DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 9/22/2026. Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, however the request for foreign priority cannot yet be approved due to the lack of certified English copies, per requirements of 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), specifically 35 U.S.C. 119 (b)(3), see below.
(3) The Director may require a certified copy of the original foreign application, specification, and drawings upon which it is based, a translation if not in the English language, and such other information as the Director considers necessary. Any such certification shall be made by the foreign intellectual property authority in which the foreign application was filed and show the date of the application and of the filing of the specification and other papers.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see page 8 of 12, filed 9/22/2026, with respect to specification objections and claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objections and claim objections of record have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11 of 12, filed 9/22/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1-3 and 6 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandegrift et al. (US-2024/0247462; hereinafter Vandegrift; already of record) in view of Bays et al. (US-2024/0317057; hereinafter Bays; already of record) and Lee (US-2020/0201453; already of record).
Additionally, Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11 of 12, filed 9/22/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that neither Vandegrift nor Lee explicitly disclose or teach the amended content of claim 1, specifically the “determination time…individually set for each of a plurality of functions” however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee teaches a plurality of predetermined time durations corresponding to different selected operation modes, termed “masking windows” wherein the masking windows may be the same or different durations for each specific operation mode. While the Examiner notes that “operation modes” pertain to a “normal mode” or a “fast mode” in the Lee reference, these describe specific criteria which are associated with times, such as indicated in claim 1 (functions are associated with times).
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Interpretations
Claim 1 as currently presented states “…change…a setting state of a predetermined function…” and then dependent claims 2-3 state “…change a setting state of the predetermined function…” which the Examiner notes is referring to the same operation (as opposed to being misinterpreted as a different change), such as increasing an engine speed or decreasing an air conditioning volume.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandegrift et al. (US-2024/0247462; hereinafter Vandegrift; already of record) in view of Bays et al. (US-2024/0317057; hereinafter Bays; already of record) and Lee (US-2020/0201453; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Vandegrift discloses a work machine (see Vandegrift at least Abs) comprising:
a machine body (see Vandegrift at least [0023] “FIG. 1 depicts a representative self-propelled work machine 20 in the form of, for example, a tracked excavator machine but other suitable work machines for working terrain may fall within the scope of the present disclosure unless otherwise stated... A main frame 32 is supported from the undercarriage 22 by a swing bearing 34 such that the main frame 32 is pivotable about a pivot axis 36 relative to the undercarriage 22...”);
an actuator configured to drive the machine body (see Vandegrift at least [0048] "...The controller 220 may, for example, generate control signals for controlling the operation of various actuators, such as hydraulic motors or hydraulic piston-cylinder units 41, 43, 45, and electronic control signals from the controller 220 may actually be received by electro-hydraulic control valves associated with the actuators such that the electro-hydraulic control valves will control the flow of hydraulic fluid to and from the respective hydraulic actuators to control the actuation thereof in response to the control signal from the controller 220...");
an operation lever configured to operate the actuator (see Vandegrift at least [0044] "Another user interface tool 210 such as a lever, switch, or button 210 (or even a second joystick) may also for example be provided in the operator's cab 60 and in association with the control station 62…" and [0064] "...The human operator may effectuate movement or direction of the ground engaging units 24 and/or one or more work implements 42 by or through the user interface tools 206, 210 and/or the user interface 214. The controller 220 may, for example, generate control signals for controlling the operation of various actuators, such as hydraulic motors or hydraulic piston-cylinder units 41, 43, and 45, as depicted in FIG. 1.");
mounted equipment mounted to the machine body (see Vandegrift at least [0029] "Also mounted on the main frame 32 is an engine 64 for powering the working machine 20...");
