Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
New Claims 16 and 17 recite the limitation “single-phase DC supply” however it is unclear what is required. As single-phase typically refers to an AC supply. Applicant should clarify the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prasad et al. (US 20230365016).
With respect to claims 1, 5-6, 10-11 and 16-17 Prasad teaches an electrical system, comprising:
an energy storage device (210);
a traction motor (Fig. 2-4 see setting windings for propulsion mode) having a plurality of machine windings (see Fig. 2-4);
a power inverter (220) connected to the energy storage device (210) for receiving direct current (DC) power therefrom, the power inverter including a plurality of pairs of semiconductor switches (IS1-6), each pair of semiconductor switches of the plurality of pairs of semiconductor switches being configured to apply an alternating current (AC) power to a corresponding machine winding (see windings for example Fig. 2-4) of the plurality of machine windings;
an external power source (Parsad teaches two external sources 140/130 either of which are capable of suppling external power); and
a mode control switch (S5) connected between a given machine winding of the plurality of machine windings (see connection with machine windings in Fig. 3 and 4) and a corresponding pair of semiconductor switches see connection with IS switches shown in Fig. 3) of the pairs of semiconductor switches, wherein the mode control switch is operable in a closed state to allow current flow therethrough, and
wherein the mode control switch is operable in an open state to prevent current flow between the external power source and the corresponding pair of semiconductor switches (see default or propulsion mode of operation), wherein the given machine winding (for example B1) of the plurality of machine windings is further arranged to receive current from the external power source via a conductor when the mode control switch is in the open state (for example during a AC charging operation see Table 1).
With respect to claim 6 Prasad teaches the energy storage device has a first voltage (800v) and the external power source has a second voltage (400v) that is substantially lower than the first voltage.
With respect to claim 12 Parsad teaches the power converter mode includes operating the electrical system in a boost mode (paragraph 0034) to transfer power from the external power source and to the energy storage device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad in view of Kusch et al. (US 20130307489).
With respect to claims 7 and 14 Prasad teaches the connection with an external source however does not teach polarity control. Kusch teaches the known use of a polarity control switch (rectifier switching operations paragraph 0043) connected between the external power source and the given machine winding of the plurality of machine windings, wherein the electrical system is configured to cause the polarity control switch to block current therethrough in response to the external power source being connected with an incorrect polarity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Prasad include a polarity switch for the predictable result of protecting the electrical system from damage.
Claims 8-9, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad in view of Smolenaers (US 20200298722).
With respect to claim 8 Parsad teaches the converter however does not teach a startup operation. Smolenaers teaches a converter startup switch (paragraph 0065, 80 and 89-81 connected between the external power source and the given machine winding of the plurality of machine windings, wherein the electrical system is configured to cause the converter startup switch to progressively increase a current flow therethrough over a predetermined period of time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Prasad to include the use of a startup switch for the benefit of increased safety and reduced abnormal or transient operations.
With respect to claim 9 Parsad teaches the converter however does not an inductor connected to the external power source. Smolenaers teaches an inductor (1320) connected between the external power source and the given machine winding of the plurality of machine windings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Parsad to include the known use of an inductor for the predictable result of filtering the input (paragraph 0210).
With respect to claim 13 Parsad teaches operating the electrical system however does not teach a buck mode. Smolenaers in the power converter mode includes operating the electrical system in a buck mode (paragraph 0207) to transfer power from the energy storage device and to the external power source. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Parsad to include the use of a buck mode for the predictable result of improved voltage regulation for the external source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 2 Prasad teaches the electrical control system however does not teach wherein the electrical system is configured to cause the mode control switch to be in the closed state for operating the inverter to apply the alternating current (AC) power to the corresponding machine winding and to cause the traction motor to generate a torque, and wherein the electrical system is configured to cause the mode control switch to be in the open state for operating the electrical system in a power converter mode to transfer power between the energy storage device and the external power source. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smolenaers (US 20240030856) teaches an control of current to motor windings and switching operations relevant to the claimed system, Zhang et al. (US 20220216714) teaches a switch mode switch (60) for controlling the mode of an inverter.
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836