DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “an N-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions” but this recitation is unclear as an N-type collector region is the opposite conductivity type to a P-type collector region and it’s unclear how the N-type collector region can be considered part of the P-type collector region when they contain this mutually exclusive structural characteristic based on their different dopants. As such, the scope of claim 7 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 9 recites “a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions” but this recitation is unclear as a P-type collector region is the opposite conductivity type to an N-type collector region and it’s unclear how the P-type collector region can be considered part of the N-type collector region when they contain this mutually exclusive structural characteristic. As such, the scope of claim 9 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 10 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 9.
Claim 11 recites “a P-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions” but this recitation is unclear as a P-type collector region is the opposite conductivity type to an N-type collector region and it’s unclear how the P-type collector region can be considered part of the N-type collector region when they contain this mutually exclusive structural characteristic. As such, the scope of claim 11 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 11.
Claim 16 recites “an N-type bus region of the plurality of P-type bus regions” but this recitation is unclear as an N-type bus region is the opposite conductivity type to a P-type bus region and it’s unclear how the N-type bus region can be considered part of the P-type bus region when they contain this mutually exclusive structural characteristic based on their different dopants. As such, the scope of claim 16 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 17 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 16.
Claim 18 recites “an N-type bus region of the plurality of P-type bus regions” and “an N-type collector region of the plurality of P-type bus regions” but these recitation are unclear as N-type regions are the opposite conductivity type to a P-type region and it’s unclear how the N-type regions can be considered part of the P-type bus regions when they contain this mutually exclusive structural characteristic based on their different dopants. As such, the scope of claim 18 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 19 recites “a back contact solar cells comprising…” where it’s unclear if this claim means to claim one or a plurality of back contact solar cells, and further if there are a plurality of back contact solar cells it’s unclear if the further recitations in the body of the claims are for each solar cell or if only one solar cell requires the limitations. As such, the scope of claim 19 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI et al (CN 116613226A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 LI discloses a back contact solar cell (Fig. 1 Embodiment 1), comprising:
a silicon substrate, comprising a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: P-type silicon chip 11 or N-type silicon chip 12);
a P-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a first region on the first side of the silicon substrate (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: P-type tunneling passivation contact structure 4 including p-type polysilicon layer 42); and
an N-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a second region on the first side of the silicon substrate, wherein the first region is different from the second region (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: N-type tunneling passivation contact structure 3 including n-type polysilicon layer 32),
wherein a thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than a thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer, and wherein a ratio of the thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer to the thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is smaller than or equal to 2 (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: The p-type polysilicon layer 42 is a p-type doped polysilicon thin film with a thickness of 250 nm and the n-type polycrystalline silicon layer 32 is an N-type doped polycrystalline silicon thin film with a thickness of 150 nm with a ratio 250:150 thus ~1.67:1).
Regarding claim 4 LI discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the back contact solar cell further comprises: a first dielectric layer, located between the P-type doped polysilicon layer and the first region on the first side of the silicon substrate (Pages 9-10 of translation, Figs. 1 or 3 see: P-type tunneling passivation contact structure 4 including a second back tunneling oxide layer 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over LIU et al (CN 117334760A, reference made to US 2025/0143009 as equivalent English translation).
Regarding claim 1 LIU discloses a back contact solar cell, comprising:
a silicon substrate, comprising a first side and a second side opposite to the first side ([0135], Fig. 1 see: silicon substrate 101);
a P-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a first region on the first side of the silicon substrate ([0137], [0145]-[0146], Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 including first emitter 108 of p-type polysilicon); and
an N-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a second region on the first side of the silicon substrate, wherein the first region is different from the second region ([0137], [0145]-[0146], Fig. 1 see: second functional regions 117 including second emitter 109 of n-type polysilicon),
wherein a thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than a thickness of the N- type doped polysilicon layer ([0086] see: the thickness of the P-type doped emitter is greater than the thickness of the N-type doped emitter), and regarding the claim 1 limitation “wherein a ratio of the thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer to the thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is smaller than or equal to 2” LIU illustrates in Fig. 1 a ratio of the thickness of emitter 108 to 109 being smaller than or equal to 2 and in paras [0147]-[0168] and Figs. 6-13 describes forming the first emitter 108 with a thickness of 400 nm and the second emitter 109 with a thickness of 200 nm after etching thus having a ratio of 2.
