DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Applicants' file on 4/4/25. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/4/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 &1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Amikura et al (U.S Pub. No:2022/0243336) in view of Nagayama (US Pub. No:2022/0319800).
With respect to claim 1, Amikura et al disclose a substrate processing system comprising:
a processing module including a processing chamber (10) and a substrate support (11) provided inside the processing chamber(10)(paragraph [46]), the substrate support(11) having a substrate support surface and a ring support surface(113) that surrounds the substrate support surface to support at least one ring(edge ring (FR) and a cover ring (CR))(paragraph [47}); a vacuum transfer module(TM1-TM2) connected to the processing module(PM1-PM2)(paragraphs[34-36]) and including a transfer robot (TR1-TR2)configured to transfer the at least one ring(paragraph [41]); a ring storage module (cassettle (78) and SM(storage module)) connected to the vacuum transfer module and configured to be
capable of storing the at least one ring(paragraphs [63-64]).
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose a temperature adjuster provided in the ring storage module and configured to be capable of adjusting a temperature of the at least one ring; a controller configured to sequentially execute: adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring by the temperature adjuster before loading the at least one ring into the processing module; and transferring, by the transfer robot, the at least one ring, the temperature of which has been adjusted by the temperature adjuster, so as to place the at least one ring on the substrate support.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112(corresponding to temperature of the at least one ring)) or the substrate (W) to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof as shown in paragraph [23].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to maintain temperature for the ring assembly.
Amikura et al and Nagayama do not disclose a controller configured to sequentially execute: adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring by the temperature adjuster before loading the at least one ring into the processing module; and transferring, by the transfer robot, the at least one ring, the temperature of which has been adjusted by the temperature adjuster, so as to place the at least one ring on the substrate support.
However, Nagayama disclose a controller 2 processes computer-executable instructions that cause the plasma processing apparatus 1 to perform various steps described in the present disclosure. The controller 2 may be configured to control individual components of the plasma processing apparatus 1 to perform various steps described herein. In one embodiment, a part or all of the controller 2 may be included in the plasma processing apparatus 1. The controller 2 may include, e.g., a computer 2a. The computer 2a may include, e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) 2al, a storage device 2a2, and a communication interface 2a3. The central processing unit 2al may be configured to perform various control operations based on a program stored in the storage device 2a2. The storage device 2a2 may include a random access memory (RAM) as shown in paragraph [31] and the substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112(corresponding to temperature of the at least one ring)) or the substrate (W) to a target temperature. Paragraph [23].
Therefore, the limitations are not of patentable merits since it is directed to a manner of operating the controller which does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 2, Amikura et al disclose, wherein the at least one ring is a
replacement ring (paragraph [141]), and wherein the controller is further configured to execute unloading the at least one ring(paragraphs [125-126]), which was used while being supported on the substrate support, before loading the replacement ring into the processing module. Paragraphs [150-165].
With respect to claim 3, Amikura et al disclose, wherein the at least one ring includes a first
ring (FR) provided on the ring support surface and a second ring (CR)provided to surround the first ring (figure 6) and configured to overlap the first ring from below in a plan view. Paragraph [74] and it is possible to replace only the edge ring FR without an operator's manual replacement of the edge ring FR. Hence, a time required to replace the edge ring FR can be shortened, and the productivity is improved as shown in paragraph [155].
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring includes adjusting a temperature of the first ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement, the temperature of which has been adjusted, so as to place the first ring on the substrate support.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112, or the substrate to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof as shown in paragraph[23].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to provide the temperature of the first ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement, the temperature of which has been adjusted, so as to place the first ring on the substrate support.
With respect to claim 4, Amikura et al disclose wherein the at least one ring includes a first
ring provided on the ring support surface and a second ring provided to surround the first ring
and configured to overlap the first ring from below in a plan view. Figure 6, paragraph [74].
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring includes adjusting temperatures of the first ring for replacement and the second ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement and the second ring for replacement so that the first ring for replacement and the second ring for replacement are placed on the substrate support.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112, or the substrate to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof and the ring assembly 112 includes one or more annular members, and at least one of them is an edge ring and cover ring 112b(the ring assembly 112 of the present embodiment shown in FIG. 1 includes an edge ring 112a and a cover ring 112b as shown in paragraph[23]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to maintain temperature for the ring assembly.
With respect to claim 5, Amikura et al as modified claims 1, 14 above disclose, wherein the temperature adjuster includes a first temperature adjustment device configured to be capable of adjusting the temperature of the first ring(edge ring), and a second temperature adjustment device configured to be capable of adjusting the temperature of the second ring(covering ring).
With respect to claim 6, Amikura et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose all limitations except for the temperature of the at least one ring within a range of 10 degrees C from a temperature of the
substrate support of the processing module into which the at least one ring is to be loaded.
