DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from JP 2024-082836, filed on 5/21/2024
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 8, “an electronic device” should be changed to --the electronic device-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto et al. (US PGPub 2017/0053780, Iwamoto hereinafter) in view of Hori et al. (US PGPub 2021/0364927, Hori hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Iwamoto discloses a target supply device (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, abstract, target generator 8A) comprising:
a tank main body portion configured to contain a target substance (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0086]-[0092], tank 84A contains target material 270);
an output portion configured to output the target substance (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0086]-[0092], nozzle 86A outputs target material 270 from nozzle head 82A);
an intermediate portion located between the tank main body portion and the output portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0201]-[0207], nozzle body 85A in third region AR3 is between the tank 84A and the nozzle head 82A);
a first main heater configured to heat the tank main body portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], first temperature adjuster 91C includes first heater 911C to heat the reservoir tank 84A);
a first sub-heater configured to heat the output portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], fourth temperature adjuster 94C includes heater 941C heating area AR4 with nozzle head 82A);
an intermediate portion heater configured to heat the intermediate portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], third temperature adjuster 93C includes heater 931C to heat nozzle body 85A in third region AR3); and
a temperature control processor configured to perform temperature lowering control of the first main heater, the first sub-heater, and the intermediate portion heater after output of the target substance is stopped (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-26, 31-35, paras. [0064], [0137], [0143], [0147], [0189], [0200]-[0207], [0292]-[0293], target generating section 70C includes temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C to control the heaters when output of the jet 27A is stopped to lower the temperature of the target material 270),
the temperature control processor setting, in the temperature lowering control, a temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature while setting each of a temperature of the first main heater and a temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0147], [0160]-[0161], [0189], [0200]-[0226], [0236]-[0240], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270). Iwamoto does not appear to explicitly describe setting the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance.
Hori discloses setting the temperature of the intermediate portion to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included setting the temperature of the intermediate portion to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance as taught by Hori as the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in the target supply device as taught by Iwamoto since including setting the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance is commonly used to control the temperature of the target material in the target supply device as desired to facilitate handling the target substance (Hori, paras. [0095], [0147]).
Regarding claim 2, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses wherein, during a first predetermined period in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor maintains the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in a second temperature range lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater in a first temperature range higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270).
Regarding claim 3, although the first embodiment of Iwamoto as modified by Hori does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first predetermined period is 10 minutes or longer, a further embodiment of Iwamoto discloses wherein the first predetermined period is 10 minutes or longer (Iwamoto, Fig. 14, para. [0161], a time period is ten minutes or longer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the time period to obtain wherein the first predetermined period is 10 minutes or longer as taught by the further embodiment of Iwamoto as the length of the first predetermined period in the temperature lowering control in the target supply device as taught by Iwamoto as modified by Hori since including wherein the first predetermined period is 10 minutes or longer is commonly used to control the amount of dissolved oxygen and precipitation of metal oxide as desired (Iwamoto, paras. [0007], [0161]).
Regarding claim 4, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses wherein the target substance is tin (Iwamoto, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0092], [0099], [0103], [0132], target material 270 is tin), and
the first temperature range is a temperature range of 232°C or higher and 290°C or lower (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0138], [0143], [0160], [0200]-[0226], [0237], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270 in a range of 232°C to 290°C).
Regarding claim 5, although Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses wherein the target substance is tin (Iwamoto, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0092], [0099], [0103], [0132], target material 270 is tin) and discloses the second temperature range is a temperature range of less than a melting point (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0200]-[0223], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0087], [0096], [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance, which is 232°C), the first embodiment of Iwamoto as modified by Hori does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the second temperature range is a temperature range of 150°C or higher and 200°C or lower.
However, a further embodiment of Iwamoto discloses wherein a second temperature range is a temperature range of 150°C or higher and 200°C or lower (para. [0145], a temperature range is below the melting point in the range of 20°C to 220°C. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence demonstrating a difference across the range, the further embodiment of Iwamoto discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP 2131.03, subsection II. ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the second temperature range to a temperature range of 150°C or higher and 200°C or lower as taught by the further embodiment of Iwamoto as the second temperature range in the target supply device as taught by the first embodiment of Iwamoto as modified by Hori since including wherein a second temperature range is a temperature range of 150°C or higher and 200°C or lower is commonly used to facilitate precipitation of metal oxide (Iwamoto, para. [0145]).
