DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-11, 13-17, and 21-25 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2025 and 04/07/2026 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites an interior component control method that controls an interior component disposed in a vehicle interior, the interior component placing or holding a used object of an occupant, the interior component control method comprising, by a controller: obtaining a captured image from a camera that captures an image of the vehicle interior; identifying an action of the occupant and the used object of the occupant from the captured image; determining a target interior component associated with the used object; controlling a notification device disposed corresponding to the interior component and outputs a notification recognizable by the occupant; and outputting a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the target interior component to perform the notification when the identified action is a specific action for the interior component.
The limitations of obtaining a captured image from a camera that captures an image of the vehicle interior; identifying an action of the occupant and the used object of the occupant from the captured image; determining a target interior component associated with the used object; controlling a notification device disposed corresponding to the interior component and outputs a notification recognizable by the occupant; and outputting a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the target interior component to perform the notification when the identified action is a specific action for the interior component, as drafted, is a process performed by a controller that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by the controller,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by the controller” language, obtaining a captured image from a camera that captures an image of the vehicle interior; identifying an action of the occupant and the used object of the occupant from the captured image; determining a target interior component associated with the used object; controlling a notification device disposed corresponding to the interior component and outputs a notification recognizable by the occupant; and outputting a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the target interior component to perform the notification when the identified action is a specific action for the interior component in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually determine an interaction between a user in order to perform a control function.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform the above steps. The processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of the above steps) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform both the above steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of JP 2016-107864 A publication by computer.
As to claim 1, Akinori discloses an interior component control device that controls an interior component disposed in a vehicle interior, the interior component control device comprising:
an image obtaining unit (Akinori: FIG. 2 the imaging unit 14) that obtains a captured image from a camera that captures an image of the vehicle interior (Akinori: [0022]-[0023], [0029]-[0032], [0038], [0040]-[0043], [0053], and FIG. 2: In addition, the storage unit 12 stores operation information 12 a. The operation information 12a is information related to a specific operation performed by the occupant of the vehicle C in the vehicle compartment. The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior);
an identification unit that identifies an action of an occupant from the captured image (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1: The computer detects an occupant in the vehicle compartment from the received captured image. The computer determines whether the detected occupant is performing a specific action. The computer turns on the interior light when it is determined that the occupant is performing a specific operation. Therefore, for example, by setting the operation to improve the convenience of the occupant by illuminating the passenger compartment as the specific operation, the passenger can operate the interior light during the specific operation without operating the occupant, so that the occupant can Convenience is improved); and
a notification control unit (Akinori: FIG. 2 the one or more interior lights 2) that controls a notification device that is disposed corresponding to the interior component and outputs a notification recognizable by the occupant (Akinori: [0016]-[0017], [0033], and FIG. 2: The determination unit determines whether the occupant detected by the occupant detection unit is performing any of the specific operations stored in the storage unit. When the determination unit determines that the occupant is performing any of the specific operations, the control unit turns on one or more interior lights stored in the storage unit in association with the specific operations. Therefore, for example, when the occupant performs an operation to pick up an object on the floor of the cabin, the interior light corresponding to the operation of the occupant can be turned on, such as turning on the illumination that illuminates the foot. The convenience of the crew is improved ), wherein
the identification unit identifies a used object of the occupant from the captured image (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation), and the notification unit:
determines a target interior component associated with the used object (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation); and
outputs a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the target interior component to perform the notification when the action identified by the identification unit is a specific action for the target interior component (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation).
As to claim 2, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein the identification unit identifies a trajectory of a body when a part of the body of the occupant moves out of a view angle of the camera (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation), and the notification control unit outputs a notification command to the notification device to perform the notification corresponding to the trajectory of the body identified by the identification unit (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation).
As to claim 6, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the notification is recognizable by at least one sense of visual, auditory, olfactory, or tactile (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation).
As to claim 7, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the interior component is disposed for each of a plurality of seats (Akinori: [0028], [0031], [0036], and FIG. 1-2), and
a plurality of the notification devices corresponding to a plurality of the interior components output the notifications in respective different notification configurations (Akinori: [0028], [0031], [0036], and FIG. 1-2: The front interior light 21 is, for example, a lamp provided on a ceiling in front of the passenger compartment and illuminating the front of the passenger compartment such as a seating surface of the front seat, a floor surface in front of the passenger compartment, and includes a room lamp and a map lamp. The central interior light 22 is, for example, a light provided on a ceiling at the center of the cabin, and illuminates a central portion of the cabin such as a seating surface of a rear seat, a floor behind the cabin and includes dome lamps. The foot vehicle interior light 23 is, for example, illumination provided on the inside of each vehicle door and illuminating the floor surface of the cabin adjacent to the provided door).
