DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP ‘830 (JP 2022/175830, quotations from machine translation attached herewith) in view of US ‘699 (U.S. PGPub 2006/0090699).
Claim 1 – JP ‘830 teaches a method for constructing a leading edge protective layer for a wind turbine blade (“FIG. 10 is a schematic configuration diagram of a wind turbine generator including a wing structure according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the blade structure 1 described above consists of a wind turbine blade 1A,”) that is provided with a protective layer at a tip portion and a leading edge portion of a wind turbine blade main body made of FRP in a blade spanwise direction (“The blade body 2 is made of fiber reinforced plastic (FRP) such as carbon fiber reinforced plastic (CFRP) or glass fiber reinforced plastic (GFRP). As shown in FIG. 2, the blade body 2 has a thermal sprayed surface 27A covered with the erosion suppression layer 3 on a portion of the surface 27 of the blade body 2 (the outer surface of the leading edge 21). The thermal sprayed surface 27A is a surface of the surface 27 that includes at least a portion of the front edge 21 .”), the method comprising:
a first thermal spraying step of performing thermal spraying in the blade spanwise direction (“The intermediate layer 3B is provided on the thermal sprayed surface 27A of the blade body 2 . The intermediate layer 3B is formed on the sprayed surface 27A of the blade body 2 before forming the sprayed layer 3A. Like the sprayed layer 3A, the intermediate layer 3B also functions as a protective layer for protecting the blade body 2 from droplet erosion such as raindrops and dust. Intermediate layer 3B can be formed by various methods. For example, the intermediate layer 3B may be formed by thermal spraying, or the sheet-like intermediate layer 3B may be attached to the surface 27 of the blade main body 2”); and
a second thermal spraying step of performing the thermal spraying in the blade spanwise direction (“As shown in FIG. 2, the erosion suppressing layer 3 includes a thermal spray layer 3A formed on the (thermal sprayed surface 27A) of the blade body 2 by thermal spraying”).
JP ‘830 is silent as to a blade chord position changing step of performing a position change such that the thermal spraying is performed at an adjacent position adjacent to a blade chord direction of the protective layer formed in the first thermal spraying step. US ‘699 is drawn to a thermal spraying apparatus (Title) with the capacity to spray multiple materials in separate or identical locations (PG 0030), with the ability to move the spray pistol and the substrate independently and synchronously such that control of material deposition location is enabled (PG 0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of JP ‘830 to perform the required spraying processes using the apparatus of US ‘699, as JP ‘830 contemplates embodiments where multiple thermally sprayed materials are applied to a substrate and US ‘699 discloses an apparatus suitable for the purpose. Selection of particular movement patterns to obtain desired coating effects is held as prima facie obvious as a matter of design choice.
Claim 2 – JP ‘830 / US ‘699 renders obvious the method for constructing a leading edge protective layer for a wind turbine blade according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein in the blade chord position changing step, a position in the blade chord direction is changed from one blade surface to the other blade surface of the wind turbine blade main body via a leading edge. US ‘699 expressly discloses that the movement between substrate and spray pistol need not be strictly linear (PG 0034). Control of the movable spray pistol and movable substrate to apply coating material in a desired fashion is held as prima facie obvious as JP ‘830 desires complete coverage of the three-dimensional leading edge.
Claim 3 – JP ‘830 / US ‘699 renders obvious the method for constructing a leading edge protective layer for a wind turbine blade according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest the method further comprising: an end portion thermal spraying step of performing the thermal spraying such that a thickness of an end portion of the protective layer formed on a blade surface of the wind turbine blade main body in the blade chord direction and/or the blade spanwise direction gradually decreases toward an edge of the end portion. JP ‘830 acknowledges that damage to a wind turbine blade occurs over time (“As shown in FIG. 3, the erosion process is roughly divided into three regions (latent period T1, steady erosion speed period T2, final erosion period T3). FIG. 4 is an explanatory diagram for explaining the surface of the material in the latent period shown in FIG. FIG. 5 is an explanatory diagram for explaining the surface of the material in the stationary erosion rate period shown in FIG. FIG. 6 is an explanatory diagram for explaining the surface of the material in the final erosion stage shown in FIG. In FIGS. 4-6, D is the droplet and 4 is the material exposed to the droplet D.”) Therefore, selection of a coating thickness sufficient to extend the life of the blade to a desired value is held as result-effective in the absence of unexpected results derived from the particular selection.
Claim 4 – JP ‘830 / US ‘699 renders obvious the method for constructing a leading edge protective layer for a wind turbine blade according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a dimension of the wind turbine blade main body in the blade spanwise direction is 80 m or more. It is settled that mere changes in size are not suitable to effect patentability; selection of the blade length is held as a prima facie obvious design choice for a particular application.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP ‘830.
Claim 5 – JP ‘830 teaches a protective layer for a wind turbine blade (“FIG. 10 is a schematic configuration diagram of a wind turbine generator including a wing structure according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the blade structure 1 described above consists of a wind turbine blade 1A,”) that is provided with a protective layer at a tip portion and a leading edge portion of a wind turbine blade main body made of FRP in a blade spanwise direction (“The blade body 2 is made of fiber reinforced plastic (FRP) such as carbon fiber reinforced plastic (CFRP) or glass fiber reinforced plastic (GFRP). As shown in FIG. 2, the blade body 2 has a thermal sprayed surface 27A covered with the erosion suppression layer 3 on a portion of the surface 27 of the blade body 2 (the outer surface of the leading edge 21). The thermal sprayed surface 27A is a surface of the surface 27 that includes at least a portion of the front edge 21 .”). JP ‘830 does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a thickness of an end portion of the protective layer formed on a blade surface of the wind turbine blade main body in a blade chord direction gradually decreases toward an edge of the end portion. JP ‘830 acknowledges that damage to a wind turbine blade occurs over time (“As shown in FIG. 3, the erosion process is roughly divided into three regions (latent period T1, steady erosion speed period T2, final erosion period T3). FIG. 4 is an explanatory diagram for explaining the surface of the material in the latent period shown in FIG. FIG. 5 is an explanatory diagram for explaining the surface of the material in the stationary erosion rate period shown in FIG. FIG. 6 is an explanatory diagram for explaining the surface of the material in the final erosion stage shown in FIG. In FIGS. 4-6, D is the droplet and 4 is the material exposed to the droplet D.”) Therefore, selection of a coating thickness profile sufficient to extend the life of the blade to a desired value is held as result-effective in the absence of unexpected results derived from the particular selection.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712