DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakasugi et al. DE 10 2020 102 272.
Wakasugi discloses:
Claim 1- a turning portion including a rotatable main spindle (30, 32); and a main body portion (23) supporting the turning portion turnably around a pivot shaft (21) inclined (axis D) with respect to an axis line of the main spindle (axis R), the main body portion including a motor (25) that turnably drives the turning portion and a reducer (26, 242), wherein in a turning position of the turning portion where the axis line of the main spindle faces downward in a vertical direction (see figure 1), a lowermost surface of the main body portion is located above a lowermost surface of the turning portion (deducible from Figs. 1 and 2), and the motor is arranged in the main body portion below an axis line of the pivot shaft (see fig. 2).
Claim 2- wherein the reducer includes an input shaft (25a, or 243) to which a rotation of the motor is transmitted and an output shaft (21a) that is coaxially arranged with the axis line of the pivot shaft (21) and transmits a rotation of the input shaft to the pivot shaft (the device performs this function), the input shaft (243) is perpendicular to the output shaft (21a, see fig. 2), and the motor (25) is arranged in the main body portion in a posture where a motor shaft is parallel to the input shaft (Fig. 2).
Claim 3- wherein an outer surface of the main body portion on an opposite side from a support side of the turning portion is formed in the vertical direction (see vertical surface of 20 mounted to 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakasugi et al. DE 10 2020 102 272 in view of Jung US 2014/0300065 A1.
Wakasugi discloses all of the claimed subject matter as described above. Wakasugi does not disclose a cable guide portion that guides wiring and/or piping disposed in the turning portion is arranged on an extension of the axis line of the pivot shaft and on a plane perpendicular to the axis line of the pivot shaft, and the cable guide portion includes a cable guide into which the wiring and/or piping having flexibility are inserted and a guide housing portion that houses the cable guide, and the guide housing portion is arranged at a position where a center in an up-down direction of the guide housing portion is shifted upward with respect to the axis line of the pivot shaft when viewed in an axis line direction of the pivot shaft.
Jung teaches a cable guide portion (24, 17) that guides wiring and/or piping (16) disposed in the turning portion is arranged on an extension of the axis line of the pivot shaft (see figures 4 and 5) and on a plane perpendicular to the axis line of the pivot shaft (see figures 4 and 5), and the cable guide portion includes a cable guide (17) into which the wiring and/or piping having flexibility are inserted and a guide housing portion (24) that houses the cable guide, and the guide housing portion is arranged at a position where a center in an up-down direction of the guide housing portion is shifted upward with respect to the axis line of the pivot shaft when viewed in an axis line direction of the pivot shaft (see orientation of figure 4 the lower right direction being equivalent to upward) for the purpose of reduced tangling and neatly containing cables while allowing a full range of motion thus improving the flexibility and degrees of freedom of the machine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wakasugi and provide a cable guide portion that guides wiring and/or piping disposed in the turning portion is arranged on an extension of the axis line of the pivot shaft and on a plane perpendicular to the axis line of the pivot shaft, and the cable guide portion includes a cable guide into which the wiring and/or piping having flexibility are inserted and a guide housing portion that houses the cable guide, and the guide housing portion is arranged at a position where a center in an up-down direction of the guide housing portion is shifted upward with respect to the axis line of the pivot shaft when viewed in an axis line direction of the pivot shaft, as taught by Jung, for the purpose of reduced tangling and neatly containing cables while allowing a full range of motion thus improving the flexibility and degrees of freedom of the machine.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakasugi et al. DE 10 2020 102 272 in view of Bouraoui US 2020/0254541.
Wakasugi discloses all of the claimed subject matter as described above. Wakasugi does not disclose a coupling portion that couples the main body portion rotatably around a second pivot shaft in the vertical direction on an upper side of the main body portion.
Bouraoui teaches a coupling portion (14, 16) that couples the main body portion (16) rotatably around a second pivot shaft in the vertical direction on an upper side of the main body portion (see rotation about axis C in Figures 8a, 8b, 8c) for the purpose of additional degrees of freedom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wakasugi and provide a coupling portion that couples the main body portion rotatably around a second pivot shaft in the vertical direction on an upper side of the main body portion, as taught by Bouraoui, for the purpose of additional degrees of freedom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3,828,649 A discloses a similar device.
TERENCE BOES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3618
/TERENCE BOES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618