As to claim 9, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the notification control unit controls brightness of an output light of the notification device corresponding to illuminance in the vehicle interior (Akinori: [0014]-[0015], [0036], [0044], [0048], [0054], and FIG. 1-3: A brightness detection unit for detecting the brightness in the vehicle compartment is further provided, and the control unit is configured such that the brightness detected by the brightness detection unit is equal to or less than a predetermined value, and the occupant performs a specific operation. It is preferable that the in-vehicle light is turned on when the determination unit determines that there is a light).
As to claim 17, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the notification device is the lighting (Akinori: FIG. 2 the one or more interior lights 2), and
the notification control unit:
turns on the lighting when the vehicle travels by autonomous driving control (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation); and
inhibits turning on of the lighting when the vehicle travels by manual driving control (Akinori: Abstract, [0020]-[0021], [0050], and FIG. 2: In the present application, the second determination unit determines whether the occupant detected by the occupant detection unit is performing a driving operation. Therefore, since the interior light control device can turn off the interior light when the occupant is performing the driving operation, the safety is improved).
As to claim 22, Akinori discloses an interior component control method that controls an interior component disposed in a vehicle interior, the interior component placing or holding a used object of an occupant, the interior component control method comprising, by a controller:
obtaining a captured image from a camera that captures an image of the vehicle interior (Akinori: [0022]-[0023], [0029]-[0032], [0038], [0040]-[0043], [0053], and FIG. 2: In addition, the storage unit 12 stores operation information 12 a. The operation information 12a is information related to a specific operation performed by the occupant of the vehicle C in the vehicle compartment. The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior);
identifying an action of the occupant and the used object of the occupant from the captured image (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1: The computer detects an occupant in the vehicle compartment from the received captured image. The computer determines whether the detected occupant is performing a specific action. The computer turns on the interior light when it is determined that the occupant is performing a specific operation. Therefore, for example, by setting the operation to improve the convenience of the occupant by illuminating the passenger compartment as the specific operation, the passenger can operate the interior light during the specific operation without operating the occupant, so that the occupant can Convenience is improved);
determining a target interior component associated with the used object (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation);
controlling a notification device disposed corresponding to the interior component and outputs a notification recognizable by the occupant (Akinori: [0016]-[0017], [0033], and FIG. 2: The determination unit determines whether the occupant detected by the occupant detection unit is performing any of the specific operations stored in the storage unit. When the determination unit determines that the occupant is performing any of the specific operations, the control unit turns on one or more interior lights stored in the storage unit in association with the specific operations. Therefore, for example, when the occupant performs an operation to pick up an object on the floor of the cabin, the interior light corresponding to the operation of the occupant can be turned on, such as turning on the illumination that illuminates the foot. The convenience of the crew is improved ); and
outputting a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the target interior component to perform the notification when the identified action is a specific action for the interior component (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A) in view of Shinichiro et al. (Shinichiro – JP 2010-128172). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of JP 2010-128172 publication by computer.
As to claim 3, Akinori discloses the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the identification unit determines whether the used object is held in a normal state in the target interior component or not based on the captured image, and
the notification control unit outputs the notification command when the used object is determined to be held in the normal state in the target interior component.
However, it has been known in the art of image processing to implement wherein
the identification unit determines whether the used object is held in a normal state in the target interior component or not based on the captured image, and
the notification control unit outputs the notification command when the used object is determined to be held in the normal state in the target interior component, as suggested by Shinichiro, which discloses wherein
the identification unit determines whether the used object is held in a normal state in the target interior component or not based on the captured image (Shinichiro: Abstract, [0018]-[0020], [0022]-[0027], [0030], [0035], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 3-5: the control unit 4 acquires information indicating a change in the state of the article from the sensor 3 and changes the light emission pattern according to the change in the state. Such a change in the state of the article is caused by an operation of handling the article by the user (for example, placing the article on the article placing plate 51 or removing the article from the article placing plate 51, or on the article placing plate 51). Due to rotation of the mounted article or tilting of the article)), and
the notification control unit outputs the notification command when the used object is determined to be held in the normal state in the target interior component (Shinichiro: [0030]-[0032], [0035], [0039]-[0050], and FIG. 3-6: The light emitting unit 1a emits light while changing the color from green → blue → red → ..., the light emitting unit 1b emits light while changing the color from red → green → blue → ..., and the light emitting unit 1c is blue → Light is emitted while changing the color from red to green. That is, in this example, as the article rotates in the right direction, each light emission color changes in the right rotation direction (for example, red light emission moves in the order of the light emitting unit 1a → the light emitting unit 1b → the light emitting unit 1c). To do. When the article is rotated in the left direction, the light emitting unit 1a emits light while changing the color from blue to green to red to... And the light emitting unit 1b is green to red. The light emitting unit 1c emits light while changing the color from red to blue to green, that is, each emission color changes in the left rotation direction (for example, red) The light emission proceeds in the order of the light emitting unit 1a → the light emitting unit 1c → the light emitting unit 1b)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Shinichiro, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein
the identification unit determines whether the used object is held in a normal state in the target interior component or not based on the captured image, and
the notification control unit outputs the notification command when the used object is determined to be held in the normal state in the target interior component, as suggested by Shinichiro. The motivation for this is to inform a user a state change of an object.
