DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed June 11, 2026.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed June 11, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent March 11, 2026 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 17 recite, “the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face is substantially flat”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face is substantially flat.
The specification does not depict or describe a surface of the first sub-pyramidal face as being “flat”, let alone being “substantially flat”.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 17 recited, “the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face is substantially flat”.
It is unclear as to the scope of structures of the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face encompassed by the phrase “is substantially flat” and what structures of the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face are specifically excluded by the phrase “is substantially flat” because it is unclear as to what limitations the term “substantially” definitely imparts on the claimed surface.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the surface" on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Amending “the surface” to “a surface” would overcome the rejection.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the surface" on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Amending “the surface” to “a surface” would overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0079826 A1) in view of Chen (TW 201440237 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed July 1, 2025).
With regard to claims 1-3 and 16-18, Zhang et al. discloses a photovoltaic module, comprising a plurality of solar cells (see [0088] and Fig. 5), wherein a solar cell, comprising:
a silicon substrate (10, Fig. 1 and see [0047] teaching “silicon substrate”) and
a passivation anti- reflection layer located on the silicon substrate (as depicted in Fig. 1, a passivation anti- reflection layer 20 located on the silicon substrate 10), wherein:
a surface of the silicon substrate has a textured structure comprising: a plurality of quasi- pyramidal structures (as depicted in Fig. 1, a top surface of the silicon substrate 10 has a textured structure comprising: a plurality of quasi- pyramidal structures);
a quasi-pyramidal structure comprises: a pyramidal face and a pyramidal apex (as depicted in Fig. 1, a quasi-pyramidal structure comprises a pyramidal face and a pyramidal apex).
Zhang et al. does not disclose wherein the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure comprises: a first sub- pyramidal face away from the pyramidal apex, and a second sub-pyramidal face, wherein the second sub-pyramidal face is the remaining portion of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure other than the first sub-pyramidal face; and in the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure, a surface morphology of the first sub-pyramidal face is different from a surface morphology of the second sub-pyramidal face, surface morphologies of a sub-pyramidal face comprise: a surface fluctuation of the sub- pyramidal face.
However, Chen discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches wherein a pyramidal face of a quasi-pyramidal structure comprises a first sub- pyramidal face away from the pyramidal apex, and a second sub-pyramidal face, wherein the second sub-pyramidal face is the remaining portion of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure other than the first sub-pyramidal face (as depicted in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 below); and
Annotated Fig. 5
in the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure, a surface morphology of the first sub-pyramidal face is different from a surface morphology of the second sub-pyramidal face, surface morphologies of a sub-pyramidal face comprise: a surface fluctuation of the sub- pyramidal face, wherein an extent of protrusions or depressions on the second sub-pyramidal face is greater than an extent of protrusions or depressions on the first sub-pyramidal face, or wherein an arrangement of the protrusions or depressions on the second sub-pyramidal face is more disordered than an arrangement of the protrusions or depressions on the first sub-pyramidal face (as depicted in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, a surface fluctuation of the first sub- pyramidal face is less than a surface fluctuation of the second sub- pyramidal face because the extent of projections of the cited first sub- pyramidal face which includes the extent 236 of the lowest most protrusion 234 is less than the extent of projections 234 of the cited second sub- pyramidal face which includes the extent 236a of the top most protrusion 234a; see [0072]), wherein the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face is substantially flat (as depicted in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, the cited first sub-pyramidal face is cited to read on the claimed “substantially flat” because it include surfaces which are substantially flat).
Chen teaches the shape of the cited quasi-pyramidal structure provides for good coverage for the passivation layer thereby improving the passivation effect which can improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell (see [0075]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the quasi-pyramidal structure in the solar cell of Zhang et al. for the shape of the quasi-pyramidal structure suggested by Chen because it would have provided for good coverage for the passivation layer thereby improving the passivation effect which can improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell.