an input device that is translationally operable (see Vandegrift at least [0043] "As illustrated in FIG. 2, a user interface tool 206 such as a joystick 206 may for example be provided in the operator's cab 60 and in association with the control station 62. The Joystick 206 as conventionally known in the art may be configured, at least during manual control modes as further discussed below, to adjust a velocity and direction (e.g., a forward/reverse stroke pattern or sequence) of the work implement 42 during execution by the controller 220 of the motion sequence of the work implement 42 or components thereof. Movements of the joystick 206 may be monitored by a position sensor 208, such as a potentiometer, which generates output signals representing a position of the joystick 206, for example relative to a neutral position, to the controller 220.") …
a controller that is configured to execute setting processing for the mounted equipment in response to a translational operation on the input device … on the input device (see Vandegrift at least Fig 2, [0043] "...Movements of the joystick 206 may be monitored by a position sensor 208, such as a potentiometer, which generates output signals representing a position of the joystick 206, for example relative to a neutral position, to the controller 220..." and [0048] "The controller 220 may further, or in the alternative, be configured to generate control signals for controlling the operation of respective actuators, or signals for indirect control via intermediate control units, associated with a machine steering control system 230, a machine implement control system 232, and/or an engine speed control system 234..."), wherein
the controller is configured to:
…
…
execute … processing of causing the setting processing for the mounted equipment (see Vandegrift at least Fig 2, [0029] "Also mounted on the main frame 32 is an engine 64 for powering the working machine 20..." [0043] "...Movements of the joystick 206 may be monitored by a position sensor 208, such as a potentiometer, which generates output signals representing a position of the joystick 206, for example relative to a neutral position, to the controller 220..." and [0048] "The controller 220 may further, or in the alternative, be configured to generate control signals for controlling the operation of respective actuators, or signals for indirect control via intermediate control units, associated with a machine steering control system 230, a machine implement control system 232, and/or an engine speed control system 234...") ...
…
However, Vandegrift does not explicitly disclose the following:
…an input device that is translationally operable and rotationally operable…
…a controller that is configured to execute setting processing … in response to … a rotational operation on the input device…
…as the setting processing for the mounted equipment, change, in response to one of the translational operation and the rotational operation, a setting state of a predetermined function among a plurality of functions of the mounted equipment…
…as the setting processing for the mounted equipment, switch, in response to the other of the translational operation and the rotational operation, the predetermined function whose setting state is to be changed in response to the one operation…
…execute restriction processing … the setting processing corresponding to the rotational operation on the input device, to be restricted in a case in which the translational operation on the input device and the rotational operation on the input device are being simultaneously executed or in a case in which a time after any one of the translational operation on the input device and the rotational operation on the input device is finished until another one of the translational operation and the rotational operation is started is shorter than a predetermined determination time…
…wherein the predetermined determination time is individually set for each of the plurality of functions…
Bays, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…an input device that is translationally operable and rotationally operable (see Bays at least [0059] "The rotatable dial 38 is rotatable about an axis of rotation 48..." [0070] "The rotatable dial 38 can be forced in a direction 104 (e.g., downward) opposite of the direction 98, i.e., toward the fixed base 46, also along the line 96 parallel to axis of rotation 48 of the rotatable dial 38..." [0077] "In addition to being rotatable about the axis of rotation 48 and linearly movable along the line 96 parallel to the axis of rotation 48, the rotatable dial 38 is movable along a plane 128 (see FIGS. 4 and 10) that is parallel to the axis of rotation 48. In embodiments, such as illustrated, the rotatable dial 38 is movable along a line 130, which exists on the plane 128, that is orthogonal to the axis of rotation 48. The rotatable dial 38 can move along the line 130 in either a direction 132 (e.g., forward) or a direction 134 (e.g., rearward), which is opposite of the direction 132. The direction 132 can be generally forward relative to the vehicle 10, and the direction 134 can be generally rearward relative to the vehicle 10. In other embodiments, the rotatable dial 38 is movable along an arc that exists on the plane 128.")…
