Claim Status
The amended claim set filed 29 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, 16-18, 21, 23, 26, and 28-29 are currently pending. Of those, claims 2, 7, 14, 18, 21, 23, and 29 are currently amended, and no claims are new. Claims 3, 8, 15, 19-20, 22, 24-25, 27, and 30-31 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, 16-18, 21, 23, 26, and 28-29 will be examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/481,957 (filed 27 Jan 2023) and is a 371 of PCT/US2024/012930 (filed 25 Jan 2024). The effective filing date used is 27 Jan 2023 for all claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 June 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. A signed copy of the statement is attached with this action.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or have also been submitted in an IDS that was considered, they have not been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. Specifically, there are sequences in Figure 5 that do not have sequence identifiers. This is an objection to both the specification and the drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities: they contain abbreviations (protein names) that are not defined. Claims should be complete and understandable on their own without needing to review the specification to understand the meaning of abbreviations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 21 and 23, these claims have limitations beginning with “optionally”. See MPEP 2143.03: “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation.” Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims does not include the optional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 9-10, 18, 23, 26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “the peroxisomal targeting signal is peroxisomal targeting sequence 1 (PTS1), peroxisomal targeting sequence 2 (PTS2), or peroxisomal targeting sequence 3 (PTS3).” These targeting sequences are not adequately defined, and as a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the breadth of sequences claimed.
The best definition of the PTS sequences in the specification is: “In most cases, a peroxisomal targeting signal is a short sequence, usually three amino acids in length, at the extreme carboxy tail (C-terminus) of a protein. This short sequence serves as the PTS. The prototypic sequence is serine-lysine-leucine (-SKL). This motif and its variations are known as PTS1 and the PTS 1 receptor is encoded by the PEX5 gene. A peroxisomal targeting signal may also be found on the N-terminus (PTS2), which is recognized by a protein complex consisting of the receptor PEX7 and a co-receptor.” [0072].
However, this is not a limiting definition that PTS1 is a C-terminal tripeptide -SKL; instead it defines PTS1 “in most cases” as “this motif and its variations”. The art at the time of filing also does not define PTS1 as having a limiting definition; Brocard and Hartig (2006, “Peroxisome targeting…”; PTO-892) tech that PTS1 includes a dodecamer sequence (Abstract) that is species-specific and does not require any of the amino acids of S, K, or L to match the -SKL C-terminal tripeptide (title of section 2 on pg. 1566, Table 1), and that must be experimentally or bioinformatically determined (Abstract). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine what variants of -SKL are included in the claimed PTS1 genus since none of those amino acids are critical for the peroxisome targeting function and there is not a unambiguous, limiting definition in either the specification or art at the time of filing.
The specification copied above is also not a limiting definition for PTS2 or PTS3. The art at the time of filing also does not define PTS2 or PTS3 as having a limiting definitions. Kunze (2019, “The type-2 peroxisome…”; PTO-892) teaches “PTS2 motifs resemble other N-terminal targeting signals” (Abstract) and Kempinski et al. (2020, “The peroxisomal targeting…”; PTO-892) teaches “Although the role of one or both of these regions as the PTS3 signal is not finally proven, our data indicate that the signal guiding AOx into peroxisomal matrix is not a linear sequence but a signal patch.” (Abstract). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine what sequences are included in the claimed PTS2 or PTS3 genus because PTS2 signals are not defined in the specification and the art does not teach how to differentiate them from other N-terminal targeting signals, and because PTS3 signals are not defined in the specification and are also not defined in the art at the time of filing.
Claim 10 is also rejected because it depends from claim 9 and does not obviate this grounds of rejection. Claim 10 defines PTS1 and obviates part of the rejection, but it does not define PTS2 or PTS3. In the interest of compact prosecution, in this action, a search for claims 9-10 will be limited to a C-terminal -SKL as a PTS1 sequence.
