Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s application has effective filing date is 07/10/2025. However, a priority PCT was filed but there is no English translation was filed. Therefore, the effective filing date is 07/10/2025 which is later than a reference effective filing date 07/23/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spitzer US 2017/236466, in view of Conner (US2025/0054464).
Regarding claim 1, Spitzer US 2017/236466, figs. 1, 3, 4, 5, discloses a head-mounted type electronic device (The display system 400 may comprise a display system implemented in a head mounted display (HMD), a heads-up display, or other near-eye display device) comprising: a display panel (FIG. 1 illustrates an example foveally-configurable display panel 100 for displaying foveally-rendered display images in accordance with at least one embodiment of the present disclosure. The display panel 100 includes an array 102 of pixels 104 arranged in rows and columns. In the depicted example, the array 102 is illustrated with a relatively low resolution, with fourteen columns (columns 0-13) and eight rows (rows 0-7), and thus has 112 pixels 104); an optical device (FIG. 1. The dimensions of the foveal region 110 (as measured in pixels 104) may be based on a number of factors, including the overall resolution of the display panel 100, the number of different peripheral regions to be implemented, the distance between the display panel 100 and the user's eye, the presence of any lenses or other optical systems between the display panel 100 and the user's eye and their effect on the user's perception of the display panel 100, and the like. To illustrate, assuming that foveal vision occurs in an area+/−five degrees horizontal and +/−five degrees vertical of the optical axis of the eye, the foveal region 110 may be dimensioned to cover this foveal field of view, and further may include some additional margin); and wherein the display portion comprises a first region comprising a pixel array center, a second region adjacent to an outside of the first region, and a third region adjacent to an outside of the second region, wherein a definition of the first region is higher than a definition of the second region, and the definition of the second region is higher than a definition of the third region (see FIG. 3 depicts an example display panel 300 in which a foveal region 310 is defined, and the remaining pixels of the display panel 300 are divided into two concentric peripheral regions: a proximate peripheral region 312-1 surrounding the foveal region 310 and a distal peripheral region 312-2 surrounding the proximate peripheral region 312-1. In instances whereby there are multiple peripheral regions, a display image may be foveally rendered and the display panel 300 may be corresponding configured such that the resulting resolution implemented within each peripheral region decreases with the distance from the foveal region. To illustrate, pixels 304 in the proximate peripheral region 312-1 may be grouped into subsets of N pixels 304 (N>=2), such that every N pixels 304 in the proximate peripheral region 312-1 are controlled based on a single pixel value, whereas pixels 304 in the distal peripheral region 312-2 are grouped into subsets of M pixels 304 (M>N) such that every M pixels 304 in the distal peripheral region 312-2 are controlled based on a single pixel value).
Conner US2025/0054464, figs. 1-4, pars. discloses a first sensor, wherein the optical device is configured to converge has a function of converging light emitted from a display portion of the display panel to emit the converged light to a user's eye, wherein the first sensor is configured to support has a function of supporting head tracking (FIG. 3A shows an example of an eye tracking arrangement in which image sensors (e.g. cameras) are arranged within an HMD so as to capture images of the user's eyes from a short distance. This may be referred to as near-eye tracking, or head-mounted tracking. FIG. 3B includes a mirror 650 arranged between a display 601 and the viewer's eye (of course, this can be extended to or duplicated at the user's other eye as appropriate); and wherein the head tracking makes a video of the display portion follows a user's head movement so that a user's line of sight is maintained in the first region using the head tracking ( front-facing camera 122 may capture images to the front of the HMD, in use. Such images may be used for head tracking purposes, in some embodiments, while it may also be suitable for capturing images for an augmented reality (AR) style experience. A Bluetooth® antenna 124 may provide communication facilities or may simply be arranged as a directional antenna to allow a detection of the direction of a nearby Bluetooth® transmitter.In operation, a video signal is provided for display by the HMD. This could be provided by an external video signal source 80 such as a video games machine or data processing apparatus (such as a personal computer), in which case the signals could be transmitted to the HMD by a wired or a wireless connection. Examples of suitable wireless connections include Bluetooth® connections. Audio signals for the earpieces 60 can be carried by the same connection. Similarly, any control signals passed from the HMD to the video (audio) signal source may be carried by the same connection).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to provide a sensor, the head tracking makes a video of the display portion follows a user's head movement so that a user's line of sight is maintained in the first region using the head tracking; in Spitzer US 2017/236466, as suggested by Conner (US2025/0054464), the motivation on order to processing circuitry to output one or more of the eye tracking calibration images for display by the HMD.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first region, the second region, and the third region have the same pixel density (see Spitzer US 2017/236466, FIG. 3 depicts an example display panel 300 in which a foveal region 310 is defined, and the remaining pixels of the display panel 300 are divided into two concentric peripheral regions: a proximate peripheral region 312-1 surrounding the foveal region 310 and a distal peripheral region 312-2 surrounding the proximate peripheral region 312-1. In instances whereby there are multiple peripheral regions, a display image may be foveally rendered and the display panel 300 may be corresponding configured such that the resulting resolution implemented within each peripheral region decreases with the distance from the foveal region. To illustrate, pixels 304 in the proximate peripheral region 312-1 may be grouped into subsets of N pixels 304 (N>=2), such that every N pixels 304 in the proximate peripheral region 312-1 are controlled based on a single pixel value, whereas pixels 304 in the distal peripheral region 312-2 are grouped into subsets of M pixels 304 (M>N) such that every M pixels 304 in the distal peripheral region 312-2 are controlled based on a single pixel value).