DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,508. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claims.
Claim 5 is anticipated by claim 4 of the ‘508 Patent:
5. A method in a Network Function, NF, producer, comprising: transmitting, to a Service Communication Proxy, SCP, a notification request for delivering a notification based on a default notification subscription (transmitting, to a Service Communication Proxy, SCP, a notification request for delivering a notification to a default notification subscription), wherein the notification request contains a Uniform Resource Identifier, URI, having a predetermined service path indicating that the notification request is associated with a default notification subscription, and the notification request indicates at least one of an N1 message class and an N2 information class for the notification (wherein the notification request contains a Uniform Resource Identifier, URI, having a predetermined service path indicating that the notification request is associated with a default notification subscription, and the notification request indicates at least one of an N1 message class and an N2 information class for the notification.).
Claim 6 is disclosed by claim 5 of the ‘508 Patent.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,508 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0035572 to Belling et al.
Patent ‘508, claim 4 discloses the limitations of claim 5.
Patent ‘508, claim 5 discloses the limitations of claim 6.
The claimed invention of Patent ‘508 do not disclose a network node comprising a communication interface, a processor and a memory.
Belling et al. ‘572 teach: a network node comprising a communication interface (0130-0131), a processor (0058) and a memory (0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the claimed invention of Patent ‘508 with computer elements to effectively operate a hardware computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0035572 to Belling et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0007632 to Landais et al.
Belling et al. ‘572 disclose:
As concerns claim 5, a method in a Network Function, NF, producer, comprising:
transmitting, to a Service Communication Proxy, SCP (0075-SCP), a notification request (0075-notification, request) for delivering a notification (0075-route notification message) based on a default notification subscription (0007-specific notification subscription; 0072), wherein the notification request contains a Uniform Resource Identifier, URI (0083-URI), having a predetermined service path indicating that the notification request is associated with a default notification subscription (0007-specific notification subscription; 0072), and the notification request indicates at least one of an N1 message class and an N2 information class for the notification.
As concerns claim 10, a network node comprising a communication interface (0130-0131), a processor (0058) and a memory (0058).
Belling et al. ‘572 do not disclose:
the notification request indicates at least one of an N1 message class and an N2 information class for the notification.
Landais et al. ‘632 teach:
the notification request indicates at least one of an N1 message class and an N2 information class for the notification (0038; Table 3-N1 message class, N2 information class, Attribute name).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Belling et al. ‘572 with class information, as taught by Landais et al. ‘632, in order to provide an adequate notification based on service and subscriptions.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0035572 to Belling et al. and of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0007632 to Landais et al., as applied above, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0014888 to S Bykampadi et al.
Belling et al. ‘572 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 6, the method of claim 5, wherein the N1 message class or the N2 information class is carried in a header from which a query parameter for NF discovery is derivable.
S Bykampadi et al. ‘888 teach:
As concerns claim 6, the method of claim 33, wherein the N1 message class or the N2 information class is carried in a header (0053-custom headers) from which a query parameter (0053-query parameters) for NF discovery (0053-3gpp-Sbi-Discovery) is derivable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Belling et al. ‘572 as modified, with a custom header, as taught by S Bykampadi et al. ‘888, in order to communicate particular information to satisfy a particular situation.
As concerns claim 11, Belling et al. ‘572 further disclose:
As concerns claim 11, a network node comprising a communication interface (0130-0131), a processor (0058) and a memory (0058).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 12 and 13 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0168215 to Zong et al. disclose load balancing (0058).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451