Regarding claims 18, 28, and 29, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 18 recites the broad recitation “an oleaginous yeast cell”, and the claim also recites “a Yarrowia cell, or Yarrowia lypolytica” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 28 recites the broad recitation “at least 6 hours”, and the claim also recites “at least 12 hours, at least 24 hours, at least 48 hours, at least 72 hours, at least 96 hours, or at least 192 hours” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 29 recites the broad recitations “at least 0.1 g/L” and “at least 25 mg/g dry cell weight (DCW)”, and the claim also recites “at least 0.2 g/L, at least 0.3 g/L, at least 0.4 g/L, at least 0.5 g/L, at least 1.0 g/L, at least 1.5 g/L, or more than 1.5 g/L” and “at least 50 mg/g DCW, at least 100 mg/g DCW, at least 150 mg/g DCW, or more than 150 mg/g DCW” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. In the interest of compact prosecution, in this action, only the broadest limitation will be searched.
Regarding claim 23, the term “a limited amount” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “limited amount” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know what amount of sugars can be present in the claimed culture media.
Regarding claim 26, the claim recites that “the one or more sugars” that is excluded from the media of claim 23 and that can only be present in a limited amount “comprise[s] glucose, fructose, and/or xylose”. The claim is indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine which sugars, other than those listed, must be present in a limited amount, given that the dependent claim must limit the generic “sugar” in the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 21, 23, 26, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for modified yeast cells producing squalene generally or for yeast cells with ERG9 in the peroxisome producing squalene in the peroxisome, does not reasonably provide enablement for the yeast cell of claim 1, which does not necessarily have ERG9 in the peroxisome, to produce squalene in the peroxisome. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation include: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d, 1400 (CAFC 1988) and MPEP 2164.01.
The breadth of the claims: Claim 21 is a method of producing squalene, comprising: culturing a modified yeast cell according to claim 1 in a culture medium for a sufficient time to produce squalene in the peroxisome of the modified yeast cell, and optionally extracting squalene from the modified yeast cell culture. The yeast cell of claim 1 comprises: a first set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a first set of enzymes of the mevalonate pathway, wherein one or more of the first set of enzymes of the mevalonate pathway is/are linked to a peroxisomal targeting signal; a first heterologous polynucleotide encoding a lipase; and a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a second set of enzymes having triacylglycerol synthesis activity. Claim 1 does not require that the yeast cell be capable of producing squalene at all, let alone producing it in the peroxisome as required by the method of claim 21.
Dependent claims 23, 26, and 28 limit the culture conditions and dependent claim 29 limit the amount of squalene produced; however, none of these claims limit the yeast cell’s structure relative to claim 1.
The nature of the invention: The invention relates to the biological function of a yeast cell making a product (squalene) in a particular location (peroxisome).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor: The inventor teaches that ERG9 is a squalene synthase enzyme that converts farnesyl pyrophosphate (FPP) to squalene [0067, 0088].
The existence of working examples: The working examples teach that ERG9 is not naturally a peroxisomal enzyme and that the “C-terminal SKL peroxisomal targeting signal” had to be experimentally added to achieve peroxisomal expression [0093].
The state of the prior art: Liu et al. (2020, “The yeast peroxisome…”; PTO-892) confirms the teachings of the specification. Figure 2A shows the reactions that produce squalene. Liu teaches that the peroxisomes are a deposit for overexpressed squalene from the cytoplasm, but experimental engineering was required to “[harness] peroxisomes as subcellular compartments for squalene synthesis” (Abstract, section 3.2 title on pg. 154).
The level of one of ordinary skill: As described in the specification and art, the level of ordinary skill allows one to change the genetics of a yeast cell, but cannot make a yeast cell produce squalene in the peroxisome if there are not squalene synthesis enzymes in that location.
The level of predictability in the art: The level of predictability for enzyme functions is high due to the well-characterized squalene synthesis pathway.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure: There is no amount of experimentation that will allow modified yeast cells, commensurate in scope with what is claimed, to produce squalene in the peroxisome. Therefore, the amount of experimentation required for enabling guidance, commensurate in scope with what is claimed, goes beyond what is considered ‘routine' within the art and constitutes undue further experimentation.
