DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 3, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. "Joint Transmit Beamforming and Phase Shift Design for Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface Assisted MIMO Systems," in IEEE Transactions on Cognitive Communications and Networking, vol. 7, no. 2, pp. 354-368, June 2021, hereinafter, Wang.
Regarding claim 1:
Wang discloses a transceiver device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a multi-antenna feeder array (Figs. 1, 2, array at the BS) comprising a plurality of active antennas configured to transmit electromagnetic radiation based on a data stream pre-coded with a pre-coder (Section II A, first paragraph; pp 356; UPA of the BS is claimed multi-antenna feeder array; section VI B, pp 363, 364; paragraphs above equation (66); data stream u is precoded with active beamforming design; see Section I, second paragraph, pp 354 for electromagnetic radiation); and
a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) (Figs. 1, 2, RIS), wherein the RIS comprises a plurality of passive antennas (Section I, second paragraph pp 354; RIS passively reflects, i.e. plurality of passive antennas), wherein each passive antenna is configured to receive the electromagnetic radiation from the multi-antenna feeder array and to re-transmit the received electromagnetic radiation with a respective adjustable phase shift (Section I, second paragraph pp 354; RIS passively reflects (i.e. re-tranmits) incident signal (i.e. receive electromagnetic radiation ) by adjusting phase (claimed adjustable phase shift)) wherein the transmission from the plurality of active antennas of the multi-antenna feeder array to the plurality of passive antennas of the RIS is defined by a transmission matrix, and wherein the multi-antenna feeder array is configured to generate the pre-coder based on one or more generalized eigenvectors of the transmission matrix (Section V A; pp 361, 362; including algorithm 2; CH is claimed transmission matrix, since the transmit beamforming is performed (i.e. precoding is generated) along the most dominant eigenvector of CH).
Regarding claim 3:
Wang further discloses the transceiver device, wherein the multi- antenna feeder array is configured to generate the pre-coder based on the generalized eigenvector of the transmission matrix having the a largest generalized eigenvalue ( Section V A; pp 361, 362; the most dominant eigenvector corresponds to the most dominant (i.e. largest) eigenvalue).
Regarding claim 5:
Wang further discloses the transceiver, wherein the plurality of passive antennas of the RIS are arranged on a planar surface or curved surface (Figs. 1, 2, RIS surface can only comprise either a planar or a curved surface).
Regarding claim 9:
Wang further discloses the transceiver, wherein a number of the plurality of passive antennas is substantially larger than a number of the plurality of active antennas (Section VI, first paragraph, pp 363).
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is rejected as being anticipated by Wang based on a rationale similar to the one used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sun et al. (US 20240396590 A1), hereinafter, Sun.
Regarding claim 4:
Wang further discloses the transceiver device but fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the distance between the RIS and the multi-antenna feeder array is smaller than a Rayleigh distance between the RIS and the multi-antenna feeder array.
However, Sun discloses relationship between a device (feeder array) and an intelligent reflective surface (claimed RIS) is greater than the Rayleigh distance for far-field communications (Paragraph [0262]), Sun further discloses RIS capable of near-filed communication (Paragraph [0054]). For the case where the network device is in near-field communication with the RIS, distance between the RIS and the array of the network device is smaller than a Rayleigh distance between the RIS and array of the network device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the distance between Wang’s multi- antenna feeder array and RIS is smaller than a Rayleigh distance between the RIS and array of the network device based on Sun’s teachings, thereby resulting in claimed invention. It would have been obvious so as to determine the number of antenna elements needed by each array (Paragraph [0259]).
4. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Cheng et al. (US 20180006706 A1), hereinafter, Cheng.
Regarding claim 6:
Wang further discloses the transceiver device but fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the multi- antenna feeder array further comprises a baseband processor for pre-coding the data stream with the pre-coder.
However. Cheng discloses transceiver device of claim 1, wherein the multi- antenna array (Fig. 2, units 220, 230, 240 together is multi-antenna array) comprises a baseband processor for pre-coding the data stream with the pre-coder (Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for Wang’s multi- antenna feeder array comprise a baseband processor for pre-coding the data stream with the pre-coder as disclosed by Cheng. It would have been obvious so as to perform effective precoding.
5. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Li et al. (US 12542582 B2), hereinafter, Li.
Regarding claim 8:
Wang further discloses the transceiver device but fails to explicitly disclose the transceiver device, wherein the RIS is configured to control the respective adjustable phase shift such that the electromagnetic radiation re-transmitted by the plurality of passive antennas coherently interferes in a desired target direction.
However, Li discloses RIS that is configured to control the respective adjustable phase shift such that the electromagnetic radiation re-transmitted by the plurality of passive antennas coherently interferes in a desired target direction (Column 11, lines 40-60; array elements of the RIS are adjusted using phase compensation sub-codebook so that the beams of each sub-array converge on the target device i.e. control the respective adjustable phase shift such that the electromagnetic radiation re-transmitted by the plurality of passive antennas coherently interferes in a desired target direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for Wang’s RIS configured to control the respective adjustable phase shift such that the electromagnetic radiation re-transmitted by the plurality of passive antennas coherently interferes in a desired target direction as disclosed by Li. It would have been obvious so as to provide higher gain to the target (Column 11, line 61- column 12, line 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VINEETA S PANWALKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635