DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 11 recite the limitation "measured by the detector under the relative position" in lines 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (US 20030168173) in view of Kida (US 20020089655 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tamura teaches, A vacuum processing apparatus comprising:
a vacuum sample chamber (30a/30b) configured to process a sample in a vacuum;
a conveyance robot (10) configured to convey the sample in a preliminary exhaust chamber into the vacuum sample chamber ([0019] – vacuum robot (10) configured to transfer the wafer in atmospheric air into and out of the processing chamber);
a detector (13) configured to measure a position of an outer edge of the sample conveyed into the vacuum sample chamber by the conveyance robot ([0033] – sensors for detecting outer rim of wafer);
a stage disposed in the vacuum sample chamber and including a placement surface on which the sample is held ([0025] – wafer (60a) transferred to wafer stage within the processing chamber (30a));
Tamura fails to teach,
and a computer configured to control the stage,
wherein the computer moves the stage below the sample conveyed into the vacuum sample chamber based on the measured position of the outer edge
However, Kida teaches,
and a computer configured to control the stage (81 – stage control section),
wherein the computer moves the stage below the sample conveyed into the vacuum sample chamber based on the measured position of the outer edge ([0201] - the stage control section 81 appropriately drives the support pins 72 up or down via a pin drive unit 84, to raise the wafer on the mounting table 71 to a suitable position for transferring the wafer to and from the arm members).
Tamura and Kida are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus to include the sensor based computer controlled transfer stage taught by Kida. As disclosed by Kida, transfer is inaccurate and time intensive [0016], the use of a stage transfer control decreases alignment error and decreases wafer transfer time, increasing system accuracy and decreasing system throughput time [0073-0074]
Regarding claim 2, Tamura teaches, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the conveyance robot (10) conveys the sample to a conveyance target position in the vacuum sample chamber (30a),
the detector (13) is disposed at a position where the position of the outer edge of the sample on the conveyance target position is measurable ([0033] – sensors are set to detect the outer rim (edge) of the passing wafer),
the computer calculates center coordinates of the sample based on the position of the outer edge of the sample on the conveyance target position ([0038] – based on sensor data, center position of the wafer is calculated)
Tamura fails to teach,
and the computer moves the stage below the sample on the conveyance target position based on the calculated center coordinates.
However, Kida teaches,
and the computer moves the stage below the sample on the conveyance target position based on the calculated center coordinates ([0077] – loading position of the stage is corrected based on coordinates determined by sensor data).
Tamura and Kida are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus to include the sensor-based computer controlled transfer stage taught by Kida As disclosed by Kida, transfer is inaccurate and time intensive [0016], the use of a stage transfer control decreases alignment error and decreases wafer transfer time, increasing system accuracy and decreasing system throughput time [0073-0074]
Regarding claim 3, Tamura teaches, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the detector is disposed to be capable of measuring the position of the outer edge of the sample on the conveyance target position at three or more points ([0034] – three sensors (13) at points A, B and C),
and the computer calculates the center coordinates based on the position of the outer edge at the three or more points ([0038] – center position is calculated from these points).
Regarding claim 4, Tamura teaches, the vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the vacuum sample chamber is isolated from an atmospheric environment by a vacuum partition wall (fig. 2 – viewport within vacuum partition wall (shown below),
the detector (11) is attached to the vacuum partition wall on an atmospheric environment side (fig. 2 – position of detector),
and the detector is disposed to measure the sample from above the sample when the sample is conveyed into the vacuum sample chamber ([0030] – detector is disposed above sample and can detect position of wafer).
Regarding claim 6, Tamura fails to teach, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the computer moves the stage to match the calculated center coordinates and reference coordinates of a sample placement surface of the stage.
However, Kida teaches,
wherein the computer moves the stage to match the calculated center coordinates and reference coordinates of a sample placement surface of the stage ([0077] – computer moves stage to correct for the corresponding positional displacement amount of the wafer).