As to claim 4, Akinori and Shinichiro disclose the limitations of claim 3 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 3, wherein the notification control unit sets a notification configuration of the notification device to a configuration different from a configuration at the normal state when the used object is determined not to be held in the normal state in the target interior component (Shinichiro: [0030]-[0032], [0035], [0039]-[0050], and FIG. 3-6: The light emitting unit 1a emits light while changing the color from green → blue → red → ..., the light emitting unit 1b emits light while changing the color from red → green → blue → ..., and the light emitting unit 1c is blue → Light is emitted while changing the color from red to green. That is, in this example, as the article rotates in the right direction, each light emission color changes in the right rotation direction (for example, red light emission moves in the order of the light emitting unit 1a → the light emitting unit 1b → the light emitting unit 1c). To do. When the article is rotated in the left direction, the light emitting unit 1a emits light while changing the color from blue to green to red to... And the light emitting unit 1b is green to red. The light emitting unit 1c emits light while changing the color from red to blue to green, that is, each emission color changes in the left rotation direction (for example, red) The light emission proceeds in the order of the light emitting unit 1a → the light emitting unit 1c → the light emitting unit 1b)).
As to claim 21, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the interior component control device according to claim 1,
wherein
the identification unit determines whether a state of the used object for the interior component is a normal state or not corresponding to a location and/or an inclination of the used object, and
the notification control unit changes a notification configuration of the notification device corresponding to a determination result of the identification unit.
However, it has been known in the art of image processing to implement wherein
the identification unit determines whether a state of the used object for the interior component is a normal state or not corresponding to a location and/or an inclination of the used object, and
the notification control unit changes a notification configuration of the notification device corresponding to a determination result of the identification unit, as suggested by Shinichiro, which discloses wherein
the identification unit determines whether a state of the used object for the interior component is a normal state or not corresponding to a location and/or an inclination of the used object (Shinichiro: Abstract, [0018]-[0020], [0022]-[0027], [0030], [0035], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 3-5: the control unit 4 acquires information indicating a change in the state of the article from the sensor 3 and changes the light emission pattern according to the change in the state. Such a change in the state of the article is caused by an operation of handling the article by the user (for example, placing the article on the article placing plate 51 or removing the article from the article placing plate 51, or on the article placing plate 51). Due to rotation of the mounted article or tilting of the article)), and
the notification control unit changes a notification configuration of the notification device corresponding to a determination result of the identification unit (Shinichiro: [0030]-[0032], [0035], [0039]-[0050], and FIG. 3-6: The light emitting unit 1a emits light while changing the color from green → blue → red → ..., the light emitting unit 1b emits light while changing the color from red → green → blue → ..., and the light emitting unit 1c is blue → Light is emitted while changing the color from red to green. That is, in this example, as the article rotates in the right direction, each light emission color changes in the right rotation direction (for example, red light emission moves in the order of the light emitting unit 1a → the light emitting unit 1b → the light emitting unit 1c). To do. When the article is rotated in the left direction, the light emitting unit 1a emits light while changing the color from blue to green to red to... And the light emitting unit 1b is green to red. The light emitting unit 1c emits light while changing the color from red to blue to green, that is, each emission color changes in the left rotation direction (for example, red) The light emission proceeds in the order of the light emitting unit 1a → the light emitting unit 1c → the light emitting unit 1b)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Shinichiro, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein
the identification unit determines whether a state of the used object for the interior component is a normal state or not corresponding to a location and/or an inclination of the used object, and
the notification control unit changes a notification configuration of the notification device corresponding to a determination result of the identification unit, as suggested by Shinichiro. The motivation for this is to inform a user a state change of an object.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A) in view of Yasui Nobushiro (Nobushiro – JP 2006-021591 A). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of JP 2006-021591 A publication by computer.