Therefore, claims 21, 23, 26, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, for failing to meet the enablement requirement. Either the scope of yeast cells claimed should be narrowed so that squalene synthase must be present in the peroxisome to perform the required reaction, or the scope of the method should be broadened to only claim that squalene is synthesized by the cell to include the action of the natural squalene synthase enzyme.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2022, “Engineering Yarrowia…”; hereafter Liu 2022; IDS filed 29 June 2026) as evidenced by DeLoache et al. (2016, “Towards repurposing…”; hereafter DeLoache; PTO-892) in view of Dusseaux et al. (2020, “Transforming yeast…”; hereafter Dusseaux; PTO-892), and Runguphan et al. (2014, “Metabolic engineering…”; hereafter Runguphan; PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, and 18, Liu teaches Yarrowia lipolytica engineered to produce the sesquiterpene β-farnesene (Abstract). Liu teaches Y. lipolytica has the advantages of excellent lipid degradation ability and strong β-oxidation ability, which enables the decomposition of fatty acids into acetyl-CoA, which is beneficial for synthesizing acetyl-CoA-derived chemicals, such as terpenoids (par. bridging pg. 1-2). Liu teaches expressing the mevalonate synthesis pathway in the peroxisome by expressing AtoB, HMGR and HMGS, each with the ePTS1 localization signal fused at the C-terminus (Table 2, Figure 2, par. bridging pg. 3-4). The abbreviations (pg. 13) teach “AtoB: Acetyl-CoA acetyltransferase; HMGS: HMG-CoA synthase; HMGR: HMG CoA reductase” and the instant specification [0038] teaches that AtoB is the same enzyme as ERG10, and HMGS is the same enzyme as ERG13. DeLoache provides evidence defining that the term ePTS1 is a combined linker followed by the PTS1 SKL sequence (DeLoache pg. 3 col. 2 par. 4). So, Liu teaches a modified yeast comprising a first set of enzymes of the mevalonate pathway, wherein one or more of the first set of enzymes of the mevalonate pathway is/are linked to a peroxisomal targeting signal (ePTS1), as in claim 1, a set of two enzymes (ERG10 and ERG13) from claim 4, and the -SKL peroxisomal targeting signal of claims 5, 7, and 9-10.
Liu teaches “engineer[ing] the biosynthesis to direct the flow from intracellular lipid accumulation toward the β-farnesene synthesis [i.e. mevalonate] pathway. The lipids in Y. lipolytica are mainly stored in lipid droplets as TAGs [35]. Triacylglycerol (TAG) lipase TGL4, which requires the activation of TGL3, can release fatty acids from TAGs [36].” (pg. 9 col. 1 par. 1). Overexpressing both TGL3 and TGL4 increased mevalonate pathway activity as shown by increase in β-farnesene product (pg. 9 col. 1 par. 1). So, Liu also teaches a first heterologous polynucleotide encoding a lipase as in claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Liu teaches that the mevalonate pathway activity can be improved by “overexpress[ing] the enzymes involved in β-oxidation, including the long-chain fatty acyl-CoA oxidases POX2 and POX3, the peroxisomal multifunctional enzyme MFE2, and the 3-ketoacyl-CoA thiolase POT1” (pg. 8 col. 1 par. 2). So, Liu teaches a modified yeast comprising a fourth set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a fourth set of enzymes having β-oxidation activity, as in claim 2, and a combination of the enzymes of claim 17.
Liu does not teach a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a second set of enzymes having triacylglycerol synthesis activity, as in claim 1.
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 9-10, Dusseaux teaches Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast modified to increase monoterpene production, using limonene as an example (pg. 31791 col. 2 par. 1). The yeast with the highest limonene production (“PERLim05”) has ERG20, IDI, ERG19, ERG8, ERG12, mvaS and mvaE expressed in the peroxisome (Figure 2 and legend on pg. 31791, pg. 31792 par. bridging cols.) by linking the genes to a peroxisome targeting signal (pg. 31797 col. 2 par. 2). “Peroxisomal targeting of proteins was ensured by C-terminal addition of the tripeptide SKL” (pg. 31797 col. 2 par. 2). This increased production is not specific to limonene. “The same positive effect of peroxisome targeting was observed with an improvement of 15-, 22-, 17-, and 105-fold for camphene (PER-Cam02 vs. CYTCam02), sabinene (PERSab02 vs. CYTSab02),(S)-(-)-limonene (PERLim27 vs. CYTLim04), and α-pinene(PERPin02 vs. CYTPin02), respectively, compared to cytosolic production by the same enzymes” (pg. 31793 col. 2 par. 3).