Tamura and Kida are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus to include the sensor-based computer controlled transfer stage taught by Kida. As disclosed by Kida, transfer is inaccurate and time intensive [0016], the use of a stage transfer control decreases alignment error and decreases wafer transfer time, increasing system accuracy and decreasing system throughput time [0073-0074]
Regarding claim 7, Tamura fails to teach, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the computer aligns the sample with reference coordinates on the stage based on the measured position of the outer edge by transferring the stage below the sample and then conveying the sample onto the stage.
However, Kida teaches,
wherein the computer aligns the sample with reference coordinates on the stage (222) based on the measured position of the outer edge by transferring the stage below the sample and then conveying the sample onto the stage ([0072] - Substrate stage is moved based on the detection result to a position for receiving the substrate; lowering the load arm and mounting the substrate on the substrate stage; and then moving the load arm away from the substrate).
Tamura and Kida are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus to include the sensor-based computer controlled transfer stage taught by Kida As disclosed by Kida, transfer is inaccurate and time intensive [0016], the use of a stage transfer control decreases alignment error and decreases wafer transfer time, increasing system accuracy and decreasing system throughput time [0073-0074]
Regarding claim 8, Tamura teaches, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the sample has a disk shape (fig. 3 – wafer (602) is disk shaped),
and the detector (13) is configured to be capable of measuring a position on a circular outer periphery of the sample at three or more points ([0034] – sensors (13) at points – A, B, C) .
Regarding claim 10, Tamura teaches, the vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a robot chamber (2) disposed between the vacuum sample chamber and the preliminary exhaust chamber (fig. 1 – buffer chamber (2) between load lock (8) and processing chamber (30a/b),
wherein the robot chamber stores the conveyance robot (fig. 1 – robot (10) in buffer chamber (2)),
and the conveyance robot (10) conveys the sample from the preliminary exhaust chamber to the vacuum sample chamber via the robot chamber ([0025] – wafer is moved from load lock (8) chamber to processing chamber (30a/b).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (US 20030168173) in view of Kida (US 20020089655 A1) as applied to claims 1 - 4 above, and further in view of Sugimoto (US 2022/0299980 A1). Tamura and Kida disclose all of the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, Tamura teaches, the vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 4,
the vacuum partition wall includes a transmission portion (20a/20b – viewports) that transmits at least a part of the light,
Neither Tamura or Kida teach,
wherein the detector is configured as a line sensor that detects the position of the outer edge by emitting light having a line segment shape,
and the detector is disposed to emit the light into the vacuum sample chamber via the transmission portion.
However, Sugimoto teaches,
wherein the detector (68) is configured as a line sensor ([0036] – detection part is a line sensor) that detects the position of the outer edge by emitting light having a line segment shape ([0036] – edge of wafer W is detected),
and the detector is disposed to emit the light (67 – light source) into the vacuum sample chamber via the transmission portion.
Tamura, Kida and Sugimoto are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus and Kida’s computer operated stage to include the line sensor and light emitter disclosed by Sugimoto, Tamura discloses that the sensors 13 can be transmission or reflecting type optical sensors or capacitance type sensors [0033], therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced them with the line sensors taught by Sugimoto, as line sensors are transmission type optical sensors that increase system accuracy by detecting the edge of the wafer W over the entire circumference of the edge [0037].
Claims 9, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (US 20030168173) in view of Kida (US 20020089655 A1) as applied to claims 1 – 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Matsui (JP 2004104021). Tamura and Kida disclose all of the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, Tamura fails to teach,
the computer moves the stage below the sample based on the position of the outer edge measured by the detector under the relative position
However, Kida teaches,
the computer moves the stage below the sample based on the position of the outer edge measured by the detector under the relative position ([0077] – computer moves stage to correct for the corresponding positional displacement amount of the wafer to relative position).
Tamura and Kida are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus to include the sensor based computer controlled transfer stage taught by Kida. As disclosed by Kida, transfer is inaccurate and time intensive [0016], the use of a stage transfer control decreases alignment error and decreases wafer transfer time, increasing system accuracy and decreasing system throughput time [0073-0074].
