DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The filing dated 6/26/26 is entered. Claims 1, 7, and 14 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments filed on 6/26/26 have been fully considered but they are directed to newly amended claims and therefore believed to be answered by and thus moot in view of new grounds of rejections presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, US-20230137365, in view of Park, US-20230410719, in further view of Takahara, US-20050041002.
In regards to claim 1, Hong discloses a display device (Par. 0002 “display device”) comprising: a display panel (Fig. 1, 100 display panel) comprising sub-pixels (Fig. 1, 101 pixels); and a panel driver (Par. 0049 “a display panel driver for writing pixel data to pixels 101 in the display panel 100”) configured to sequentially apply data voltages to the sub-pixels in units of rows in an active period of one frame (Par. 0075 “The gate driver 120 sequentially outputs gate signals to the gate lines 103 under the control of the timing controller 130 in the display mode. The gate driver 120 may sequentially supply the gate signals to the gate lines 103 by shifting the gate signals using a shift register.”, i.e. sequential driving in a display mode, i.e. active period; Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”), and to subsequently perform a sensing operation (Par. 0099 sensing mode) on first sub-pixels emitting light of a first color among sub-pixels (Fig. 2, R G B pixels) arranged on any one row among the sub-pixels (Fig. 8, BL pixel block; Par. 0111 “a block BL may be set to a size of 30 pixels×30 pixels, but is not limited thereto”) in a blank period of the one frame (Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”), wherein the panel driver is configured to apply preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels before (Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”) the sensing operation in the blank period (Fig. 6, Tvsc non-light emission sensing period).
Hong does not disclose expressly the panel driver is configured to apply preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels after applying the data voltages and before the sensing operation in the blank period within the one frame, and wherein grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages.
Park discloses the panel driver (Fig. 4, 130 data driving circuit) is configured to apply preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels (Fig. 5, SPRE is turned on in the initial stage; Par. 0112 “during the initialization period INITIAL, the sensing transistor SENT is turned on and the sensing reference switch SPRE is turned on by a sense signal SENSE having a turn-on level voltage. Thus, the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT is initialized at the sensing reference voltage VpreS.”, wherein VpreS is a preliminary data voltage) after applying the data voltages (Fig. 9, Vblank occurs after display driving period DP1; Par. 0104 “the sensing process may be performed for one or more subpixels SP in one or more subpixel SP lines during each blank period of the display driving period.”) and before the sensing operation (Fig. 5, Sampling Period; Par. 0119 “During the sampling period SAMPLING, the analog-to-digital converter ADC may detect the sensing voltage Vsen of the reference voltage line RVL connected by the sampling switch SAM and convert the sensing voltage Vsen into sensing data corresponding to a digital value. Here, the sensing voltage Vsen transmitted by the analog-to-digital converter ADC corresponds to “Vdata_sen-Vth.”) in the blank period within the one frame (Fig. 9, one frame includes DP1 and Vblank1; Par. 0104 “the sensing process may be performed for one or more subpixels SP in one or more subpixel SP lines during each blank period of the display driving period.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sensing period of Hong can utilize the method of Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce image errors (Par. 0010).
Hong and Park do not disclose expressly grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages.
Takahara discloses grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages (Par. 0519 applying grayscale precharge voltage which is lower than the data voltages for the image data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pixels of Hong can be driven with a precharge voltage in the manner of Takahara. The motivation for doing so would have been that the optimum precharge voltage can vary based on production lots so varying the precharge can optimize the display quality for displays of different lots (Takahara Par. 0519).
In regards to claim 7, Hong discloses method of driving a display device (Par. 0002 “display device”; Par. 0026 “a driving signal for each mode of a pixel circuit”; Fig. 9), the method comprising: sequentially driving sub-pixels in units of rows in an active period of one frame by applying data voltages to the sub-pixels (Par. 0075 “The gate driver 120 sequentially outputs gate signals to the gate lines 103 under the control of the timing controller 130 in the display mode. The gate driver 120 may sequentially supply the gate signals to the gate lines 103 by shifting the gate signals using a shift register.”, i.e. sequential driving in a display mode, i.e. active period; Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”); driving first sub-pixels emitting light of a first color among sub-pixels (Fig. 2, R G B pixels) arranged on any one row among the sub-pixels (Fig. 8, BL pixel block; Par. 0111 “a block BL may be set to a size of 30 pixels×30 pixels, but is not limited thereto”) in a preliminary emission period of the one frame by applying preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels (Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”); and subsequently sensing the first sub-pixels in a sensing period of the one frame (Fig. 6, Tvsc non-light emission sensing period).