As to claim 5, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the notification is visually recognizable (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation), except for the claimed limitations of
the notification control unit increases an on time of the notification corresponding to an elapsed time from a time point when the notification is turned on.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle control to implement the notification control unit increases an on time of the notification corresponding to an elapsed time from a time point when the notification is turned on, as suggested by Nobushiro, which discloses the notification control unit increases an on time of the notification corresponding to an elapsed time from a time point when the notification is turned on (Nobushiro: Abstract, [0016]-[0017], [0030]-[0031], FIG. 2, and FIG. 5-8: Then, the driver's line of sight is monitored, and if the line of sight is directed to the illuminating unit (S16), the illumination of the illuminating unit facing the line of sight is returned to normal brightness so that the driver can easily see (S17). It is desirable to set the reaction time from when it is detected that the line of sight is directed to a device to when the illumination of the device becomes bright, from about 0.1 seconds to about 0.5 seconds. This is because the fact that the line of sight is directed during driving is often because the user wants to see the device, and it is desirable to brighten the device early. Then, it is monitored whether the line of sight has deviated from the device (S18). If the line of sight is deviated, the brightness of the illumination unit is restored (S19). That is, it is lit darkly. If the input from the light sensor is less than or equal to the threshold value, the above operation is repeated when the line of sight is detected. If the input from the light sensor becomes larger than the threshold value (S20), all the lights are turned on brightly (S21), and the process is terminated).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Nobushiro, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein
the identification unit identifies a facial state of the occupant from the captured image, and
the notification control unit controls at least one element of a hue, a brightness, and a chroma of the output light of the notification device corresponding to the facial state, as suggested by Nobushiro. The motivation for this is to selectively control an illuminating device in a vehicle based on user’s gaze.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A) in view of Jo (Jo – US 2023/0278491 A1).
As to claim 8, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the notification control unit does not output the notification command when a vehicle speed is equal to or more than a vehicle speed threshold.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle control to implement the notification control unit does not output the notification command when a vehicle speed is equal to or more than a vehicle speed threshold, as suggested by Jo, which discloses the notification control unit does not output the notification command when a vehicle speed is equal to or more than a vehicle speed threshold (Jo: Abstract, [0019], [0025], [0073], [0131], FIG. 1, and FIG. 6: When a driving speed of the vehicle is higher than a set first reference speed, the control unit may control the indoor light to the deactivation mode… the deactivation mode 220 is a control mode in which the indoor light 500 in a turn-on state is turned off or the indoor light 500 in a turn-off state remains continuously turned off).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Jo, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein
the notification control unit does not output the notification command when a vehicle speed is equal to or more than a vehicle speed threshold, as suggested by Jo. The motivation for this is to selectively control an illuminating device in a vehicle based on user actions in order to promote safe driving.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A) in view of Qin et al. (Qin – US 2021/0004619 A1) and Hiramatsu (Hiramatsu – US 2020/0324696 A1).
As to claim 10, Akinori discloses the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the identification unit identifies a facial state of the occupant from the captured image, and
the notification control unit controls at least one element of a hue, a brightness, and a chroma of the output light of the notification device corresponding to the facial state.
However, it has been known in the art of detecting a user condition to implement wherein
the identification unit identifies a facial state of the occupant from the captured image, and
the notification control unit controls at least one element of the output light of the notification device corresponding to the facial state, a suggested by Qin, which discloses wherein
the identification unit identifies a facial state of the occupant from the captured image (Qin: Abstract, [0019], [0062]-[0063], [0067], [0074], [0086], [0093], FIG. 1, and FIG. 8: he index for representing the fatigue state of the driver may, for example, include, but is not limited to, the nap degree, the eye closure degree, the blink degree, and the yawning degree; and/or, the index for representing the distraction state of the driver may, for example, include, but is not limited to: the head location deviation degree, the face orientation deviation degree, the gaze direction deviation degree, and the daze degree, etc.), and
the notification control unit controls at least one element of the output light of the notification device corresponding to the facial state (Qin: [0047]-[0048], [0050], [0065], [0175]-[0179], [0205]-[0208], and FIG. 1-2: in response to one of the fatigue state detection result and the distraction state detection result satisfying a predetermined alarm condition, alarm information of a corresponding detection result that satisfies the predetermined alarm condition is output, for example, alarming is performed by means of sound (such as voice or ringing)/light (such as lighting or light flashing)/vibration, etc.; and/or, in response to both the fatigue state detection result and the distraction state detection result satisfying the predetermined alarm condition, alarm information of the fatigue state detection result that satisfies the predetermined alarm condition is output, for example, alarming is performed by means of sound (such as voice or ringing)/light (such as lighting or light flashing)/vibration, etc.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Qin, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein
the identification unit identifies a facial state of the occupant from the captured image, and
the notification control unit controls at least one element of the output light of the notification device corresponding to the facial state, as suggested by Qin. The motivation for this is to implement a known technique to determine a condition of a user in order to inform the user’s condition.