Selecting the range of 10 degrees C from the temperature of the substrate support of the processing module is based upon the design constraints imposed by the storage container and processing system in which 10 degrees C designed to be used in. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the 10 degrees C of Amikura and Nagayama to incorporate the specific the 10 degrees C based upon such design constrains for a desired application or environment of use would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claim 7, Amikura et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose all limitations except for wherein the temperature adjuster adjusts the temperature of the at least one ring within a range of 10 degrees C from a temperature of a heat exchange medium circulating through a flow path of the substrate support of the processing module into which the at least one ring is to be loaded.
Selecting the range of 10 degrees C from the temperature of the substrate support of the processing module is base upon the design constraints imposed by the storage container and processing system in which 10 degrees C designed to be used in. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the 10 degrees C of Amikura and Nagayama
to incorporate the specific the 10 degrees C based upon such design constrains for a desired application or environment of use would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claim 8, Amikura et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose wherein the temperature adjuster includes a temperature adjustment room in which one ring of the at least one ring is accommodated, and a housing configured to close the internal temperature adjustment room to adjust a temperature of the one ring.
With respect to claim 9, Amikura et al disclose further comprising: a load lock module (figure 1,
the two load-lock modules LL1 and LL2) are connected to one long side along the longitudinal direction of the atmospheric transfer module LM connected to the vacuum transfer module; an atmospheric transfer module connected to the vacuum transfer module via the load lock module (LL1-LL20); a load port (LP1-LP5)connected to the atmospheric transfer module(TM); and a ring storage container placed on the load port(paragraph [39]), wherein the at least one ring is a replacement ring(paragraph 143 for the controller CU determines whether or not the edge ring FR needs to be replaced based on, e.g., an RF integration time, an RF integration power, and an integrated value of a specific step of a recipe), and wherein the controller is configured to sequentially execute: when transferring the replacement ring stored in the ring storage container from the atmospheric transfer module to the processing module, Paragraphs [144-149 and 150-165].
With respect to claim 20, Amikura et al as modified claims 11 and 19 above, disclose wherein the at least one ring includes a first ring provided to surround the substrate support surface, and a second ring provided to surround the first ring and configured to overlap the first ring from below in a plan view, and wherein the adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring includes adjusting a temperature of the first ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement, the temperature of which has been adjusted, so as to place the first ring on the substrate support.
With respect to claim 11, Amikura et al disclose substrate processing system comprising:
a processing module including a processing chamber (10) and a substrate support (11) provided inside the processing chamber(10), the substrate support (11) having a substrate support surface(figures 1 or 23) (paragraphs [46-48]) and a ring support surface that surrounds the substrate support surface to support at least one ring(edge ring (CR) and covering ring (CR)(paragraph [55]); a vacuum transfer module (TM1-TM2) connected to the processing module(PM1-PM12) and including a transfer robot (TR) configured to transfer the at least one ring. (figures 1 or 23 and 6, paragraphs [34-74 or 157-169].
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose a temperature adjuster connected to the vacuum transfer module and configured to be capable of adjusting a temperature of the at least one ring; and a controller configured to sequentially execute: adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring using the temperature adjuster before loading the at least one ring into the processing module; and transferring, using the transfer robot, the at least one ring, the temperature of which has been adjusted by the temperature adjuster, so as to place the at least one ring on the substrate support.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112(corresponding to temperature of the at least one ring)) or the substrate (W) to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof as shown in paragraph [23].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to maintain temperature for the ring assembly.
Amikura et al and Nagayama do not disclose a controller configured to sequentially execute: adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring by the temperature adjuster before loading the at least one ring into the processing module; and transferring, by the transfer robot, the at least one ring, the temperature of which has been adjusted by the temperature adjuster, so as to place the at least one ring on the substrate support.
However, Nagayama disclose a controller 2 processes computer-executable instructions that cause the plasma processing apparatus 1 to perform various steps described in the present disclosure. The controller 2 may be configured to control individual components of the plasma processing apparatus 1 to perform various steps described herein. In one embodiment, a part or all of the controller 2 may be included in the plasma processing apparatus 1. The controller 2 may include, e.g., a computer 2a. The computer 2a may include, e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) 2al, a storage device 2a2, and a communication interface 2a3. The central processing unit 2al may be configured to perform various control operations based on a program stored in the storage device 2a2. The storage device 2a2 may include a random access memory (RAM) as shown in paragraph [31] and the substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112(corresponding to temperature of the at least one ring)) or the substrate (W) to a target temperature. Paragraph [23].
Therefore, the limitations are not of patentable merits since it is directed to a manner of operating the controller which does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 12, Amikura et al disclose, wherein the at least one ring is a
replacement ring (paragraph [141]), and wherein the controller is further configured to execute unloading the at least one ring (paragraphs [125-126]), which was used while being supported on the substrate support, before loading the replacement ring into the processing module. Paragraphs [150-165].
