DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SMOLENAERS (US 2020/0298722).
With respect to claim 1, SMOLENAERS discloses an electrical system (electric car charging system), comprising: an energy storage device defining a first positive terminal and a first negative terminal and having a first voltage therebetween (battery pack 3); a traction motor having a plurality of machine windings in a delta configuration (motor 7, paragraph 0030 discloses that the windings are in a delta configuration) and defining a first winding node, a second winding node, and a third winding node (windings 19a, 19b and 19c comprise winding nodes); an inverter connected to the energy storage device for receiving direct current (DC) power therefrom (paragraph 0164 discloses inverter 17), the inverter including a plurality of pairs of semiconductor switches, each pair of semiconductor switches of the plurality of pairs of semiconductor switches being configured to apply an alternating current (AC) power to a corresponding one of the first winding node, the second winding node, and the third winding node (figure 2A discloses plurality of switches 139-140, 145-146, 133-134 connected to the winding nodes); an external power source defining a second positive terminal and a second negative terminal and having a second voltage therebetween (external energy source 25 has a second voltage Vc); and a mode control switch connected directly between the second positive terminal of the external power source and a given winding node of the first winding node, the second winding node, and the third winding node, wherein the mode control switch is operable in a closed state to allow current flow therethrough, and wherein the mode control switch is operable in an open state to prevent current flow directly between the external power source and the given winding node (figure 1, paragraph 0043 discloses switch mechanism 16 for switching between a first/propulsion state and a second state/charging state).
With respect to claim 2, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of Claim 1, wherein the electrical system is configured to cause the mode control switch to be in the open state for operating the inverter to apply the alternating current (AC) power to the plurality of machine windings to cause the traction motor to generate a torque, and wherein the electrical system is configured to cause the mode control switch to be in the closed state for operating the electrical system in a power converter mode to transfer power between the energy storage device and the external power source. Paragraph 0043 discloses that the control switch is in a first propulsion mode, where the battery pack is used to power the car/motor; and second charging mode, where the batter pack receives charge from the charging station 25.
With respect to claims 3, 11, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of the Claims, wherein first voltage of the energy storage device is greater than the second voltage of the external power source, and wherein operating the electrical system in the power converter mode includes operating the electrical system in a boost mode to transfer power from the external power source and to the energy storage device. Paragraph 0030 discloses that charging system boosting the supply from the charging station to provide power from the charging station to the battery pack.
With respect to claims 4, 12, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of the Claims, wherein first voltage of the energy storage device is greater than the second voltage of the external power source, and wherein operating the electrical system in the power converter mode includes operating the electrical system in a buck mode to transfer power from the energy storage device and to the external power source. Paragraph 0132 discloses operating the electrical system in a buck mode to supply power to an external source from the battery pack 3.
With respect to claims 5, 10, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of the Claims, wherein the energy storage device is an onboard energy storage device located on or within a vehicle, and wherein the traction motor is configured to propel the vehicle. Figure 1 discloses vehicle 1 with battery pack 3 and propulsion motors 7 and 8.
With respect to claims 6, 13, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of the Claims, wherein the second voltage of the external power source is substantially lower than the first voltage of the energy storage device. Paragraph 0030 discloses that the charging station provides voltage Vc that is lower that voltage Vb of the battery pack.
With respect to claims 7, 14, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of the Claims, further comprising a phase balancing switch configured to selectively conduct current between two additional winding nodes of the first winding node, the second winding node, and the third winding node, wherein the two additional winding nodes do not include the given winding node. Paragraph 0066 discloses switch 48 for connecting and disconnecting the power rails and the winding nodes.
With respect to claims 8, 15, SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of the Claims, further comprising a capacitor connected between the second positive terminal and the second negative terminal of the external power source. Capacitor 66, figure 2A.
With respect to claim 9, SMOLENAERS discloses a method of operating an electrical system (electric car charging system), the method comprising: providing an energy storage device defining a first positive terminal and a first negative terminal and having a first voltage therebetween (battery pack 3), a traction motor having a plurality of machine windings in a delta configuration and defining a first winding node, a second winding node, and a third winding node (motor 7, paragraph 0030 discloses that the windings 19a, 19b and 19c are in a delta configuration), an inverter including a plurality of pairs of semiconductor switches (paragraph 0164 discloses inverter 17 with a plurality of switches 139-140, 145-146, 133-134 connected to the winding nodes), and an external power source defining a second positive terminal and a second negative terminal and having a second voltage therebetween (external energy source 25 has a second voltage Vc); applying, by each pair of semiconductor switches of the plurality of pairs of semiconductor switches, an alternating current (AC) power to a corresponding one of the first winding node, the second winding node, and the third winding node, and using direct current (DC) power from the energy storage device (figure 2A discloses providing AC to the motor from the battery pack 3); selectively conducting, by a mode control switch, current directly between the second positive terminal of the external power source and a given winding node of the first winding node, the second winding node, and the third winding node for operating the electrical system in a power converter mode for transferring power between the energy storage device and the external power source; and selectively blocking, by the mode control switch, current between the second positive terminal of the external power source and the given winding node for operating the traction motor in a torque producing mode (figure 1, paragraph 0043 discloses switch mechanism 16 for switching between a first/propulsion state and a second state/charging state).
With respect to claims 16, 17 SMOLENAERS discloses the electrical system of one of hte Claims, wherein the external power source is a single- phase DC supply. Figure 2A discloses providing single phase DC supply Vc.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rippel et al. (US 2013/0069492) discloses a motor charging system for connection with a battery and utility power source to charge the battery, the motor has delta connected windings. Tarkiainen (US 10,826,408) discloses a power converter for an electric power system of a vehicle and a motor 114 for providing propulsion and for charging the battery, the windings 115 of motor 114 are connected in a delta configuration.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836