DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9 and 16-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bateson (US 4948300) in view of Smith (US 4008506).
Regarding claim 1, Bateson discloses a dock coupling assembly configured to connect a first dock segment with a second dock segment, the dock coupling assembly comprising; a female attachment bracket [137] comprising a base portion having a longitudinal axis and an offset portion connected to the base portion and laterally offset from the longitudinal axis of the base portion, and wherein the female attachment bracket has an outer surface, an inner surface, a first edge extending along a length of the base portion and the offset portion, a second edge extending along the length of the base portion and the offset portion, a proximal edge on the offset portion, and a distal edge opposite to the proximal edge on the female attachment bracket, and wherein the offset portion has a first receiving channel and a second receiving channel [Figure 9]; a male attachment [144 & 145] comprising a first engagement member spaced from a second engagement member, the first engagement member and the second engagement member positioned proximate the proximal edge [Figure 9]; and wherein the first receiving channel is configured to receive the first engagement member and the second receiving channel is configured to receive the second engagement member [Figure 9].
Bateson fails to disclose the male attachment specifically has a base plate and the flanges.
Smith teaches a dock coupling assembly comprising a male/female connection where the male connection is specifically a base plate [38] and both the male/female members have flanges [64 & 48 respectively] extending perpendicularly from the plates [Figures 1, 2 & 4].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Bateson by adding the base plate as described by Smith to enable the device to be retrofitted to a beam on-site, thereby increasing applicability, decreasing transport costs with smaller components, and thereby increasing profitability. Likewise, it would have been obvious to add the flanges to increase structural rigidity of the system such that it can accommodate larger loads/dock sizes, thereby increasing both profitability and safety.
Regarding claim 4, Smith further teaches the base plate flange is proximate the base plate proximal edge and extends between the base plate first edge and the base plate second edge [Figures 1, 3 & 4].
Regarding claim 6, Bateson further discloses a vertical pole grip, the vertical pole grip comprising, a first side, a second side, and a cylindrical channel disposed between the first side and the second side [Figure 9].
Regarding claim 7, Smith further teaches the flange on the female attachment bracket is proximate the offset portion and extends between the first edge and the second edge of the base portion [Figures 1, 2 & 4].
Regarding claim 8, the Smith further teaches the male attachment bracket is configured to be attached to a first dock segment, wherein the base plate inner surface and the base plate flange are configured to engaged a corner of the first dock segment, and wherein the female attachment bracket is configured to be attached to a second dock segment, wherein the inner surface and the flange of the female attachment bracket are configured to engage a corner of the second dock segment [Figures 1, 2 & 4].
Regarding claim 9, the combination further teaches the male attachment bracket has a plurality of openings and the female attachment bracket has a plurality of openings, and wherein the male attachment bracket is configured to engage to a first dock segment with fasteners passing through the plurality of openings and into the first dock segment, and wherein the female attachment bracket is configured to engage to a second dock segment with fasteners passing through the plurality of openings and into the second dock segment [lots of bolts, see Figures].
Regarding method claims 16-20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the dock coupling assembly of the Bateson-Smith combination in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method as claimed by the Applicant.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Bateson-Smith combination as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 8 and 16-20 above, and further in view of Karst (US 2948121).
The Bateson-Smith combination fails to disclose the second receiving channel is arcuate.
Karst teaches a dock coupling assembly comprising a second receiving channel that is arcuate [Figure 7].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of the Bateson-Smith combination to utilize the arcuate second receiving channel as described by Karst to provide a hinged connection that better facilitates dropping in and settling to achieve the desired positioning with minimal space.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest the flange on the female portion extending past/across the angled connection portion.
Claims 10-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination - the second bracket further comprises a base plate flange extending from the base plate top edge to the base plate bottom edge and that is generally perpendicular to the base plate inner surface; as explicitly recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Impey (US 7124700) discloses a dock coupling assembly having a male/female connection bracket with a curved post/slot connection means similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619