DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “stiffening element” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomsen (US2014/0064870).
Regarding claim 1, Thomsen teaches a method for transporting a wind turbine blade, comprising: a) providing a blade (12) with a compliant portion (generally 46) forming a flexure hinge (the blade flexes around concave side 46, generally indicated by the perpendicular line to cable 21) for being bent around a bending axis (13) arranged perpendicular to a length direction of the blade, b) transporting the blade along a curved transportation path (14), wherein the flexure hinge is bent according to a curvature of the transportation path (see Fig. 8), and c) reinforcing the compliant portion (the bent portion is reinforced with covers 24).
Regarding claim 3, Thomsen teaches the blade comprises at least two blade portions (generally 3, 23) connected to each other by the flexure hinge, the flexure hinge being configured to move the blade portions relative to each other by bending the flexure hinge around the bending axis (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Thomsen teaches during transporting the blade, the blade portions are moved relative to each other by bending the flexure hinge according to the curvature of the transportation path (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Thomsen teaches the bending axis is arranged perpendicular or parallel to a chord line of the blade (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Thomsen teaches the compliant portion and/or a remaining structure of the blade includes at least one beam, spar cap and/or shear web of the blade.
Regarding claim 8, Thomsen teaches the compliant portion and/or a remaining structure of the blade includes a pressure side shell (46) or a suction side shell of the blade.
Regarding claim 10, Thomsen teaches the compliant portion is arranged at a distance from a root portion of the blade (3) of at least 10% of a blade length (the remaining limitations are considered optional).
Regarding claim 11, Thomsen teaches reinforcing the compliant portion includes arranging one or more pre-cast elements (24) in the compliant portion and joining the one or more pre-cast elements with a remaining structure and/or a recessed structure of the blade.
Regarding claim 14, Thomsen teaches fixing a stiffening element (24) at the blade for temporarily stiffening the compliant portion for lifting and/or handling the blade, and/or removing the stiffening element before step b).
Regarding claim 15, Thomsen teaches a deflection of the flexure hinge is monitored during transporting the blade.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomsen in view of Alvarez Redondo et al. (US2023/0374970).
Regarding claims 2, 7 and 9, Thomsen teaches the blade comprises a remaining structure extending throughout the compliant portion, but fails to teach a recessed structure having at least one recess in the compliant portion, wherein the blade comprises a recessed structure having at least one recess in the compliant portion, and the recessed structure includes a shell, pressure side shell and/or suction side shell of the blade, wherein the blade comprises a recessed structure having at least one recess in the compliant portion, and the recessed structure includes a shear web and/or a spar cap of the blade.
In an analogous art, Alvarez teaches a wind turbine blade. Alvarez teaches a gap (between portions 13, 14 and filled by fairing plate 24, see Fig. 3) forming a recessed structure, the recessed structure including a shell (24), the recessed structure including a spar (15, 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blade of Thomsen and change it so that the blade comprises a remaining structure extending throughout the compliant portion, but fails to teach a recessed structure having at least one recess in the compliant portion, wherein the blade comprises a recessed structure having at least one recess in the compliant portion, and the recessed structure includes a shell, pressure side shell and/or suction side shell of the blade, wherein the blade comprises a recessed structure having at least one recess in the compliant portion, and the recessed structure includes a shear web and/or a spar cap of the blade as taught by Alvarez to allow the blade to be formed in multiple segments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the PTO-892 for a list of references related to wind turbine transport.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745