DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification references specific claim numbers on page 1 at line 17. The claim references should be omitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/23/2025 contained an apparent typographical error. The reference to DROST contained an erroneous publication number. It has been corrected and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 6/23/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein regarding the non-patent literature document has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 24, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drost (US 2021/0396566).
Regarding Claim 13: Drost teaches a method for cleaning a flowmeter comprising at least one oscillatory measurement tube (see abstract), wherein the cleaning is performed in order to remove a coating from a wall of the at least one measurement tube [0006], wherein the method comprises: applying a cleaning medium to the measurement tube [0080]; repeatedly acquiring measurement values of a monitoring parameter which is dependent on the coating, wherein the measurement values are acquired by means of the meter [0011]; and determining a cleaning progress on the basis of the measurement values of the monitoring parameter [0011].
Regarding Claim 14: Drost further teaches wherein determining the cleaning progress comprises: comparing the measurement values with at least one threshold value of the monitoring parameter [0085].
Regarding Claims 15-17: Drost further teaches controlling the cleaning process on the basis of the determined cleaning progress [0083] including terminating the cleaning process on the basis of the cleaning progress ([0083] states the system is placed into a non-cleaning mode such as an operation routine).
Regarding Claim 18: Drost further teaches verifying the cleaning progress using a verification parameter which is different from the monitoring parameter ([0065] states other verification parameters may be used).
Regarding Claims 19 and 20: Drost further teaches wherein the flowmeter is further designed to acquire density measurement values of a medium of air or water guided in the measurement tube, wherein the verification parameter comprises a function of at least one density measurement value for at least one reference medium with a known reference density, to which the measurement tube is subjected after the cleaning process has been terminated [0067-0074, 0080].
Regarding Claim 21: Drost further teaches the monitoring parameter comprises a damping of a measurement tube oscillation [0086].
Regarding Claim 22: Drost further teaches the monitoring parameter comprises the natural frequency of a torsional oscillation of the measurement tube [0065].
Regarding Claim 23: Drost further teaches wherein the flowmeter remains operationally installed in a measurement point in a process system during the cleaning process, in which measurement point the coating to be removed by the cleaning process has formed during normal operation of the process system, wherein normal operation is interrupted during the cleaning process, and wherein the flowmeter acquires and outputs measurement data relating to the monitoring parameters and/or verification parameters during the cleaning process [0006, 0085-0087].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drost (US 2021/0396566) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Gloss et al. (US 2019/0011300) and Yang et al. (CN 111842358, machine translation referenced herein)
Regarding Claim 24: Drost teaches the elements of Claim 13 as discussed above, but does not expressly disclose the flowmeter is removed from a measurement point in a process system during the cleaning process, in which measurement point the coating to be removed by the cleaning process has formed during normal operation of the process system. However, Gloss teaches that a flowmeter is installed in a pipeline and removed from a measurement point in a process system during a cleaning process, in which measurement point a coating to be removed by the cleaning process has formed during normal operation of the process system [0026]. Drost does not expressly disclose the flowmeter is operationally installed in a pipeline of a cleaning system during the cleaning process and acquires and outputs measurement data relating to the monitoring parameters to the cleaning system. However, Drost teaches acquiring and outputting measurement data relating to the monitoring parameters during the cleaning process, as discussed above. Yang teaches installing a flowmeter in a pipeline of a cleaning system for flushing the meter in a cleaning process (pg. 6, Embodiment 2, Step 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Drost and Gloss by removing the flowmeter and installing it in a pipeline of a cleaning system in order to flush the flowmeter as suggested by Yang.
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714