DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 2015/0312588).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a method for decoding a slice in a coded picture from a bitstream (see 10 in fig. 1; see fig. 32), the method comprising: determining whether the coded picture may contain inter coded slices or not based on a first syntax element decoded from the bitstream (see “slice_type” in fig. 32); determining whether the coded picture may contain bi-directional inter coded slices or not based on a third syntax element decoded from the bitstream (see “inter_pred_flag” in fig. 32); if the coded picture may contain inter coded slices and the coded picture may contain bi-directional inter coded slices (see fig. 31 for determining coded picture may contain inter and bi-directional in fig. 32), obtaining a parameter value by decoding a fourth syntax element included in the bitstream (see content of “Pred_BI” in figs. 31 and 32), otherwise obtaining the parameter value by inferring a value for the fourth syntax element (see content of “Pred_L0” in figs. 31 and 32); and decoding the slice of the coded picture using the parameter value (see 10 in fig. 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the fourth syntax element is a collocated from L0 flag (see content of “Pred_L0” in figs. 31 and 32).
Regarding claim 6, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 7, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 8, the claim(s) recite a method of encoding (see fig. 25) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 9, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 8, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the first syntax element and the third syntax element are decoded from a syntax structure in the bitstream (see fig. 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Yamamoto discloses wherein inferring a value for the fourth syntax element comprises inferring: (i) the collocated from L0 flag as equal to 1 (see “inferred” in fig. 32, although not clearly shown, it is obvious that a “0” or “1” would be flag value).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Yamamoto further discloses wherein the syntax structure is present in a picture header network abstraction layer (NAL) unit of the coded picture or in a slice header of the coded picture.
Although it is not explicitly recited, it is conventional in the art for syntax structure is present in a picture header network abstraction layer (NAL) unit of the coded picture or in a slice header of the coded picture. The Examiner takes official notice that syntax structure is present in a picture header network abstraction layer (NAL) unit of the coded picture or in a slice header of the coded picture is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made incorporate the syntax structure is present in a picture header network abstraction layer (NAL) unit of the coded picture or in a slice header of the coded picture for the benefit of compatibility with industries standard video header structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 5 discloses wherein the method further comprises, after determining that the coded picture may contain inter coded slices, decoding from the bitstream a second syntax element indicating whether or not the coded picture may contain intra coded slices, the first syntax element is ph_inter_slice_allowed_flag, and the second syntax element is ph_intra_slice_allowed_flag.
The closest prior art Yamamoto fails to anticipate or render the above underlined limitation obvious.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Laroche et al. (US 2023/0065112), discloses high level syntax for video coding.
2. Deng et al. (US 2022/0400256), discloses coding syntax for inter and intra mode.
3. Wang et al. (US 2025/0240455), discloses coding syntax for inter and intra mode.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485