the electronic file is transferred to each of a plurality of entities from the first entity in association with the electronic file (¶ 85-88, 139, 215, 254-260, 301).
Regarding claim 3, Fritzhanns discloses a step of deleting the electronic file in which the first entity is stored when receiving the electronic file to which third signature data generated by using a private key of the second entity is added from the second entity after the electronic file is transmitted to the second entity from the first entity (¶ 86-88, 108, 111, 150-152, 243, 262, 383).
Regarding claim 4, Fritzhanns discloses a step of the second entity validating the second signature data included in the electronic file by using the public key of the first entity (¶ 254-260, 301-306, 316).
Regarding claim 5, Murdoch teaches wherein the electronic file includes setting of an expiration date, and the method further comprises a step of at least one of the first entity and the second entity validating that the expiration date of the electronic file is not expired before the electronic file is transferred to the second entity from the first entity (¶ 123-125, 141-144, 160).
Regarding claim 6, Fritzhanns discloses a step of comparing the contents of the electronic file with the contents recorded in the ledger, which is executed after the second entity receives the electronic file from the first entity (¶ 85, 245-265).
Regarding claim 7, Fritzhanns discloses a step of the central bank collecting the electronic file when the expiration date of the electronic file is expired (¶ 28, 150-152, 169).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fletcher (US 20230109544) teaches generating the document and second signatures with blockchain.
Burley et al. (US 20250131134) teaches generating the document and second signatures with blockchain.
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699