DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search does not create undue burden on the USPTO and that the subject matter among the groups is not independent and distinct. This is not found persuasive because the issues and search arising from the distinct groups would present a burden to the Office.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Hence, claims 1-13 remain in the application with claims 8-13 having been withdrawn from consideration as being directed toward a non-elected invention. Claims 1-7 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675).
Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) teaches an apparatus for manufacturing electrode for lithium ion secondary battery using a conveying mechanism and depositing granulated particles (130) from a hopper (22) of a supply unit (20) onto a current collector (110) which is conductive [0031] in a roll to roll type apparatus with dispensing roller then to a squeegee roller (30) (claimed counter roller) having a gap there between it and the collector (110) to level the granulated particles (130) which are supplied on the collector (110). The squeegee roller (30) (claimed counter roller) rotates in a reverse with respect to the direction of the conveying direction of the collector which would meet the claimed 180 degrees opposite to direction of travel of the substrate [0054]. The particles then transfer to rolling rollers (40) for post-processing the particles and these rollers can be heated [0064]-[0066].
Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) fails to teach the conductive substrate to pass over a curved stationary vacuum table that maintains the conductive substrate.
Ohnishi (10,507,675) teaches a printing method, device and system whereby a roll-to-roll system is utilized to apply a coating to an elongated substrate which travels from a feeding roller (306) over a platen (14) which is curved (claimed orientation maintenance module) to a winder (308) (Figs. 1B,7 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) coating apparatus to include a curved platen for coating on an elongated substrate as evidenced by Ohnishi (10,507,675) with the expectation of improved coating thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) teaches rolling rollers (40) for post-processing the particles and these rollers can be heated [0064]-[0066].
Regarding claim 5, Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) teaches the current collector to be metal such as aluminum foils or copper foils [0031].
Regarding claim 6, Ohnishi (10,507,675) teaches the claimed orientation maintenance module (Figs. 1B and 7).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) further in combination with Wood et al. (6,139,302).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) are incorporated here.
Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) fails to teach a vibratory particle feeder.
Wood et al. (6,139,302) teaches a powder delivery system for electrode production in which the powder feeding channel is vibrated to effect powder movement through and deliver therefrom (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) process to include a vibratory feeder for the electrode particles as evidenced by Wood et al. (6,139,302) with the expectation of improving the movement and delivery of the powder to the collector.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) further in combination with Kojima et al. (11,888,142).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) are incorporated here.
Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) fails to teach two or more counter rollers in series (claimed squeegee rollers).
Kojima et al. (11,888,142) teaches a powder application apparatus whereby two squeegee rollers (claimed counter rollers) are utilized to level/flatten powder applied to a substate prior to being consolidated downstream (abstract and Fig. 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) process to include two or more counter rollers in series as evidenced by Kojima et al. (11,888,142) with the expectation of improving the binding/fixing of the particles to the current collector.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) further in combination with DE 10131027.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) are incorporated here.
Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) fails to teach heating the counter roller, i.e. squeegee roller (30).
DE 10131027 teaches a powder coating apparatus whereby heated metering rollers (10,11) are utilized to level the powder material prior to it being by heated melting rollers (abstract, claim 1 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanihara et al. (2016/0181651) in combination with Ohnishi (10,507,675) process to include heated squeegee roller as evidenced by DE 10131027 with the expectation of controlling the powder level to the desired range prior to hot pressing.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712