DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Poor line/image quality. The lines are faint and “blurry” and will no reproduce well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, dependent from claim 1 recites “the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail- safe solenoid valve” which is not found in claim 1, but claim 2, and thus lacks antecedent basis. It is not clear if the dependance is a typo, or if the valve is the typo, as claim 1 recites “a 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve”.
Claim 9, depended from claim 8, which has two different limitation with “wherein said at least one arm is arranged in at least one pair of arms having one of:” This limitation is interpreted as only requiring one of the two options. Claim 9 recites “wherein the common pivot point type has a single actuator for a pair of arms and the axially shifted type has an individual actuator for each arm. “ which appears to cover both of the cases from the parent claim. This makes the claim unclear, as both options are not required in the parent claim, but appear to be in the child.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1as being anticipated by US 20190316433 A1 to Schroit.
Regarding claim 1: Schroit discloses 1. (Currently Amended) An independent or paired arm control system (18, shown in Figs. 5, 6 and 23, [0017], [0087-0093]) configured for a wellbore tractor configured to be run in a borehole penetrating a formation, the control system comprising:
- a 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve 23 [0088] arranged in a drive module of the wellbore tractor, the drive module having at least one arm with at least one wheel or belt,
- a hydraulic cylinder-piston assembly (26,27) comprising a hydraulic cylinder with an actuator piston and a retraction spring arranged therein, the hydraulic cylinder-piston assembly arranged within the drive module (“actuation cylinders” 26,27 shown have a return spring and are interpreted as meeting the limitation- see also [0106),
- a hydraulic pressure line 15 connected to a hydraulic pump 9 configured to provide high pressure by means of a hydraulic fluid, [0085]
- a return hydraulic line 28 connected to a reservoir configured for containing the hydraulic fluid (Fig 5),
- a control port of the 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve is connected to the hydraulic cylinder of the hydraulic cylinder-piston assembly, a return port of the 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve is connected to the return hydraulic line, and a pressure port of the 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve is connected to the hydraulic pressure line (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 4: Schroit discloses 4. (Currently Amended) The independent or paired arm control system according to claim 1, wherein the hydraulic pump is driven by an electrical motor 8.
Regarding claim 5: . Schroit discloses a check valve 25 arranged in the hydraulic pressure line 15 and between the hydraulic pump 9 and the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail- safe solenoid valve. (Figure 23)
Regarding claim 6: Schroit discloses 6. (Currently Amended) The independent or paired arm control system according to laim1, further comprising
a pressure/temperature sensor (72,73) connected to the hydraulic pressure line and configured to monitor the pressure in the hydraulic pressure line. ([0051],[0067][0072],[0106])
Regarding claim 7: Schroit discloses 7. (Currently Amended) The independent or paired arm control system according to claim1,further comprising
a pressure compensation unit comprising an oil sump reservoir, a spring activated piston and a ventilation port. ( Figures 5,6 and 23 each show a sump reservoir with a vent, and it is noted as the sump line has “low pressure ambient hydraulic fluid” [0088], additionally figure 23 shows element 71 which is a high-pressure accumulator having a piston with a spring. These elements taken together can be considered as “a pressure compensation unit” )
Regarding claim 8: Schroit discloses 8. (Currently Amended) The independent or paired arm control system according to claim1,
wherein said at least one arm is arranged in at least one pair of arms having one of:
i) a common pivot point and
ii) individual pivot points axially shifted in near proximity. (Figs. 15 and 21)
Regarding claim 9: Schroit discloses 9. (Currently Amended) The independent or paired arm control system according to claim 8,
wherein the common pivot point type has a single actuator for a pair of arms and the axially shifted type has an individual actuator for each arm. [0013], [0017]
Regarding claim 10: Schroit discloses 10. (Currently Amended) A wellbore tractor (title abstract) configured to be run in a borehole penetrating a formation, wherein the wellbore tractor comprises an independent or paired arm control system according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190316433 A1 to Schroit as applied above, in view of US 20020066574 A1 to Leismer.
Regarding claim 2: Schroit discloses a 3-port/2-way solenoid valve 23 however fails to disclose it is normally closed or wherein a control port of the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail-safe solenoid valve is connected to the 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve via the pressure port of the 3-port/2- way normally open solenoid valve; a return port of the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail- safe solenoid valve is connected to the return hydraulic line; and a pressure port of the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail-safe solenoid valve is connected to the hydraulic pressure line having the hydraulic pump.
Leismer teaches the concept of a fail-safe valve 11 [0062] between a pressure source and downhole devices.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Schroit to include a normally closed a 3-port/2-way solenoid valve in the control system wherein a control port of the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail-safe solenoid valve is connected to the 3-port/2-way normally open solenoid valve via the pressure port of the 3-port/2- way normally open solenoid valve; a return port of the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail- safe solenoid valve is connected to the return hydraulic line; and a pressure port of the 3-port/2-way normally closed fail-safe solenoid valve is connected to the hydraulic pressure line having the hydraulic pump., in view of the concept of placing a fail-safe valve in line of a hydraulic circuit, as taught by Leismer, so as to provide a safety where “no pressurized fluid would be permitted to pass through the valve 11 to any downhole tool connected to the first or second outlet ports” [0062] in the case of a line rupture.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190316433 A1 to Schroit as applied above, and further in view of US 20180202269 A1 to Wensrich
Regarding claim 3: . Schroit discloses the claimed invention except explicitly a pressure safety valve connected between the hydraulic pressure line and the return hydraulic line.
Wensrich teaches a hydraulic control circuit for a wellbore tool with a pressure safety valve 110 connected between the hydraulic pressure line and the return hydraulic line. (Fig.9)
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Schroit to include a pressure safety valve between his hydraulic pressure line and a return line, in view of Wensrich, in order “regulate the fluid pressure in the hydraulic control system to a pre-selected maximum pressure.”[0095]. This would amount to no more than use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Regarding claim 7: While the examiner contends that Schroit discloses claim 7, see above, if one where to disagree
Wensrich teaches a hydraulic control circuit with a sump balanced to wellbore pressure and with a compensation piston (Figure 9, 111,112,113, [0095])
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Schroit to include a pressure compensation unit comprising an oil sump reservoir, a spring activated piston and a ventilation port. , in view of Wensrich, in order to insure that that fluid returns to the pump.. This would amount to no more than use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190219072 A1 teaches a downhole tractor with a hydraulic circuit with three port valves.
US 20160290047 A1 teaches a downhole tractor with a hydraulic control.
US 5794703 A teaches a wellbore tractor with a hydraulic control circuit and three port valves
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674