The combination of Akinori and Qin does not explicitly disclose the notification control unit controls at least one element of a hue, a brightness, and a chroma of the output light of the notification device.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle control to implement the notification control unit controls at least one element of a hue, a brightness, and a chroma of the output light of the notification device, as suggested by Hiramatsu, which discloses the notification control unit controls at least one element of a hue, a brightness, and a chroma of the output light of the notification device (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5: Specifically, if it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the bending action is performed by any passenger Y1, where the measurement result by the brightness sensor is less than the threshold value, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 for a seat on which the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action is sitting. Further, the control unit 16 turns off the foot lighting 11 once turned on, when it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the return operation is performed by the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action. The foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on is also turned off by the control unit 16, when the elapsed time from turning on the foot illumination 11 reaches a predetermined upper limit time. Further, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 so as to gradually increase its brightness, and turns off the foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on so as to gradually decrease its brightness.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori, Qin, and Hiramatsu, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori and Qin to include the notification control unit controls at least one element of a hue, a brightness, and a chroma of the output light of the notification device, as suggested by Hiramatsu. The motivation for this is to selectively control an illuminating device in a vehicle.
As to claim 11, Akinori, Qin, and Hiramatsu disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 10, wherein the facial state is represented by at least any one parameter of an eye opening degree and a pupil constriction degree (Qin: Abstract, [0019], [0062]-[0063], [0067], [0074], [0086], [0093], FIG. 1, and FIG. 8: he index for representing the fatigue state of the driver may, for example, include, but is not limited to, the nap degree, the eye closure degree, the blink degree, and the yawning degree; and/or, the index for representing the distraction state of the driver may, for example, include, but is not limited to: the head location deviation degree, the face orientation deviation degree, the gaze direction deviation degree, and the daze degree, etc.).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A) in view of Hiramatsu (Hiramatsu – US 2020/0324696 A1).
As to claim 13, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 2 except for the claimed limitations of the interior component control device according to claim 2,
wherein the notification control unit identifies a direction the trajectory of the body moves out of the view angle, and outputs the notification command to the notification device located in the direction moving out of the view angle.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle control to implement wherein the notification control unit identifies a direction the trajectory of the body moves out of the view angle, and outputs the notification command to the notification device located in the direction moving out of the view angle, as suggested by Hiramatsu, which discloses wherein the notification control unit identifies a direction the trajectory of the body moves out of the view angle, and outputs the notification command to the notification device located in the direction moving out of the view angle (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5: Specifically, if it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the bending action is performed by any passenger Y1, where the measurement result by the brightness sensor is less than the threshold value, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 for a seat on which the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action is sitting. Further, the control unit 16 turns off the foot lighting 11 once turned on, when it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the return operation is performed by the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action. The foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on is also turned off by the control unit 16, when the elapsed time from turning on the foot illumination 11 reaches a predetermined upper limit time. Further, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 so as to gradually increase its brightness, and turns off the foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on so as to gradually decrease its brightness.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Hiramatsu, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein the notification control unit identifies a direction the trajectory of the body moves out of the view angle, and outputs the notification command to the notification device located in the direction moving out of the view angle, as suggested by Hiramatsu. The motivation for this is to selectively control an illuminating device in a vehicle based on user actions.