Regarding claim 6, although Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses the second temperature range is a temperature range lower than the temperature of the first sub-heater (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0138], [0143], [0147], [0160], [0189], [0200]-[0226], [0236]-[0240], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 27, and the temperature of the heater 941C is in a range of 232°C to 290°C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0087], [0096], [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance, which is 232°C), the first embodiment of Iwamoto as modified by Hori does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the second temperature is a temperature range lower than the temperature of the first sub-heater by 100°C or more and 140°C or less.
A further embodiment of Iwamoto discloses wherein a second temperature range is a temperature range lower than a temperature by 100°C or more and 140°C or less (para. [0145], a temperature range is below the melting point in the range of 20°C to 220°C. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence demonstrating a difference across the range, the further embodiment of Iwamoto discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP 2131.03, subsection II. ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the second temperature range lower than a temperature by 100°C or more and 140°C or less as taught by the further embodiment of Iwamoto as the second temperature range lower than the temperature of the first sub-heater in the target supply device as taught by the first embodiment of Iwamoto as modified by Hori since including wherein the second temperature is a temperature range lower than the temperature of the first sub-heater by 100°C or more and 140°C or less is commonly used to facilitate precipitation of metal oxide (Iwamoto, para. [0145]).
Regarding claim 7, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses wherein the first temperature range is a temperature range lower than the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater when the target substance is output (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 8-12, 14-15, 21, 23-35, paras. [0064]-[0065], [0079], [0119]-[0121], [0132], [0138], [0143], [0150], [0160], [0194], [0200]-[0226], [0237], the temperature adjuster controls the temperature of the heaters 941C and 911C to be in a range lower than when the target droplet 27 is output at temperature TH in the range of 280° to 300°).
Regarding claim 8, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses wherein the temperature control processor adjusts a temperature lowering rate of the intermediate portion heater (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 8-12, 15, 23-35, paras. [0064], [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0137], [0143], [0147], [0189], [0200]-[0207], [0218]-[0226], [0237]-[0239], [0292]-[0293], target generating section 70C includes temperature adjuster 93C that controls the temperature change of the third heater 931C).
Regarding claim 15, Iwamoto discloses an extreme ultraviolet light generation apparatus (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, para. [0071], EUV light generation apparatus 1), comprising:
a chamber in which a target substance supplied to an internal space thereof is irradiated with laser light to generate extreme ultraviolet light (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0071]-[0076], a target supply device 7 supplies a target to inside chamber 2, and a laser beam 32 irradiates the target to produce EUV light); and
a target supply device (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, abstract, paras. [0071]-[0076], [0079], [0084]-[0092], target supply device 7A) configured to supply the target substance into the chamber (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, abstract, paras. [0071]-[0076], [0079], [0086]-[0092], the target material is supplied to the chamber 2 from target supply device 7A);
the target supply device including:
a tank main body portion configured to contain a target substance (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0086]-[0092], tank 84A contains target material 270);
an output portion configured to output the target substance (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0086]-[0092], nozzle 86A outputs target material 270 from nozzle head 82A);
an intermediate portion located between the tank main body portion and the output portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0201]-[0207], nozzle body 85A in third region AR3 is between the tank 84A and the nozzle head 82A);
a first main heater configured to heat the tank main body portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], first temperature adjuster 91C includes first heater 911C to heat the reservoir tank 84A);
a first sub-heater configured to heat the output portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], fourth temperature adjuster 94C includes heater 941C heating area AR4 with nozzle head 82A);
an intermediate portion heater configured to heat the intermediate portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], third temperature adjuster 93C includes heater 931C to heat nozzle body 85A in third region AR3); and
a temperature control processor configured to perform temperature lowering control of the first main heater, the first sub-heater, and the intermediate portion heater after output of the target substance is stopped (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0064], [0137], [0143], [0147], [0189], [0200]-[0207], [0292]-[0293], target generating section 70C includes temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C to control the heaters when output of the jet 27A is stopped to lower the temperature of the target material 270),
the temperature control processor setting, in the temperature lowering control, a temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature while setting each of a temperature of the first main heater and a temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0147], [0160]-[0161], [0189], [0200]-[0226], [0236]-[0240], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270). Iwamoto does not appear to explicitly describe setting the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance.
