Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Andrew et al. (US 20180195874).
In regards to claim 1, Andrew teaches a computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation, the computer-implemented method comprising: (Figs 8-10.)
receiving, by one or more processors from an inviter device, a link up request associated with a link up location; ([0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] when a user wants to start a shared travel experience, the user may user their trip client to send a request to other trip clients of other users’ vehicles with instructions to travel to an intermediate location at a particular time to join the trip session. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This is a received request from an inviter device to link up associated with a linkup location. [0090], [0110] this occurs in steps 801 and 1001.)
establishing, by the one or more processors, one or more data channels with the inviter device; ([0037], [0038] ad hoc network may be established between client devices of different users, where client devices include trip clients, if close enough, otherwise network is used to communicate. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This establishes data channels by the processor with the inviter device. [0100], [0101] this occurs in steps 901 and 903.)
providing, by the one or more processors, the link up request to a plurality of invitee devices, the link up request comprising the link up location; ([0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] inviting user may use their trip client to send a request to invited users’ devices, where the request includes the destination and route of the user, where the route includes intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations.)
in response to receiving a first acceptance of the link up request from a first invitee device of the plurality of invitee devices, linking, by the one or more processors, the inviter device and the first invitee device; ([0019] [0026] when one or more of the users accepts the request, trip begins and instructions are provided to invited devices, where the particular accepting users include multiple users including a first and second users. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This links, by processor, at least a first client device to the inviting device through a shared trip session.)
in response to receiving a second acceptance of the link up request from a second invitee device of the plurality of invitee devices, linking, by the one or more processors, the inviter device and the second invitee device; ([0019] [0026] when one or more of the users accepts the request, trip begins and instructions are provided to invited devices, where the particular accepting users include multiple users including a first and second users. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This links, by processor, at least a second client device to the inviting device through a shared trip session.)
collecting, by the one or more processors via the one or more data channels, environmental data from one or more of the plurality of invitee devices; ([0063], [0064] sensor data, including environmental sensor data such as temperature, may be transmitted between client devices, including from each inviter and invitee device. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This transmits and collects data to and from each client device of each user. When the vehicles are autonomous or partially autonomous vehicles, each vehicle and vehicle’s processor also necessarily collects environmental data to allow the vehicle to travel through the environment.) and
executing, by the one or more processors, an action based at least in part on the environmental data from the one or more of the plurality of invitee devices. ([0063], [0064] based on the received sensor information, actions and adjustments may be taken by experience engine to adjust the shared travel experience. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations.)
In regards to claim 3, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the one or more processors, a first location of the first invitee device and a second location of the second invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0054] experience engine may cause interface of each client device to display locations of each client device, which must be received. This includes displaying fist location of first invited device and second location of second invited device.) and
presenting, by the one or more processors, for display on the inviter device as a graphical user interface, at least one of the first location of the first invitee device, the second location of the second invitee device, a historical location trend of one or more of the plurality of invitee devices, or a predicted location of one or more of the plurality of invitee devices. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0054] experience engine may cause interface of each client device to display locations of each client device, which must be received. This includes displaying fist location of first invited device and second location of second invited device.)
In regards to claim 4, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the one or more processors, an indication of an event within a threshold range of the first invitee device and the second invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0051], [0052] determination may be made that the locations of a leader and follower are greater than a threshold apart and recommendations may be sent to the vehicles to continue or adjust routing depending on the distance. Both being within the threshold distance and being outside the threshold distance are indications of events of being near or far within a threshold range the devices when the leader is the first or second invited device and the follower is the other invited device.) and
transmitting, by the one or more processors, a recommendation associated with the event to one or more of the first invitee device or the second invitee device. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0051], [0052] when the leader and follower vehicles become separated by a distance greater than a threshold, the vehicles may be rerouted, and when they are not separated by such a distance, they may be instructed to continue their routing. This provides a recommendation to continue the routing based on a closeness event.)
In regards to claim 5, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 4, further comprising:
in response at least to the second invitee device being associated with the first invitee device, presenting, by the one or more processors, for display on the first invitee device, a location of the second invitee device based at least on the environmental data. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. Figs 5-7, [0019], [0081], [0084] location, status, and environmental features of each inviter and invited devices may be displayed by each user interface when associated, where the displayed features are based at least in part on the collected and transmitted environmental data.)
In regards to claim 7, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing, by the one or more processors, the link up request to the first invitee device based at least in part on a first location of the first invitee device satisfying a geographical threshold. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0037], [0038] when the users are close enough to use the ad hoc network, [0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] inviting user may use their trip client to send a request to invited users’ devices over the ad hoc network, which links the inviting and invited devices. This links the inviting and invited devices over the ad hoc network based on the location of the devices satisfying a geographic threshold of being within the range of the ad hoc network. Otherwise other linking may or may not be performed.)