Zhang et al., as modified by Chen above, discloses the passivation anti-reflection layer comprises
a first portion located on the first sub- pyramidal face (such as depicted in Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the cited passivation anti-reflection layer 20 comprises a first portion at “c” which would correspondingly be located on the cited first sub-pyramidal face at the lowest part of the pyramidal face, as modified by Chen above), and
a second portion located on the second sub-pyramidal face (such as depicted in Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the cited passivation anti-reflection layer 20 comprises a second portion at “b” which would correspondingly be located on the cited second sub-pyramidal face toward the middle and upper part of the pyramidal face, as modified by Chen above); and
in the passivation anti-reflection layer, a thickness of the first portion along a direction towards the pyramidal apex is greater than a thickness of the second portion along the direction towards the pyramidal apex (such as depicted in Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., a thickness of the cited first portion at “c” along a direction towards the pyramidal apex is greater than a thickness of the cited second portion at “b” along the direction towards the pyramidal apex), and wherein
the thickness of the first portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than a thickness of a portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer at the pyramidal apex in the passivation anti-reflection layer; or a thickness of a portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer at a position where adjacent quasi-pyramidal structures abut in the passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than the thickness of the portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer at the pyramidal apex in the passivation anti- reflection layer; or in the passivation anti-reflection layer, the thickness of the portion of the passivation anti- reflection layer at the position where adjacent quasi-pyramidal structures abut is greater than the thickness of the second portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer (such as depicted in Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the thickness of the portion of the passivation anti- reflection layer 20 at the position where adjacent quasi-pyramidal structures abut, at “c”, is greater than the thickness of the cited second portion at “b” of the passivation anti-reflection layer 20).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 3 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Zhang et al., as modified above, does bit disclose wherein in the passivation anti- reflection layer, a thickness non-uniformity between the first portion and the second portion is greater than 4%; and wherein the thickness non-uniformity is an absolute value of a difference between a first thickness of the first portion at a first position along the direction towards the pyramidal apex in the first portion and a second thickness of the second portion at a second position in the second portion along the direction towards the pyramidal apex, divided by a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness.
However, the thickness non-uniformity is a result effective variable directly affecting the color uniformity, passivation, and antireflection effects of the front surface of the solar cell (see Zhang et al. at [0055]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the thickness non-uniformity between the first portion and the second portion in the solar cell of Zhang et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
With regard to claim 5, Zhang et al. discloses a solar cell, comprising:
a silicon substrate (10, Fig. 1 and see [0047] teaching “silicon substrate”) and
a passivation anti- reflection layer located on the silicon substrate (as depicted in Fig. 1, a passivation anti- reflection layer 22 located on the silicon substrate 10) and
an aluminum oxide layer located between the silicon substrate and the passivation anti-reflection layer (as depicted in Fig. 1 an aluminum oxide layer 21 located between the silicon substrate 10 and the passivation anti-reflection layer 22; see [0063] teaching “aluminum oxide layer”), wherein:
a surface of the silicon substrate has a textured structure comprising: a plurality of quasi- pyramidal structures (as depicted in Fig. 1, a top surface of the silicon substrate 10 has a textured structure comprising: a plurality of quasi- pyramidal structures);
a quasi-pyramidal structure comprises: a pyramidal face and a pyramidal apex (as depicted in Fig. 1, a quasi-pyramidal structure comprises a pyramidal face and a pyramidal apex).
Zhang et al. does not disclose wherein the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure comprises: a first sub- pyramidal face away from the pyramidal apex, and a second sub-pyramidal face, wherein the second sub-pyramidal face is the remaining portion of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure other than the first sub-pyramidal face; and in the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure, a surface morphology of the first sub-pyramidal face is different from a surface morphology of the second sub-pyramidal face, surface morphologies of a sub-pyramidal face comprise: a surface fluctuation of the sub- pyramidal face.
However, Chen discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches wherein a pyramidal face of a quasi-pyramidal structure comprises a first sub- pyramidal face away from the pyramidal apex, and a second sub-pyramidal face, wherein the second sub-pyramidal face is the remaining portion of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure other than the first sub-pyramidal face (as depicted in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 below); and
Annotated Fig. 5
in the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure, a surface morphology of the first sub-pyramidal face is different from a surface morphology of the second sub-pyramidal face, surface morphologies of a sub-pyramidal face comprise: a surface fluctuation of the sub- pyramidal face, wherein an extent of protrusions or depressions on the second sub-pyramidal face is greater than an extent of protrusions or depressions on the first sub-pyramidal face, or wherein an arrangement of the protrusions or depressions on the second sub-pyramidal face is more disordered than an arrangement of the protrusions or depressions on the first sub-pyramidal face (as depicted in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, a surface fluctuation of the first sub- pyramidal face is less than a surface fluctuation of the second sub- pyramidal face because the extent of projections of the cited first sub- pyramidal face which includes the extent 236 of the lowest most protrusion 234 is less than the extent of projections 234 of the cited second sub- pyramidal face which includes the extent 236a of the top most protrusion 234a; see [0072]), wherein the surface of the first sub-pyramidal face is substantially flat (as depicted in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, the cited first sub-pyramidal face is cited to read on the claimed “substantially flat” because it include surfaces which are substantially flat).
