DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 06/20/2025 has been entered into this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 07/14/2025 and 06/20/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/20/2025, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowker et al. (EP 0861445 B1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Kozachenok et al. (2022/0117196 A1, Applicant cited reference).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Bowker teaches of a method/system for inspecting an object (figs. 1A-6) positioned in a fluid with turbidity [pars. 0001 and 0057], comprising the steps of
A) generating electromagnetic radiation by means of a radiation source laser 22 [par. 0104],
B) the laser radiating the electromagnetic radiation [par. 0104],
C) pulse laser/pulse beam is modulating an amplitude or a frequency of the electromagnetic radiation [par. 0104],
D) illuminating a surface of the object at a plurality of object points by the modulated electromagnetic radiation (see paragraph 104, a 'fan-shaped pulse beam' inherently illuminates a plurality of points), wherein illuminating the surface of the object is carried out along an illumination beam axis (see figure 2, axis along 12),
E) focussing the electromagnetic radiation reflected from the object points by means of an optical system (36) with a focal length in the direction of a pick-up of a detector (32) [pars. 0106-107] (fig. 2), wherein the detector comprises an aperture (126) having an aperture shape in an aperture plane, wherein the aperture (126) plane is spaced from the pick-up by a detector distance, wherein the aperture plane is spaced from the optical system optics by an aperture distance [pars. 0106-1-7] (fig. 3), wherein the focussing is carried out along a detection beam axis (fig. 2, axis along 30), wherein the illumination beam axis and the detection beam axis enclose a parallax angle (fig. 2, implicitly), wherein the aperture (126) comprises an aperture position in a direction perpendicular to at least the illumination beam axis or the aperture beam axis (see figure 2, the stop beam axis is perpendicular to the stop position, which is seen as a stop plane), and wherein the surface of the object is spaced from the pick-up by a measuring distance (implicitly),
F) detecting the electromagnetic radiation (32) reflected from the surface of the object by means of the pick-up, and for each of the plurality of object points [par. 0106]
G) measuring a measure of a propagation time of the electromagnetic radiation from a reference point in a beam path of the electromagnetic radiation to the respective object point [pars. 0109-110, 0151], and H) outputting the measure of the propagation time [pars. 0109-111],
Bowker teaches of system for imaging a volume of a turbid medium that is living tissue/biological tissue (Bowker, claims 1 and 17) and a direct mapping of each …….. depth, and ……. in turn a direct mapping of each section of the turbid-medium volume being scanned, into distance along the anode (and any later display screen) [pars. 0111] and teaches of the field of view may be easily adjusted to provide optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges [par. 0160] is/are obviously method steps of detecting a measure of the turbidity of the fluid, Bowker also teaches that in order to collect a volume display of the interior of the medium or three-dimensional data, the emitter and sensor systems together can be moved normal to the longitudinal axis of the pulse beam 12 between (and, without any problem, during) each exposure [pars. 0038, 0052, 0118]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowker by providing actuator that move the emitter and sensor systems together in order to collect a volume display of the interior of the medium or three-dimensional data accurately, and in order to provide easy adjustment for optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges.
However, Bowker fail to explicitly specify wherein the method further comprises the steps of I) detecting a measure of the turbidity of the fluid, and J) adjusting at least the focal length, the aperture distance, the parallax angle, the aperture position or the aperture shape as a function of the measure of the turbidity.
Kozachenok from the same field of endeavor teaches of a system for inspecting objects in the sea, which uses a separate turbidity sensor to determine the turbidity of the water (Kozachenok, [par. 0048]; (fig. 2)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowker in view of teachings of Kozachenok in order to achieve a very desirable variable-width slit and providing easy adjustment for optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowker in view of teachings of Kozachenok in order to achieve a very desirable variable-width slit and providing easy adjustment for optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
For the purpose of clarity, the method claim 1 also provide the means for apparatus/system claim 12 as rejected above as being unpatentable over Bowker in view of Kozachenok.
As to claim 2, Bowker when modified by Kozachenok, Bowker also teaches of
wherein in step G) an intensity is measured in addition to the measure of the propagation time [pars. 0079-80, 0127, 0154] (fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Bowker when modified by Kozachenok, Bowker further discloses a structure that is use in a method/system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein adjusting in step J) comprises the steps of: a) increasing the aperture (126) distance or decreasing the focal length as the turbidity increases, and b) decreasing the aperture distance or increasing the focal length as the turbidity decreases providing a variable slit width [pars. 0106-107, 0160].