In regards to claim 8, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation method of claim 1, wherein the action comprises:
based at least in part on the environmental data, transmitting, by the one or more processors, an electronic message to the first invitee device, wherein the electronic message includes content configured to facilitate an adjustment of a navigation flow of the plurality of invitee devices within a geographical range. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0037], [0038] when the users are close enough to use the ad hoc network, [0112], [0115] instructions are provided over the ad hoc network to cause the vehicles to follow particular routes through the shared trip session, such that the route of the following vehicle intersects the route of the leading vehicle. This provides a message of navigational instructions over the ad hoc network to the vehicles based on being within a range of the ad hoc network to navigate through their environment.)
In regards to claim 9, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation method of claim 8, wherein the content comprises one or more of an offer, a notification, or a navigational route. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0037], [0038] when the users are close enough to use the ad hoc network, [0112], [0115] instructions are provided over the ad hoc network to cause the vehicles to follow particular routes through the shared trip session, such that the route of the following vehicle intersects the route of the leading vehicle. This provides a message of navigational instructions, with a route, over the ad hoc network to the vehicles based on being within a range of the ad hoc network.)
In regards to claim 10, Andrew teaches a computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation, the computer-implemented method comprising: (Figs 8-10.)
receiving, by one or more processors from an inviter device, a link up request associated with a link up location; ([0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] when a user wants to start a shared travel experience, the user may user their trip client to send a request to other trip clients of other users’ vehicles with instructions to travel to an intermediate location at a particular time to join the trip session. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This is a received request from an inviter device to link up associated with a linkup location. [0090], [0110] this occurs in steps 801 and 1001.)
establishing, by the one or more processors, one or more data channels with the inviter device; ([0037], [0038] ad hoc network may be established between client devices of different users, where client devices include trip clients, if close enough, otherwise network is used to communicate. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This establishes data channels by the processor with the inviter device. [0100], [0101] this occurs in steps 901 and 903.)
providing, by the one or more processors via one or more data channels, the link up request to a plurality of invitee devices, the link up request comprising the link up location; ([0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] inviting user may use their trip client to send a request to invited users’ devices, where the request includes the destination and route of the user, where the route includes intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited [0037], [0038] over the ad hoc network or other communication data channels. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations.)
in response to receiving a first acceptance of the link up request from a first invitee device of the plurality of invitee devices, linking, by the one or more processors, the inviter device and the first invitee device; ([0019] [0026] when one or more of the users accepts the request, trip begins and instructions are provided to invited devices, where the particular accepting users include multiple users including a first and second users. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This links, by processor, at least a first client device to the inviting device through a shared trip session.)
generating and presenting, by the one or more processors to the first invitee device via a first graphical user interface (GUI) of an application, a first proposed route to the link up location, wherein the first proposed route is based on a first geographic location of the first invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. Figs 5-7, [0019], [0023], [0028], [0029], [0081], [0084] location, status, and environmental features of each inviter and invited devices may be displayed along with route for each vehicle by each user interface when associated, including displaying a route to be followed for a first of the invited devices to follow, where the route includes an intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited. This displays a first proposed route for an invited client device of a user on a first graphical user interface of an application to a link up location.)
in response to receiving a second acceptance of the link up request from a second invitee device of the plurality of invitee devices, linking, by the one or more processors, the inviter device and the second invitee device; ([0019] [0026] when one or more of the users accepts the request, trip begins and instructions are provided to invited devices, where the particular accepting users include multiple users including a first and second users. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This links, by processor, at least a second client device to the inviting device through a shared trip session.)
generating and presenting, by the one or more processors to the second invitee device via a second GUI of the application, a second proposed route to the link up location, wherein the second proposed route is based on a second geographic location of the second invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. Figs 5-7, [0019], [0023], [0028], [0029], [0081], [0084] location, status, and environmental features of each inviter and invited devices may be displayed along with route for each vehicle by each user interface when associated, including displaying a route to be followed for a second of the invited devices to follow, where the route includes an intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited. This displays a second proposed route for an invited client device of a user on a second graphical user interface of an application to a link up location.)
collecting, by the one or more processors, environmental data of the plurality of invitee devices; ([0063], [0064] sensor data, including environmental sensor data such as temperature, may be transmitted between client devices, including from each inviter and invitee device. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This transmits and collects data to and from each client device of each user. When the vehicles are autonomous or partially autonomous vehicles, each vehicle and vehicle’s processor also necessarily collects environmental data to allow the vehicle to travel through the environment.) and
executing, by the one or more processors, an action based at least in part on the environmental data from the plurality of invitee devices. ([0063], [0064] based on the received sensor information, actions and adjustments may be taken by experience engine to adjust the shared travel experience. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations.)
