DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The filing dated 4/3/25 is entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-11, 13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song, US-20240114762.
In regards to claim 1, Song discloses a substrate (Fig. 3, substrate) comprising: a first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer); an adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer) on the first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer), the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer) comprising at least one trench (Fig. 3, 10 concave structure); a second base layer (Fig. 3, 28 buffer layer + 49 dielectric layer) on the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer); and a barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) overlapping with the at least one trench (Fig. 3, 10 concave structure), wherein the at least one trench (Fig. 3, 10 concave structure) penetrates the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer).
In regards to claim 8, Song discloses display panel (Par. 000 1 “flexible display panel”) comprising: a ground layer (Fig. 3, 23 flexible substrate); a first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer) on the ground layer (Fig. 3, 23 flexible substrate); an adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer) on the first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 ); a second base layer (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) (Fig. 3, 28 buffer layer + 49 dielectric layer) on the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer); and a barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) in contact with one surface of the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer), and connected to the ground layer (Fig. 3, 23 flexible substrate).
In regards to claim 13, Song discloses electronic device (Par. 000 1 “flexible display device”) comprising: a processor to provide input image data (Par. 0070 discloses flexible display devices which all have processors used to display image data); and a display device to display an image based on the input image data (Par. 0070 discloses flexible display devices which all have processors used to display image data), a display device (Par. 000 1 “flexible display device”) comprising: a ground layer (Fig. 3, 23 flexible substrate); a first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer);an adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer) on the first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer), and comprising at least one trench (Fig. 3, 10 concave structure); a second base layer (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) (Fig. 3, 28 buffer layer + 49 dielectric layer) on the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer); and a barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) overlapping with the at least one trench (Fig. 3, 10 concave structure), and penetrating the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer).
In regards to claim 3, Song discloses the barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) is located on an edge area surrounding a central area of the substrate (Fig. 3, 15 organic material is located in a bonding area, i.e. on an edge area surrounding a central area of the substrate).
In regards to claim 5, Song discloses the first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer) and the second base layer (Fig. 3, 28 buffer layer + 49 dielectric layer) have a flexibility (Par. 0004 “The flexible TFT substrate can be used in the flexible display panel, so that the flexible display panel can realize a narrow bezel design”, therefore the elements are flexible).
In regards to claim 7, Song discloses the adhesive layer (Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer) comprises amorphous silicon (Par. 0057 adhesive layer is silicon oxide, which is amorphous).
In regards to claim 9, Song discloses the barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) surrounds a display area (Fig. 3, display region), and is located on a non-display area (Fig. 3, bonding region, i.e. non-display region) different from the display area (Fig. 3, 15 organic material is located in a bonding area, i.e. on an edge area surrounding a display area/region).
In regards to claim 10, Song discloses the barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) is in contact with the first base layer (Fig. 3, 25 barrier layer).
In regards to claim 11, Song discloses the barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) is in contact with the second base layer (Fig. 3, 28 buffer layer + 49 dielectric layer).
In regards to claim 16, Song discloses the barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) surrounds a display area (Fig. 3, display region), and is located on a non-display area (Fig. 3, bonding region, i.e. non-display region) different from the display area (Fig. 3, 15 organic material is located in a bonding area, i.e. on an edge area surrounding a display area/region).
In regards to claim 17, Song discloses the barrier (Fig. 3, 15 organic material) is connected to the ground layer (Fig. 3, 23 flexible substrate) through a connection line (Fig. 3, 19 connecting element).
In regards to claim 18, Song discloses the connection line (Fig. 3, 19 connecting element) overlaps with the non-display area (Fig. 3, bonding region, i.e. non-display region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, US-20240114762, in view of Wang, US-20190005856.
In regards to claim 3, Song does not disclose expressly the central area comprises: a first side; a second side opposite to the first side; a third side connected to the first side and the second side; and a fourth side opposite to the third side, and wherein the barrier comprises: a first barrier adjacent to a corner between the first side and the fourth side; a second barrier adjacent to a corner between the second side and the third side; and a third barrier adjacent to a corner between the first side and the third side.