Hori discloses setting the temperature of the intermediate portion to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included setting the temperature of the intermediate portion to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance as taught by Hori as the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in the target supply device in the extreme ultraviolet light generation apparatus as taught by Iwamoto since including setting the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance is commonly used to control the temperature of the target material in the target supply device as desired to facilitate handling the target substance (Hori, paras. [0095], [0147]).
Regarding claim 16, Iwamoto discloses an electronic device manufacturing method (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35-36, paras. [0005], [0074], [0077], semiconductor devices are produced), comprising:
generating extreme ultraviolet light using an extreme ultraviolet light generation apparatus (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0071]-[0078], EUV light generation apparatus 1 generates EUV light);
outputting the extreme ultraviolet light to an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0071]-[0078], the EUV light is output to exposure apparatus 6); and
exposing the extreme ultraviolet light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture an electronic device (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0005], [0071]-[0078], the EUV light is output to exposure apparatus 6 to manufacture semiconductor devices);
the extreme ultraviolet light generation apparatus including:
a chamber in which a target substance supplied to an internal space thereof is irradiated with laser light to generate extreme ultraviolet light (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0071]-[0076], a target supply device 7 supplies a target to inside chamber 2, and a laser beam 32 irradiates the target to produce EUV light); and
a target supply device (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, abstract, paras. [0071]-[0076], [0079], [0084]-[0092], target supply device 7A) configured to supply the target substance into the chamber (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, abstract, paras. [0071]-[0076], [0079], [0086]-[0092], the target material is supplied to the chamber 2 from target supply device 7A);
the target supply device including:
a tank main body portion configured to contain a target substance (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0086]-[0092], tank 84A contains target material 270);
an output portion configured to output the target substance (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0079], [0086]-[0092], nozzle 86A outputs target material 270 from nozzle head 82A);
an intermediate portion located between the tank main body portion and the output portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0201]-[0207], nozzle body 85A in third region AR3 is between the tank 84A and the nozzle head 82A);
a first main heater configured to heat the tank main body portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], first temperature adjuster 91C includes first heater 911C to heat the reservoir tank 84A);
a first sub-heater configured to heat the output portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], fourth temperature adjuster 94C includes heater 941C heating area AR4 with nozzle head 82A);
an intermediate portion heater configured to heat the intermediate portion (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0086], [0088]-[0091], [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], third temperature adjuster 93C includes heater 931C to heat nozzle body 85A in third region AR3); and
a temperature control processor configured to perform temperature lowering control of the first main heater, the first sub-heater, and the intermediate portion heater after output of the target substance is stopped (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0064], [0137], [0143], [0147], [0189], [0200]-[0207], [0292]-[0293], target generating section 70C includes temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C to control the heaters when output of the jet 27A is stopped to lower the temperature of the target material 270),
the temperature control processor setting, in the temperature lowering control, a temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature while setting each of a temperature of the first main heater and a temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0147], [0160]-[0161], [0189], [0200]-[0226], [0236]-[0240], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270). Although Iwamoto discloses manufacturing an electronic device (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15, 24, 31, 35-36, paras. [0005], [0074], [0077], semiconductor devices are produced using an EUV exposure apparatus), Iwamoto does not appear to explicitly describe exposing a photosensitive substrate to the extreme ultraviolet light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture the electronic device, and Iwamoto does not appear to explicitly describe setting the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance.
Hori discloses exposing a photosensitive substrate to the extreme ultraviolet light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture the electronic device (Figs. 1 and 21, paras. [013], [0260]-[0261], the EUV light generation apparatus produces EUV light for exposure apparatus 6 to expose a photosensitive substrate with a mask pattern to manufacture an electronic device), and
setting the temperature of the intermediate portion to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance (Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included exposing a photosensitive substrate to the extreme ultraviolet light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture the electronic device as taught by Hori in the electronic device manufacturing method as taught by Iwamoto since including exposing a photosensitive substrate to the extreme ultraviolet light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture the electronic device is commonly used to transfer a device pattern from a mask onto a substrate to effectively mass-produce semiconductor devices. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included setting the temperature of the intermediate portion to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance as taught by Hori as the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in the target supply device in the extreme ultraviolet light generation apparatus as taught by Iwamoto since including setting the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than a melting point of the target substance is commonly used to control the temperature of the target material in the target supply device as desired to facilitate handling the target substance (Hori, paras. [0095], [0147]).