In regards to claim 11, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 10, further comprising:
providing, by the one or more processors, a first location of the first invitee device and a second location of the second invitee device to the inviter device based on the environmental data via a third GUI of the application. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. Figs 5-7, [0019] multiple devices may be invited and [0081] locations of each invited device may be displayed on user interfaces, including displaying first location of first invited client device and second location of second invited client device.)
In regards to claim 13, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 10, further comprising:
transmitting, by the one or more processors to one or more of the first invitee device or the second invitee device, an electronic message associated with a geographical location within a range of the first proposed route or the second proposed route, based at least in part on the environmental data. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0034], [0035] a point of interest selected by one user may be messaged to other users of the shared trip experience when the other users pass close to the point of interest. This transmits a message to the client devices associated with a geographical location within a range of the proposed routes of the corresponding vehicles.)
In regards to claim 14, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 13, wherein the electronic message comprises directed content sponsored by an entity, wherein the entity is associated with the inviter device. ([0034], [0035] a point of interest selected by the user of the inviter device may be messaged to other users of the shared trip experience when the other users pass close to the point of interest. This transmits a message to the client devices associated with and about a point of interest entity which is associated with the inviting user device.)
In regards to claim 16, Andrew teaches a computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation, the computer-implemented method comprising: (Figs 8-10.)
receiving, by one or more processors from an organizer device, a link up request associated with a link up location; ([0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] when a user wants to start a shared travel experience, the user may user their trip client to send a request to other trip clients of other users’ vehicles with instructions to travel to an intermediate location at a particular time to join the trip session. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This is a received request from an organizer device to link up associated with a linkup location. [0090], [0110] this occurs in steps 801 and 1001.)
establishing, by the one or more processors, one or more data channels with the organizer device; ([0037], [0038] ad hoc network may be established between client devices of different users, where client devices include trip clients, if close enough, otherwise network is used to communicate. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This establishes data channels by the processor with the inviter device. [0100], [0101] this occurs in steps 901 and 903.)
providing, by the one or more processors, the link up request to each of a plurality of invitee devices, the link up request comprising the link up location; ([0019], [0023], [0028], [0029] inviting user may use their trip client to send a request to invited users’ devices, where the request includes the destination and route of the user, where the route includes intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations.)
in response to receiving a first acceptance of the link up request from a first invitee device of the plurality of invitee devices, linking, by the one or more processors, the organizer device and the first invitee device; ([0019] [0026] when one or more of the users accepts the request, trip begins and instructions are provided to invited devices, where the particular accepting users include multiple users including a first and second users. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This links, by processor, at least a first client device to the inviting organizing device through a shared trip session.)
generating and presenting, by the one or more processors to the first invitee device via a first graphical user interface (GUI) of an application, a first proposed route to the link up location, wherein the first proposed route is based on a first geographic location of the first invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. Figs 5-7, [0019], [0023], [0028], [0029], [0081], [0084] location, status, and environmental features of each inviter and invited devices may be displayed along with route for each vehicle by each user interface when associated, including displaying a route to be followed for a first of the invited devices to follow, where the route includes an intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited. This displays a first proposed route for an invited client device of a user on a first graphical user interface of an application to a link up location.)
in response to receiving a second acceptance of the link up request from a second invitee device of the plurality of invitee devices, linking, by the one or more processors, the organizer device and the second invitee device; ([0019] [0026] when one or more of the users accepts the request, trip begins and instructions are provided to invited devices, where the particular accepting users include multiple users including a first and second users. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This links, by processor, at least a second client device to the inviting organizer device through a shared trip session.)
generating and presenting, by the one or more processors to the second invitee device via a second GUI of the application, a second proposed route to the link up location, wherein the second proposed route is based on a second geographic location of the second invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. Figs 5-7, [0019], [0023], [0028], [0029], [0081], [0084] location, status, and environmental features of each inviter and invited devices may be displayed along with route for each vehicle by each user interface when associated, including displaying a route to be followed for a second of the invited devices to follow, where the route includes an intermediate location for invited users to join the trip session and multiple users’ devices may be invited. This displays a second proposed route for an invited client device of a user on a second graphical user interface of an application to a link up location.)