Wang discloses expressly the central area comprises: a first side (Fig. 1 left side); a second side opposite to the first side (Fig. 1 right side); a third side connected to the first side and the second side (Fig. 1 top side); and a fourth side opposite to the third side (Fig. 1 bottom side), and wherein the barrier (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region) comprises: a first barrier (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole, i.e. barrier, in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region) adjacent to a corner between the first side and the fourth side (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole, i.e. barrier, in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region); a second barrier (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole, i.e. barrier, in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region) adjacent to a corner between the second side and the third side (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole, i.e. barrier, in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region); and a third barrier (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole, i.e. barrier, in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region) adjacent to a corner between the first side and the third side (Fig. 1, 13 bonding region surrounding 11 pixel region; Fig. 3, 352 through hole, i.e. barrier, in bonding region which surrounds the pixel region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the bonding region of Song can surround the display region in the manner of Wang thereby providing the organic material barrier surrounding the display region. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve bending resistance (Song Par. 0004-0005) around the display region.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, US-20240114762, in view of Bright, US-20020022156.
In regards to claim 4, Song does not disclose expressly the barrier comprises a dielectric material.
Bright discloses the barrier comprises a dielectric material (Par. 0011 organic dielectric barrier).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the organic material of Song can be an organic dielectric barrier as Bright discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide barrier and conductive properties (Bright Par. 0017).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, US-20240114762, in view of Zhu, US-20200295115, and in further view of Gu, US-20130208017.
In regards to claim 6, Song does not disclose expressly the first base layer and the second base layer comprise polyimide.
Zhu discloses the first base layer comprises a polyimide (Par. 0051 a polyimide can be used as a buffer layer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the buffer layer of Song can be a polyimide as Gu discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide polyimide as a buffer which is useful in flexible substrates (Zhu Par. 0080).
Gu discloses the second base layer comprises a polyimide (Par. 0011 organic dielectric barrier)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the barrier layer of Song can be a polyimide as Zhu discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide polyimide as a barrier which is useful in flexible substrates (Zhu Par. 0080).
Claim(s) 12, 14, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, US-20240114762, in view of Kim, US-20210134931.
In regards to claim 12, Song does not disclose expressly the ground layer has a ground potential.
Kim discloses the ground layer has a ground potential (Par. 0373 a flexible display having a polyimide substrate connected to a connection member through a contact hole to connect to ground).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flexible substrate of Song can be made of polyimide and connected to ground as Kim discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to remove charges (Kim Par. 0373).
In regards to claim 14, Song does not disclose expressly the ground layer has a ground potential.
Kim discloses the ground layer has a ground potential (Par. 0373 a flexible display having a polyimide substrate connected to a connection member through a contact hole to connect to ground).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flexible substrate of Song can be made of polyimide and connected to ground as Kim discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to remove charges (Kim Par. 0373).
In regards to claim 15, Song and Kim, as combined above, disclose the barrier (Kim Fig. 3, 15 organic material) has an electrical conductivity higher than an electrical conductivity of the adhesive layer (Kim Fig. 3, 26 adhesive layer is silicone oxide and has a high dielectric strength as such the conductivity of the organic material would be higher).
In regards to claim 19, Song discloses a display panel configured to display an image through the display area (Par. 0001 flexible display panel; Fig. 3, display region).
Song does not disclose expressly a data driver configured to supply a data signal to the display panel, and located at one side of the display panel, wherein the barrier is not located at the one side of the display panel.
Kim discloses a data driver (Fig. 1, 153 data driver) configured to supply a data signal to the display panel (Par. 0048 supplying data signal to the display panel), and located at one side of the display panel (Fig. 1, 153 data driver), wherein the barrier is not located at the one side of the display panel (Fig. 3, 155 pads supplying data signals located at one side of the display in an area where connection line 126 and associated contact hole shown in Fig. 5 is not present).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the organic material, i.e. barrier, of Song can be present on the sides of the display that do not have the data driver as Kim discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow space for the data driver and signal lines.
In regards to claim 20, Song does not disclose expressly a bias supplier configured to supply a bias voltage to the barrier, wherein the bias voltage has a low level voltage during a period.
Kim discloses a bias supplier configured to supply a bias voltage to the barrier, wherein the bias voltage has a low level voltage during a period (Par. 0373 a flexible display having a polyimide substrate connected to a connection member through a contact hole to connect to ground, i.e. connection to ground is supplying a bias voltage during a period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flexible substrate of Song can be made of polyimide and connected to ground as Kim discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been to remove charges (Kim Par. 0373).
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 1/6/26