In the alternative where it’s not clear that LIU anticipates this limitation, LIU further discloses in paras [0084]-[0085] the thickness of the first emitter can be from 200 nm to 400 nm with thickness values of 200 nm, 250 nm, 300 nm, 350 nm or 400 nm and likewise recites the second emitter can have a thickness value of 200 nm, 250 nm, 300 nm, 350 nm or 400 nm and as such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a ratio of the thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer to the thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is smaller than or equal to 2 as such a selection would have amounted to the use of known emitter layer thicknesses e.g. 400 nm P-type doped polysilicon layer to 200 nm N-type doped polysilicon layer for their intended use in the known environment of a back contact solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of forming a high-efficiency cell structure.
Regarding claim 4 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the back contact solar cell further comprises: a first dielectric layer, located between the P-type doped polysilicon layer and the first region on the first side of the silicon substrate ([0147], Fig. 1 see: SiO2 tunneling layer 103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 117334760A, reference made to US 2025/0143009 as equivalent English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Seno et al (US 2019/0386160) and alternatively in further view of Xu et al (US 2023/0343881).
Regarding claim 2 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly recite the limitations of claim 2.
Seno discloses a back contact solar cell where a surface of a P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is (Seno, [0024], [0037], [0052] Fig. 3 see: first semiconductor layer 50 can be polycrystalline silicon of a first conductivity type (p-type) and positioned on raised portions 23 of back surface 22 further from the light receiving surface 31 than surfaces of second semiconductor layer 51 in bottom faces 25 by height h), wherein a height difference between the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers (Seno, [0052], Fig. 3 see: back surface 22 of substrate 20 includes raised portions 23 with a height h from bottom faces 25 preferably at least 50 nm and at most 2 μm). Seno teaches this included bumpy structure can be provided through a manufacturing method that prevents an increase in the manufacturing cost while suitably producing an effect of improving the photoelectric conversion characteristic as a result of providing the doped impurity regions at the back surface of the solar cell (para [0064]).
Seno and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of Seno such that the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer of LIU proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is as in Seno (Seno, [0024], [0037], [0052] Fig. 3 see: first semiconductor layer 50 can be polycrystalline silicon of a first conductivity type (p-type) and positioned on raised portions 23 of back surface 22 further from the light receiving surface 31 than surfaces of second semiconductor layer 51 in bottom faces 25 by height h), wherein a height difference between the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers as in Seno (Seno, [0052], Fig. 3 see: back surface 22 of substrate 20 includes raised portions 23 with a height h from bottom faces 25 preferably at least 50 nm and at most 2 μm) as Seno teaches this included bumpy structure can be provided through a manufacturing method that prevents an increase in the manufacturing cost while suitably producing an effect of improving the photoelectric conversion characteristic as a result of providing the doped impurity regions at the back surface of the solar cell (para [0064]).
Furthermore, the recited height difference in Seno substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range of a distance of greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Alternatively, Xu also teaches a back contact solar cell where a surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is ([0029], [0035] Fig. 3 see: third surface of n-type first emitter 22 facing away from the tunneling layer 21 lower than a fourth surface of p-type second emitter 23 contacting tunneling layer 21), wherein a height difference between the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers ([0036] see: when the third surface is lower than the fourth surface, a vertical distance between the third surface and the fourth surface in a direction perpendicular to the second surface 20b may be set to 0.1 μm to 5 μm, such as 1 μm, 2 μm or 3 μm); or
the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate are distributed flush with each other ([0029], [0035] Fig. 3 see: p-type second emitter 23 with a fourth surface contacting tunneling layer 21 and flush with third surface of n-type first emitter 22 facing away from the tunneling layer 21).