collecting, by the one or more processors, environmental data of one or more of the organizer device and one or more of the plurality of invitee devices; ([0063], [0064] sensor data, including environmental sensor data such as temperature, may be transmitted between client devices, including from each inviter and invitee device. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This transmits and collects data to and from each client device of each user. When the vehicles are autonomous or partially autonomous vehicles, each vehicle and vehicle’s processor also necessarily collects environmental data to allow the vehicle to travel through the environment.) and
executing, by the one or more processors, an action based at least in part on the environmental data of the one or more of the organizer device and one or more of the plurality of invitee devices. ([0063], [0064] based on the received sensor information, actions and adjustments may be taken by experience engine to adjust the shared travel experience. [0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. This adjusts the actions of each vehicle based on its own received environmental data and the environmental data received from other vehicles.)
In regards to claim 18, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 16, further comprising:
receiving, by the one or more processors, historical environmental data of the plurality of invitee devices; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0053], [0072], [0073] history engine saves routes of each shared travel experience, including historical real-time traffic data, which is environmental data. This receives historical environmental data from each invited and inviting device.)
generating, by the one or more processors, a recommendation for the plurality of invitee devices based at least in part on the historical environmental data and the link up location; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0053] routing is determined based upon historical environmental data including traffic data, which provides recommendations to each of the client devices of their upcoming routes.) and
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the recommendation to at least one of the organizer device or one or more of the plurality of invitee devices. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0053] routing is determined based upon historical environmental data including traffic data, which provides recommendations to each of the client devices of their upcoming routes, [0054] which is then transmitted between the inviting organizer device and each invited client device when creating a shared travel experience in order to display the route of each client device and corresponding vehicle.)
In regards to claim 19, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 18, further comprising:
receiving, by the one or more processors from the at least one of the plurality of invitee devices, an acceptance of the recommendation; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0053], [0054] routing is determined based upon historical environmental data including traffic data, which provides recommendations to each of the client devices of their upcoming routes. When the route is followed by the invited client devices, this is implicit acceptance of the route, which is received by each other client device within the shared travel experience when updating the displayed route and location on the interface.)
updating, by the one or more processors, at least one of the first proposed route or the second proposed route to include navigation to a location associated with the recommendation; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0053], [0054] routing is determined based upon historical environmental data including traffic data, which provides recommendations to each of the client devices of their upcoming routes and updates the proposed route for each client device to include each location along the route.) and
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the updated first proposed route to the first invitee device or the updated second proposed route to the second invitee device. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0053], [0054] routing is determined based upon historical environmental data including traffic data, which provides recommendations to each of the client devices of their upcoming routes which is then transmitted to each client device within the shared trip session to display the route of each client device.)
In regards to claim 20, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 16, further comprising:
predicting, by the one or more processors, the first proposed route at a link up time based at least in part on historical traffic conditions, wherein the link up request is scheduled for the link up time. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0028], [0053], [0054] route for each client device’s corresponding vehicle may be proposed based on historical real-time traffic data, which are historical traffic conditions. This routing is determined at each time point as required, including the intermediate point and its corresponding time, and schedules a link up request for the follower vehicle to depart at an indicated time and arrive at a corresponding time.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew in view of Gyllenram (US 20230169497).
In regards to claim 2, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 1,
Andrew does not teach: further comprising:
receiving, by the one or more processors from the inviter device, a privacy request to anonymize invitee data of at least one of the first invitee device or the second invitee device such that personally identifiable information of the first invitee device or the second invitee device are anonymized.
However, Gyllenram teaches consent requests may be received when collecting data, which cause the data collected to be anonymized ([0057]). This is receiving a privacy request that causes data to be anonymized removing identifiable information of the data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle shared travel experience method of Andrew, by incorporating the teachings of Gyllenram, such that a consent request is received as data is collected, which causes the data to be anonymized, thereby removing identifiable information of the collected data.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Gyllenram, this allows for collecting data as preferred by the driver or operator of the vehicle ([0006], [0007]), which one of ordinary skill would have recognized improves the driver’s or operator’s comfort.
In regards to claim 12, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 10.
Claim 12 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew in view of South et al. (US 9794755).
In regards to claim 6, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation method of claim 1,
Andrew does not teach: wherein the action comprises:
transmitting, by the one or more processors to the first invitee device and the second invitee device, instructions to display on a user device, an emergency evacuation route based at least in part on the environmental data.
