Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher (U.S Patent 5,489,740) (“Flecther”) in view of El Kholy et al (U.S Pub 2022/0010655) (“El Kholy”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fletcher discloses a method of injecting slurry waste fluids into a subterranean zone having a wellbore extending therethrough (Abstract; Col 1, lines 5-9 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Flectcher discloses injecting solids wastes into a selected zone of a hydraulically fractured subterranean formation), the wellbore #10 having a wellbore volume (Figure 1, #10 well; Col 3, lines 31-45; Col 6, lines 49-52 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses a well #10 extending into the formation #12 including a particular fracture zone #14), the subterranean zone having an associated fracture pressure and pore throat size (Col 4, lines 35-51; Col 6, lines 42-51 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injecting a fracturing fluid into a particular zone downhole to initiate a fracture at specific fracture pressures), the method comprising:
(a) injecting a batch of slurry waste fluid into the subterranean zone at a pressure above fracturing pressure (Col 1, lines 5-9; Col 4, lines 35-51; Col 6, lines 42-51 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injecting a fracturing fluid into a particular zone downhole to initiate a fracture at specific fracture pressures), and flowing the slurry waste fluid into fractures in the subterranean zone (Col 1, lines 5-9 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injecting the waste solids fluids into a fracture downhole of the particular zone); and
(b) thereafter, while maintaining fluid pressure in the subterranean zone above fracturing pressure (Col 4, lines 13-34 and Col 5, lines 37-48 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses maintaining fracture pressures downhole), injecting a volume of flushing fluid into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures), the flushing fluid having particulate therein of a particle size of 300 microns or less (Col 5, lines 32-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the particle sizes of the solids is below 300 microns). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid is at least as much as 1.5 times the wellbore volume,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Fletcher, however, fails to expressly disclose (c) thereafter, ceasing injection of fluid into the subterranean zone for a shut-in period, and thereafter, repeating (a) through (c).
El Kholy teaches the methods above (c) thereafter, ceasing injection of fluid into the subterranean zone for a shut-in period (Abstract; Figures 7A and 7B; paragraphs [0001], [0014], [0017] and [0023]-[0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] El Kholy teaches shut-in periods during hydraulic fracturing waste slurry injections), and thereafter, repeating (a) through (c) (paragraph [0027] [Wingdings font/0xE0] El Kholy teaches wherein the cycles are repeatedly carried out) for the purpose of managing the injection of slurry wastes in batches or cycles in order to allow fracture closure, pressure dissipation and to prevent pressure accumulation downhole in subterranean formations (Abstract; paragraphs [0001] and [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Fletcher to include the step of ceasing injection of fluid into the subterranean zone for a shut-in period, as taught by El Kholy, because doing so would help to manage the injection of slurry wastes in batches or cycles in order to allow fracture closure, pressure dissipation and to prevent pressure accumulation downhole.
Regarding Claim 2, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid is at least as much as the volume of the wellbore plus the surface equipment volume from a flushing fluid source to a wellhead at the surface of the wellbore,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 3, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid is at least as much as three times the volume of the wellbore,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 4, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of the flushing fluid is at least as much as the wellbore volume plus the volume of the fractures in the subterranean zone,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 5, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to injecting a batch of slurry waste into the subterranean zone, and after ceasing injection for a shut-in period, injecting a volume of flushing fluid into the subterranean zone above fracturing pressure (Col 5, lines 38-48; Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses multiple injection cycles, wherein each injection cycle can comprise injection of a pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures while monitoring the pressures), the flushing fluid having particulates therein of a particle size of 300 microns or less (Col 5, lines 32-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the particle sizes of the solids is below 300 microns). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid at least as much as the wellbore volume,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 6, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particulate in a volume of flushing fluid injected into the subterranean zone subsequent to injecting a batch of slurry waste fluid into the subterranean zone has a settling out period (Col 4, lines 13-34 and Col 5, lines 37-48 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses maintaining fracture pressures downhole), and wherein the settling out period is longer than the subsequent shut-in period (Col 5, lines 38-48; Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses multiple injection cycles, wherein each injection cycle can comprise injection of a pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures while monitoring the pressures).
Regarding Claim 7, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particle size of the particulate in the flushing fluid is less than 10 microns (Col 5, lines 32-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the particle sizes of the solids is below 300 microns).
Regarding Claim 8, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the flushing fluid comprises: an aqueous solution (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the flushing fluid comprises a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 9, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the flushing fluid further contains at least one of: a viscosifier; a thickener; and a dissolved chemical for management of scale, corrosion or microorganisms (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the flushing fluid comprises a quantity of fresh water/seawater along with a combination of sealant and/or leak-off control agent and a viscosifier to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 10, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the flushing fluid is an oil-based fluid (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the flushing fluid comprises a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 11, Fletcher discloses a method of injecting slurry waste fluids into a subterranean zone having a wellbore running therethrough (Abstract; Col 1, lines 5-9 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Flectcher discloses injecting solids wastes into a selected zone of a hydraulically fractured subterranean formation), the wellbore #10 having a wellbore volume (Figure 1, #10 well; Col 3, lines 31-45; Col 6, lines 49-52 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses a well #10 extending into the formation #12 including a particular fracture zone #14), the subterranean zone defining a pore throat size (Col 4, lines 35-51; Col 6, lines 42-51 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injecting a fracturing fluid into a particular zone downhole to initiate a fracture at specific fracture pressures), the method comprising:
injecting a batch of slurry waste fluid into the subterranean zone at a pressure above fracturing pressure (Col 1, lines 5-9; Col 4, lines 35-51; Col 6, lines 42-51 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injecting a fracturing fluid into a particular zone downhole to initiate a fracture at specific fracture pressures), and flowing the slurry waste fluid into fractures in the subterranean zone (Col 1, lines 5-9 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injecting the waste solids fluids into a fracture downhole of the particular zone); and
injecting a volume of post-waste injection flushing fluid into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid at least as much as one wellbore volume,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Fletcher, however, fails to expressly disclose methods of repeatedly performing the injection cycles above and shutting in the well for a shut-in period of less than the time required to settle out the particulate from the flushing fluid in the wellbore and in the subterranean zone.