As to claim 14, Akinori and Hiramatsu disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 13, wherein
the view angle of the camera includes at least a seat of a vehicle (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0017]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5 the information acquisition unit 12 : The information acquisition unit 12 acquires distance measurement information of an interior of the vehicle cabin CR1 from a front side reference position in the vehicle cabin CR1. Specifically, the information acquisition unit 12 is an imaging device which images the vehicle cabin CR1 and obtains a three-dimensional image that also represents a distance to an object within the imaging range of the vehicle cabin CR1. As such an imaging device, although not specified herein, a conventional known camera or the like having a distance measurement function such as a stereo camera or a TOF (Time-of-Flight) camera may be employed as examples),
the notification device includes a footwell light that illuminates a foot area of the occupant (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5 the foot lightings 11 are installed in the cabin CR1 of the vehicle C1 and illuminate a lower area of each of a front seat SH1 and a rear seat SH2, wherein the foot lightings are installed at two locations on the front seat SH1 side and two locations on the rear seat SH2 side in the lower portion of the vehicle body, totally at four locations), and
the notification control unit outputs the notification command to the footwell light when the direction moving out of the view angle is downward with respect to the seat (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5: the objective is achieved by a lighting control system comprising a foot lighting for illuminating a lower area of a seat installed in a vehicle cabin of a vehicle, an information acquisition unit for acquiring distance measurement information of an interior of the vehicle cabin from a front side reference position in a vehicle cabin, a determination unit for determining based on the distance measurement information at least whether a passenger of the vehicle has performed a bending action for moving his head forward and downward or not, and a control unit for performing on/off-control of the foot lighting based on a determination result by at least the determination unit).
As to claim 15, Akinori and Hiramatsu disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 13, wherein
the identification unit identifies that a part of the body of the occupant returns in the view angle after the part of the body of the occupant moves out of the view angle of the camera (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5: Specifically, if it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the bending action is performed by any passenger Y1, where the measurement result by the brightness sensor is less than the threshold value, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 for a seat on which the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action is sitting. Further, the control unit 16 turns off the foot lighting 11 once turned on, when it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the return operation is performed by the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action. The foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on is also turned off by the control unit 16, when the elapsed time from turning on the foot illumination 11 reaches a predetermined upper limit time. Further, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 so as to gradually increase its brightness, and turns off the foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on so as to gradually decrease its brightness), and
the notification control unit outputs an off command to turn off the notification to the notification device when identifying that the part of the body of the occupant returns in the view angle (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5: Specifically, if it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the bending action is performed by any passenger Y1, where the measurement result by the brightness sensor is less than the threshold value, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 for a seat on which the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action is sitting. Further, the control unit 16 turns off the foot lighting 11 once turned on, when it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the return operation is performed by the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action. The foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on is also turned off by the control unit 16, when the elapsed time from turning on the foot illumination 11 reaches a predetermined upper limit time. Further, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 so as to gradually increase its brightness, and turns off the foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on so as to gradually decrease its brightness).
As to claim 16, Akinori and Hiramatsu disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 13, wherein
the identification unit outputs an off command to turn off the notification to the notification device when a predetermined time elapses from a time point when the part of the body of the occupant is identified as moving out of the view angle of the camera (Hiramatsu: Abstract, [0019]-[0024], [0042]-[0049], and FIG. 2-5: Specifically, if it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the bending action is performed by any passenger Y1, where the measurement result by the brightness sensor is less than the threshold value, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 for a seat on which the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action is sitting. Further, the control unit 16 turns off the foot lighting 11 once turned on, when it is determined by the determination unit 14 that the return operation is performed by the passenger Y1 who performed the bending action. The foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on is also turned off by the control unit 16, when the elapsed time from turning on the foot illumination 11 reaches a predetermined upper limit time. Further, the control unit 16 turns on the foot lighting 11 so as to gradually increase its brightness, and turns off the foot lighting 11 which has been once turned on so as to gradually decrease its brightness).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A).
As to claim 23, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein the interior component has a plurality of housing portions that house used objects of the occupant,
the plurality of housing portions are disposed adjacent to one another, and
when the action identified by the identification unit is a specific action for the interior component including the plurality of housing portions, the notification control unit outputs a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the housing portion closer to the occupant who has performed the specific action among the plurality of housing portions to perform the notification.
However, Akinori discloses a method to control illumination of a vehicle interior based on specific operations of a user wherein the specific operations including an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like (Akinori: Abstract, [0016]-[0017], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0038], [0043]-[0047], and FIG. 2).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include wherein the interior component has a plurality of housing portions that house used objects of the occupant,
the plurality of housing portions are disposed adjacent to one another, and
when the action identified by the identification unit is a specific action for the interior component including the plurality of housing portions, the notification control unit outputs a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the housing portion closer to the occupant who has performed the specific action among the plurality of housing portions to perform the notification, as suggested by Akinori, as desired. The motivation for this is to selective assist a user by providing illuminations corresponding specific operations of vehicle component of the user inside a vehicle, e.g. switch, a door, a storage, etc.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami Akinori (Akinori – JP 2016-107864 A) in view of Katz (Katz – US 2024/0362931 A1).
