DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “MRCP”; however, this acronym has not been defined in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho (KR 2023/0163770, citations according to attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a method for creating a three-dimensional (3D) representation of the biliary tract, the method comprising the steps of:
reconstructing abdominal image data (Page 3, Paragraph 5) including the biliary tract (Page 3, Paragraph 9) captured by magnetic resonance cholangiopancreatography (Page 3, Paragraph 4);
Although CT images of the abdomen are input into the AI model (Page 4, Paragraphs 11-13), both CT and MRCP images are used to train the model (Page 3, Paragraph 4). Additionally, the Background-Art section teaches that MRI can also be performed, and that MRI results in higher-contrast images of the biliary tract than CT images. Thus, it is expected that an MRCP image can also be input into the model with expected results.
inputting the reconstructed image data into trained artificial intelligence (AI) (Page 3, Paragraph 4);
identifying the biliary tract from the reconstructed abdominal image data using the trained AI (Page 3, Paragraph 9); and
converting the identified biliary tract into a 3D representation (Background-Art, Paragraph 3 & Page 3, Paragraph 9), wherein the trained AI identifies and outputs the biliary tract from the input abdominal image data including the biliary tract (Page 3, Paragraph 9).
In addition to Background-Art teaching that MRI can create three-dimensional reconstructed images, Page 3, Paragraph 9 teaches that “texture and shape features” are extracted from the images. Texture and shape features would only be present in a 3D image.
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches a computer-readable recording medium (processing device, Page 3, Paragraph 4) recording a computer program (artificial intelligence model, Page 3, Paragraph 7) for executing the method according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches an electronic apparatus (processing device, Page 3, Paragraph 4) for executing the method according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, as applied to claim 1, above, in view of Stuber (US 2009/0027051).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches the method for creating a three-dimensional (3D) representation of the biliary tract according to claim 1.
However, Cho fails to disclose that the abdominal image data including the biliary tract captured by the magnetic resonance cholangiopancreatography is MRCP GRASE (gradient and spin echo) abdominal image data.
Stuber teaches that the abdominal image data is GRASE (gradient and spin echo) abdominal image data ([0122]).
Although Stuber does not explicitly teach performing MRCP, [0120] teaches imaging the pancreas. Nevertheless, MRCP is a specific type of MRI, so GRASE (a well-known MRI method) is expected to apply to MRCP as well.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cho such that the abdominal image data is GRASE (gradient and spin echo) abdominal image data, as taught by Stuber. GRASE is a well-known MRI method that can reduce scan times and provide increased image quality.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, as applied to claim 1, above, in view of Wang (US 2022/0138933).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches the method for creating a three-dimensional (3D) representation of the biliary tract according to claim 1.
However, Cho fails to disclose that the trained AI is a U-Net model based on a deep learning model.
Wang teaches that the trained AI (ML/DL computer model 610, [0133]) is a U-Net model based on a deep learning model (U-Net neural network model 612, [0133]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cho such that the trained AI is a U-Net model based on a deep learning model, as taught by Wang. U-Net models are well-known AI models used for image segmentation.
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches the method for creating a three-dimensional (3D) representation of the biliary tract according to claim 1.
However, Cho fails to disclose: reconstructing the voxel resolution of the image data to 1.0 x 1.0 x 1.0 mm; clipping the arbitrary unit (AU) values of the reconstructed image data within a predetermined range; and converting the AU values of the reconstructed image data into values between 0 and 1.
Wang teaches:
reconstructing the voxel resolution of the image data to 1.0 x 1.0 x 1.0 mm (“The lesion segmentation stage 140…uses a watershed technique and corresponding ML/DL computer model 142 to partition the detection map to generate image element, e.g., voxel, partitioning of the medical images (slices) of the input volume 105”, [0102]);
Paragraph [0102] teaches partitioning the image into voxels. Although no dimensions are specified, the voxels will inherently have a size, and the claimed 1.0 x 1.0 x 1.0 mm size represents a non-critical value. If so desired, or under routine optimization, the voxels of Wang can be the claimed size. Paragraph [0126] suggests limiting pixel size to a minimum 0.55 mm. One having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a smaller voxel size results in greater image quality and diagnostic capabilities, albeit at the cost of additional computing power.
clipping the arbitrary unit (AU) values of the reconstructed image data within a predetermined range ([0126]); and
converting the AU values of the reconstructed image data into values between 0 and 1 ([0126]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Cho to include: reconstructing the voxel resolution of the image data to 1.0 x 1.0 x 1.0 mm; clipping the arbitrary unit (AU) values of the reconstructed image data within a predetermined range; and converting the AU values of the reconstructed image data into values between 0 and 1, as taught by Wang. Reconstructing the data into voxels can help in segmenting the image, and clipping and normalizing the values can simplify thresholding of the data, allowing for an improved extraction of a region of interest.
Conclusion
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798