As to claims 4-6, Bowker when modified by Kozachenok, Bowker further discloses a structure that is use in a method/system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein a direct mapping of each section of the turbid-medium volume is being scanned, into distance along the anode (and any later display screen) [par. 0111, 0143, 0158] implied and obviously teaches of wherein detecting the measure of the turbidity of the fluid in step I) is carried out using a turbidity sensor different from the detector (claim 4); wherein detecting the measure of the turbidity of the fluid [[(6)]] in step I) is carried out using the detector (claim 5); and wherein detecting the measure of the turbidity comprises determining a power/intensity of the reflected electromagnetic radiation incident on the detector having a propagation time shorter than the measuring distance of the object point [pars. 0123](claim 6).
As to claims 8-10, Bowker when modified by Kozachenok, Kozachenok also teaches of a system for inspecting objects in the sea, which uses a separate turbidity sensor to determine the turbidity of the water (Kozachenok, [par. 0048]; (fig. 2)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowker in view of teachings of Kozachenok in order to achieve a very desirable variable-width slit and providing easy adjustment for optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges, as applied to claim 1.
Bowker when modified by Kozachenok fails to explicitly specify the constructional/structural changes in the method of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 8-10, such as, wherein the illumination beam axis and the detection beam axis include a parallax angle (a) different from zero degrees, and wherein, at least when adjusting the focal length in step J), the focus is on the detection beam axis before and after adjusting, or wherein, when adjusting the aperture distance, the aperture is on the detection beam axis before and after adjusting (claim 8); wherein during adjusting the aperture distance in step J) the aperture plane and the pick-up are moved linearly relative to the optical system along the detection beam axis (claim 9); and wherein the parallax angle (a) is additionally adjusted when adjusting the aperture distance in step J) (claim 10).
However, even though Bowker when modified by Kozachenok fail to teach the constructional changes in the method/system of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 8-10, the constructional/structural changes differences are considered obvious design adjustment and variation in view of Kozachenok teaches of step j one of the optional setting options, in order to achieve a very desirable variable-width slit and providing easy adjustment for optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges, as applied to claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowker and Kozachenok in view of teachings of Kozachenok in order to achieve a very desirable variable-width slit and providing easy adjustment for optimal viewing over a wide variety of turbidity conditions and detection ranges, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 11, Bowker when modified by Kozachenok, Bowker also teaches of wherein the method additionally comprises the step of: M) amplifying a detector signal of the pick-up using a gain factor that depends at least on the turbidity or reflectivity is obviously included in using a pulsed flood beam and a number of fated image intensifiers with charge-coupled devices (CCDs). The intensifiers are gated on when the beam pulse reaches a specific depth, a second intensifier that is gated on a little later to detect the shadow of the object [pars. 0019-20, 0066, 0112, 0115]
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowker et al. (EP 0861445 B1, Applicant cited reference) in view of Kozachenok et al. (2022/0117196 A1, Applicant cited reference), and further in view of Ishikawajima et al. (JPH0772250 A, translation, Applicant cited reference).
As to claim 7, Bowker when modified by Kozachenok, Bowker also teaches of claims 3 and 7 as applied to claim 1 comprising, providing a variable/adjustable slit width [pars. 0106-107, 0160].
Bowker fail to explicitly specify wherein detecting the measure of the turbidity comprises the steps of: for a plurality of object points with different measurement distances from one another, measuring a respective measure of a propagation time of the electromagnetic radiation from the reference point to the respective object point, determining the measured maximum measuring distance from the measures of the propagation time and using the measured maximum measuring distance as the measure of the turbidity of the fluid.
Ishikawajima from the same field of endeavor teaches of the maximum object spacing can be used as a measure for the turbidity, as a result of which the setting of the focal length based on the turbidity corresponds to a normal autofocus setting as proposed (Ishikawajima, [par. 0017]) of the provided machine translation for an underwater camera in order to provide autofocus with detection accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bowker and Kozachenok in view of teachings of (Ishikawajima, [par. 0017]) in order to provide autofocus with detection accuracy, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art method/system for inspecting an object positioned in a fluid with turbidity.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877