DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on July 28, 2025 for application number 19/151,359. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on {July 28, 2025} and {December 19, 2025} were submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023-086167 filed on May 25, 2023.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Claims 3-9 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“First controller”, “Second controller”, and “Switching device” in claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (BÖCKMANN – DE 102021120526 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BÖCKMANN discloses:
A mixed-combustion electronic control device, comprising:
a first controller (First fuel D injector) that controls combustion of a first fuel (First Fuel D: Fig. 1); and
a second controller (engine control unit: [0022-0045]) that controls mixed combustion of the first fuel (First Fuel D: Fig. 1) and a second fuel (Second Fuel S: Fig. 1),
wherein the second controller (engine control unit: [0022-0045]) stores, for each engine operating condition, observation values corresponding to combustion timing (combustion timing is interpreted as ignition delay period: [0022-0045]: “In a first evaluation strategy, it is provided that the differential heating curve is calculated from the cylinder pressure curve, from which in the working stroke - as a characterizing variable - a start of combustion and an ignition delay in an ignition delay period of the fuel mixture with a start of combustion of the first fuel and a start of combustion of the second Fuel is compared and the proportions of the fuels are deduced as a function of the ignition delay determined, with the difference in time between the respective start of combustion of the first and second fuel forming the ignition delay period” and “In other words, based on the different times t .sub.Bx of the start of combustion of pure diesel fuel D (combustion start at time t .sub.BD ) and pure synthetic fuel S (combustion start at time t .sub.BS ), the ignition delay period Δt .sub.ZV is determined as a characteristic variable”) of the first fuel (First Fuel D: Fig. 1), learns observation values (The learning is made in BÖCKMANN by neural networks: [0022-0045]: “In a third evaluation strategy, it is provided that significant similarity features of the cylinder pressure curve - as a characterizing variable - are recognized and evaluated with the support of neural networks” and “Third evaluation strategy "Pattern recognition of characteristic features of the cylinder pressure curve p .sub.Z /°KW [bar/°KW] supported by neural networks": Provision is made for evaluating patterns of the cylinder pressure curve p .sub.Z /°KW, in particular patterns that can be significantly evaluated by characteristic features of the cylinder pressure curve p .sub.Z /°KW, supported by neural networks” and “”) corresponding to the combustion timing of the first fuel (First Fuel D: Fig. 1) suitable for each of the operating conditions, determines, from the current operating conditions and learning situation, whether to perform the mixed combustion, and in a case where it is determined that the mixed combustion is to be performed, controls the mixed combustion by using the learned observation values ([0022-0045]).
Regarding claim 2, BÖCKMANN disclose the mixed-combustion electronic control device according to claim 1, and further on BÖCKMANN also discloses:
wherein the observation values are an extreme value of a rotation speed of a crankshaft and an extreme value timing indicating the timing at which the rotation speed is at the extreme value, and wherein the second controller detects the extreme value and the extreme value timing, stores the extreme value and the extreme value timing for each of the operating conditions, and learns the extreme value and the extreme value timing suitable for each of the operating conditions ([0022-0045]: “In this procedure, it is provided according to the invention to form the mathematical derivation dpz/Δα [bar/°KW] of the cylinder pressure p .sub.Z plotted against the crank angle °KW for the respective constant operating point and to use it according to the invention as follows: For clarification are in the 1 according to the characteristic curve K .sub.pZ-x the cylinder pressure p .sub.Z plotted continuously over the crank angle °KW (cylinder pressure profile p .sub.Z /°KW in [bar over °KW), which is also analogous to the first procedure already described for calculating the differential heating profile dQ [J/m .sup.3 x°KW] was used, as well as its mathematical derivation dpz/Δα [bar/°KW] according to the crank angle °KW for the several constant operating points in the exemplary embodiment for the exemplary operating point 2000 revolutions [1/min] and one Torque M = 70 [Nm]) for a diesel fuel D used (without a synthetic component) K .sub.pZ-D and for a synthetic fuel S (without a diesel component)”).
Regarding claim 10, BÖCKMANN disclose the mixed-combustion electronic control device according to claim 1, and further on BÖCKMANN also discloses:
wherein the engine drives a generator, and wherein the operating conditions include one or more of generated power, generated current, excess air ratio, engine speed, and torque ([0022-0045]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JP H05187265 A – MATSUMOTO
US 11,655,775 B1 – Puente
US 2021/0095610 A1 – HASHIMOTO
CN 110107418 A – HUANG
JP 2019167850 A - KATO
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747