Chen teaches the shape of the cited quasi-pyramidal structure provides for good coverage for the passivation layer thereby improving the passivation effect which can improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell (see [0075]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the quasi-pyramidal structure in the solar cell of Zhang et al. for the shape of the quasi-pyramidal structure suggested by Chen because it would have provided for good coverage for the passivation layer thereby improving the passivation effect which can improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell.
Zhang et al., as modified by Chen above, discloses the passivation anti-reflection layer comprises
a first portion located on the first sub- pyramidal face (such as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the cited passivation anti-reflection layer 22 comprises a first portion at “c” which would correspondingly be located on the cited first sub-pyramidal face at the lowest part of the pyramidal face, as modified by Chen above), and
a second portion located on the second sub-pyramidal face (such as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the cited passivation anti-reflection layer 22 comprises a second portion at “b” which would correspondingly be located on the cited second sub-pyramidal face toward the middle and upper part of the pyramidal face, as modified by Chen above); and
in the passivation anti-reflection layer, a thickness of the first portion along a direction towards the pyramidal apex is greater than a thickness of the second portion along the direction towards the pyramidal apex (such as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., a thickness of the cited first portion at “c” along a direction towards the pyramidal apex is greater than a thickness of the cited second portion at “b” along the direction towards the pyramidal apex), and wherein
the thickness of the first portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than a thickness of a portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer at the pyramidal apex in the passivation anti-reflection layer; or a thickness of a portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer at a position where adjacent quasi-pyramidal structures abut in the passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than the thickness of the portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer at the pyramidal apex in the passivation anti- reflection layer; or in the passivation anti-reflection layer, the thickness of the portion of the passivation anti- reflection layer at the position where adjacent quasi-pyramidal structures abut is greater than the thickness of the second portion of the passivation anti-reflection layer (such as depicted in Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the thickness of the portion of the passivation anti- reflection layer 20 at the position where adjacent quasi-pyramidal structures abut, at “c”, is greater than the thickness of the cited second portion at “b” of the passivation anti-reflection layer 20), wherein the aluminum oxide layer comprises:
a third portion located on the first sub-pyramidal face (such as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the cited aluminum oxide layer 21 comprises a third portion at “c” which would correspondingly be located on the cited first sub-pyramidal face at the lowest part of the pyramidal face, as modified by Chen above), and
a fourth portion located on the second sub-pyramidal face (such as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2e of Zhang et al., the cited aluminum oxide layer 21 comprises a fourth portion at “b” which would correspondingly be located on the cited second sub-pyramidal face toward the middle and upper part of the pyramidal face, as modified by Chen above);
a thickness non-uniformity between the first portion and the second portion in the passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than a thickness non-uniformity between the third portion and the fourth portion in the aluminum oxide layer; the thickness non-uniformity between the first portion and the second portion in the passivation anti-reflection layer is an absolute value of a difference between a first thickness of the first portion at a first position in the first portion along the direction towards the pyramidal apex and a second thickness of the second portion at a second position in the second portion along the direction towards the pyramidal apex, divided by a sum of the first thickness and the second thickness; and the thickness non-uniformity between the third portion and the fourth portion in the aluminum oxide layer is an absolute value of a difference between a third thickness of the third portion at a third position along the direction towards the pyramidal apex in a third portion and a fourth thickness of the fourth portion at a fourth position in the fourth portion along the direction towards the pyramidal apex, divided by a sum of the third thickness and the fourth thickness (while Zhang et al., as modified above, does not teach wherein a thickness non-uniformity between the first portion and the second portion is greater than a thickness non-uniformity between the third portion and the fourth portion, the thickness non-uniformity being greater is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being greater, equal, or less then; thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried a thickness non-uniformity between the first portion and second portion being greater than a thickness non-uniformity between the third portion and fourth portion, see MPEP 2143 E).