As to claim 24, Akinori disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the interior component control device according to claim 1, wherein
the interior component has a plurality of housing portions that house used objects of the occupant (Akinori: Abstract, [0016]-[0017], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0038], [0043]-[0047], and FIG. 2), and
when the action identified by the identification unit is a specific action for the interior component including the plurality of housing portions, the notification control unit outputs a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the housing portion in use among the plurality of housing portions to perform the notification (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation), except for the claimed limitations of
a memory stores usage information indicating whether the housing portion is currently in use or not.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle controls to implement a memory stores usage information indicating whether the housing portion is currently in use or not, as suggested by Katz, which discloses a memory stores usage information indicating whether the housing portion is currently in use or not (Katz: [0035], [0042], [0054]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], [0185], [0216], [0230], [0235], FIG. 8-9, and FIG. 13: the processor may be configured to collect information associated with the detected gesture, the detected gesture location, and/or a relationship between the detected gesture location and a control boundary over a period of time. The processor may store the collected information in memory. The collected information associated with the detected gesture, gesture location, and/or relationship between the detected gesture location and the control boundary may be used to predict user behavior).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Katz, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include a memory stores usage information indicating whether the housing portion is currently in use or not, as suggested by Katz. The motivation for this is to monitor activities of a driver within a vehicle.
As to claim 25, Akinori discloses an interior component control device that controls an interior component disposed in a vehicle interior, the interior component control device comprising:
an image obtaining unit (Akinori: FIG. 2 the imaging unit 14) that obtains a captured image from a camera that captures an image of the vehicle interior (Akinori: [0022]-[0023], [0029]-[0032], [0038], [0040]-[0043], [0053], and FIG. 2: In addition, the storage unit 12 stores operation information 12 a. The operation information 12a is information related to a specific operation performed by the occupant of the vehicle C in the vehicle compartment. The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior);
an identification unit that identifies an action of an occupant from the captured image (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1: The computer detects an occupant in the vehicle compartment from the received captured image. The computer determines whether the detected occupant is performing a specific action. The computer turns on the interior light when it is determined that the occupant is performing a specific operation. Therefore, for example, by setting the operation to improve the convenience of the occupant by illuminating the passenger compartment as the specific operation, the passenger can operate the interior light during the specific operation without operating the occupant, so that the occupant can Convenience is improved); and
a notification control unit (Akinori: FIG. 2 the one or more interior lights 2) that controls a notification device that is disposed corresponding to the interior component and outputs a notification recognizable by the occupant (Akinori: [0016]-[0017], [0033], and FIG. 2: The determination unit determines whether the occupant detected by the occupant detection unit is performing any of the specific operations stored in the storage unit. When the determination unit determines that the occupant is performing any of the specific operations, the control unit turns on one or more interior lights stored in the storage unit in association with the specific operations. Therefore, for example, when the occupant performs an operation to pick up an object on the floor of the cabin, the interior light corresponding to the operation of the occupant can be turned on, such as turning on the illumination that illuminates the foot. The convenience of the crew is improved ), wherein
the interior component has a plurality of housing portions that house used objects of the occupant (Akinori: Abstract, [0016]-[0017], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0038], [0043]-[0047], and FIG. 2),
when the action identified by the identification unit is a specific action for the interior component including the plurality of housing portions, the notification control unit outputs a notification command to the notification device disposed corresponding to the housing portion that has been used last time among the plurality of housing portions to perform the notification (Akinori: [0006]-[0007], [0012]-[0019], [0024]-[0025], [0032], [0037]-[0038], [0043]-[0047], [0053], and FIG. 2 the control unit 1 comprising the operation information 12a and the correspondence table 12b: The specific operation includes the operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the vehicle interior and the operation of the passenger which can be performed without lighting the vehicle interior. The operation of the passenger whose convenience is improved by illuminating the passenger compartment is, for example, an operation for picking up an object on the floor of the vehicle C, an operation for operating a switch provided around the instrument panel, a vehicle such as a console box It is an operation to be performed on the storage space in the room, an operation to open the vehicle door, an operation to read a book, and the like. The operations that can be performed without illuminating the passenger compartment include, for example, operations related to operation preparation such as operation for operating the steering wheel, operation for stepping on the accelerator pedal or the brake pedal, operation for gripping the steering wheel, and operation for operating the shift lever And In the operation information 12a, for example, feature amounts calculated from each image captured by the imaging unit 14 when the occupant performs a specific operation under various conditions are stored for each specific operation).
