DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 10 and 12-17 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12292353 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader than the patent, therefore, the patented claims anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 10 and 12-17 of the instant application correspond to the patented claims as follows:
Instant application
USPAT 12292353 B2
10
1
12
1
13, 14, 15, 16, 17
3, 5, 6, 7, 8 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 11002533 B1 by Tongue et al. (hereinafter Tongue).
Regarding Claim 1, Tongue teaches a fiber optic shape-sensing system (Fig. 1, Abstract) comprising (Fig. 1-10):
a plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 1 @ 120) helically twisted and rigidly bonded to form a linearly-running multi-fiber shape-sensing bundle (MFB) (Fig. 1 @ 120) for calculating position, bend, and twist of the shape- sensing bundle, wherein each optical fibers from among the plurality of optical fibers comprises a single core (Abstract);
an interrogator (Fig. 1 @ 110) for transmitting light to, and receiving reflected light from the shape- sensing bundle (Fig. 1 @ 120) to produce interrogation data, wherein the interrogator (Fig. 1 @ 110) is operationally coupled to the shape-sensing bundle (Fig. 1 @ 120), and wherein the interrogator (Fig. 1 @ 110) comprises a plurality of inputs each of which is operationally coupled with each of the plurality of optical fibers (Col. 2, line 1-8); and
a computing system (Fig. 1 @ 140) operationally coupled to the interrogator (Fig. 1 @ 110) for calculating MFB twist distribution data (Col. 5, line 31-33; Col. 6, line 65-67 - Col. 7, line 1-13) along the MFB using optical frequency domain reflectometry (OFDR) phase data (Col. 5, line 22-33) of the interrogation data (Col. 2, line 8-13).
Regarding Claim 2, Tongue teaches calculating MFB twist distribution data includes making calculations with the phase difference data of each of the plurality of optical fibers over time using the OFDR phase data to calculate the MFB twist distribution data along the MFB using the MFB twist distribution data (Col. 5, line 22-33: These optical sensors can measure temperature, strain, pressure, and other parameters by monitoring the resulting changes in the intensity, phase, polarization, wavelength, and/or transit time of light within the fiber thus teaches using the phase difference data).
Regarding Claim 3, Tongue teaches calculating MFB twist distribution data does not include calculating position or bend using the phase difference data of the interrogation data (Col. 5, line 22-33: These optical sensors can measure temperature, strain, pressure, and other parameters by monitoring the resulting changes in the intensity, phase, polarization, wavelength, and/or transit time of light within the fiber thus teaches not using the phase difference data).
Regarding Claim 4, Tongue teaches one of: the OFDR difference phase data does not include intensity, polarization, wavelength, or transit time of light in each of the plurality of optical fibers; or calculating does not include using interrogation data having intensity, polarization, wavelength, or transit time of light for the plurality of optical fibers (Col. 5, line 22-33: These optical sensors can measure temperature, strain, pressure, and other parameters by monitoring the resulting changes in the intensity, phase, polarization, wavelength, and/or transit time of light within the fiber thus teaches the limitation).
Regarding Claim 5, Tongue teaches interrogator (Fig. 1 @ 110) is configured to produce the OFDR interferometric interrogation data while inputting a laser (Col. 9, line 13-16) that scans a frequency range (Col. 6, line 63-64: tunable light source thus teaches the limitation) into the MFB; and wherein the MFB is a multi-fiber 3D shape sensor bundled (Col. 6, line 20-23).
Regarding Claim 7, Tongue teaches an array of FBGs disposed within the core of each single-core optical fiber from among the plurality of single-core optical fibers, wherein one of:
a) at least a subset of FBGs from among the plurality of FBGs in at least one optical fiber from among the plurality of optical fibers overlaps a subset of gaps between FBGs from among the plurality of FBGs in at least one other optical fiber from among the plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 4, Col. 2, line 19-30),
b) at least a subset of FBGs from among the plurality of FBGs in each optical fiber from among the plurality of optical fibers overlaps a subset of gaps between FBGs from among the plurality of FBGs for each of the other optical fiber from among the plurality of optical fibers in the shape-sensing bundle (Fig. 4, Col. 2, line 30-35), or
c) the array of FBGs disposed within the core of each single-core optical fiber comprises a single elongated FBG running the entire length of a shape-sensing region of the shape-sensing bundle (Fig. 4, Col. 2, line 16-19).
Regarding Claim 8, Tongue teaches the plurality of optical fibers comprises at least seven optical fibers with a first fiber running linearly and six other optical fibers encompassing the first fiber, wherein the first optical fiber remains centrally-positioned with respect to the six other optical fibers, and wherein the six other fibers are helically twisted around the first optical fiber (Col. 1, line 57-63).
Regarding Claim 9, Tongue teaches the plurality of optical fibers comprises at least three optical fibers that are helically twisted around each other to form a triple-helix strand running linearly (Col. 2, line 63-65).