With regard to claims 6 and 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein the passivation anti- reflection layer comprises:
a front-side passivation anti-reflection layer located on a light-facing surface of the silicon substrate (see Zhang et al. at Fig. 1 depicting a front-side passivation anti-reflection layer 20 located on a light-facing surface of the silicon substrate 10), and
a back-side passivation anti-reflection layer located on a back side of the silicon substrate (see Zhang et al. at Fig. 1 depicting a back-side passivation anti-reflection layer 50 located on a back side of the silicon substrate 10); and
at two opposite positions in a thickness direction of the silicon substrate, a thickness of the back-side passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than a thickness of the front-side passivation anti-reflection layer, wherein at the two opposite positions in the thickness direction of the silicon substrate, a difference between the thickness of the back-side passivation anti-reflection layer and the thickness of the front-side passivation anti-reflection layer is greater than or equal to 15 nm and less than or equal to 40 nm (see [0069] teaching front-side passivation anti-refection layer 20 can be “70 nm” which would have been an obvious selection because Zhang et al. teaches 70 nm as an appropriate thickness and see [0081] teaching back-side passivation anti-refection layer 50 can be “70 nm to 120 nm” in which 100 nm would have been an obvious selection because Zhang et al. teaches 100 nm as an appropriate thickness).
With regard to claims 8 and 19, independent claims 1 and 16 are obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure has a branch-like texture (as depicted in Chen at Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure has a branch-like texture at protrusions 234), and
a quantity of the branch-like textures in the second sub-pyramidal face is greater than a quantity of the branch-like textures in the first sub-pyramidal face (as depicted in Chen at Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, a quantity of the branch-like textures 234 in the cited second sub-pyramidal face is greater than a quantity of the branch-like textures 234 in the cited first sub-pyramidal face).
With regard to claims 9 and 20, independent claims 1 and 16 are obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
the pyramidal apex of the quasi- pyramidal structure and the second sub-pyramidal face of the pyramidal face of the quasi- pyramidal structure have a cluster of ring-like textures disposed in a nested manner (as depicted in Chen at Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, the pyramidal apex of the quasi- pyramidal structure and the cited second sub-pyramidal face of the pyramidal face of the quasi- pyramidal structure have a cluster of ring-like textures 234 disposed in a nested manner).
With regard to claim 10, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
among the cluster of ring-like textures, along a height direction of the quasi-pyramidal structure, the closer a ring- like texture is to the pyramidal apex, the smaller a contour of the ring-like texture is (as depicted in Chen at Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, among the cluster of ring-like textures 234, along a height direction of the quasi-pyramidal structure, the closer a ring- like texture 234 is to the pyramidal apex, the smaller a contour at the diameter of the ring-like texture 234 is).
With regard to claim 11, independent claim 1 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
a portion of the quasi-pyramidal structure away from the pyramidal apex is a lower portion of the quasi-pyramidal structure, and a height of the lower portion accounts for is at least one-tenth of a height of the quasi-pyramidal structure; the first sub-pyramidal face is a region corresponding to the lower portion of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure (as depicted in Chen at Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, a portion of the quasi-pyramidal structure away from the pyramidal apex is a lower portion of the quasi-pyramidal structure, and a height of the lower portion accounts for is at least one-tenth of a height of the quasi-pyramidal structure; the cited first sub-pyramidal face is a region corresponding to the lower portion of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure); and
the second sub-pyramidal face is a region of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure, which is closer to the pyramidal apex than the first sub-pyramidal face (as depicted in Chen at Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 5 above, the cited second sub-pyramidal face is a region of the pyramidal face of the quasi-pyramidal structure, which is closer to the pyramidal apex than the cited first sub-pyramidal face).
With regard to claim 12, independent claim 1 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
the quasi-pyramidal structure further comprises: a bottom contour line away from the pyramidal apex, wherein at least two points in a same bottom contour line have a height difference exists between at least two points (see Chen at Fig. 3 depicting wherein the quasi-pyramidal structure further comprises a bottom contour line away from the pyramidal apex, wherein at least two points in a same bottom contour line have a height difference exists between at least two points).
With regard to claim 14, independent claim 1 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
the quasi-pyramidal structure has a height of 0.2 µm to 3 µm (see Zhang et al. at [0051] teaching “1.5 µm”).
With regard to claim 15, independent claim 1 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Zhang et al., as modified above, disclose wherein
at least one of a light-facing surface of the silicon substrate or a back surface of the silicon substrate has the textured structure (see Zhang et al. at Fig. 1 depicting a light-facing top surface of the silicon substrate 10 having the textured structure).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0079826 A1) in view of Chen (TW 201440237 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed July 1, 2025), and in further view of Yokosawa et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0032206 A1).
With regard to claim 13, independent claim 1 is obvious over Zhang et al. in view of Chen under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Zhang et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the textured structure has an apex angle of 55 to 90 degrees.
However, Yokosawa et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches the apex angle is a result effective variable directly affecting the length and cracking suppression of the textured structure (see [0091-0092]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the apex angle in the solar cell of Zhang et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the length and cracking suppression of the textured structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes the newly added claimed limitations are not found in the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 June 26, 2026