Dusseaux teaches “the heterologous peroxisomal MVA pathway is able to harvest the available pool of acetyl-CoA and direct it to monoterpene production … This dramatic increase clearly suggests that engineering a GPP-synthesizing microfactory in the peroxisome, taking advantage of the preexisting acetyl-CoA pool, can bypass current limitations in monoterpene production imposed by the strong com-petition of the sterol pathway in the yeast cytosol.” (pg. 31792 col. 2 par. 1). “Additionally, the productivity of the peroxisomal microfactory could be further increased by engineering fatty-acids accumulation and degradation (62) and thus providing a more substantial supply of acetyl-CoA in this organelle.” (pg. 31797 col. 1 par. 3). Reference 62 is Runguphan et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Runguphan teaches S. cerevisiae yeast that was engineered to overexpress “all three fatty acid biosynthesis genes, namely acetyl-CoA carboxylase (ACC1), fatty acid synthase 1 (FAS1) and fatty acid synthase 2 (FAS2), in S. cerevisiae. When coupled to triacylglycerol (TAG) production, the engineered strain accumulated lipid to more than 17% of its dry cell weight, a four-fold improvement over the control strain.” (Abstract). Specifically, Runguphan teaches overexpressing ACC1, FAS1 and FAS2 with the TEF1 strong constitutive promoter and also teaches plasmid-based overexpression of DGA1, which encodes the enzyme DGAT (pg. 109 col. 1 par. 1-2, pg. 108 col. 1 par. 4). These enzymes constitute a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a second set of enzymes having triacylglycerol synthesis activity, and a combination of ACC1 and DGA1.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would consider it prima facie obvious to improve the modified yeast comprising peroxisomal expression of the mevalonate pathway of Liu by improving fatty acid accumulation by expressing the fatty acid production biosynthesis genes of Runguphan, thereby arriving at the claimed invention, because Dusseaux specifically suggests this modification by pointing out the specific Runguphan reference in order to improve peroxisomal production of terpenes by another modified yeast with a heterologous, peroxisomal mevalonate pathway. Therefore the combination would be desirable because one of ordinary skill in the art expected them to improve mevalonate pathway activity. See MPEP 2144(II): “The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art … that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination.” The modification could be performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan all teach the genetic modification techniques required to add a set of heterologous polynucleotides into a yeast.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that the use of known techniques to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way is obvious because enhancing a particular class of devices, methods, or products has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. In the instant case, Liu teaches a “base” product of a yeast expressing the mevalonate pathway in the peroxisome, and Dusseaux teaches a comparable product of a yeast expressing the mevalonate pathway in the peroxisome wherein the use of the fatty acid modifying genetic modifications of Runguphan is taught as advantageous. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known technique of Dusseaux and Runguphan to the base product taught by Liu to yield predictable results (i.e. the same advantages). Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12-13, 17-18, 21, 23, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2022, “Engineering Yarrowia…”; hereafter Liu; IDS filed 29 June 2026) as evidenced by DeLoache et al. (2016, “Towards repurposing…”; hereafter DeLoache; PTO-892) in view of Dusseaux et al. (2020, “Transforming yeast…”; hereafter Dusseaux; PTO-892), Runguphan et al. (2014, “Metabolic engineering…”; hereafter Runguphan; PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 above, and further in view of Liu et al (2020, “The yeast peroxisome…”; hereafter Liu2020; PTO-892).
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 was addressed above. Briefly, Liu teaches a modified yeast comprising the a first set of genes encoding the mevalonate pathway in the periplasm used to make the terpene β-farnesene and also comprising a first heterologous gene encoding a lipase, and also comprising a fourth set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding β -oxidation activity. Dusseaux teaches a similar yeast encoding the mevalonate pathway in the periplasm would be improved by performing the genetic modifications of Runguphan, and Runguphan teaches modifying a yeast to have a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding genes with triacylglycerol activity.
Additionally, Liu teaches culturing yeast for 216 hours (Figure 6), which is a sufficient time to produce squalene per claim 28 using YPD medium (20 g/L tryptone, 20 g/L glucose, 10 g/L yeast extract) (pg. 10 col. 2 par. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the presence of water, i.e. an aqueous buffer, in the media.
