DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 07/14/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claims 21-31 were cancelled in the preliminary amendments filed 07/14/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2025 and 09/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
This application is a national phase entry of the International application filed on January 17, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (hereinafter LEE, US 2025/0168281 A1).
As per claim 1, LEE discloses a method to be implemented in a network node of a network for policy and charging control rule generation (Fig. 2: SMF Node implements the process, [0107]), the method comprising:
receiving a first policy and charging control rule that identifies an edge application, a location of the edge application, and policy information for the edge application ([0148-0149], [0173], fig. 2: step #202, fig. 6: step #602, fig. 7 and [0249-0260]: receiving PCC rule with SDF including FQDN and actual policy details. Note: FQDN acts both as identifier of the edge application AND location of the edge application as per applicant’s spec [0042]);
generating a second policy and charging control rule for a user equipment (UE) interacting with an edge application server of the edge application based on the first policy and charging control rule ([0150-0155], fig. 2: step #203, fig. 6: step #607, fig. 7 step #709: SMF generating N4 Rules, [0100], [0291]: N4 Rules such as FER, QER, URR necessary to perform functions such as gate control, charging policy application, etc. is generated), the second policy and charging control rule identifying the policy information for the edge application and an Internet Protocol (IP) address corresponding to the edge application server ([0150-0155], fig. 7 step #709: N4 Rule creation using IP address); and
causing application of the second policy and charging control rule on a traffic flow between the UE and the edge application server ([0151], fig. 7, [0224-0225]: install N4 rule and apply, [0100]).
As per claim 2, LEE discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first policy and charging control rule identifies the edge application through one or more of an edge application identifier of the edge application and a domain name of the edge application ([0148-0151]: FQDN).
As per claim 4, LEE discloses the method of claim 1 , wherein upon the edge application server being created ([0124-0125]: the SMF receives EAS deployment information from the PCF, i.e. when the edge application server is deployed or created, fig. 4 item #441: EAS server), the network node receives a first notification that indicates information of the edge application server, including:
one or more of an edge application identifier of the edge application and a domain name of the edge application, the IP address corresponding to the edge application server; and
a location of the edge application server ([0132], [0187-0197], [0219]: after the deployment information is received, various rules are configured based on FQDN and IP address).
As per claim 5, LEE discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the network node receives the first notification responsive to the network node subscribing to lifecycle event notification regarding the edge application ([0219-0221], fig. 5, fig. 7 step #703 and 708: EASDF sends DNS report to SMF based on DNS message handling rule with respect to FQDN subscribed by SMF. The message handling rule informs the EASDF how to handle DNS inquires and what to do).
As per claim 6, LEE discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the network node stores the information of the edge application server and the first policy and charging control rule in a datastore coupled to the network node ([0054-0055]: the UDM stores user’s subscription data, policy data and the like, [0248-0260]).
As per claim 7, LEE discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first policy and charging control rule is stored in the datastore with a search key being one or more of the edge application identifier of the edge application and the domain name of the edge application ([0054-0055]: the UDM stores user’s subscription data, policy data and the like, [0248-0260]: The received PCC rule includes PCC rule id, SDF template comprising FQDN, charging-related information such as charging keys, charging methods, service identifier, ASP identifier, etc.).
As per claim 8, LEE discloses the method of claim 4, wherein generating the second policy and charging control rule for interacting with the edge application server based on the first policy and charging control rule is responsive to receiving a second notification (fig.5 step #504: DNS report, fig. 6 step #606, fig. 7) that indicates:
one or more of the edge application identifier of the edge application server and the domain name of the edge application, and the IP address corresponding to the edge application server (fig.5 step #504: DNS report comprising FQDN and IP address, fig. 6 step #606, fig. 7, [01500151, [0219-0225]).
As per claim 9, LEE discloses the method of claim 1 , wherein the edge application server is discovered through one or more of an edge application server discovery function (EASDF), a domain name system (DNS) server, and an edge enabler server of the network (Fig. 5-fig. 6: EASDF, [0113-0114]: EASDF performs EAS discovery function, fig. 7: both EASDF and DNS are used).
As per claim 10, LEE discloses the method of claim 9, wherein one or more of the IP address corresponding to the edge application server and other attributes of the edge application server are obtained responsive to a request initiated from the UE ([0216-0225], fig. 7 step #705, 708-712, 714 are all in response to initial DNS query request made by UE).
As per claim 12, LEE discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the network node discovers the edge application server responsive to subscription of the network node for notification from one or more the EASDF, the DNS, and the edge enabler server of the network (fig. 5: step #503-504, [0126-0139], [0219-0220], [0277]).
As per claim 13, LEE discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the application of the second policy and charging control rule comprises causing the UE to be charged for the traffic flow between the UE and the edge application server using the second policy and charging control rule ([0100], [0291]: N4 Rules such as FER, QER, URR necessary to perform functions such as gate control, charging policy application, etc. is generated and applied).
As per claim 14, LEE discloses the method of claim 13, wherein causing the UE to be charged for the traffic flow between the UE and the edge application server using the second policy and charging control rule comprises transforming one or more attributes of the edge application server into a parameter mapping to a charging key ([0150]: N4 Rule is associated with FQDN or application identifier, which is used to determine N4 rules which defines one or more charging policies, [0100], [0173-0174], [0291]).
As per claim 15, LEE discloses the method of claim 1 , wherein the network node implements a session management function (SMF) for the policy and charging control rule generation (Fig. 2 #132, fig. 3 #132, fig. 5, fig. 6, [0053]).
As per claims 16-17, and 19-20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1-2, 4-5. Therefore claims 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-2, 4-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (hereinafter LEE, US 2025/0168281 A1) in view of DAO et al. (hereinafter DAO, 2020/0145876 A1).
As per claim 3, LEE discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
However, LEE does not teach further comprising:
initiating a query to a network exposure function (NEF) about the edge application; and
receiving additional information from the NEF to be used for generating the second policy and charging control rule.
DAO, from the same field of endeavor, teaches initiating a query to a network exposure function (NEF) about the edge application ([0304]: SMF requests PFDs for the application identifier from the NEF); and
receiving additional information from the NEF to be used for generating the second policy and charging control rule ([304]: SMF receives requested information from the NEF, [0329-0332]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify before the effective filing of the claimed invention LEE in view of DAO in order to request additional information from NEF.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because additional information is used to manage or handle the packets of the packet flow and the process further enables the provisioning and management of the packet flow descriptors ([268-269], [0332]).
As per claim 11, LEE discloses the method of claim 10, as set forth above.
However, LEE does not teach wherein the UE initiates the request upon moving to a new location.
DAO, from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the UE initiates the request upon moving to a new location ([0148-0159]: request is based on handover, which means user changed location and initiated request for PDU session, after which it received other session related information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify before the effective filing of the claimed invention LEE in view of DAO in order to have the UE initiate a request for a session upon moving to a new location.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order to continue the existing session.
As per claim 18, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 3. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han et al., US 11,825,400 B2: Supporting Transfer of Mobile Edge computing in wireless systems.
DAO et al., US 2022/0174539 A1: Method and System for using policy to handle packets.
Li et al., US 2014/0036785 A1: Method and Device for controlling QoS and Policy and Charging Control of a guest user.
KAMAL B. DIVECHA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453