Hong does not disclose expressly after applying the data voltages, driving first sub-pixels emitting light of a first color among sub-pixels arranged on any one row among the sub-pixels in a preliminary emission period of the one frame by applying preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels, wherein the grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages.
Park discloses after applying the data voltages (Fig. 9, Vblank occurs after display driving period DP1; Par. 0104 “the sensing process may be performed for one or more subpixels SP in one or more subpixel SP lines during each blank period of the display driving period.”), driving first sub-pixels emitting light of a first color among sub-pixels arranged on any one row among the sub-pixels in a preliminary emission period of the one frame by applying preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels (Fig. 5, SPRE is turned on in the initial stage; Par. 0112 “during the initialization period INITIAL, the sensing transistor SENT is turned on and the sensing reference switch SPRE is turned on by a sense signal SENSE having a turn-on level voltage. Thus, the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT is initialized at the sensing reference voltage VpreS.”, wherein VpreS is a preliminary data voltage) and subsequently sensing the first sub-pixels in a sensing period of the one frame (Fig. 5, Sampling Period; Par. 0119 “During the sampling period SAMPLING, the analog-to-digital converter ADC may detect the sensing voltage Vsen of the reference voltage line RVL connected by the sampling switch SAM and convert the sensing voltage Vsen into sensing data corresponding to a digital value. Here, the sensing voltage Vsen transmitted by the analog-to-digital converter ADC corresponds to “Vdata_sen-Vth.”; Fig. 9, one frame includes DP1 and Vblank1; Par. 0104 “the sensing process may be performed for one or more subpixels SP in one or more subpixel SP lines during each blank period of the display driving period.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sensing period of Hong can utilize the method of Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce image errors (Par. 0010).
Takahara discloses grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages (Par. 0519 applying grayscale precharge voltage which is lower than the data voltages for the image data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pixels of Hong can be driven with a precharge voltage in the manner of Takahara. The motivation for doing so would have been that the optimum precharge voltage can vary based on production lots so varying the precharge can optimize the display quality for displays of different lots (Takahara Par. 0519).
In regards to claim 14, Hong discloses electronic device (Par. 0002 “display device”), comprising: a processor configured to provide input image data (Par. 0004, receiving input image data, which is provided by a “processor”, i.e. device); and a display device (Par. 0002 “display device”) configured to display an image based on the input image data (Par. 0050 “The display panel 100 includes a pixel array that displays an input image on a screen”), the display device comprising: a display panel (Fig. 1, 100 display panel) comprising sub-pixels (Fig. 1, 101 pixels); and a panel driver (Par. 0049 “a display panel driver for writing pixel data to pixels 101 in the display panel 100”) configured to sequentially drive the sub-pixels in units of rows in an active period of one frame by applying data voltages to the sub-pixels (Par. 0075 “The gate driver 120 sequentially outputs gate signals to the gate lines 103 under the control of the timing controller 130 in the display mode. The gate driver 120 may sequentially supply the gate signals to the gate lines 103 by shifting the gate signals using a shift register.”, i.e. sequential driving in a display mode, i.e. active period; Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”), and to sense (Par. 0099 sensing mode) first sub-pixels emitting light of a first color among sub-pixels (Fig. 2, R G B pixels) arranged on any one row among the sub-pixels (Fig. 8, BL pixel block; Par. 0111 “a block BL may be set to a size of 30 pixels×30 pixels, but is not limited thereto”) in a sensing period of the one frame (Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”), the panel driver being configured to drive the first sub-pixels in a preliminary emission period (Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”) between the active period (Par. 0075 “The gate driver 120 sequentially outputs gate signals to the gate lines 103 under the control of the timing controller 130 in the display mode. The gate driver 120 may sequentially supply the gate signals to the gate lines 103 by shifting the gate signals using a shift register.”, i.e. sequential driving in a display mode, i.e. active period; Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”) and the sensing period (Fig. 6, Tvsc non-light emission sensing period), wherein the panel driver is configured to apply preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels during the preliminary emission period (Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”).
Hong does not disclose expressly the panel driver is configured to apply preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels after applying the data voltages and before the sensing operation in the blank period within the one frame, and wherein grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages.