…a controller that is configured to execute setting processing … in response to … a rotational operation on the input device (see Bays at least [0062] "In embodiments, the first sensor 40 is a rotary encoder 68. The rotary encoder 68 is positioned relative to the stepper motor 62 so that the rotary encoder 68 produces an output that is a function of a fraction of a rotation of the shaft 64 of the rotary encoder 68. Thus, as the rotatable dial 38 rotates, the shaft 64 of the stepper motor 62 rotates and the rotary encoder 68 produces an output from which each fraction of a rotation of the shaft 64 can be identified…" and [0093] “…The controller 180 is in communication with, and accepts as input, the output of the first sensor 40, the second sensor 42, the third sensor 44, and the fourth sensor 160 of the dial controller 36...”)…
…as the setting processing for the mounted equipment, change, in response to one of the translational operation and the rotational operation, a setting state of a predetermined function among a plurality of functions of the mounted equipment (see Bays at least [0089] "...For example, the menu 168 of functions can include the functions of navigation 170, interior climate control 172, communications 174, audio 176, and so on... Rotation of the rotatable dial 38 controls the controllable aspect—in the case of FIG. 18, either increases or decreases the volume of the audio 176 within the vehicle 10...")…
…as the setting processing for the mounted equipment, switch, in response to the other of the translational operation and the rotational operation, the predetermined function whose setting state is to be changed in response to the one operation (see Bays at least [0089] "...For example, the menu 168 of functions can include the functions of navigation 170, interior climate control 172, communications 174, audio 176, and so on. The user interface 12 allows the passenger 28 to select, using the dial controller 36, which function from the menu 168 of functions to use or control... Depression of the selector button 158 by the passenger 28 confirms the choice and allows the passenger 28 use or control of the chosen function...")…
…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input device of the work machine as disclosed by Vandegrift with both translational and rotational controls capable of changing a setting state and switching a function such as taught by Bays with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide multiple controls using a single component (see Bays at least [0002]).
However, neither Vandegrift nor Bays explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…execute restriction processing … the setting processing corresponding to the rotational operation on the input device, to be restricted in a case in which the translational operation on the input device and the rotational operation on the input device are being simultaneously executed or in a case in which a time after any one of the translational operation on the input device and the rotational operation on the input device is finished until another one of the translational operation and the rotational operation is started is shorter than a predetermined determination time…
…wherein the predetermined determination time is individually set for each of the plurality of functions…
Lee, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…execute restriction processing (see Lee at least [0043] "...When the controller 606 detects the change in state of the control signal, the controller 606 may control the transmitter to stop operations for the predetermined time interval…") … the setting processing corresponding to the rotational operation on the input device, to be restricted in a case in which the translational operation on the input device and the rotational operation on the input device are being simultaneously executed (see Lee at least [0043] "...The motion sensor 604 may track the angle and direction of rotation of the trackball 612, and may generate the spatial data based on the angle and direction of rotation. The trackball 612 may be a clickable trackball. The trackball 612 may also serve as a button, similar to the button 116, in that it may be depressed or may receive an external force, to actuate the switch 602. The switch 602 may generate a control signal when the trackball 612 is depressed. When a user of the pointing device 600 clicks the trackball 612, he may inevitably cause the trackball to rotate, even though he does not intend to provide any spatial input to the computing device. This unintentional rotation of the trackball 612 may therefore, be undesirable... When the control signal generated by the switch 602 exhibits a change in state, indicating that the switch is being activated or de-activated, the controller 606 may halt the transmission of the spatial data to the computing device, for a predetermined time interval following the change in state of the control signal. During normal operation, i.e. when the trackball 612 is being rolled without being simultaneously clicked, the transmitter 610 may transmit the spatial data to the computing device. When the controller 606 detects the change in state of the control signal, the controller 606 may control the transmitter to stop operations for the predetermined time interval...") or in a case in which a time after any one of the translational operation on the input device and the rotational operation on the input device is finished until another one of the translational operation and the rotational operation is started is shorter than a predetermined determination time.