With respect to claim 13, Amikura et al disclose the at least one ring includes a
first ring provided on the ring support surface, and a second ring provided to surround the first
ring and configured to overlap the first ring from below in a plan view and paragraphs [143-159] for replace the edge ring and the cover ring.
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring includes adjusting a temperature of the first ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement, the temperature of which has been adjusted, so as to place the first ring on the substrate support.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112, or the substrate to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof as shown in paragraph[23].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to provide the temperature of the first ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement, the temperature of which has been adjusted, so as to place the first ring on the substrate support.
With respect to claim 14, Amikura et al disclose wherein the at least one ring includes a
first ring provided on the ring support surface, and a second ring provided to surround the first
ring and configured to overlap the first ring from below in a plan view. Figure 6, paragraph [74].
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring includes adjusting temperatures of the first ring for replacement and the second ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement and the second ring for replacement so that the first ring for replacement and the second ring for replacement are placed on the substrate support.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112, or the substrate to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof and the ring assembly 112 includes one or more annular members, and at least one of them is an edge ring and cover ring 112b(the ring assembly 112 of the present embodiment shown in FIG. 1 includes an edge ring 112a and a cover ring 112b as shown in paragraph[23]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to maintain temperature for the ring assembly.
With respect to claim 15, Amikura et al as modified claims 1, 14 above disclose, wherein the temperature adjuster includes a first temperature adjustment device configured to be capable of adjusting the temperature of the first ring, and a second temperature adjustment device configured to be capable of adjusting the temperature of the second ring.
With respect to claim 16, Amikura et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose all limitations except for the temperature of the at least one ring within a range of 10 degrees C from a temperature of the
substrate support of the processing module into which the at least one ring is to be loaded.
Selecting the range of 10 degrees C from the temperature of the substrate support of the processing module is based upon the design constraints imposed by the storage container and processing system in which 10 degrees C designed to be used in. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the 10 degrees C of Amikura and Nagayama to incorporate the specific the 10 degrees C based upon such design constrains for a desired application or environment of use would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claim 17, Amikura et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose all limitations except for wherein the temperature adjuster adjusts the temperature of the at least one ring within a range of 10 degrees C from a temperature of a heat exchange medium circulating through a flow path of the substrate support of the processing module into which the at least one ring is to be loaded.
Selecting the range of 10 degrees C from the temperature of the substrate support of the processing module is base upon the design constraints imposed by the storage container and processing system in which 10 degrees C designed to be used in. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the 10 degrees C of Amikura and Nagayama
to incorporate the specific the 10 degrees C based upon such design constrains for a desired application or environment of use would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claim 18, Amikura et al as modified claim 11 above, disclose wherein the temperature adjuster includes a temperature adjustment room in which one ring of the at least one ring is accommodated, and a housing configured to close the internal temperature adjustment room to adjust a temperature of the one ring is adjusted.
With respect to claim 19, Amikura et al disclose further comprising: a load lock module (figure 1,
the two load-lock modules LL1 and LL2) are connected to one long side along the longitudinal direction of the atmospheric transfer module LM connected to the vacuum transfer module; an atmospheric transfer module connected to the vacuum transfer module via the load lock module (LL1-LL20); a load port (LP1-LP5)connected to the atmospheric transfer module(TM); and a ring storage container placed on the load port(paragraph [39]), wherein the at least one ring is a replacement ring(paragraph 143 for the controller CU determines whether or not the edge ring FR needs to be replaced based on, e.g., an RF integration time, an RF integration power, and an integrated value of a specific step of a recipe), and wherein the controller is configured to sequentially execute: when transferring the replacement ring stored in the ring storage container from the atmospheric transfer module to the processing module, Paragraphs [144-149 and 150-165].
Amikura et al do not explicitly disclose a loading the replacement ring into the temperature adjuster; adjusting a temperature of the replacement ring using the temperature adjuster; and transferring the replacement ring, the temperature of which has been adjusted by the temperature adjuster, and loading the replacement ring into the processing module.
Nagayama, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a substrate support 11 may include a temperature control module configured to control a temperature of at least one of the electrostatic chuck, the ring assembly 112(corresponding to temperature of the at least one ring)) or the substrate (W) to a target temperature. The temperature control module may include a heater, a heat transfer medium, a flow path, or a combination thereof as shown in paragraph [23].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Nagayama into the substrate processing system of Amikura et al to maintain temperature for the ring assembly.
With respect to claim 20, Amikura et al as modified claims 11 and 19 above, disclose wherein the at least one ring includes a first ring provided to surround the substrate support surface, and a second ring provided to surround the first ring and configured to overlap the first ring from below in a plan view, and wherein the adjusting the temperature of the at least one ring includes adjusting a temperature of the first ring for replacement, and transferring, by the transfer robot, the first ring for replacement, the temperature of which has been adjusted, so as to place the first ring on the substrate support.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845