Xu and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of Xu such that a surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate of LIU is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate of LIU is as in Xu ([0029], [0035] Fig. 3 see: third surface of n-type first emitter 22 facing away from the tunneling layer 21 lower than a fourth surface of p-type second emitter 23 contacting tunneling layer 21), wherein a height difference between the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers as in Xu ([0036] see: when the third surface is lower than the fourth surface, a vertical distance between the third surface and the fourth surface in a direction perpendicular to the second surface 20b may be set to 0.1 μm to 5 μm, such as 1 μm, 2 μm or 3 μm); or the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer of LIU proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer of LIU facing away from the silicon substrate are distributed flush with each other as in as in Xu ([0029], [0035] Fig. 3 see: p-type second emitter 23 with a fourth surface contacting tunneling layer 21 and flush with third surface of n-type first emitter 22 facing away from the tunneling layer 21) for the purpose of providing vertical separation or isolation of the opposite polarity emitter junctions at the substrate back surface.
Regarding claim 3 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 2, wherein the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is (taught by Seno or Xu as recited above in claim 2) and regarding the claim 3 limitation “wherein the height difference between the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers” the recited height difference in Seno (para [0052], preferably a height of at least 50 nm and at most 2 μm) substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range of a distance greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Additionally, Xu teaches wherein the height difference between the surface of the P-type doped polysilicon layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers ([0036] see: when the third surface is lower than the fourth surface, a vertical distance between the third surface and the fourth surface in a direction perpendicular to the second surface 20b may be set to 0.1 μm to 5 μm, such as 1 μm).
Regarding claim 5 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 4, but does not explicitly recite the limitations of claim 5.
Seno discloses a back contact solar cell where a surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is (Seno, [0024], [0037], [0052] Fig. 3 see: first semiconductor layer 50 can be polycrystalline silicon of a first conductivity type (p-type) and positioned on raised portions 23 of back surface 22 with a tunnel oxide layer further from the light receiving surface 31 than surfaces of second semiconductor layer 51 in bottom faces 25 by height h), wherein a height difference between the surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers (Seno, [0052], Fig. 3 see: back surface 22 of substrate 20 includes raised portions 23 with a height h from bottom faces 25 preferably at least 50 nm and at most 2 μm). Seno teaches this included bumpy structure can be provided through a manufacturing method that prevents an increase in the manufacturing cost while suitably producing an effect of improving the photoelectric conversion characteristic as a result of providing the doped impurity regions at the back surface of the solar cell (para [0064]).
Seno and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of Seno such that the surface of the first dielectric layer of LIU proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is as in Seno (Seno, [0024], [0037], [0052] Fig. 3 see: first semiconductor layer 50 can be polycrystalline silicon of a first conductivity type (p-type) and positioned on raised portions 23 of back surface 22 with a tunnel oxide layer further from the light receiving surface 31 than surfaces of second semiconductor layer 51 in bottom faces 25 by height h), wherein a height difference between the surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers as in Seno (Seno, [0052], Fig. 3 see: back surface 22 of substrate 20 includes raised portions 23 with a height h from bottom faces 25 preferably at least 50 nm and at most 2 μm) as Seno teaches this included bumpy structure can be provided through a manufacturing method that prevents an increase in the manufacturing cost while suitably producing an effect of improving the photoelectric conversion characteristic as a result of providing the doped impurity regions at the back surface of the solar cell (para [0064]).
