Double Patenting
A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 25-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,298,525. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same essential invention.
Claims 25-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,673. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same essential invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 33 (line 2) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, the examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention as defined by claim 33.
In order to provide and initial examination and search the examiner will interpret claim 33 as if the word “substantially” was deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-989898 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0052689).
Regarding claim 25, Yao discloses a conduit comprising:
a first end (the proximal, wide end of “tip 40,” see [0086] and figures 1A-1E) positioned proximal of a first opening;
a second end (the distal, narrow end of “tip 40,” see [0086] and figures 1A-1E) positioned distal of the first opening; and
a filter (“plug member 48,” see [0086] and figures 1A-1F) configured to prevent egress of liquid (see [0010]-[0012]) into the compartment, while configured to allow a flow of gas from the first end to the second end ([0090]).
Regarding claims 26-27, Yao discloses the claimed invention see [0010]-[0012], and [0090] for example.
Regarding claims 28-31, and 37, Yao discloses the claimed invention since claims 28-31, and 37 are recitations of 1) intended use, 2) functional limitation, or 3) language directed to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed. A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. However, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. It is well established that a recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed, i.e., a functional limitation, does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claim. In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974); In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1963). Where the prior art reference is inherently capable of performing the function described in a functional limitation, such functional limitation does not define the claimed apparatus over such prior art reference, regardless of whether the prior art reference explicitly discusses such capacity for performing the recited function. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971). In addition, where there is reason to believe that such functional limitation may be an inherent characteristic of the prior art reference, Applicant is required to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art reference does not possess the characteristic relied upon. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 1327, 231 USPQ 136, 138 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d at 664, 169 USPQ at 566 (CCPA 1971). A recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claim. In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958, 177 USPQ 705 (CCPA 1973); In re Finsterwalder, 436 F.2d 1028, 168 USPQ 530 (CCPA 1971); In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1963); Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BdPatApp & Inter 1987). It should be noted the opening is not strictly part of the claimed invention - a conduit.
Regarding claim 32, Yao discloses the claimed invention see [0102] for example.
Regarding claim 33-36, Yao discloses the claimed invention see abstract, [0010]. With respect to the pores see [0022]. Additionally, the purge fluid limitation is a recitation of 1) intended use, 2) functional limitation, or 3) language directed to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed and has been treated accordingly.
Regarding claim 38, Yao discloses the claimed connector the connecting inner rim of the proximal portion of the tip 40, see figures 1A-1F
Regarding claim 39, Yao discloses the claimed invention, see figures 1A-1E.
Regarding claim 40-41, Yao discloses the claimed invention, see figures 1A-1E.
Regarding claim 43, Yao discloses the claimed invention see the surface mounted electrical connection since the surface of the connector is metal which is a metal electrically conductive, see [0011].
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792