El Kholy teaches the methods of repeatedly performing the injection cycles above (paragraph [0027] [Wingdings font/0xE0] El Kholy teaches wherein the cycles are repeatedly carried out) and shutting in the well for a shut-in period of less than the time required to settle out the particulate from the flushing fluid in the wellbore and in the subterranean zone (Abstract; Figures 7A and 7B; paragraphs [0001], [0014], [0017] and [0023]-[0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] El Kholy teaches shut-in periods during hydraulic fracturing waste slurry injections) for the purpose of managing the injection of slurry wastes in batches or cycles in order to allow fracture closure, pressure dissipation and to prevent pressure accumulation downhole in subterranean formations (Abstract; paragraphs [0001] and [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Fletcher to include the step of shutting in the well for a shut-in period, as taught by El Kholy, because doing so would help to manage the injection of slurry wastes in batches or cycles in order to allow fracture closure, pressure dissipation and to prevent pressure accumulation downhole.
Regarding Claim 12, Fletcher in view of El Kholy teach the method of claim 11, wherein the repeated injection of batches of slurry waste fluid and volumes of flushing fluid are done above fracturing pressure (paragraph [0027] [Wingdings font/0xE0] El Kholy teaches wherein the cycles are repeatedly carried out), thereby maintaining a plurality of fractures in an open position during the injection of the batches of slurry waste fluid and the volumes of flushing fluid (Col 4, lines 13-34; Col 5, lines 37-48; Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses maintaining fracture pressures downhole and injecting a volume of flushing fluid into the subterranean zone comprising a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 13, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the post-waste injection flushing fluid has particulate of no greater than 200 microns (Col 5, lines 32-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the particle sizes of the solids is below 300 microns).
Regarding Claim 14, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the post-waste injection flushing fluid has particulate of no greater than one-third of the pore throat size (Col 5, lines 32-67 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the particle sizes of the solids is below 300 microns).
Regarding Claim 15, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid is at least as much as three times the volume of the wellbore,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 16, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of the post-waste injection flushing fluid is at least as much as a wellbore volume plus the volume of the open fractures in the subterranean zone,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 17, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of flushing fluid is at least as much as the volume of the wellbore plus the surface equipment volume from a flushing fluid source to a wellhead at the surface of the wellbore,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 18, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising, prior to injecting the batch of slurry waste fluid, injecting a volume of pre-waste injection flushing fluid into the subterranean zone (Col 5, lines 38-48; Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses multiple injection cycles, wherein each injection cycle can comprise injection of a pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures while monitoring the pressures).
Regarding Claim 19, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of the pre-waste injection flushing fluid is at least one wellbore volume,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 20, Fletcher in view of El Kholy teach the method of claim 18, wherein the pre-waste injection flushing fluid is injected at above fracturing pressure (paragraph [0027] [Wingdings font/0xE0] El Kholy teaches wherein the cycles are repeatedly carried out), and wherein the fractures opened by the pre-waste injection flushing fluid are maintained open during the pre-waste injection flushing fluid injection through the slurry waste fluid injection and through the post-waste injection flushing fluid injection (Col 4, lines 13-34; Col 5, lines 37-48; Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses maintaining fracture pressures downhole and injecting a volume of flushing fluid into the subterranean zone comprising a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 21, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the flushing fluid is injected into the subterranean zone (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses injection of pad fluid followed by the injection of a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures). Although silent to “wherein the volume of the pre-waste injection flushing fluid is at least one wellbore volume plus the volume of the fracture opened in the zone by the pre-waste injection flushing fluid,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the specific volume of flushing fluid as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 22, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the post-waste injection flushing fluid comprises: an aqueous solution (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the flushing fluid comprises a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 23, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 22, wherein at least one of the pre-waste injection flushing fluid and the post-waste injection flushing fluid contains at least one of: a viscosifier; a thickener; and a dissolved chemical for management of scale, corrosion or microorganisms (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the flushing fluid comprises a quantity of fresh water/seawater along with a combination of sealant and/or leak-off control agent and a viscosifier to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Regarding Claim 24, Fletcher discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the post-waste injection flushing fluid is an oil-based fluid (Col 6, lines 4-14 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Fletcher discloses wherein the flushing fluid comprises a quantity of fresh water/seawater to displace the waste material in the fractures).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rogers et al (U.S Pub 2007/0022802) – discloses methods of injecting a slurry in order to estimate downhole properties of the slurry using a measured characteristic data (Abstract).
Schmidt et al (U.S Patent 5,387,737) – discloses slurries of particulate solids wastes that are injected into an earth formation through an injection well (Abstract; Col 2, lines 44-67).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674