Furthermore, the recited height difference in Seno substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range of a distance of greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Alternatively, Xu also teaches a back contact solar cell where a surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is ([0029], [0035] Fig. 3 see: third surface of n-type first emitter 22 facing away from the tunneling layer 21 lower than a fourth surface of p-type second emitter 23 contacting tunneling layer 21 as well as surface of tunneling layer 21 facing surface 20b), wherein a height difference between the surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers ([0036] see: when the third surface is lower than the fourth surface, a vertical distance between the third surface and the fourth surface in a direction perpendicular to the second surface 20b may be set to 0.1 μm to 5 μm, such as 1 μm, 2 μm or 3 μm);
Xu and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of Xu such that a surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate of LIU is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than a surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate of LIU is as in Xu ([0029], [0035]-[0036] Fig. 3 see: third surface of n-type first emitter 22 facing away from the tunneling layer 21 lower than a fourth surface of p-type second emitter 23 contacting tunneling layer 21 and surface of tunneling layer 21 contacting surface 20b), wherein a height difference between the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 4.85 micrometers as in Xu ([0036] see: when the third surface is lower than the fourth surface, a vertical distance between the third surface and the fourth surface in a direction perpendicular to the second surface 20b may be set to 0.1 μm to 5 μm, such as 1 μm, 2 μm or 3 μm) for the purpose of providing vertical separation or isolation of the opposite polarity emitter junctions at the substrate back surface.
Regarding claim 6 modified Liu discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 5, wherein the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate is farther away from the second side of the silicon substrate than the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is (taught by Seno or Xu as recited above in claim 5) and regarding the claim 6 limitation “wherein the height difference between the surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers” the recited height difference in Seno (para [0052], preferably a height of at least 50 nm and at most 2 μm) substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range of a distance greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Additionally, Xu teaches wherein the height difference between the surface of the first dielectric layer proximate to the silicon substrate and the surface of the N-type doped polysilicon layer facing away from the silicon substrate is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 1.6 micrometers ([0036] see: when the third surface is lower than the fourth surface, a vertical distance between the third surface and the fourth surface in a direction perpendicular to the second surface 20b may be set to 0.1 μm to 5 μm, such as 1 μm).
Claims 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 117334760A, reference made to US 2025/0143009 as equivalent English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of EO et al (KR 20120021964A, reference made to English machine translation).
Regarding claim 7 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the silicon substrate is N-type doped (para [0135]),
wherein the P-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of P-type collector regions, and the N-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of N-type collector regions, wherein the plurality of N-type collector regions and the plurality of P-type collector regions are alternately distributed along a first direction and extend along a second direction (Abstract, [0137] Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 and second functional regions 117 or respective p-type emitters 108 and n-type emitters 109 are alternately arranged on the back side of the substrate along first direction D1 and extend perpendicular along a second direction).
LIU discloses wherein a direction of the width of the N-type collector region and a direction of the width of a P-type collector region are parallel to the first direction (Fig. 1, Direction D1) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a width of an N-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a width of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions ranges from 0.5 to 1.5.
EO teaches a back contact solar cell where a ratio of a width of an emitter collector region to a width of a base collector region ranges from 1.5 to 2.5 (Bottom of page 8 to Top of Page 9, Fig. 5 see: ratio W1/W2 of width W1 of emitter portion 121 to width W2 of rear electric field unit 172 may be 1.5 to 2.5). EO teaches this range minimizes the movement distance of the hole in consideration of the movement speed of the electrons and holes and optimize photoelectric efficiency of the solar cell (Top of Page 9).
EO and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of EO such that a ratio of a width of an N-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a width of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions is 1.5 as in EO (Bottom of page 8 to Top of Page 9, Fig. 5 see: ratio W1/W2 of width W1 of emitter portion 121 to width W2 of rear electric field unit 172 may be 1.5 to 2.5) as EO teaches this range minimizes the movement distance of the hole in consideration of the movement speed of the electrons and holes and optimize photoelectric efficiency of the solar cell (Top of Page 9). Furthermore, the recited range of EO overlaps applicant’s claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 8 LIU discloses back contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the silicon substrate is N-type doped (para [0135]),
wherein the P-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of P-type collector regions and the N-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of N-type collector regions, wherein the plurality of N-type collector regions and the plurality of P-type collector regions are alternately distributed along a first direction and extend along a second direction(Abstract, [0137] Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 and second functional regions 117 or respective p-type emitters 108 and n-type emitters 109 are alternately arranged on the back side of the substrate along first direction D1 and extend perpendicular along a second direction).
LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions ranges from 0.5 to 4.
