DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fournier et al. (US 5,950,244) in view of Chilson (US 2015/0047110).
In regard to claim 1, Fournier et al. teaches teaches a helmet (helmet: 10) comprising: at least an energy-absorbing insert (second material: 18); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (liner: 14 see figures 4 and 5, recess is dies 27, 28 in insert/liner); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent (vent in figures 4 and 5 called plug holes: 25); a protective layer (shell: 12) bonded to the foam liner (16) in correspondence of a bottom of said at least one recess (see figures 4 and 5, column 3, lines 51-56), wherein the protective layer (12) is a continuous layer that crosses and closes the at least one vent (see figures 4 and 5) and the protective layer is configured such that no cell of the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is completely visible through the at least one vent when viewed from outside the helmet (see figures 4 and 5).
However, Fournier et al. fails to teach the energy-absorbing insert being a cellular energy-absorbing insert.
Chilson teaches a energy-absorbing insert that is a cellular energy-absorbing insert (paragraph 0012 and 0014).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the helmet of Fournier et al. with the energy-absorbing insert being a cellular energy absorbing insert as taught by Chilson, since the energy-absorbing insert of Fournier et al. being a cellular insert would provide an insert that allows for improved shock absorbing protection while allowing air to freely flow within the cells/tubes.
In regard to claim 2, the combined references teach wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert comprises a plurality of interconnected open cells configured to absorb energy by plastic deformation in response to a longitudinal compressive load applied to said cells (Chilson: cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 3, the combined references teach wherein each cell comprises a tube having sidewall/s and a longitudinal axis, and the cells are connected to each other through their sidewalls (Chilson: cellular energy-absorbing insert: 126, paragraph 0014 detailing honeycomb structure of insert).
In regard to claim 5, Fournier et al. wherein protective layer (12) is a sheet (column 3, lines 42-49).
In regard to claim 6, Fournier et al. teaches wherein cellular energy-absorbing insert (18) has synclastic properties (see figures 4 and 5).
In regard to claim 7, Fournier et al. teaches wherein the cellular energy-absorbing insert (18) is configured to provide an improved shock absorbing protection as compared with the foam liner (column 4, lines 13-16 and column 4, lines 44-55).
In regard to claim 8, Fournier et al. teaches that the foam liner (16) can be made from a variety of high density polymers (column 3, lines 57-67 though column 4, lines 1-2). However, Fournier et al. fails to specifically teach the foam liner being made of a polymeric expanded foam.
Chilson teaches the foam liner being made of a polymeric expanded foam (foam liner: 130, paragraph 0014 details EPS).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the foam liner of Fournier et al. in an expanded polymeric foam as taught by Chilson, since the foam liner of Fournier et al. being expanded polymeric foam would provide a good impact protection layer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/157,363 (reference application) in view of Fournier et al. (US 5,950,244).
OR
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 and 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. issue fee pad, no patent issued yet for application 19/157,363in view of Fournier et al. (US 5,950,244).
It is noted that the issue fee for 19/157,363 has been paid, but a patent number has not yet been issued.
Claim 1 of Current Application:
A helmet comprising: at least a cellular energy-absorbing insert (see line 2 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); a foam liner comprising at least one recess shaped to accommodate the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert (see lines 3-4 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); the foam liner also comprises at least one vent see lines 3-4 of claim 1 of 19/157,363); a protective layer attached to the foam liner in correspondence of a bottom of said at least one recess (see claim 4 of 19/157,363), wherein the protective layer is a continuous layer that crosses and closes the at least one vent (see claim 6 of 19/157,363) and the protective layer is configured such that no cell of the at least one cellular energy-absorbing insert is completely visible through the at least one vent when viewed from outside (see claims 1, lines 7-8 detailing that the vent is partially closed and claim 1, lines 5-7 detailing micro-holes that would allow for partial visibility of the cells).
However, 19/157,363 fails to teach the protective layer bonded to the foam liner.
Fournier et al. teaches a protective layer bonded to a foam liner (column 3, lines 51-56) in a helmet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the protective layer of 19/157,363 bonded to the foam liner as taught by Fournier et al., since the foam liner and the protective layer being bonded together by adhesive would provide layers that are securely attached to each other in a helmet.
Claim 2 of the instant application is the same as claim 2 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 3 of the instant application is the same as claim 3 of 19/157,363; Claim 5 of the instant application is the same as claim 6 of 19/157,363, except the instant application claim has amended out “layered over the recess of the foam liner; Claim 6 of the instant application is the same as claim 13 of 19/157,363; Claim 7 of the instant application is the same as claim 14 of 19/157,363; Claim 8 of the instant application is the same as claim 15 of 19/157,363.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks that Chilson in view of Pritz fails to teach the protective layer bonded to the foam layer as amended into claim 1.
The examiner agrees that Chilson in view of Pritz fails to teach this, the reference to Fournier et al. (US 5,950,244) has been used in the reject with Chilson as detailed above in the office action.
Applicant remarks that the Double Patenting rejection does not apply since the patented claims in application 19/157,363 do not teach a “completely closed” vent.
It is noted that the claims do not require a completely closed vent. The protective layer of 19/157,363 has micro holes, but is still a continuous sheet that closes the vent and does not allow for a cell of the insert to be completely visible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Bologna et al. (US 9,314,063) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732