…wherein the predetermined determination time is individually set for each of the plurality of functions (see Lee at least [0038]-[0039] "...The masking window 338a may be a predetermined time duration immediately after the switch 102 is actuated. The masking window 338b may be a predetermined time duration immediately after the switch 102 is deactivated. The masking window 338a and the masking window 338b may be identical or similar in time duration. Alternatively, the masking window 338a and the masking window 338b may be different in time duration. During the masking windows 338a, 338b, the movements of the pointing device 100 are not reported to the transmitter 110. FIG. 4 shows a flow chart 400 of a process of determining the time duration of the masking window 338a or 338b, according to various embodiments. In step 440, a user of the pointing device 100 may select a method for determining the time duration of the masking window. The user may select the method using the user interface 114. The selectable methods may include the factory settings method 442 or the self-learning method 444…" and [0043] "...Alternatively, the operation mode may be selectable through a selection menu on a graphical user interface of the computing device. The controller 606 may determine the predetermined time interval based on the operation mode. The controller 606 may alternatively receive the predetermined time interval from the self-learning processor 618. The self-learning processor 618 may compute an optimal value for the predetermined time interval by collecting usage data over a plurality of state change cycles of the control signal, or even over a prolonged usage duration. The self-learning processor 618 may be configured to run a machine-learning algorithm on the collected usage data, to identify the most likely time duration of an unintended rotation of the trackball 612 after a click or un-click operation of the trackball 612...")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controls responsive to the input device as disclosed by Vandegrift with both setting processing and restriction processing, in addition to a time interval monitored after an input operation, such as taught by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success so as to closely monitor user inputs and to avoid executing inadvertent commands (see Lee at least [0002]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Vandegrift in view of Bays and Lee teach the work machine according to claim 1, wherein
the controller is configured to change a setting state of the predetermined function in response to the rotational operation on the input device and to switch, in response to the translational operation on the input device, the predetermined function whose setting state is to be changed in response to the rotational operation on the input device (see Bays at least [0089] "...For example, the menu 168 of functions can include the functions of navigation 170, interior climate control 172, communications 174, audio 176, and so on. The user interface 12 allows the passenger 28 to select, using the dial controller 36, which function from the menu 168 of functions to use or control... Depression of the selector button 158 by the passenger 28 confirms the choice and allows the passenger 28 use or control of the chosen function... Rotation of the rotatable dial 38 controls the controllable aspect—in the case of FIG. 18, either increases or decreases the volume of the audio 176 within the vehicle 10..."), and
the restriction processing is a process of invalidating the rotational operation on the input device (see Lee at least [0043] "...When the control signal generated by the switch 602 exhibits a change in state, indicating that the switch is being activated or de-activated, the controller 606 may halt the transmission of the spatial data to the computing device, for a predetermined time interval following the change in state of the control signal... When the controller 606 detects the change in state of the control signal, the controller 606 may control the transmitter to stop operations for the predetermined time interval…").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the input device of the work machine as disclosed by Vandegrift with both translational and rotational controls capable of changing a setting state and switching a function such as taught by Bays with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the input device as disclosed by Vandegrift with controls that recognize potential inadvertent actions such as further taught by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Vandegrift in view of Bays and Lee teach the work machine according to claim 1, wherein
the controller is configured to change a setting state of the predetermined function in response to the rotational operation on the input device and to switch, in response to the translational operation on the input device, the predetermined function whose setting state is to be changed in response to the rotational operation on the input device (see Bays at least [0089] "...For example, the menu 168 of functions can include the functions of navigation 170, interior climate control 172, communications 174, audio 176, and so on. The user interface 12 allows the passenger 28 to select, using the dial controller 36, which function from the menu 168 of functions to use or control... Depression of the selector button 158 by the passenger 28 confirms the choice and allows the passenger 28 use or control of the chosen function... Rotation of the rotatable dial 38 controls the controllable aspect—in the case of FIG. 18, either increases or decreases the volume of the audio 176 within the vehicle 10..."),