Regarding Claim 11, Tongue teaches calculating MFB twist distribution data (See Claim 1 rejection above) further includes: prior to accounting, unwrapping the change in phase for each of the at least three radially offset fibers and the central fiber (Col. 5, line 22-33: These optical sensors can measure temperature, strain, pressure, and other parameters by monitoring the resulting changes in the intensity, phase, polarization, wavelength, and/or transit time of light within the fiber thus teaches the limitation).
Regarding Claim 21, Tongue teaches a fiber optic shape-sensing system (See Claim 1 rejection above) comprising:
a plurality of optical fibers helically twisted to form a linearly-running multi-fiber shape-sensing bundle (MFB) for calculating twist of the shape-sensing bundle, wherein each optical fibers from among the plurality of optical fibers comprises a single core (See Claim 1 rejection above);
an interrogator for transmitting light to, and receiving reflected light from the shape-sensing bundle to produce interrogation data, wherein the interrogator is operationally coupled to the shape-sensing bundle, and wherein the interrogator comprises a plurality of inputs each of which is operationally coupled with each of the plurality of optical fibers (See Claim 1 rejection above); and
a computing system operationally coupled to the interrogator for calculating MFB twist distribution data along the MFB using optical frequency domain reflectometry (OFDR) phase data of the interrogation data (See Claim 1 rejection above),
wherein calculating MFB twist distribution data includes making calculations with the phase difference data of each of the plurality of optical fibers over time using the OFDR phase data to calculate the MFB twist distribution data along the MFB using the MFB twist distribution data (See Claim 2 rejection above), and
wherein calculating MFB twist distribution data does not include calculating position or bend using the phase difference data of the interrogation data (See Claim 3 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 22, Tongue teaches one of: the OFDR difference phase data does not include intensity, polarization, wavelength, or transit time of light in each of the plurality of optical fibers; or calculating does not include using interrogation data having intensity, polarization, wavelength, or transit time of light for the plurality of optical fibers (See Claim 4 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 23, Tongue teaches the plurality of optical fibers comprises at least three optical fibers (See Claim 9 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tongue in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0128600 A1 by ‘T Hooft (hereinafter ‘T Hooft).
Regarding Claim 6, Tongue teaches the MFB (See Claim 1 rejection) but does not explicitly teach a guidewire, wherein the MFB is integrated into the guidewire that is configured to be registered to and visualized with anatomical imaging to display in real-time a location and shape of the guide wire within a patient; and wherein the location and shape may be used for feedback control of robotically controlled medical devices.
However, ‘T Hooft teaches a guidewire (Fig. 1 @ 200, Fig. 2 @ 20, Abstract, Par. [0001, 0006, 0048, 0051]), wherein the MFB (Fig. 3 @ 30, Abstract. Also see Claim 1 rejection) is integrated into the guidewire (Par. [0001, 0006]) that is configured to be registered to and visualized with anatomical imaging to display in real-time (Par. [0002]: monitor the three-dimensional shape of an elongated medical device within the body of a patient thus teaches the limitation) a location and shape of the guide wire within a patient (Par. P0002]); and wherein the location and shape may be used for feedback control of robotically controlled medical devices (Par. [0002]: monitor thus teaches the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modify Tonge by ‘T Hooft as taught above such that a guidewire, wherein the MFB is integrated into the guidewire that is configured to be registered to and visualized with anatomical imaging to display in real-time a location and shape of the guide wire within a patient; and wherein the location and shape may be used for feedback control of robotically controlled medical devices is accomplished in order to monitor the three-dimensional shape of an elongated medical device within the body of a patient (Par. [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 12-20 are allowed.
8. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for Allowance
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
10. As to Claims 10 and 12, the prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitation of “accounting for FBG gap-induced unwrapping discontinuities in a change in phase for each of at least three radially offset fibers and a central fiber to create FBG gap- mitigated phase differences for each of the at least three radially offset fibers and the central fiber;
averaging the radially offset gap-mitigated phase differences of each of the at least three radially offset fibers and subtracting a center fiber gap-mitigated phase difference from an average to yield a twist-phase difference that is indicative of a distributed twist of the multi-fiber bundle;
removing bending-induced changes from the twist-phase difference to create bend- compensated twist-phase difference distribution; and
converting the bend-compensated twist-phase difference distribution from units of the OFDR interferometric interrogation data to units of twist to calculate MFB twist distribution data along the MFB” along with all other limitations of claims 10 and 12.
11. Tongue (US 11002533 B1) teaches a plurality of optical fibers helically twisted to form a linearly-running multi-fiber shape-sensing bundle (MFB) for calculating twist of the shape-sensing bundle, wherein each optical fibers from among the plurality of optical fibers comprises a single core but fails to teach the claimed limitations.
Additional Prior Art
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of shape-sensing system.
US Patent No. 6868195 B2 by Fujita (Fig. 6).
US Patent No. 10663290 B1 by Tongue et al (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877