Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-10, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/848153 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in the pending claims are permutations of those in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-4, and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 11-14 of copending Application No. 18/848577 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in the pending claims are permutations of those in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims do not cure the deficiency.
The term “thin” in claims 1, 3-4, 10 and 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, any thickness will meet the claimed limitation.
Claim 2 recites a normality (N) of a gas; however, normality is a measurement of concentration in a liquid solution. As gas concentrations are usually expressed in partial pressures or mole fractions, it is unclear what concentration of gas the claim language is directed to. For the purpose of examination, any gas concentration will meet the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farm (US 20220285211).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 13, Farm teaches a method of forming a thin film semiconductor device ([0022]), comprising: injecting a precursor compound into a chamber to adsorb the precursor compound onto a surface of a substrate (precursor, [0029]); and injecting a reducing agent into the chamber to form a deposition film (reactant, [0029], [0055]). Farm teaches embodiments wherein the reducing agent comprises one or more selected from hydrogen iodide or hydrogen bromide (reactant, [0029], [0055]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the reducing agent of Farm to be any of the taught reducing agents, including those claimed, because Farm teaches they are all suitable for use with the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Farm teaches HI ([0055]) and teaches the gas source being alone or mixed with one or more carrier gases (i.e. inert, [0135]).
Regarding Claims 3-5 and 10, Farm teaches Cu, Au, Mo, Ag, W, Pt, Ta, Co, and Ti (Claim 4) and nitrides thereof ([0080]). Farm teaches compounds having a vapor pressure of more than 0.01 mTorr and 100 Torr or less at 25C (e.g. bis(methylbenzene)molybdenum, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 6, Farm teaches comprising injecting a precursor compound into a chamber to adsorb the precursor compound onto a surface of a substrate (precursor pulse); performing first purging of the inside of the chamber with a purge gas (purge); injecting the reducing agent into the chamber to reduce the adsorbed precursor compound (reactant pulse); and performing second purging of the inside of the chamber with a purge gas (purge) ([0146]).
Regarding Claim 7, Farm teaches further comprising injecting a nitriding agent or an additional reaction gas into the chamber to form a nitride film ([0080]).
Regarding Claim 8, Farm teaches an ALD or CVD chamber ([0064]).
Regarding Claim 9, Farm teaches heating at temperatures within the claimed range ([0093-0094]). “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).” MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the temperatures of Farm to be any of the taught temperatures, including those within the claimed range, because Farm teaches they are all suitable temperatures for use with the invention.
Regarding Claim 12, Farm teaches cyclical deposition ([0064]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cho (US 20100047988) teaches a CVD or ALD method of making a semiconductor device with a metal containing precursor and a hydrogen halide.
/TABATHA L PENNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712