However, the ratio of a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions depend upon the ratio of a width of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to width of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions where EO teaches the photoelectric efficiency of the solar cell can be optimized by varying the ratio of said widths (Bottom of page 8 to Top of Page 9, Fig. 5) and thus varying the ratio of said volumes.
As such, the ratio of a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions of LIU would have been considered a result effective variable. The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio of a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions in the solar cell of LIU to achieve the optimized photoelectric efficiency of the solar cell of LIU as taught by EO. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the silicon substrate is P-type doped (para [0176]),
wherein the P-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of P-type collector regions, and the N-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of N-type collector regions, wherein the plurality of N-type collector regions and the plurality of P-type collector regions are alternately distributed along a first direction and extend along a second direction (Abstract, [0137] Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 and second functional regions 117 or respective p-type emitters 108 and n-type emitters 109 are alternately arranged on the back side of the substrate along first direction D1 and extend perpendicular along a second direction), and
LIU discloses wherein a direction of the width of the N-type collector region and a direction of the width of a P-type collector region are parallel to the first direction (Fig. 1, Direction D1) but LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions is greater than a width of a P-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions.
EO teaches a back contact solar cell where a width of an emitter collector region is greater than a width of a base collector region (Bottom of page 8 to Top of Page 9, Fig. 5 see: ratio W1/W2 of width W1 of emitter portion 121 to width W2 of rear electric field unit 172 may be 1.5 to 2.5). EO teaches this range minimizes the movement distance of the hole in consideration of the movement speed of the electrons and holes and optimize photoelectric efficiency of the solar cell (Top of Page 9).
EO and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of EO such that a width of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions is greater than a width of a P-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions as in EO (Bottom of page 8 to Top of Page 9, Fig. 5 see: ratio W1/W2 of width W1 of emitter portion 121 to width W2 of rear electric field unit 172 may be 1.5 to 2.5) as EO teaches this minimizes the movement distance of the hole in consideration of the movement speed of the electrons and holes and optimize photoelectric efficiency of the solar cell (Top of Page 9).
Regarding claim 12 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 11, and regarding the claim 12 limitation “wherein a ratio of the width of the N-type collector region to the width of the P-type collector region ranges from 2.5 to 8” EO teaches a ratio range of emitter width to base width of 1.5 to 2.5 (Bottom of page 8 to Top of Page 9, Fig. 5 see: ratio W1/W2 of width W1 of emitter portion 121 to width W2 of rear electric field unit 172 may be 1.5 to 2.5) overlapping the claimed range. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 117334760A, reference made to US 2025/0143009 as equivalent English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2013/0147003).
Regarding claim 9 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the silicon substrate is P-type doped (para [0176]),
wherein the P-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of P-type collector regions, and the N-type doped polysilicon layer comprises a plurality of N-type collector regions, wherein the plurality of N-type collector regions and the plurality of P-type collector regions are alternately distributed along a first direction and extend along a second direction (Abstract, [0137] Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 and second functional regions 117 or respective p-type emitters 108 and n-type emitters 109 are alternately arranged on the back side of the substrate along first direction D1 and extend perpendicular along a second direction), but LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions is smaller than a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions.
However, Kim teaches the widths of base and emitter collector regions and resulting volumes at the back surface of a solar cell can be varied to increase the short-circuit current Jsc of the solar cell (para [0043] and Figs. 8A-8B) where the volume of a base collector region is smaller than a volume of emitter collector region ([0102], Figs. 8A-8B see: the width W2 of the emitter region 850 is greater than the width W1 of the base region 840 resulting in a larger volume).
Kim and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of Kim such that a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions is smaller than a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions as in Kim ([0102], Figs. 8A-8B see: the width W2 of the emitter region 850 is greater than the width W1 of the base region 840 resulting in a larger volume) as Kim teaches this increases the short-circuit current Jsc of the solar cell (para [0043] and Figs. 8A-8B).
Regarding claim 10 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of the volume of the P-type collector region to the volume of the N-type collector region ranges from 0.1 to 0.8.