The combination of Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan does not teach wherein ERG20 and ERG9 each comprise a peroxisomal targeting signal, as in claim 6. The combination does not teach (i) a third set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a third set of enzymes having acetyl-CoA synthesis activity, wherein the third set of enzymes having acetyl-CoA synthesis activity comprises pyruvate carboxylase (PYC1), ATP:citrate lyase (ACL), citrate carrier YHM2, acetyl-CoA synthetase, or any combination thereof, as in claim 13. The combination does not teach a method of producing squalene where squalene is produced in the peroxisome of the modified yeast cell, as in claim 21 and its dependent claims, and does not teach the squalene yield of claim 29.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Liu2020 teaches Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast modified to produce the terpene squalene in the peroxisomes (Abstract). Specifically, the strain SquP1 overexpresses “the entire engineered squalene synthesis pathway, including ten genes (ERG10, ERG13, tHMG1, NADH-HMGR, ERG12, ERG8, MVD1, IDI1, ERG20, ERG9) [i.e. a first set of enzymes of the mevalonate pathway, a combination of the enzymes of claim 4] fused with C-terminal ePTS1 [i.e. a peroxisomal targeting signal]” (pg. 155 col. 2 par. 2, Table 1). The gene “HMG-CoA reductase (tHMG1)” is the same enzyme that the instant specification calls tHMGR [0038]. “After optimizing a two-stage fed-batch fermentation method, the squalene titer reached 11.00g/L, the highest ever reported.” (Abstract). Liu2020 teaches that terpenes such as squalene “exhibit a wide variety of application value as antitumor drugs, food and cosmetic additives, fragrances, and biofuels” and are “valuable” (pg. 151 col. 1 par. 1).
Regarding claims 2, 13, Liu2020 teaches engineering acetyl-CoA supply for peroxisomes (Section 3.3.3 title on pg. 156) because acetyl-CoA is the precursor for squalene biosynthesis and “It has been suggested that an increased acetyl-CoA pool can improve the biosynthesis of downstream terpenes” (par. bridging pg. 156-157, Figure 4A). Liu2020 teaches SquP10 which comprises peroxisomal targeted ATP-dependent citrate lyase (ACL) from Yarrowia lipolytica and also overexpresses acetyl-CoA synthetase (Acs1p) (pg. 158 col. 1 par. 1), so Liu2020 teaches (i) a third set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a third set of enzymes having acetyl-CoA synthesis activity, specifically expressing a set of heterologous ACL and acetyl-CoA synthetase genes, which is a combination from the enzymes of claim 13. The result was that the productivity of the SquP10 strain was improved (par. bridging pg. 156-157).
Regarding claims 5-7, the enzymes each have a C-terminal ePTS1 (pg. 155 col. 2 par. 2, Table 1), including ERG20 and ERG9.
Regarding claims 9-10, Liu2020 teaches that the ePTS1 was previously taught by DeLoache et al., 2016 (pg. 152 col. 1 par. 3). DeLoache provides evidence defining the term ePTS1 as a combined linker and PTS1 SKL sequence (DeLoache pg. 3 col. 2 par. 4).
Regarding claim 21 and 28, Liu2020 teaches culturing a modified yeast cell for up to 180 hours (Figure 6 and legend on pg. 159), which is a sufficient time to produce squalene per claim 28. The yeast cells produce squalene in the peroxisome due to the engineering (Figure 6 legend on pg. 159).
Regarding claim 23, Liu2020 teaches fermenting in “YPD and 0.5 g/L MgSO4” (pg. 153 col. 2 par. 5), which is “YPD (1% yeast extract, 2% peptone and 2% glucose)” (pg. 152 col. 2 par. 2). The total media component percentages being less than 100% teaches one of ordinary skill in the art to also use water (i.e. an aqueous buffer) in the media.