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1, wherein, when the display portion is visually recognized through the optical device, display of the first region is visually recognized in a region where a viewing angle ranges from 0 degree to 50 degree and display of the third region is visually recognized in a region where the viewing angle is higher than or equal to 70 degree (see Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, pars. 19, 48, 49).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a pixel included in the third region does not comprise a subpixel (see Spitzer US 2017/236466, FIG. 3 depicts an example display panel 300 in which a foveal region 310 is defined, and the remaining pixels of the display panel 300 are divided into two concentric peripheral regions: a proximate peripheral region 312-1 surrounding the foveal region 310 and a distal peripheral region 312-2 surrounding the proximate peripheral region 312-1. In instances whereby there are multiple peripheral regions, a display image may be foveally rendered and the display panel 300 may be corresponding configured such that the resulting resolution implemented within each peripheral region decreases with the distance from the foveal region. To illustrate, pixels 304 in the proximate peripheral region 312-1 may be grouped into subsets of N pixels 304 (N>=2), such that every N pixels 304 in the proximate peripheral region 312-1 are controlled based on a single pixel value, whereas pixels 304 in the distal peripheral region 312-2 are grouped into subsets of M pixels 304 (M>N) such that every M pixels 304 in the distal peripheral region 312-2 are controlled based on a single pixel value).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a pixel included in the third region emits green light or white light (Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, pars. 16, 48).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to 1, wherein the display portion is divided into a plurality of regions, wherein each of the plurality of regions comprises a pixel and a driver circuit for driving the pixel, and wherein the pixel is placed to comprise a region overlapping overlaps with the driver circuit.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 8 wherein the pixel comprises a transistor comprising a metal oxide in a channel formation region, and wherein the driver circuit comprises a transistor comprising silicon in a channel formation region (Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, which is well known in the art).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Spitzer US 2017/236466, fig. 1-5, and by Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62, discloses the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1 , wherein the display panel comprises an organic EL element (Spitzer US 2017/236466, Each pixel 104 may be implemented as a matrix of sub-pixels, such as a particular arrangement of red, green, and blue (RGB) sub-pixels, each of which is controlled to emit light of the corresponding color at a corresponding luminance, and the combination of light colors and their luminance results in the intended brightness and color for the pixel as a whole. Examples pixel architectures for the pixels 104 can include, for example, light emitting diodes (LEDs) and organic light emitting diodes (OLEDs), (Conner (US2025/0054464), figs. 1-3, pars. 41-62the image sensor 640 while the light emitted by the display 601 passes through the mirror uninterrupted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. US2019/0113755, in view of Conner (US2025/0054464).
Komatsu et al. US2019/0113755, figs. 1-3, pars. 38, 48, 61, discloses a method for operating an electronic device comprising a display panel, an optical device, and a first sensor, the method comprising the steps of: performing head tracking using the first sensor; and making adjusting a video of the display panel so that it follows a user's head movement using the head tracking so that a user's line of sight through the optical device enters a first region where a viewing angle ranges from 0 degree to 50 degree ( FIG. 2 is disposed in the central position of the first display region AR1, and thus a standard visual axis direction of the eyes EY and EY is directed to the indicator MK in the front. Further, as a standard state, for example, a case where contents of video display corresponding to left and right eyes are adjusted such that the visual axis direction of the observer is +X direction and a case where contents of video display are adjusted such that the visual axis of the right eye EY is +X direction slightly inclined to −Y direction and the visual axis of the left eye EY is +X direction slightly inclined to +Y direction with consideration given to characteristics of the left and right eyes are conceivable. Note that, in either case, the first display region AR1 is displayed so as to occupy a range to some extent on the front side of the observer, and thus the first display region AR1 can include a range assumed to be passed through by the visual axes of the observer viewing from the front when being worn) (an effective visual field of the person's visual field having the excellent information receiving capacity is at about 30° horizontally and 20° vertically. Further, a stable field of fixation in which the observer can naturally pay close attention with eyes and head movements and receive effective information is at about 60 to 90° horizontally and 45 to 70° vertically. Thus, it is conceivable that a region that can be visually identified as information in an actually seen visual field is about 30° at most. It is significant to maintain a high resolution of this region from a viewpoint of ensuring good visibility while widening an angle of view. Furthermore, it is conceivable that a joint or a boundary formed by the superimposed region as described above is less likely to be visually identified in a range at a greater than or equal to 60°. Moreover, When an HMD having such an advanced wide angle of view as to exceed a FOV (angle of view) 50°, a known head tracking function, for example, is often provided, and an observer attempts to move a head instead of eyes when the observer wants to see a peripheral portion. Thus, an observer's line of sight is constantly directed around the center of an image and is rarely directed to the peripheral portion. Therefore, for image display, a region that needs a resolution is limited to a central side-region in the image display, and a peripheral side-region does not need a resolution so much).