However, Kim teaches the widths and thus also volumes of base and emitter collector regions at the back surface of a solar cell can be varied to increase the short-circuit current Jsc of the solar cell (paras [0043], Figs. 8A-8B).
As such, the ratio of a volume of a P-type collector region to a volume of an N-type collector region of LIU would have been considered a result effective variable. The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio of a volume of a P-type collector region of the plurality of P-type collector regions to a volume of an N-type collector region of the plurality of N-type collector regions in the solar cell of LIU to achieve the optimized short-circuit current Jsc of the solar cell of LIU as taught by Kim. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 117334760A, reference made to US 2025/0143009 as equivalent English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Zheng et al (CN 117393624A, reference made to US 2025/0194288 as equivalent English translation) and in further view of LIN et al (US 2015/0013742).
Regarding claim 13 LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 1,wherein the P-type doped polysilicon layer further comprises a plurality of P-type collector regions and wherein the N-type doped polysilicon layer further comprises a plurality of N-type collector regions wherein the N-type collector regions and the P-type collector regions are alternately distributed along a first direction and extend along the second direction (Abstract, [0137] Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 and second functional regions 117 or respective p-type emitters 108 and n-type emitters 109 are alternately arranged on the back side of the substrate along first direction D1 and extend perpendicular along a second direction) wherein the first direction is different from the second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a thickness direction but does not explicitly disclose the further limitations of claim 13.
Zheng discloses a back contact solar cell comprising a plurality of P-type collector regions and a plurality of P-type bus regions ([0050], Figs. 1-2 see: first doped sections 101 of second portions 112 and first portions 111), and a plurality of N-type collector regions and a plurality of N-type bus regions ([0050], Figs. 1-2 see: second doped sections 102 of fourth portions 122 and third portions 121) where the p-type and N-type collector regions are alternately distributed along a first direction and extend along the second direction (Fig. 1 see: second portions 112 and fourth portions 122 alternately distributed along Y direction and extend along x direction).
Zheng discloses wherein the N-type bus regions and the P-type bus regions are alternately distributed along the second direction and extend along the first direction (Fig. 1 see: first portions 111 and third portions 121 alternately distributed along X direction and extend along Y direction), wherein the first direction is different from the second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a thickness direction (Figs. 1-2),
wherein each N-type collector region located between an N-type bus region and a P-type bus region adjacent to the N-type bus region is connected to the N-type bus region (Fig. 1 see: fourth portions 122 connected to third portions 122) and
wherein each P-type collector region located between an N-type bus region and a P-type bus region adjacent to the N-type bus region is connected to the P-type bus region (Fig. 1 see: second portions 112 connected to first portions 111).
Zheng discloses this arrangement takes better advantage of the back surface area of the solar cell to increase the area of the PN junction portions to increase the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the back-contact solar cell (Zheng, [0050])
Zheng and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of LIU in view of Zheng such that the solar cell further comprises a plurality of P-type bus regions as in Zheng ([0050], Figs. 1-2 see: first doped sections 101 including first portions 111), and a plurality of N-type bus regions as in Zheng ([0050], Figs. 1-2 see: second doped sections 102 including third portions 121), wherein the N-type bus regions and the P-type bus regions are alternately distributed along the second direction and extend along the first direction as in Zheng (Fig. 1 see: first portions 111 and third portions 121 alternately distributed along X direction and extend along Y direction), wherein the first direction is different from the second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a thickness direction as in Zheng (Figs. 1-2), wherein each N-type collector region located between an N-type bus region and a P-type bus region adjacent to the N-type bus region is connected to the N-type bus region as in Zheng (Fig. 1 see: fourth portions 122 connected to third portions 122) and wherein each P-type collector region located between an N-type bus region and a P-type bus region adjacent to the N-type bus region is connected to the P-type bus region as in Zheng (Fig. 1 see: second portions 112 connected to first portions 111) as Zheng discloses this arrangement takes better advantage of the back surface area of the solar cell to increase the area of the PN junction portions to increase the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the back-contact solar cell (Zheng, [0050]).
