Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, lines 6-8, “electronic communication via between the first signal line and the second signal line via the feedthrough bypass is enabled in response to a determination that the processing circuit is in an inoperable state” should read -- electronic communication between the first signal line and the second signal line via the feedthrough bypass is enabled in response to a determination that the processing circuit is in an inoperable state --. This also applies to claim 12.
In claim 15, “the top sub” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann et al. (U.S. 2011/0024116A1), in view of Hill et al. (U.S. 2009/0050322A1).
Regarding claim 1, McCann et al. disclose (for this rejection, examiner is using the embodiment of fig. 7 but making reference to figs. 5 and 5A for elements not shown in fig. 7) a communication unit (area covered by 71, 76, 72; fig. 5) for use within a wellbore tool string (70, fig. 7) in communication with a surface unit (7A) and comprising at least one downhole tool (74sub1-74subn), the communication unit (area covered by 71, 76, 72; fig. 5) comprising:
a housing (71, 76, 72) defining a chamber therein (as shown in fig. 5);
an electronics board (84, 86; para 0034: control module 84 can include a printed logic circuit board) disposed within the chamber (see fig. 5), the electronics board (84, 86) comprising a processing circuit (para 0034: module 84 “regulates” electrical current, therefore is it a processing circuit);
a first signal line (55, in sub 71; see fig. 5) configured to provide electronic communication between the surface unit (7A; 55 is connected to wireline 69) and the electronics board (84, 86; see figs. 5 and 7);
a second signal line (46 and/or 55 in sub 72) configured to provide electronic communication between the electronics board (84, 86) and the at least one downhole tool (74); and
a feedthrough bypass (37; fig. 5 and para 0035) configured to provide direct electronic communication between the first signal line (55, in sub 71; see fig. 5) and the second signal line (46 and/or 55 in sub 72);
wherein the processing circuit (84) is configured to perform:
receiving an electronic signal from one of the surface unit (7A) and the at least one downhole tool (74; para 0031: “transmitting/receiving a signal to/from another portion within a perforating string”).
However, McCann et al. is silent to processing the electronic signal, and transmitting the processed electronic signal to the other of the surface unit and the at least one downhole tool.
Hill et al. teach, in the same field of endeavor, a perforating gun comprising a downhole controller (38) with means for receiving signals and processing means for processing data embedded within the signa (refer to para 0019). The controller may then transmit the processing signal to initiate an operation of the perforating gun, such as to detonate shaped charges (refer to para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processing circuit of McCann et al. to include processing the electronic signal and transmitting the processed electronic signal to the other of the surface unit and the at least one downhole tool, as taught by Hill et al., for the predictable result of initiating operations of the perforating gun (refer to para 0019).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1, Hill et al. further teach wherein the processing circuit comprises a processor (para 0019: “controller 38 includes…processing means for processing data embedded within the signal”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1, McCann et al. further disclose wherein the electronics board (84, 86) further comprises an energy storage component (86) configured to supply power to the processing circuit (refer to para 0034).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1, McCann et al. further disclose a top sub (71sub1 or 82) coupled to the housing at a first end of the housing (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, McCann et al. disclose (for this rejection, examiner is using the embodiment of fig. 7 but making reference to figs. 5 and 5A for elements not shown in fig. 7) a wellbore tool string (70, fig. 7) in communication with a surface unit (7A), the wellbore tool string comprising:
a top connector (82) configured to couple to a wireline (69, fig. 7 and refer to para 0041);
a communication unit (area covered by 71, 76, 72; fig. 5);
a wellbore tool (74sub1-74subn); and
a tandem sub (“booster sub 72” or 72sub1) or tandem seal adapter coupled between the communication unit and the wellbore tool (72n; see fig. 7);
wherein the communication unit comprises:
a housing (71, 76, 72) defining a chamber therein (as shown in fig. 5);
an electronics board (84, 86; para 0034: control module 84 can include a printed logic circuit board) disposed within the chamber (see fig. 5), the electronics board comprising a processing circuit (para 0034: module 84 “regulates” electrical current, therefore is it a processing circuit);
a first signal line (55, in sub 71; see fig. 5) configured to provide electronic communication between the surface unit (7A; 55 is connected to wireline 69) and the electronics board (84, 86; see figs. 5 and 7);
a second signal line (46 and/or 55 in sub 72) configured to provide electronic communication between the electronics board (84, 86) and the at least one downhole tool (74); and
a feedthrough bypass (37; fig. 5 and para 0035) configured to provide direct electronic communication between the first signal line (55, in sub 71; see fig. 5) and the second signal line (46 and/or 55 in sub 72);
wherein the processing circuit (84, 86) is configured to perform:
receiving an electronic signal from one of the surface unit (7A) and the at least one downhole tool (74; para 0031: “transmitting/receiving a signal to/from another portion within a perforating string”).
However, McCann et al. is silent to processing the electronic signal, and transmitting the processed electronic signal to the other of the surface unit and the at least one downhole tool.