the restriction processing is a process of canceling the change in the setting state of the predetermined function in response to the rotational operation on the input device (see Lee at least [0043] "...When a user of the pointing device 600 clicks the trackball 612, he may inevitably cause the trackball to rotate, even though he does not intend to provide any spatial input to the computing device. This unintentional rotation of the trackball 612 may therefore, be undesirable... When the controller 606 detects the change in state of the control signal, the controller 606 may control the transmitter to stop operations for the predetermined time interval..."), and
the controller is configured to change the setting state of the predetermined function in response to the rotational operation on the input device (Bays) and to then execute the restriction processing (Lee).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the input device of the work machine as disclosed by Vandegrift with both translational and rotational controls capable of changing a setting state and switching a function such as taught by Bays with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the input device as disclosed by Vandegrift with controls that recognize potential inadvertent actions such as further taught by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Vandegrift in view of Bays and Lee teach the work machine according to claim 1, wherein
the input device is a jog dial (see Bays at least [0092] "...The locations of particular functions to control are easily learned and controllable through either rotation of the rotatable dial 38, lifting or lowering the rotatable dial 38, or pushing forward/pulling back the rotatable dial 38."; while not explicitly named as a “jog dial” the capabilities of dial 38 align exactly with those as described in the immediate specification, specifically [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the input device of the work machine as disclosed by Vandegrift with a jog dial such as taught by Bays with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandegrift in view of Bays and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US-2018/0015974; hereinafter Yang; already of record).
Regarding claim 5, Vandegrift in view of Bays and Lee teach the work machine according to claim 1, wherein
the work machine includes
an operation device that is used to operate the machine body (see Vandegrift at least [0044] "Another user interface tool 210 such as a lever, switch, or button 210 (or even a second joystick) may also for example be provided in the operator's cab 60 and in association with the control station 62. User engagement of the second user interface tool 210 may be monitored by a position sensor 212 which generates output signals representing a state of the user interface tool 210 to the controller 220. The user interface tool 210 may for example define a control mode (e.g., manual, automatic) or otherwise disable operation of one or more work machine functions based on user actuation thereof."), and
an operation state switching device that switches an operatable state in which an operation of the machine body through use of the operation device is valid and a non-operatable state in which an operation of the machine body through use of the operation device is invalid (see Vandegrift at least [0044] "Another user interface tool 210 such as a lever, switch, or button 210 (or even a second joystick) may also for example be provided in the operator's cab 60 and in association with the control station 62. User engagement of the second user interface tool 210 may be monitored by a position sensor 212 which generates output signals representing a state of the user interface tool 210 to the controller 220. The user interface tool 210 may for example define a control mode (e.g., manual, automatic) or otherwise disable operation of one or more work machine functions based on user actuation thereof."), and
…
However, neither Vandegrift nor Bays nor Lee explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the predetermined determination time is set to be longer in the operatable state than in the non-operatable state.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the predetermined determination time is set to be longer in the operatable state than in the non-operatable state (see Yang at least [0006] "…step 2, when the locking state information acquired in step 1 indicates that the lock is in the unlocked state, activating a first sleep mode by the CPU module to instruct the signal receiving/sending module, the clock module, the positioning module and the lock control module to enter a sleep state, enabling the CUP module to enter the sleep state and ignore or shield a vibration detection signal sent from the vibration sensor module, waiting for a next awakening period, and repeating step 1…").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operable state of the machine body as disclosed by Vandegrift with a period of time in which commands are ignored such as taught by Yang with a reasonable expectation of success so as to save power when specific components are inoperable (see Yang at least [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Noguchi et al. (US-2003/0234764) teaches a jog dial within a vehicle compartment for use by an operator, the jog dial capable of selecting specific criteria as displayed on a screen.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663