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto as modified by Hori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yabu et al. (US PGPub 2013/0209077, Yabu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21-24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while setting each of the temperature of the first main heater, the temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270), and then sets the temperature while setting each of the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270). Iwamoto as modified by Hori does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion, wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance, and then sets the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance.
Yabu discloses a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion (Figs. 2-4, 10, 14-16, paras. [0053]-[0060], [0142], [0195], [0213], second heater 92A, 92C, 92D, 92E heats nozzle 712 away from the output region of the nozzle),
wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0031], [0053]-[0060], [0073]-[0076], [0089], [0093], [0098]-[0099], [0142], [0160], [0183], [0195], [0213], the temperature control unit 96A, 96C controls the second heater is set to a target temperature greater than the melting point), and then sets the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance (Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0133]-[0135], [0138], [0142], [0182]-[0189], the temperature control unit 96B, 96C controls the second heater to stop the heater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion, wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance, and then sets the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance as taught by Yabu in the target supply device with the temperature lowering control and the temperature control processor controlling the first main heater, the intermediate portion heater, and the first sub-heater as taught by Iwamoto as modified by Hori since including a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion, wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance, and then sets the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance is commonly used to control the temperature of the target material as desired to suppress separation and buildup of oxidants at the nozzle (Yabu, para. [0138], [0187]).
Regarding claim 10, Iwamoto as modified by Hori in view of Yabu discloses wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor, during a second predetermined period, maintains the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in a second temperature range lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater, the temperature of the first sub-heater and the temperature of the second sub-heater in a first temperature range higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270, and as modified by Yabu, Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0031], [0053]-[0060], [0073]-[0076], [0089], [0093], [0098]-[0099], [0142], [0160], [0183], [0195], [0213], the temperature control unit 96A, 96C controls the second heater is set to a target temperature greater than the melting point), and then, during a third predetermined period, maintains the temperature of the second sub-heater in the second temperature range while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater in the first temperature range (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0223], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270, and as modified by Yabu, Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0133]-[0135], [0138], [0142], [0182]-[0189], the temperature control unit 96B, 96C controls the second heater to stop the heater).
Regarding claim 11, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses a second main heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first main heater and configured to heat the tank main body portion (Iwamoto, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], second temperature adjuster 92C includes second heater 921C to heat the reservoir tank 84A),
wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0200]-[0223], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while setting each of the temperature of the first main heater, the temperature of the first sub-heater, and a temperature of the second main heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C, 921C, 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270), and then sets the temperature while setting each of the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C, 921C, and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270). Iwamoto as modified by Hori does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion, wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance, and then sets each of the temperature of the second main heater and the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance.
Yabu discloses a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion (Figs. 2-4, 10, 14-16, paras. [0053]-[0060], [0142], [0195], [0213], second heater 92A, 92C, 92D, 92E heats nozzle 712 away from the output region of the nozzle), and
a second main heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first main heater and configured to heat the tank main body portion (Figs. 2-4, 10, 14-16, paras. [0053]-[0060], [0142], [0145]-[0147], third heater 93A or fourth heater 94A, heating unit 94C heat the tank 711),
wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second main heater and a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0031], [0053]-[0060], [0073]-[0076], [0089], [0093], [0098]-[0099], [0142], [0160], [0183], [0195], [0213], the temperature control unit 96A, 96C controls the second heater 92A, 92C, 92D, 92E, third heater 93A, and fourth heater 94A and low heating unit 94C to set a target temperature greater than the melting point), and then sets each of the temperature of the second main heater and the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance (Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0133]-[0135], [0138], [0142], [0182]-[0189], the temperature control unit 96B, 96C controls the heaters to stop the heaters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion, wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance, and then sets each of the temperature of the second main heater and the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance as taught by Yabu in the target supply device with the temperature lowering control and the temperature control processor controlling the first main heater, the intermediate portion heater, the first sub-heater, and the second main heater as taught by Iwamoto as modified by Hori since including a second sub-heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first sub-heater and configured to heat the output portion, wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance, and then sets each of the temperature of the second main heater and the temperature of the second sub-heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance is commonly used to control the temperature of the target material as desired to suppress separation and buildup of oxidants at the nozzle (Yabu, para. [0138], [0187]).