However, South teaches transmitting an emergency evacuation route to a user based on a determined environmental incident for display on a user device (Col 48 lines 31-54). While described largely in regards to individuals leaving a building, this applies equally to vehicles traveling through an environment (Col 47 lines 14-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle shared travel experience method of Andrew, by incorporating the teachings of South, such that each of the invited client devices of Andrew receive transmitted emergency evacuation routes for display on the client devices based on the environmental data.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by South, this allows for improved real-time emergency awareness and thereby improving safety (Col 1 lines 17-55).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew in view of Krivacic et al. (US 20140249742).
In regards to claim 15, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 10, further comprising:
receiving, by the one or more processors, navigation data associated with one or more of the first proposed route or the second proposed route, wherein the navigation data comprises at least traffic data; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0063], [0064] speed of each client device and corresponding vehicle is determined and received by each other client device, which when zero or low for an extended period is extrapolated to determine that the vehicle is in traffic. This is associated with the corresponding vehicle and its corresponding route, and is receiving navigation data associated with a route of the client device among routes of the client devices comprising at least traffic data.)
updating, by the one or more processors, one or more of the first proposed route or the second proposed route based at least in part on the navigation data; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0063], [0064] based on the received data, some or all of the client devices may be rerouted to avoid traffic, which updates the routes of one or more of the client devices.)
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the updated first proposed route to the first invitee device or the updated second proposed route to the second invitee device; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0063], [0064] based on the received data, some or all of the client devices may be rerouted to avoid traffic, which updates the routes of one or more of the client devices, which, when a second client device, for example, is rerouted, must be transmitted to that second client device.)
Andrew also teaches vehicles may be instructed to start following the route at a particular time based on the arrival of another vehicle at an intermediate location ([0028]), where followers of the trip may become leaders as designated by the system ([0070]).
Andrew does not teach:
predicting, by the one or more processors, an estimated arrival time to the link up location of one or more of the first invitee device or the second invitee device based at least in part on the updated first proposed route or the updated second proposed route; ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations. [0028]) and
generating, by the one or more processors, a recommendation receivable by the inviter device to delay an event associated with the link up location based at least in part on the estimated arrival time to the link up location of the one or more of the first invitee device or the second invitee device. ([0119] trip clients are each composed of processing units performing operations.)
However, Krivacic teaches determining an arrival threshold for an estimated time of arrival of a vehicle at a location (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle shared trip experience method of Andrew, by incorporating the teachings of Krivacic, such that an estimated arrival time is determined for each vehicle with client device of Andrew at the intermediate location, which is a link up location, while the vehicle travels along its corresponding route, and this estimated arrival time is used to adjust the time the vehicles start following their particular route, including delaying starting of the route by the vehicle client device that invites the other vehicle client devices.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Krivacic, this allows for reducing street congestion ([0005]), which one of ordinary skill would have recognized applies beyond mere parking situations, and generally reduces street congestion.
In regards to claim 17, Andrew teaches the computer-implemented method for linking devices and protecting data during group navigation of claim 16,
Andrew also teaches vehicles may be instructed to start following the route at a particular time based on the arrival of another vehicle at an intermediate location ([0028]), where followers of the trip may become leaders as designated by the system ([0070]), where the estimated times of arrival are communicated between client devices (Figs 5-7, [0084]).
Andrew does not teach: further comprising:
predicting, by the one or more processors, an estimated arrival time to the link up location of one or more of the organizer device, the first invitee device, or the second invitee device based at least in part on the environmental data;
transmitting, by the one or more processors, to at least one of the organizer device, the first invitee device, or the second invitee device, the estimated arrival time; and
in response to at least the estimated arrival time satisfying a threshold, automatically updating, by the one or more processors, a reservation based at least on the estimated arrival time.
However, Krivacic teaches determining an arrival threshold for an estimated time of arrival of a vehicle at a location and updating a reservation based on satisfying the threshold, where arrival time is based on collected environmental data (Abstract, [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle shared trip experience method of Andrew, by incorporating the teachings of Krivacic, such that an estimated arrival time is determined based upon environmental data for each vehicle with client device of Andrew at the intermediate location, which is a link up location, while the vehicle travels along its corresponding route, this information is further communicated between the client devices, and when the estimated time of arrival satisfies a threshold, a reservation is updated based on the estimated arrival time.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Krivacic in regards to claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stenneth et al. (US 20170293296) teaches controlling vehicles to selectively platoon to share portions of their routes.
Tam et al. (US 20200080853) teaches controlling vehicles to travel in a platoon by meeting at a joining point.
Atanasiu et al. (US 11636405) teaches controlling platooning vehicles based on shared routing.
Harris et al. (US 10698421) teaches forming a dynamic vehicle train through join requests from vehicles.
Zhu et al. (CN 115455211) teaches group requests for vehicles based on a distance threshold being satisfied.
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661