DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Patent Application filed 8/15/2025 wherein claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Drawings
In accordance with 37CFR 1.83(a) and 1.84(o), the drawings (Figures 1-5) are also objected to because:
the numerals associated with the graphical drawing symbols (boxes, rectangles, circles, etc) are not indicative as to what said symbol represents and so the functionality of the element cannot be determined.
The unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawing should be provided with descriptive text labels. See MPEP 608.02(b) II.
In summary, elements in the drawing must be labeled in words to facilitate the expeditious understanding of the drawing by members of the public (refer to example 1 below). When the boxes are too small to accommodate the labeling, external labeling as indicated by the arrows in the example 2 below is acceptable.
Example 1: elements in the drawings are labeled; fluid lines are solid; control signal lines are dashed lines; arrows show the direction of the fluid and control lines.
Example 2: when boxes are too small to accommodate the labeling, external labeling as indicated by the arrows in the example 2 below is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiffi et al. (US 2011/0120138).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Gaiffi teaches (Figures 1-4) an electrical power generation system (see Figure 3), comprising:
a heater (18);
a reactor (24);
an exhaust gas heat exchanger (12); and
a gas turbine (122), wherein
the heater (18) is configured to supply heat (see dashed lines in Figure 3) to the reactor (24),
the reactor (24) is configured to produce hydrogen (36) by thermally decomposing a hydrocarbon gas (22) into hydrogen and carbon (Paragraph 0018), and
the gas turbine (122) is fueled by the hydrogen (see Figure 3 and Paragraph 0037) produced by the reactor (24).
Although Gaiffi’s Figure 3 embodiment does not teach that the exhaust gas heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat of exhaust gas discharged from the heater to a fuel gas in the electrical power generation system, Gaiffi’s Figure 2 embodiment teaches that the exhaust gas heat exchanger (12) is configured to transfer heat of exhaust gas (see dashed lines in Figure 2) discharged from the heater (18) to a fuel gas (10) in the electrical power generation system (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaiffi’s Figure 3 embodiment to have the exhaust gas heat exchanger be configured to transfer heat of exhaust gas discharged from the heater to a fuel gas in the electrical power generation system, as taught by Gaiffi’s Figure 2 embodiment, in order to have the excess heat be used to preheat the feedstock (Paragraph 0017 of Gaiffi).
Regarding Claim 2, Gaiffi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Gaiffi further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the exhaust gas heat exchanger (12) is configured to transfer the heat of the exhaust gas discharged from the heater (18) to the hydrocarbon gas (gas 10 to 22) supplied to the reactor (24).
Regarding Claim 10, Gaiffi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Gaiffi further teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the hydrocarbon gas is methane (Paragraphs 0017-0018).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim: “a produced gas heat exchanger, wherein: the produced gas heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat of a gas mixture of the hydrogen and the hydrocarbon gas produced by the reactor to the hydrocarbon gas supplied to the reactor; and the exhaust gas heat exchanger is configured to transfer the heat of the exhaust gas discharged from the heater to the hydrocarbon gas supplied to the produced gas heat generator” (Claim3, lines 1-8); “the exhaust gas heat exchanger is configured to transfer the heat of the exhaust gas discharged from the heater to the hydrogen produced by the reactor in order to transfer heat to fuel gas supplied to the gas turbine” (Claim 4, lines 1-4); “a fuel gas of the gas turbine is a gas mixture of hydrocarbon gas and hydrogen; and the exhaust gas heat exchanger is configured to transfer the heat of the exhaust gas discharged from the heater to the hydrocarbon gas included in the gas mixture in order to transfer heat to the fuel gas supplied to the gas turbine” (Claim 5, lines 2-5); and “the heater is configured to heat the reactor by burning fuel; and the fuel includes at last one of hydrocarbon gas and hydrogen” (Claim 8, lines 2-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references teaching the production of hydrogen using heaters and reactors.
Contact Information
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741