Conner US2025/0054464, figs. 1-4, pars. discloses a first sensor, wherein the optical device is configured to converge has a function of converging light emitted from a display portion of the display panel to emit the converged light to a user's eye, wherein the first sensor is configured to support has a function of supporting head tracking (FIG. 3A shows an example of an eye tracking arrangement in which image sensors (e.g. cameras) are arranged within an HMD so as to capture images of the user's eyes from a short distance. This may be referred to as near-eye tracking, or head-mounted tracking. FIG. 3B includes a mirror 650 arranged between a display 601 and the viewer's eye (of course, this can be extended to or duplicated at the user's other eye as appropriate); and wherein the head tracking makes a video of the display portion follows a user's head movement so that a user's line of sight is maintained in the first region using the head tracking ( front-facing camera 122 may capture images to the front of the HMD, in use. Such images may be used for head tracking purposes, in some embodiments, while it may also be suitable for capturing images for an augmented reality (AR) style experience. A Bluetooth® antenna 124 may provide communication facilities or may simply be arranged as a directional antenna to allow a detection of the direction of a nearby Bluetooth® transmitter.In operation, a video signal is provided for display by the HMD. This could be provided by an external video signal source 80 such as a video games machine or data processing apparatus (such as a personal computer), in which case the signals could be transmitted to the HMD by a wired or a wireless connection. Examples of suitable wireless connections include Bluetooth® connections. Audio signals for the earpieces 60 can be carried by the same connection. Similarly, any control signals passed from the HMD to the video (audio) signal source may be carried by the same connection).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to provide a sensor, the head tracking makes a video of the display portion follows a user's head movement so that a user's line of sight is maintained in the first region using the head tracking; in Komatsu et al. US2019/0113755, as suggested by Conner (US2025/0054464), the motivation on order to processing circuitry to output one or more of the eye tracking calibration images for display by the HMD.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Komatsu et al. US2019/0113755, and Conner (US2025/0054464), discloses a method for operating an electronic device comprising a display panel, an optical device, a first sensor, and a second sensor, the method comprising the steps of: performing head tracking using the first sensor; making adjusting a video of the display panel so that it follows a user's head movement using the head tracking so that a user's line of sight through the optical device enters a first region where a viewing angle ranges from 0 degree to 50 degree; performing eye tracking using the second sensor; and moving the video of the display panel in a direction opposite to an inclined direction of the user's line of sight by the eye tracking so that the user's line of sight is maintained in the first region (see Komatsu et al. US2019/0113755, figs. 1-3, pars. 38, 48, 61 and Conner (US2025/0054464), (FIG. 3A shows an example of an eye tracking arrangement in which image sensors (e.g. cameras) are arranged within an HMD so as to capture images of the user's eyes from a short distance. This may be referred to as near-eye tracking, or head-mounted tracking. FIG. 3B includes a mirror 650 arranged between a display 601 and the viewer's eye (of course, this can be extended to or duplicated at the user's other eye as appropriate); and wherein the head tracking makes a video of the display portion follows a user's head movement so that a user's line of sight is maintained in the first region using the head tracking ( front-facing camera 122 may capture images to the front of the HMD, in use. Such images may be used for head tracking purposes, in some embodiments, while it may also be suitable for capturing images for an augmented reality (AR) style experience. A Bluetooth® antenna 124 may provide communication facilities or may simply be arranged as a directional antenna to allow a detection of the direction of a nearby Bluetooth® transmitter.In operation, a video signal is provided for display by the HMD. This could be provided by an external video signal source 80 such as a video games machine or data processing apparatus (such as a personal computer), in which case the signals could be transmitted to the HMD by a wired or a wireless connection. Examples of suitable wireless connections include Bluetooth® connections. Audio signals for the earpieces 60 can be carried by the same connection. Similarly, any control signals passed from the HMD to the video (audio) signal source may be carried by the same connection).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11 is allowed.
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references cited in record disclose or suggest the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a second sensor, wherein the second sensor is configured to support has a function of supporting eye tracking, and wherein the eye tracking moves the video of the display portion is moved in a direction opposite to an inclined direction of the user's line of sight so that the user's line of sight is maintained in the first region using the eye tracking; and/or
the head-mounted type electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a pixel density of the first region is higher than a pixel density of the second region and the pixel density of the second region is higher than a pixel density of the third region.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN N CHOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627