Hill et al. teach, in the same field of endeavor, a perforating gun comprising a downhole controller (38) with means for receiving signals and processing means for processing data embedded within the signa (refer to para 0019). The controller may then transmit the processing signal to initiate an operation of the perforating gun, such as to detonate shaped charges (refer to para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processing circuit of McCann et al. to include processing the electronic signal and transmitting the processed electronic signal to the other of the surface unit and the at least one downhole tool, as taught by Hill et al., for the predictable result of initiating operations of the perforating gun (refer to para 0019).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 9, Hill et al. further teach wherein the processing circuit comprises a processor (para 0019: “controller 38 includes…processing means for processing data embedded within the signal”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 9, McCann et al. further disclose wherein the electronics board (84, 86) further comprises an energy storage component (86) configured to supply power to the processing circuit (refer to para 0034).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann et al. (U.S. 2011/0024116A1), in view of Hill et al. (U.S. 2009/0050322A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Sullivan (U.S. 2021/0283751A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of these claims as applied to claims 1 and 9 above; however, the combination is silent to wherein the processing the electronic signal with the communication unit comprises at least one of amplifying the electronic signal, filtering the electronic signal, or evaluating whether a predetermined wellbore condition is satisfied.
Sullivan generally teaches that it is known to filter signals in perforating guns to identify activation signals for detonation of charges (refer to para 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication unit of McCann et al., as modified by Hill et al., to include filtering the electronic signal, as taught by Sullivan, for the purpose of identifying activation signals needed for detonation of charges (refer to para 0116).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann et al. (U.S. 2011/0024116A1), in view of Hill et al. (U.S. 2009/0050322A1) as applied to claims 7 and 14 above, and further in view of Bonavides et al. (U.S. 2015/0226057A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the combination of McCann et al. and Hill et al. teach all the features of these claims as applied to claims 7 and 14 above; however, the combination fail to teach that the top sub further comprises a pressure sensor or a temperature sensor in fluid communication with the wellbore.
Bonavides et al. teach a perforating gun apparatus (122, para 0013) including a top sub (132) comprising sensors such as pressure sensors and temperature sensors (refer to para 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top sub of McCann et al., as modified by Hill et al., to include pressure sensors and temperature sensors, as taught by Bonavides et al., for the purpose of gathering and transmitting information needed to operate the perforating gun (refer to para 0075).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-17 and 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, McCann et al. disclose (for this rejection, examiner is using the embodiment of fig. 7 but making reference to figs. 5 and 5A for elements not shown in fig. 7) a method of wellbore communication, the method comprising:
providing a tool string (70, fig. 7) comprising:
a communication unit (area covered by 71, 76, 72; fig. 5); and
a wellbore tool (74sub1-74subn);
providing a surface unit (7A) configured to control the tool string (70, fig. 7);
deploying the wellbore tool in a wellbore using a wireline (69; see fig. 7);
transmitting, from one of the surface unit and the wellbore tool, an electronic signal to the communication unit (received at electronics board 84, see figs. 5 and 7; refer to para 0034-0035 and 0041);
wherein the communication unit (area covered by 71, 76, 72; fig. 5) comprises:
a housing (71, 76, 72) defining a chamber therein (as shown in fig. 5);
an electronics board (para 0034: control module 84 can include a printed logic circuit board) disposed within the chamber (see fig. 5), the electronics board comprising a processing circuit (para 0034: module 84 “regulates” electrical current, therefore is it a processing circuit);
a first signal line (55, in sub 71; see fig. 5) configured to provide electronic communication between the surface unit (7A; 55 is connected to wireline 69) and the electronics board (84, see figs. 5 and 7);
a second signal line (46 and/or 55 in sub 72) configured to provide electronic communication between the electronics board (84) and the wellbore tool (74); and
a feedthrough bypass (37; fig. 5 and para 0035) configured to provide direct electronic communication between the first signal line (55, in sub 71; see fig. 5) and the second signal line (46 and/or 55 in sub 72); and wherein the method further comprises:
However, McCann et al. is silent to processing the electronic signal with the communication unit; and transmitting the processed electronic signal to the other of the surface unit and the wellbore tool.
Hill et al. teach, in the same field of endeavor, a perforating gun comprising a downhole controller (38) with means for receiving signals and processing means for processing data embedded within the signa (refer to para 0019). The controller may then transmit the processing signal to initiate an operation of the perforating gun, such as to detonate shaped charges (refer to para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processing circuit of McCann et al. to include processing the electronic signal and transmitting the processed electronic signal to the other of the surface unit and the at least one downhole tool, as taught by Hill et al., for the predictable result of initiating operations of the perforating gun (refer to para 0019).
However, the combination fail to teach blocking electronic communication between the first signal line and the second signal line via the feedthrough bypass in response to a determination that the processing circuit is in an operable state, and
enabling electronic communication between the first signal line and the second signal line via the feedthrough bypass in response to a determination that the processing circuit is in an inoperable state.
Conclusion
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672