DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species B, drawn to claims 1-2 and 4-11 in the reply filed on 03/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species (Species A and Species B) are not a serious burden to search and examine and they are not distinct species. This is not found persuasive because Fig. 3 is drawn to a hybrid back contact cell (see [0023]) and Fig. 4 which is drawn to a tunneling back contact solar cell ([0024] [0070]). There is a serious burden because these species would require different searches. It is noted as recited in the restriction requirement upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II, III and Species A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20240186425 A1) in view of Zheng (US 12328968 B1) in view of Zhang (CN 102623517 B, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 9, Zhao discloses a back contact solar cell, comprising (see Figs. 1-5 [0003][0020][0023]-[0028][0041] [0069]):
a first doped region (all regions of one-type polarity which are electrically interconnected to 101,102, and 103 [0041][0042]) and a second doped region (all regions of opposite-type polarity which are electrically interconnected to 111,122, and 113 [0041][0042]) disposed on a surface of a substrate (1 [0041]), wherein the first doped region (all regions of one-type polarity which are electrically interconnected to 101,102, and 103 [0041][0042]) comprises:
a first main part (doped regions under portions 101 and 103) disposed along a first direction; and
first finger-shaped parts (doped regions under portion 102) coupled to the first main part (doped regions under portions 101 and 103), and wherein the second doped region comprises:
a second main part (doped regions under portions 111 and 113) arranged along the first direction; and
second finger-shaped parts (doped regions under portion 112) coupled to the second main part (doped regions under portions 111 and 113), wherein the first finger-shaped parts (doped regions under portion 102) and the second finger-shaped parts (doped regions under portion 112) are interdigitally arranged along the first direction, and wherein an insulation layer (21/22) is disposed at a position where a first finger-shaped part (doped regions under portion 102) is close to the second main part (doped regions under portions 111 and 113); and a first sub-grid (102) disposed on the first finger-shaped part (doped regions under portion 102) and electrically connected to the first finger-shaped part (doped regions under portion 102), wherein the insulation layer covers an end portion of the first sub-grid close to the second main part (See Figs. 3 and 4),
wherein the insulation layer (21/22) covers at least an end portion of the first finger-shaped part (doped regions under portion 102) close to the second main part (doped regions under portions 111 and 113).
However, Zhao does not explicitly show that the insulation extends to a gap region between the first finger shaped part doped region and the second main part doped region and further does not disclose that the insulation fills the gap region.
Zheng discloses an interdigitated doped region pattern of a back contact solar cell (see Fig. 1-- which will likely have a similar pattern of an interdigitated electrode grid as disclosed by Zhao given the doped interdigitated pattern of Zheng (101, 102, (C11/L48-L61C17/L15-27)) wherein the doped regions (101, 102) are formed of opposite dopant types p-type and n-type.
Zheng discloses the interdigitated pattern of the doped regions (101, 102) (see Figs. 1 and 2) are separated from one another by a gap region (103) (C17/L15-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the patterning of the doped regions under the electrodes of modified Zhao so that the patterning is that of Zheng (oppositely doped regions) because as disclosed by Zheng such patterning is a known interdigitated doped pattern for back contact solar cells and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. A substitution of known equivalent structures is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Zhang discloses that the electrode grid (17,see Fig. 1e [0050] ) overlying the doped areas (12/15 [0039]) are smaller than doped regions (12/15 [0039]) and are patterned through a passivation layer (16, see Fig. 1e [0043][0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrode grid overlying the doped regions of modified Zhang by having the electrode grid be smaller than the underlying doped regions and have an additional passivation layer through which the electrode grid penetrates because as disclosed by Zhang such patterning is a known electrode pattern for back contact solar cells and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
A substitution of known equivalent structures is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Zhao discloses the insulation layer (21/22) covers at least an end portion of the first finger-shaped part (doped regions under portion 102) close to the second main part (doped regions under portions 111 and 113) and the distance d1 (see Fig. 3) can be adjusted ([0011]) and that d1 can be optimized to balance insulation properties and the ability to weld to the electrode structures ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the distance (d1) of modified Zhao so that the insulation structure covers the gap region between the first finger shaped part and second main part and extends onto the second main part because doing so will allow for optimization of insulation properties and the ability to weld to the electrode structures.
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Zheng (see modification above) discloses that the second main part (101 or 102, see Fig. 2) protrudes from a surface of a substrate (1); and the first finger-shaped part (102 or 101) protrudes from the surface of the substrate (1) ; and wherein in an orthographic projection along a thickness direction of the substrate, the gap region is between a projection of the second main part (101 or 102) and a projection of the end portion of the first finger-shaped part (102 or 101) close to the second main part (101 or 102).
Note that Zhao discloses that insulation layer is covers finger electrode grid of one-type and gets close to while not touching main part electrode of opposite type (See Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Zhao discloses that the insulation structure is a polymer film and fully covers the ends of finger electrodes and gets very close to the bus bar ([0052], see modification of claim 1).
Since the gap is between the bus bar on one electrode and finger of another electrode the gap will be filled and thus the portion of the insulation layer within and covering the gap will be thicker than the portion on the respective doped portions underlying the bus bar of one electrode and finger of another electrode.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Zhang (see modification above) discloses a passivation layer (See layer 16, Fig. 1e) wherein the passivation layer covers the gap region (region between n-type and p-type).
In addition, Zhao discloses that the insulation layer covers the passivation layer in the gap region since it will be applied after grid formation since it is formed to not contact main parts of grid.
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Zhao does not disclose what the doped regions are formed of.
Zhang discloses that the doped regions are formed of polycrystalline silicon ([0036]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the doped regions of modified Zhao to have them be formed of polycrystalline silicon as disclosed by Zhang because Zhang discloses that this is an appropriate material for forming doped regions in a back contact solar cell.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, modified Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Zheng (see modification above) discloses the first finger shaped parts are on a side of the first main part and extend along a second direction intersecting with the first direction (See interdigitated pattern and main part-bus bar and finger shaped part-finger electrode, see Fig. 1 for instance 111 and 112 or/and 121and 122) and the first finger-shaped parts (See finger shaped part-finger electrode, see Fig. 1 for instance 111 and 112 or/and 121and 122) are formed on two sides of the first main part (See main part-bus bar and finger shaped part-finger electrode 111 and 112 or/and 121and 122) and extend along a second direction intersecting with the first direction.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20240186425 A1) in view of Zheng (US 12328968 B1) in view of Zhang (CN 102623517 B, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11 above and in further view of Ji (US 20100193027 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, modified Zhao discloses the first doped region and the second doped region protrude from the surface of the substrate (see modification of Zheng and rejection of claim 2).
However modified Zhao does not disclose wherein the first doped region and the second doped region have different heights.
Ji discloses that of doped regions 151 and 152 on back side of a back contact solar cell can have different heights ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the heights of the first doped region and the second doped region protrude from the surface of the substrate of modified Zhao so that the heights are different because Ji discloses that the heights of doped regions on back side of a back contact solar cell can have different heights and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. A substitution of known equivalent structures is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726