Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/173,779 filed on April 08, 2025 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2025 and 09/07/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795).
Regarding claim 1, Crippa discloses a probing tool apparatus (figs 1-9c), comprising: a frame (21); one or more conductive input points (22) on the frame; an elastic element (abstract discloses made of a conductive elastomer) coupled to the frame; and one or more contact probe pads (26 including 23) coupled to the elastic element and connected to the one or more conductive input points (shown when pressed), wherein the one or more contact probe pads are arranged to be aligned with a plurality of substrate pads (24) of a semiconductor substrate (25) (shown in fig 2 where the pads are aligned with the pads of the semiconductor).
Regarding claim 2, Crippa discloses wherein the one or more contact probe pads include a distal end, the distal end comprising a flat or planar contact surface disposed to contact a top surface of an underlying substrate pad (top surface of 24) of the plurality of substrate pads (shown in fig 2 as 23 contacting 24 with a flat surface).
Regarding claim 4, Crippa discloses wherein the elastic element is a layer of elastomer attached to the frame (par 37 discloses conductive elastomer attached to the support).
Regarding claim 5, Crippa discloses wherein individual sections of the elastomer layer are configured to flex in response to an individual contact probe pad of the one or more contact probe pads coming into contact with a top surface of an underlying substrate pad of the plurality of substrate pads (pars 74-75 discloses elastomer material which can be silicon. Therefore, would be configured to flex for each individual contact probe).
Regarding claim 12, Crippa discloses a probing tool apparatus (figs 1-9c), comprising: a probe card (shown in at least fig 2 and 6); a plurality of probe pins (23) coupled to the probe card, wherein the plurality of probe pins are arranged to be able to be aligned with a plurality of substrate pads (34) of a substrate (25); a conductive interface device (20) configured for placement between the plurality of probe pins and the plurality of the substrate pads (between based on orientation and when 23 is pushed towards 24); and a plurality of conductive contact probe pads (26) in the conductive interface device, wherein a substrate facing side of the plurality of conductive contact probe pads (towards bottom as in fig 6) is positioned to contact the plurality of the substrate pads and a probe card side of the plurality of conductive contact probe pads (top side of fig 6) is positioned to interface with the plurality of probe pins (shown in fig 6 as bottom contacting the substrate and the top interacting with the probe pad).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795).
Regarding claim 3, Crippa does not fully disclose wherein the one or more contact probe pads include a distal end, the distal end comprising rounded corners.
However, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein the one or more contact probe pads include a distal end, the distal end comprising rounded corners in order to be able to deal with uneven shapes of the surface of the DUT. Since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to change the shape of the device. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 14, Crippa does not fully disclose wherein rounded corners on the plurality of conductive contact probe pads.
However, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein rounded corners on the plurality of conductive contact probe pads in order to be able to deal with uneven shapes of the surface of the DUT. Since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to change the shape of the device. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 6-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795) in view of Chen et al (USPGPub 20170082656).
Regarding claim 6, Crippa does not fully disclose comprising one or more flexible wires coupled between the one or more conductive input points and the one or more contact probe pads.
However, Chen discloses comprising one or more flexible wires coupled between the one or more conductive input points and the one or more contact probe pads (par 27 and fig 4 shows 31 as a flexible springs further contact probe pads).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Chen in order to properly align and press against the pads.
Regarding claim 7, Crippa does not fully disclose one or more flexible wires or springs coupled between an upper portion of the frame and a lower portion of the frame.
However, Chen discloses one or more flexible wires or springs coupled between an upper portion of the frame and a lower portion of the frame (par 27 and fig 4 shows 31 as a flexible springs further contact probe pads).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Chen in order to properly align and press against the pads.
Regarding claim 8, Crippa does not fully disclose comprising a cobra probe coupled to the one or more contact probe pads.
However, Chen discloses comprising a cobra probe coupled to the one or more contact probe pads (par 27 and fig 4 shows 31 as a cobra probe connected to the probe pads).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Chen in order to properly align and press against the pads.
Regarding claim 15, Crippa does not fully disclose comprising one or more flexible wires in the conductive interface device coupled to the plurality of conductive contact probe pads, wherein the flexible wires flex unevenly as different ones of the plurality of conductive contact probe pads contact different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads at different times when the different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads have different height profiles above a top surface of the substrate.
However, Chen discloses comprising one or more flexible wires in the conductive interface device coupled to the plurality of conductive contact probe pads, wherein the flexible wires flex unevenly as different ones of the plurality of conductive contact probe pads contact different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads at different times when the different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads have different height profiles above a top surface of the substrate (par 27 and fig 4 shows 31 as a flexible springs further contact probe pads).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Chen in order to properly align and press against the pads.
Claims 9, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795) in view of Komatsu et al (USPGPub 20110234251).
Regarding claim 9, Crippa does not fully disclose wherein: the one or more contact probe pads include a top contact pad and a bottom contact pad; and the elastic element is disposed between the top contact pad and the bottom contact pad.