Park discloses the panel driver (Fig. 4, 130 data driving circuit) is configured to apply preliminary data voltages to the first sub-pixels (Fig. 5, SPRE is turned on in the initial stage; Par. 0112 “during the initialization period INITIAL, the sensing transistor SENT is turned on and the sensing reference switch SPRE is turned on by a sense signal SENSE having a turn-on level voltage. Thus, the second node N2 of the driving transistor DRT is initialized at the sensing reference voltage VpreS.”, wherein VpreS is a preliminary data voltage) after applying the data voltages (Fig. 9, Vblank occurs after display driving period DP1; Par. 0104 “the sensing process may be performed for one or more subpixels SP in one or more subpixel SP lines during each blank period of the display driving period.”) and before the sensing operation (Fig. 5, Sampling Period; Par. 0119 “During the sampling period SAMPLING, the analog-to-digital converter ADC may detect the sensing voltage Vsen of the reference voltage line RVL connected by the sampling switch SAM and convert the sensing voltage Vsen into sensing data corresponding to a digital value. Here, the sensing voltage Vsen transmitted by the analog-to-digital converter ADC corresponds to “Vdata_sen-Vth.”) in the blank period within the one frame (Fig. 9, one frame includes DP1 and Vblank1; Par. 0104 “the sensing process may be performed for one or more subpixels SP in one or more subpixel SP lines during each blank period of the display driving period.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sensing period of Hong can utilize the method of Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce image errors (Par. 0010).
Hong and Park do not disclose expressly grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages.
Takahara discloses grayscale corresponding to the preliminary data voltages are lower than grayscales corresponding to the data voltages (Par. 0519 applying grayscale precharge voltage which is lower than the data voltages for the image data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pixels of Hong can be driven with a precharge voltage in the manner of Takahara. The motivation for doing so would have been that the optimum precharge voltage can vary based on production lots so varying the precharge can optimize the display quality for displays of different lots (Takahara Par. 0519).
In regards to claim 2, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver is configured to apply black data voltages to sub-pixels arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels before the sensing operation in the blank period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; Hong Par. 0112 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata is sequentially applied to the blocks BL in units of blocks. The sensing data voltage Vsdata is applied to the pixels 101 in a target block BL for the current measurement, whereas a black grayscale voltage is applied to the pixels 101 in other blocks BL not being sensed. Since the driving element DT is turned off in the pixels 101 to which the black grayscale voltage is applied, no current flow in the pixels 101.”).
In regards to claim 9, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose in the driving of the first sub-pixels, sub-pixels arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels are not driven (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; Hong Par. 0112 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata is sequentially applied to the blocks BL in units of blocks. The sensing data voltage Vsdata is applied to the pixels 101 in a target block BL for the current measurement, whereas a black grayscale voltage is applied to the pixels 101 in other blocks BL not being sensed. Since the driving element DT is turned off in the pixels 101 to which the black grayscale voltage is applied, no current flow in the pixels 101.”, i.e. not driven).
In regards to claim 16, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver does not drive sub-pixels arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels in the preliminary emission period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; Hong Par. 0112 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata is sequentially applied to the blocks BL in units of blocks. The sensing data voltage Vsdata is applied to the pixels 101 in a target block BL for the current measurement, whereas a black grayscale voltage is applied to the pixels 101 in other blocks BL not being sensed. Since the driving element DT is turned off in the pixels 101 to which the black grayscale voltage is applied, no current flow in the pixels 101.”, i.e. not driven).
In regards to claim 3, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver is further configured to apply the preliminary data voltages to second sub-pixels that are arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and emit light of a second color before the sensing operation in the blank period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; a red green and blue subpixel are driven to create a white image data; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 10, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose driving second sub-pixels that are arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and emit light of a second color in the preliminary emission period, before the sensing the first sub-pixels (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; a red green and blue subpixel are driven to create a white image data; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 17, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver is further configured to drive second sub-pixels that are arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and emit light of a second color in the preliminary emission period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; a red green and blue subpixel are driven to create a white image data; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 4, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver is configured to apply black data voltages to sub-pixels arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels before the sensing operation in the blank period (Hong Par. 0112 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata is sequentially applied to the blocks BL in units of blocks. The sensing data voltage Vsdata is applied to the pixels 101 in a target block BL for the current measurement, whereas a black grayscale voltage is applied to the pixels 101 in other blocks BL not being sensed. Since the driving element DT is turned off in the pixels 101 to which the black grayscale voltage is applied, no current flow in the pixels 101.”).