Regarding claim 29, the amount of squalene produced is at least 0.1 g/L or 100 mg/L because “After optimizing a two-stage fed-batch fermentation method, the squalene titer reached 11.00 g/L, the highest ever reported” (Abstract, Figure 6 on pg. 159).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would consider it prima facie obvious to improve the modified yeast of the Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan combination by further modifying the peroxisomal mevalonate pathway to comprise the enzymes to produce squalene as taught in Liu2020 instead of β-farnesene, thereby further arriving at the invention of claims 6, 21, 23, and 28-29, because Liu2020 teaches that squalene is a valuable product that can be produced at the highest reported titer successfully using a peroxisomal mevalonate pathway as in the prior combination of Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan. The modification would produce squalene in the peroxisomes as in the instant method claims. Therefore, the combination would be desirable because of the valuable product that is made more efficiently. See MPEP 2144(II): “The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art … that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination.” The modification could be performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Liu, Dusseaux, Runguphan, and Liu2020 all teach the genetic modification techniques required to add a set of heterologous polynucleotides into a yeast.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case all elements (i.e. the mevalonate pathway genes of Liu2020, the other modifications from the prior combination) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a method/composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
In addition to or instead of the above modification, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would also consider it prima facie obvious to improve the modified yeast of the Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan combination by further modifying the yeast to improve acetyl-CoA production by expressing heterologous ACL and acetyl-CoA synthetase genes as taught in Liu2020, thereby further arriving at the invention of claim 13, because Liu2020 teaches this modification improves production of squalene via the mevalonate pathway. Therefore, the combination would be desirable because the mevalonate pathway’s product (either β-farnesene or squalene, depending on whether the modification is made instead of or in addition to the above modification) is made more efficiently. See MPEP 2144(II): “The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art … that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination.” The modification could be performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Liu, Dusseaux, Runguphan, and Liu2020 all teach the genetic modification techniques required to add a set of heterologous polynucleotides into a yeast.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case all elements (i.e. the acetyl-CoA synthesis genes of Liu2020, the other modifications from the prior combination) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a method/composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2022, “Engineering Yarrowia…”; hereafter Liu; IDS filed 29 June 2026) as evidenced by DeLoache et al. (2016, “Towards repurposing…”; hereafter DeLoache; PTO-892) in view of Dusseaux et al. (2020, “Transforming yeast…”; hereafter Dusseaux; PTO-892), Runguphan et al. (2014, “Metabolic engineering…”; hereafter Runguphan; PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 above, and further in view of Arnesen et al. (2020, “Yarrowia lipolytica…”; hereafter Arnesen; IDS filed 29 June 2026).
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 was addressed above. Briefly, Liu teaches a modified yeast comprising the a first set of genes encoding the mevalonate pathway in the periplasm used to make the terpene β-farnesene and also comprising a first heterologous gene encoding a lipase, and also comprising a fourth set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding β -oxidation activity. Dusseaux teaches a similar yeast encoding the mevalonate pathway in the periplasm would be improved by performing the genetic modifications of Runguphan, and Runguphan teaches modifying a yeast to have a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding genes with triacylglycerol activity.
The combination of Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan does not teach (i) a third set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a third set of enzymes having acetyl-CoA synthesis activity, wherein the third set of enzymes having acetyl-CoA synthesis activity comprises pyruvate carboxylase (PYC1), ATP:citrate lyase (ACL), citrate carrier YHM2, acetyl-CoA synthetase, or any combination thereof, as in claim 13. The combination does not teach the acetyl-CoA synthetase is derived from Salmonella enterica as in claim 14, or comprises a L641P substitution mutation relative to a wild-type acetyl-CoA synthetase, as in claim 16.
Regarding claims 1-2, Arnesen teaches Yarrowia lipolytica yeast modified to overproduce mono-, sesqui-, di-, tri, and tetraterpenes, including squalene (Abstract). Arnesen teaches further comprising a third set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a third set of enzymes having acetyl-CoA synthesis activity (increasing the acetyl-CoA pool was done by overexpression of the native ATP citrate lyase 1 (ACL) and the Salmonella enterica acetyl-CoA synthetase (SeACS) in Y. lipolytica; Page 4, 2nd column, 2nd Para). Arnesen teaches that these modifications have the advantage of increasing the acetyl-CoA pool in a strain with an upregulated mevalonate pathway (pg. 4 col. 2 par. 2).