However, Komatsu discloses wherein: the one or more contact probe pads include a top contact pad (70a) and a bottom contact pad (70b); and the elastic element (using 41 and 42) is disposed between the top contact pad and the bottom contact pad (shown in fig 3 as between the pad). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Komatsu in order to press the probe against the semiconductor.
Regarding claim 10, Crippa does not fully disclose comprising low-force probes coupled to the one or more conductive input points, wherein the one or more contact probe pads are arranged in between the low-force probes and the plurality of substrate pads.
However, Komatsu discloses comprising low-force probes coupled to the one or more conductive input points, wherein the one or more contact probe pads are arranged in between the low-force probes and the plurality of substrate pads (par 81 discloses applying force to compress layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Komatsu in order to press the probe against the semiconductor.
Regarding claim 16, Crippa does not fully disclose comprising low-force probes in the conductive interface, and wherein the plurality of conductive contact probe pads are arranged in between the low-force probes and the plurality of the substrate pads.
However, Komatsu discloses comprising low-force probes in the conductive interface, and wherein the plurality of conductive contact probe pads are arranged in between the low-force probes and the plurality of the substrate pads (par 81 discloses applying force to compress layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Komatsu in order to press the probe against the semiconductor.
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795) in view of Bernabe et al (USPGpub 20200174067).
Regarding claim 11, Crippa does not fully disclose wherein micropillar probes coupled to the one or more conductive input points, wherein the one or more contact probe pads are arranged in between the micropillar probes and the plurality of substrate pads.
However, Bernabe discloses micropillar probes coupled to the one or more conductive input points, wherein the one or more contact probe pads are arranged in between the micropillar probes and the plurality of substrate pad (par 52 discloses micropillars with test circuits). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Bernabe in order to determine properties of the semiconductor with a bunch of portions.
Regarding claim 17, Crippa does not fully disclose wherein micropillar probes in the conductive interface, and wherein the plurality of conductive contact probe pads are arranged in between the micropillar probes and the plurality of the substrate pads.
However, Bernabe discloses micropillar probes in the conductive interface, and wherein the plurality of conductive contact probe pads are arranged in between the micropillar probes and the plurality of the substrate pads (par 52 discloses micropillars with test circuits). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Bernabe in order to determine properties of the semiconductor with a bunch of portions.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795) in view of Bauer et al (US Pat No. 3676776).
Regarding claim 13, Crippa discloses an elastic element in the conductive interface device, configured to flex unevenly as different ones of the plurality of conductive contact probe pads contact different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads at different times when the different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads have different height profiles above a top surface of the substrate.
However, Bauer discloses an elastic element in the conductive interface device, configured to flex unevenly as different ones of the plurality of conductive contact probe pads contact different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads at different times when the different ones of the plurality of the substrate pads have different height profiles above a top surface of the substrate (claim 1 discloses flexible portions to sliding and movable probe in an electrical testing apparatus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Bauer in order to deal with minor deviations of a DUT.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795) in view of Ahn et al (USPGPub 20220056606).
Regarding claim 18, Crippa discloses a method of protecting pads (24) on a substrate (25) during a probing session, comprising: positioning a conductive interface device (20), including one or more conductive contact probe pads (26), in alignment with the pads on the substrate (shown in figs 2 and 6); coupling a probe card (shown in at least fig 2 and fig 6) including one or more probe pins (23) to the conductive interface device, wherein the conductive interface device is positioned in between the probe card and the pads on the substrate (shown in figs 2 and 6 as being aligned); moving the probe card into a probing position with the pads on the substrate (such as up and down); contacting the one or more conductive contact probe pads with the probe pins from a first side of the one or more conductive contact probe pads (contacting from the top side as shown in the figs); and contacting the pads on the substrate with the layer of oxide removed, with the one or more conductive contact probe pads, from a second side of the one or more conductive contact probe pads (contacting with bottom side of 23). Crippa does not fully disclose removing a layer of oxide from a top surface of the pads on the substrate.
However, Ahn discloses removing a layer of oxide from a top surface of the pads on the substrate (par 117 discloses removing oxide from a layer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Ahn in order to reduce contact resistance (Ahn par 117).
Regarding claim 19, Crippa discloses flexing a layer of a frame (21) in the conductive interface device as the pads on the substrate are contacted by the one or more conductive contact probe pads (shown in fig 7Athat 36 can be flexible to flex a layer in the frame).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crippa et al (USPGPub 20200200795) in view of Ahn et al (USPGPub 20220056606) in further view of Bauer et al (US Pat No. 3676776).
Regarding claim 20, Crippa in view of Ahn does not fully disclose unevenly flexing an element in the conductive interface device as the pads on the substrate are contacted by the one or more conductive contact probe pads.
However, Bauer discloses unevenly flexing an element in the conductive interface device as the pads on the substrate are contacted by the one or more conductive contact probe pads (claim 1 discloses flexible portions to slide and movable. Therefore, would unevenly flexing an element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Crippa in view of Ahn in further view of Bauer in order to not have minor deviations affect operation.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abe et al (USPGpub 20230408547): discloses probe card with insulating probe card.
Maurer et al (USPGPub 20210242148): discloses semiconductor device with alignment pads.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858