Akinori does not explicitly disclose a memory stores usage information indicating usage history of the housing portion.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle controls to implement a memory stores usage information indicating usage history of the housing portion, as suggested by Katz, which discloses the interior component has a plurality of housing portions that house used objects of the occupant (Katz: Abstract, [0152]-[0153], [0187]-[0189], [0219], and FIG. 8-11: Exemplary activities or user behavior may include, but are not limited to, eating or drinking, touching parts of the face, scratching parts of the face, putting on makeup or fixing makeup, putting on lipstick, looking for sunglasses or eyeglasses, putting on or taking off sunglasses or eyeglasses, changing between sunglasses and eyeglasses, adjusting a position of glasses on the user, yawning, fixing the user' hair, stretching, the user searching their bag or other container, the user or front seat passenger reaching behind the front row to objects in the rear seats, manipulating one or more levers for activating turn signals, a driver turning backward, a driver turning backward to reach for an object, a driver turning backward to reach for an object in a bag, a driver, a driver looking for an item in the glove compartment, adjusting the position or orientation of the side mirrors or main rear-view mirror(s) located in the car, moving one or more hand-held objects associated with the user, operating a hand-held device such as a smartphone or tablet computer, adjusting a seat belt, open or close a seat-belt, modifying in-car parameters such as temperature, air-conditioning, speaker volume, windshield wiper settings, adjusting the car seat position or heating/cooling function, activating a window defrost device to clear fog from windows, manually moving arms and hands to wipe/remove fog or other obstructions from windows, a driver or passenger raising and placing legs on the dashboard, a driver or passenger looking down, a driver or other passengers changing seats, placing a baby in a baby-seat, taking a baby out of a baby-seat, placing a child of a child-seat, taking a child out of a child-seat, or any combination thereof),
a memory stores usage information indicating usage history of the housing portion (Katz: [0035], [0042], [0054]-[0057], [0065]-[0066], [0185], [0216], [0230], [0235], FIG. 8-9, and FIG. 13: Historical data associated with the driver may comprise, for example, the driver's behaviors (such as images/video of the driver's behaviors taking place in a vehicle, such as the driver eating, talking, fixing their glasses/hair/makeup, searching for an item in a bag, holding a sandwich, holding a mobile phone, operating a device, operating one or more touch-free user interaction devices in the vehicle, touching, etc.). Additionally, or alternatively, historical data associated with the driver may comprise previous locations, positions, postures, and/or orientations of one or more of the driver's body parts (such as previous locations or positions of the driver's hand(s) on the steering wheel, previous locations or positions of the driver's body part(s) other than the driver's hand(s) on the steering wheel, previous postures or previous orientations of the driver's hand(s) on the steering wheel, etc.). In some embodiments, historical data may further comprise previous driving events (such as all aspects of previous events that have taken place when the driver was operating the vehicle), the driver's ability to respond to previous driving events, previous environmental conditions (such as the amount of traffic on the road, the weather, the time of day or year, the bumpiness of the road, etc.), or any combination thereof. As disclosed herein, driving events may be associated with driving actions taken by the driver of the vehicle, driving conditions associated with the surroundings of the vehicle, or other circumstances or characteristics associated with the operation of the vehicle. Historical data may also comprise previous behaviors of passengers other than the driver, or previous locations, positions, postures, and/or orientations of body parts of one or more passengers other than the driver), and
when the action identified by the identification unit is a specific action for the interior component including the plurality of housing portions, the notification control unit outputs a notification command to the notification device (Katz: [0029]-[0031], [0063], [0081], [0109]-[0111], FIG. 8-13: In some embodiments, training data may include one or more data sets associated with types of sensed data disclosed herein. For example, training data may comprise image data associated with driver exhibiting behaviors such as interacting with a mobile device, reaching for a mobile device to answer a call, reaching for an object on the passenger seat, reaching for an object in the back seat, reading a message on a mobile device, interacting with the mobile device to send a message or open an application on the mobile device, or other behavior associated with shifting attention away from controlling the vehicle while driving ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Akinori and Katz, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the vehicle control system of Akinori to include a memory stores usage information indicating usage history of the housing portion, as suggested by Katz. The motivation for this is to monitor activities of a driver within a vehicle.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Kominato, US 2023/0311755 A1, discloses vehicle approach notification device.
Kim et al., US 2021/0403002 A1, discloses apparatus and method for controlling driving of vehicle.
Nakashima, US 2018/0043825 A1, discloses automatic driving system.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685