In regards to claim 11, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose in the driving of the second sub-pixels, sub-pixels arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels are not driven (Hong Par. 0112 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata is sequentially applied to the blocks BL in units of blocks. The sensing data voltage Vsdata is applied to the pixels 101 in a target block BL for the current measurement, whereas a black grayscale voltage is applied to the pixels 101 in other blocks BL not being sensed. Since the driving element DT is turned off in the pixels 101 to which the black grayscale voltage is applied, no current flow in the pixels 101.”, i.e. not driven).
In regards to claim 18, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver does not drive sub-pixels arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels in the preliminary emission period (Hong Par. 0112 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata is sequentially applied to the blocks BL in units of blocks. The sensing data voltage Vsdata is applied to the pixels 101 in a target block BL for the current measurement, whereas a black grayscale voltage is applied to the pixels 101 in other blocks BL not being sensed. Since the driving element DT is turned off in the pixels 101 to which the black grayscale voltage is applied, no current flow in the pixels 101.”, i.e. not driven).
In regards to claim 5, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver is further configured to apply the preliminary data voltages to third sub-pixels that are arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels and emit light of a third color before the sensing operation in the blank period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; a red green and blue subpixel are driven to create a white image data; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 12, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose driving third sub-pixels that are arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels and emit light of a third color in the preliminary emission period, before the sensing of the first sub-pixels (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; a red green and blue subpixel are driven to create a white image data; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 19, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose the panel driver is further configured to drive third sub-pixels that are arranged on the same row as the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels and emit light of a third color in the preliminary emission period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and application of Vsdata; Hong Par. 0100 “the sensing data voltage Vsdata may be set to a full white voltage (e.g., white image data) or a full gray voltage of pure colors (R, G, and B) in order to increase the gate-source voltage Vgs of the driving element DT. The full white voltage is a maximum voltage of R, G, and B data applied to the R, G, and B sub-pixels. The full gray voltage of the pure colors is a maximum voltage applied to a sub-pixel having any one of R, G, and B colors.”; a red green and blue subpixel are driven to create a white image data; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 8, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose a blank period of the one frame comprises the preliminary emission period and the sensing period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and Tvsc non-light emission sensing period; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
In regards to claim 15, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, disclose a blank period of the one frame comprises the preliminary emission period and the sensing period (Hong Fig. 6, sensing mode with Tw data writing period and Tvsc non-light emission sensing period; Hong Par. 0067 “The sensing mode may be activated in at least one of a power on sequence in which the display device is powered on and the display panel driver starts driving, a vertical blank VB between frame periods”).
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, US-20230137365, Park, US-20230410719, and Takahara, US-20050041002, as combined above in claims 1, 7, and 14, in further view of Lee, US-20200388230.
In regards to claim 6, Hong, Park, and Takahara, as combined above, do not disclose expressly the sub-pixels have a two-or-more-stack tandem structure.
Lee discloses sub-pixels have a two-or-more-stack tandem structure (Par. 0146 “the emission layer may have a multilayer structure in which a red emission layer, a green, emission layer, and a blue emission layer are stacked to emit white light”, wherein the emission layer is of a sub-pixel).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sub-pixels of Hong could be stacked multilayer subpixels in the manner of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been for saving space and each sub-pixel can emit red, green, and blue light in any mixture as needed.
In regards to claim 13, Hong and Takahara, as combined above, do not disclose expressly the sub-pixels have a two-or-more-stack tandem structure.
Lee discloses sub-pixels have a two-or-more-stack tandem structure (Par. 0146 “the emission layer may have a multilayer structure in which a red emission layer, a green, emission layer, and a blue emission layer are stacked to emit white light”, wherein the emission layer is of a sub-pixel).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sub-pixels of Hong could be stacked multilayer subpixels in the manner of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been for saving space and each sub-pixel can emit red, green, and blue light in any mixture as needed.
In regards to claim 20, Hong and Takahara, as combined above, do not disclose expressly the sub-pixels have a two-or-more-stack tandem structure.
Lee discloses sub-pixels have a two-or-more-stack tandem structure (Par. 0146 “the emission layer may have a multilayer structure in which a red emission layer, a green, emission layer, and a blue emission layer are stacked to emit white light”, wherein the emission layer is of a sub-pixel).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the sub-pixels of Hong could be stacked multilayer subpixels in the manner of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been for saving space and each sub-pixel can emit red, green, and blue light in any mixture as needed.
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 7/29/26