Modified LIU does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a length of a collector region to a width of a bus region ranges from 22 to 64, wherein the collector region is one of the plurality of P-type collector regions or the plurality of N-type collector regions, and the bus region is one of the plurality of P-type bus regions or the plurality of N-type bus regions, where a direction of the length of the collector region and a direction of the width of the bus region are parallel to the second direction.
However, LIN teaches discloses the length of the finger electrodes which is dependent on the length of the collector regions should be relatively long to increase loading current but no so long as to increase resistance and lose output and photoelectric conversion efficiency (LIN, [0003]-[0004], [0024]-[0025]).
As such, a ratio of a length of a collector region to a width of a bus region of LIU would have been considered result effective variable. The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a ratio of a length of a collector region to a width of a bus region in the solar cell of LIU to achieve the optimized photoelectric conversion performance of the back-contact solar cell of LIU as taught by LIN. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 13, and Zheng further teaches wherein:
a first gap exists between an N-type collector region and a P-type collector region adjacent to the N-type collector region (Zheng, [0103]-[0104], Figs. 1-5 see: isolation structure 103 provided between first doped section 101 and the second doped section 102 including between 112 and 122);
a second gap exists between a collector region and a bus region of a different type from that of the collector region (Zheng, [0103]-[0104], Figs. 1-5 see: isolation structure 103 provided between first doped section 101 and the second doped section 102 including between 111 and 121); and
a dimension of the second gap in the second direction is greater than or equal to a dimension of the first gap in the first direction (Zheng, [0103]-[0104], Figs. 1-5 see: isolation structure 103 provided between first doped section 101 and the second doped section 102 is illustrated dimensionally equal between first doped section 101 and the second doped section 102 and thus also between 112 and 122 and 111 and 121).
Regarding claim 15 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 14, and Zheng teaches wherein a ratio of the dimension of the second gap in the second direction to the dimension of the first gap in the first direction ranges from 1 to 4 (Zheng, [0103]-[0104], Figs. 1-5 see: isolation structure 103 provided between first doped section 101 and the second doped section 102 is illustrated dimensionally equal between first doped section 101 and the second doped section 102 and thus also between 112 and 122 and 111 and 121 and thus have a ratio of 1:1).
Regarding claim 16 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 13, and Zheng further teaches wherein a volume of a P-type bus region of the plurality of P-type bus regions is greater than or equal to a volume of an N-type bus region of the plurality of P-type bus regions (Zheng, [0089]-[0093], Figs. 1-3 see: width d1 of an edge first portion 111 is greater than the width d4 of a non-edge third portion 121 and thus the resulting volume of this edge first portion 111 is greater than the volume of the non-edge third portion 121).
Regarding claim 17 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 16, and although modified LIU does not explicitly discloses wherein a ratio of the volume of the P-type bus region to the volume of the N-type bus region ranges from 1 to 2, Zheng teaches increasing the area of the emitter (p-typer region) and thus volume of the emitter (p-typer region) and thus also P-type bus region relative to the N-type bus region, this provides a larger area proportion of the PN junctions so more electro-hole pairs can be generated, so that higher photocurrent is output, and hence the photoelectric conversion performance of the back-contact solar cell is improved (Zheng, [0063]-[0064]).
As such, the ratio of ratio of the volume of the P-type bus region to the volume of the N-type bus region of LIU would have been considered a result effective variables. The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio of the volume of the P-type bus region to the volume of the N-type bus region in the solar cell of LIU to achieve the optimized photoelectric conversion performance of the back-contact solar cell of LIU as taught by Zheng. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18 modified LIU discloses the back contact solar cell according to claim 13, and Zheng further discloses wherein:
a ratio of a width of a P-type bus region of the plurality of P-type bus regions to a width of an N-type bus region of the plurality of P-type bus regions ranges from 0.95 to 1.05 (Zheng, Fig. 3 see: width d2 of a first portion 111 is equal to a width d4 of a third portion 121); or
a ratio of a length of a P-type collector of the plurality of P-type bus regions region to a length of an N-type collector of the plurality of P-type bus regions region ranges from 0.95 to 1.05.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (CN 117334760A, reference made to US 2025/0143009 as equivalent English translation), and further in view of Xu et al (US 2023/0343881).