Tamura and Kida both fail to teach, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a bellows configured to hermetically join the preliminary exhaust chamber and the vacuum sample chamber,
wherein the bellows is configured to change a relative position between the preliminary exhaust chamber and the vacuum sample chamber, and
However, Matsui teaches,
a bellows (fig. 5 – 30A) configured to hermetically join the preliminary exhaust chamber (30) and the vacuum sample chamber (3),
wherein the bellows is configured to change a relative position between the preliminary exhaust chamber and the vacuum sample chamber ([0036] – bellows has low rigidity so deformation is not transmitted to the connecting member, allowing relative displacement of chambers),
Tamura, Kida and Matsui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus and Kida’s computer operated stage to include the low rigidity bellows configured to hermetically join the vacuum sample chamber and robot chamber taught by Matsui, As disclosed by Matsui, using a flexible low rigidity bellows prevents vibrations from processes from reaching the stage and disrupting measurements [0062].
Regarding claim 11, Tamura fails to teach,
and the computer moves the stage below the sample based on the position of the outer edge measured by the detector under the relative position
However, Kida teaches,
and the computer moves the stage below the sample based on the position of the outer edge measured by the detector under the relative position ([0077] – computer moves stage to correct for the corresponding positional displacement amount of the wafer to relative position).
Tamura and Kida are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus to include the sensor based computer controlled transfer stage taught by Kida. As disclosed by Kida, transfer is inaccurate and time intensive [0016], the use of a stage transfer control decreases alignment error and decreases wafer transfer time, increasing system accuracy and decreasing system throughput time [0073-0074].
Tamuri and Kida both fail to teach, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 10, further comprising:
a bellows configured to hermetically join the vacuum sample chamber and the robot chamber,
wherein the bellows is configured to change a relative position between the robot chamber and the vacuum sample chamber,
However, Matsui teaches,
a bellows (fig. 5 - 30A) configured to hermetically join the vacuum sample chamber and the robot chamber,
wherein the bellows is configured to change a relative position between the robot chamber and the vacuum sample chamber ([0036] – bellows has low rigidity so deformation is not transmitted to the connecting member, allowing relative displacement of chambers),
Tamura, Kida and Matsui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus and Kida’s computer operated stage to include the low rigidity bellows configured to hermetically join the vacuum sample chamber and robot chamber taught by Matsui, As disclosed by Matsui, using a flexible low rigidity bellows prevents vibrations from processes from reaching the stage and disrupting measurements [0062].
Regarding claim 12, Tamuri and Kida fail to teach, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the bellows is made of a material having lower rigidity than the vacuum sample chamber and the preliminary exhaust chamber.
However, Matsui teaches, wherein the bellows is made of a material having lower rigidity than the vacuum sample chamber and the preliminary exhaust chamber ([0036] – bellows has low rigidity so deformation is not transmitted to the connecting member, allowing relative displacement of chambers).
Tamura, Kida and Matsui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus and Kida’s computer operated stage to include the low rigidity bellows configured to hermetically join the vacuum sample chamber and robot chamber taught by Matsui, As disclosed by Matsui, using a flexible low rigidity bellows prevents vibrations from processes from reaching the stage and disrupting measurements [0062].
Regarding claim 13, Tamura and Kida fail to teach, The vacuum processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the vacuum processing apparatus is configured as a charged particle beam device that irradiates the sample with a charged particle beam.
However, Matsui teaches,
wherein the vacuum processing apparatus is configured as a charged particle beam device that irradiates the sample with a charged particle beam ([0020] – charged particle beam used as measuring instrument).
Tamura, Kida and Matsui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of Wafer processing and measuring. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamura’s Vacuum processing apparatus and Kida’s computer operated stage to include the particle beam to irradiate the sample as taught by Matsui, As disclosed by Matsui, using a charged particle beam allows for highly accurate measurements in the position of the stage on which a wafer is placed [0033].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicants disclosure:
Hasegawa (US 20100024723 A1) – discloses a substrate alignment apparatus with a detector configured to detect substrate positional deviation from a reference point
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3652