Regarding claim 13-14, Arnesen teaches increasing the acetyl-CoA pool was done by overexpression of the native ATP citrate lyase 1 (ACL) and the Salmonella enterica acetyl-CoA synthetase (SeACS) in Y. lipolytica (Page 4, 2nd column, 2nd Para), i.e. a combination of the enzymes listed in claim 13, an acetyl-CoA synthetase derived from S. enterica as in claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Arnesen teaches wherein the acetyl-CoA synthetase comprises an L641P amino acid substitution mutation relative to a wild-type acetyl-CoA synthetase (Salmonella enterica acetyl-CoA synthetase (SeACS) with a L641P substitution; Page 3, 1st column, 1st Para).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would also consider it prima facie obvious to improve the modified yeast of the Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan combination by further modifying the yeast to improve acetyl-CoA production by expressing heterologous ACL and acetyl-CoA synthetase genes as taught in Arnesen, thereby further arriving at the invention of claims 13-14 and 16, because Arnesen teaches this modification improves the acetyl-CoA pool that is used by the mevalonate pathway. Therefore, the combination would be desirable because the mevalonate pathway’s terpene product is made more efficiently. See MPEP 2144(II): “The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art … that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination.” The modification could be performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Liu, Dusseaux, Runguphan, and Arnesen all teach the genetic modification techniques required to add a set of heterologous polynucleotides into a yeast.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case all elements (i.e. the acetyl-CoA synthesis genes of Arnesen, the other modifications from the prior combination) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a method/composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-12, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2022, “Engineering Yarrowia…”; hereafter Liu; IDS filed 29 June 2026) as evidenced by DeLoache et al. (2016, “Towards repurposing…”; hereafter DeLoache; PTO-892) in view of Dusseaux et al. (2020, “Transforming yeast…”; hereafter Dusseaux; PTO-892), Runguphan et al. (2014, “Metabolic engineering…”; hereafter Runguphan; PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 above, and further in view of Jiao et al. (2022, “Employing engineered…”; hereafter Jiao; IDS filed 29 June 2026).
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 17-18 was addressed above. Briefly, Liu teaches a modified yeast comprising the a first set of genes encoding the mevalonate pathway in the periplasm used to make the terpene β-farnesene and also comprising a first heterologous gene encoding a lipase, and also comprising a fourth set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding β -oxidation activity. Dusseaux teaches a similar yeast encoding the mevalonate pathway in the periplasm would be improved by performing the genetic modifications of Runguphan, and Runguphan teaches modifying a yeast to have a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding genes with triacylglycerol activity.
The combination of Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan does not teach the lipase is a triacylglycerol lipase derived from Thermomyces lanuginosus as in claim 11.
Regarding claim 1, Jiao teaches a modified yeast cell (engineered Y. lipolytica; Abstract) comprising a first heterologous polynucleotide encoding a lipase (enhancing the expression of Thermomyces lanuginosys lipase (TLL) in Y. lipolytica; Abstract). Jiao teaches that TLL is used because it is “an important thermostable lipase used in various industrial areas” (pg. 3 par. 2) and that the result is that TLL activity is increased 39.9 fold compared to original strain.
Regarding claims 11-12, Jiao teaches wherein the lipase is a triacylglycerol lipase derived from Thermomyces lanuginosus (Abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would also consider it prima facie obvious to improve the modified yeast of the Liu, Dusseaux, and Runguphan combination by expressing Thermomyces lanuginosus triacylglycerol lipase either instead of or in addition to TGL3/4 lipases, thereby further arriving at the invention of claim 11, because Jiao teaches that this lipase has the advantage of being thermostable and can be expressed at a high level in Y. lipolytica. Therefore the combination would be desirable because Liu taught that high levels of lipase activity increase mevalonate pathway activity (Liu pg. 9 col. 1 par. 1). See MPEP 2144(II): “The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art … that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination.” The modification could be performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Liu, Dusseaux, Runguphan, and Jiao all teach the genetic modification techniques required to add a heterologous polynucleotide into a yeast.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case all elements (i.e. the TLL gene of Jiao, the other modifications from the prior combination) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a method/composition wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Note About Unexpected Results
The examiner would be willing to consider evidence that the modification to add a second set of heterologous polynucleotides encoding a second set of enzymes having triacylglycerol synthesis activity has greater effect than would be expected from the teachings of Dusseaux. However, the evidence of the specification does not appear to be commensurate in scope with what is currently claimed. Liu et al. (2022, “Engineering Yarrowia…”; hereafter Liu; IDS filed 29 June 2026) teaches “Yarrowia lipolytica is an unconventional oleaginous yeast, which can use lipid feedstock and has great potential to synthesize acetyl-CoA-derived chemicals.” (Abstract). So it appears that the evidence in the specification, which used only Y. lipolytica, is not commensurate in scope with the claim of any yeast species. See also MPEP 716.02 for additional discussion of unexpected results and the applicant’s burden to prove unexpectedness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
AMELIA N DICKENS
Examiner
Art Unit 1645
/AMELIA NICOLE DICKENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1645