Regarding claim 12, Iwamoto as modified by Hori in view of Yabu discloses wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor, during a second predetermined period, maintains the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in a second temperature range lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater, the temperature of the second main heater, the temperature of the first sub-heater, and the temperature of the second sub-heater in a first temperature range higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C, 921C, 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270, and as modified by Yabu, Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0031], [0053]-[0060], [0073]-[0076], [0089], [0093], [0098]-[0099], [0142], [0160], [0183], [0195], [0213], the temperature control unit 96A, 96C controls the second heater is set to a target temperature greater than the melting point), and then, during a third predetermined period, maintains the temperature of the second main heater and the temperature of the second sub-heater in the second temperature range while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater in the first temperature range (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0223], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270, and as modified by Yabu, Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0133]-[0135], [0138], [0142], [0182]-[0189], the temperature control unit 96B, 96C controls the heaters to stop the heaters).
Regarding claim 13, Iwamoto as modified by Hori discloses a second main heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first main heater and configured to heat the tank main body portion (Iwamoto, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 15, 24, 31, 35, paras. [0143], [0202]-[0207], [0292], second temperature adjuster 92C includes second heater 921C to heat the reservoir tank 84A),
wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets the temperature of the intermediate portion heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0200]-[0223], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while setting each of the temperature of the first main heater, a temperature of the second main heater, and the temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C, 921C, 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270), and then sets the temperature while setting each of the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater to a temperature higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C, 921C, and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270). Iwamoto as modified by Hori does not appear to explicitly describe setting the temperature of the second main heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance.
Yabu discloses a second main heater located closer to the intermediate portion than the first main heater and configured to heat the tank main body portion (Figs. 2-4, 10, 14-16, paras. [0053]-[0060], [0142], [0145]-[0147], third heater 93A or fourth heater 94A, heating unit 94C heat the tank 711),
wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor sets a temperature of the second main heater (Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0031], [0053]-[0060], [0073]-[0076], [0089], [0093], [0098]-[0099], [0142], [0160], [0183], [0195], [0213], the temperature control unit 96A, 96C controls the second heater 92A, 92C, 92D, 92E, third heater 93A, and fourth heater 94A and low heating unit 94C to set a target temperature greater than the melting point), and then sets the temperature of the second main heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance (Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0133]-[0135], [0138], [0142], [0182]-[0189], the temperature control unit 96B, 96C controls the heaters to stop the heaters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included then sets the temperature of the second main heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance as taught by Yabu in the target supply device with the temperature lowering control and the temperature control processor controlling the first main heater, the intermediate portion heater, the first sub-heater, and the second main heater as taught by Iwamoto as modified by Hori since including setting the temperature of the second main heater to a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance is commonly used to control the temperature of the target material as desired to suppress separation and buildup of oxidants at the nozzle (Yabu, para. [0138], [0187]).
Regarding claim 14, Iwamoto as modified by Hori in view of Yabu discloses wherein, in the temperature lowering control, the temperature control processor maintains, during a second predetermined period, the temperature of the intermediate portion heater in a second temperature range lower than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C, and as modified by Hori, Figs. 1-3, paras. [0098], [0147], chamber C2 is arranged to have a temperature lower than the melting point of the target substance) while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater, the temperature of the second main heater, and the temperature of the first sub-heater in a first temperature range higher than the melting point of the target substance (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0226], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C, 921C, 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270), and then, during a third predetermined period, maintains the temperature of the second main heater in the second temperature range while maintaining the temperature of the first main heater and the temperature of the first sub-heater in the first temperature range (Iwamoto, Figs, 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 24-35, paras. [0132], [0143], [0160]-[0161], [0200]-[0223], the temperature adjusters 91C, 92C, 93C, and 94C are controlled to set the heaters 941C and 911C above the melting point temperature of target material 270, and as modified by Yabu, Figs. 2-4, 8-10, 14-16, paras. [0133]-[0135], [0138], [0142], [0182]-[0189], the temperature control unit 96B, 96C controls the heaters to stop the heaters).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iwamoto et al. (US PGPub 2020/0341383) discloses multiple heaters for a target supply device.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882