Regarding claim 19 LIU discloses a back contact solar cell, comprising:
a silicon substrate, comprising a first side and a second side opposite to the first side ([0135], Fig. 1 see: silicon substrate 101);
a P-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a first region on the first side of the silicon substrate ([0137], [0145]-[0146], Fig. 1 see: first functional regions 116 including first emitter 108 of p-type polysilicon); and
an N-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a second region on the first side of the silicon substrate, wherein the first region is different from the second region ([0137], [0145]-[0146], Fig. 1 see: second functional regions 117 including second emitter 109 of n-type polysilicon),
wherein a thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than a thickness of the N- type doped polysilicon layer ([0086] see: the thickness of the P-type doped emitter is greater than the thickness of the N-type doped emitter), and regarding the claim 19 limitation “wherein a ratio of the thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer to the thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is smaller than or equal to 2” LIU illustrates in Fig. 1 a ratio of the thickness of emitter 108 to 109 being smaller than or equal to 2 and in paras [0147]-[0168] and Figs. 6-13 describes forming the first emitter 108 with a thickness of 400 nm and the second emitter 109 with a thickness of 200 nm after etching thus having a ratio of 2.
In the alternative where it’s not clear that LIU anticipates this limitation, LIU further discloses in paras [0084]-[0085] the thickness of the first emitter can be from 200 nm to 400 nm with thickness values of 200 nm, 250 nm, 300 nm, 350 nm or 400 nm and likewise recites the second emitter can have a thickness value of 200 nm, 250 nm, 300 nm, 350 nm or 400 nm and as such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a ratio of the thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer to the thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is smaller than or equal to 2 as such a selection would have amounted to the use of known emitter layer thicknesses e.g. 400 nm P-type doped polysilicon layer to 200 nm N-type doped polysilicon layer for their intended use in the known environment of a back contact solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of forming a high-efficiency cell structure.
LIU does not explicitly disclose the solar cell as one of a plurality of solar cells of a photovoltaic module, however, it is well known to combine multiple of such solar cells in a photovoltaic module as taught by Xu (Abstract, [0049] Fig. 6 see: plurality of solar cells in a module).
Xu and LIU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a plurality of the solar cells of LIU in a photovoltaic module as in Xu (Abstract, [0049] Fig. 6 see: plurality of solar cells in a module) for protection and to provide an increased power output.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al (CN 116613226A, reference made to attached English machine translation), and further in view of Xu et al (US 2023/0343881).
Regarding claim 19 LI discloses a back contact solar cell (Fig. 1 Embodiment 1), comprising:
a silicon substrate, comprising a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: P-type silicon chip 11 or N-type silicon chip 12);
a P-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a first region on the first side of the silicon substrate (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: P-type tunneling passivation contact structure 4 including p-type polysilicon layer 42); and
an N-type doped polysilicon layer, located in a second region on the first side of the silicon substrate, wherein the first region is different from the second region (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: N-type tunneling passivation contact structure 3 including n-type polysilicon layer 32),
wherein a thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than a thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer, and wherein a ratio of the thickness of the P-type doped polysilicon layer to the thickness of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is smaller than or equal to 2 (Pages 9-10 of translation, Fig. 1 see: The p-type polysilicon layer 42 is a p-type doped polysilicon thin film with a thickness of 250 nm and the n-type polycrystalline silicon layer 32 is an N-type doped polycrystalline silicon thin film with a thickness of 150 nm with a ratio 250:150 thus ~1.67:1).
LI does not explicitly disclose the solar cell as one of a plurality of solar cells of a photovoltaic module, however, it is well known to combine multiple of such solar cells in a photovoltaic module as taught by Xu (Abstract, [0049] Fig. 6 see: plurality of solar cells in a module).
Xu and LI are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of back contact solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a plurality of the solar cells of LI in a photovoltaic module as in Xu (Abstract, [0049] Fig. 6 see: plurality of solar cells in a module) for protection and to provide an increased power output.
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726