Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 5-8, a comma should be added after the claim numbers (e.g., The method of claim 4, wherein) to improve clarity.
In claim 8, the limitation “wherein powder mixture” should be amended to read “wherein the powder mixture” to clarify that the recited powder mixture is the powder mixture of claim 1 and not a different powder mixture.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (JP 2011214039 A) in view of Lo (US 6299831 B1), Nishihara (US 20100151179 A1), Ivanov (US 20070243095 A1), and Morales (US 20060201589 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa (JP 2011214039 A) teaches forming a sputtering target comprising a main element of cobalt (Co) and an additional element of niobium (Nb) (cobalt-niobium sputtering target) by powder metallurgy where Nb may be present in 1 at% with the remainder cobalt and impurities, where the powder mixture may be formed into a target by hot isostatic pressing, wherein the target may be heated to a temperature of 800°C (para 0009, 0011, 0013-0015, Table 1-1 – Example 21).
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach hot pressing the powder mixture at 800 to 1250 °C at a hydraulic pressure of 2 to 5 ksi and for a hold time of 2 to 5 hours to form a sputtering target having a density of at least 95%. However, Lo (US 6299831 B1), in the analogous art of sputtering targets, teaches that a metal alloy sputtering target may be formed by hot uniaxial pressing as an alternative to hot isostatic pressing, where the hot uniaxial pressing may include blending the raw material powders and then pressing them at a temperature from 950 to 1050°C and a pressure of 1 to 4 ksi for a duration (hold time) of 1-8 hours to produce a target having a density of at least 90% in order to reduce defect generation (col 1 line 61-67, col 2 line 1-22, col 3 line 33-52, col 4 line 5-15). Additionally, Nishihara (US 20100151179 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering targets, teaches that metal alloy sputtering targets preferably have a high density to form a film at a higher speed and with reduced variations/defects, wherein a high density may be achieved by optimizing the conditions of pressure, temperature, and time of a hot pressing process (para 0283-0285). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hot pressing method of Hasegawa with a hot uniaxial pressing method having a pressing temperature from 950 to 1050°C (800 to about 1250°C), pressure of 1 to 4 ksi, and duration of 1-8 hours, as described by Lo in order to produce a target with a high target density of at least 90% and thus improve film deposition speed and reduce defect generation.
The combination of Hasegawa, Lo, and Nishihara fails to explicitly teach a pressure of 2 ksi to about 5 ksi and a hold time of about 2 hours to about 5 hours. However, one would have expected the use of any values within the Lo ranges to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 1 to 4 ksi and 1-8 hours, including values within the claimed ranges, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details. Alternatively, Nishihara describes that the temperature, pressure, and time of hot pressing influence the density of the sputtering target produced (para 00285), thus recognizing the temperature, pressure, and time as result-effective variables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum or workable ranges of temperature, pressure, and time of hot pressing Co-Nb targets by routine optimization, which can include a temperature within 800 to 1250°C, a pressure within 2 ksi to about 5 ksi, and a hold time of about 2 hours to about 5 hours. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
The combination of Hasegawa, Lo, and Nishihara fails to explicitly teach the target has a density of at least 95%. However, Ivanov (US 20070243095 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering targets, teaches that a metal alloy sputtering target may be formed from metal powders via hot pressing to have a density of at least 95% and may be further increased to at least 99% density by thermomechanical rolling, wherein lower density targets result in contamination/impurities in the film and undesirable electrical properties of the deposited film (para 0004-0006, 0011, 0013, 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the operating parameters of hot pressing, as described in Nishihara, and performing thermomechanical rolling of the targets after hot pressing to increase the density to at least 99% in order to minimize contamination and improve film quality.
The combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, and Ivanov fails to explicitly teach the pressure applied during hot pressing is “hydraulic pressure”. However, Morales (US 20060201589 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering targets, teaches that a vacuum hot press may use hydraulic pressure to compact the powder (para 0038-0041). Lo teaches the hot pressing may be performed in a vacuum hot press machine (col 3 line 45-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pressure type/method of Lo with a hydraulic pressure, as described by Morales, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of compacting/pressing the powders into a target material. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 2, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales fails to explicitly teach the niobium powder has a purity of about 3N5 to about 5N. However, Ivanov teaches that the purity of each metal powder may be at least 5N (3N5 to 5N) (para 0006, 0010). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the niobium powder used in forming the CoNb target of Hasegawa with a niobium powder having a purity of 5N in order to reduce contamination/impurities in the film and because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of forming a sputtering target. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 3, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales fails to explicitly teach the cobalt powder has a purity of about 3N5 to about 5N. However, Ivanov teaches that the purity of each metal powder may be at least 5N (3N5 to 5N) (para 0006, 0010). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cobalt powder used in forming the CoNb target of Hasegawa with a cobalt powder having a purity of 5N in order to reduce contamination/impurities in the film and because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of forming a sputtering target. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 4, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales teaches hot pressing at a temperature of 950 to 1050°C (Lo col 2 line 12-22, col 3 line 45-52) but fails to explicitly teach a temperature of 1000 to 1250°C. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lo range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 950 to 1050°C, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details. Alternatively, Nishihara describes that the temperature, pressure, and time of hot pressing influence the density of the sputtering target produced (para 00285), thus recognizing the hot press temperature as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum or workable ranges of temperature of hot pressing Co-Nb targets by routine optimization, which can include a temperature within 1000 to 1250°C. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 5, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales teaches hot pressing at a pressure of 1 to 4 ksi (Lo col 2 line 12-22, col 3 line 45-52) but fails to explicitly teach a pressure of 2.5 to about 4 ksi. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lo range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 1 to 4 ksi, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details. Alternatively, Nishihara describes that the temperature, pressure, and time of hot pressing influence the density of the sputtering target produced (para 00285), thus recognizing the hot press pressure as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum or workable ranges of pressure of hot pressing Co-Nb targets by routine optimization, which can include a pressure within 2.5 to 4 ksi. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 6, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales teaches hot pressing for a duration/hold time of 1-8 hours (Lo col 2 line 12-22, col 3 line 45-52) but fails to explicitly teach a hold time of 2 to 4 hours. However, one would have expected the use of any value within the Lo range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 1 to 8 hours, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details. Alternatively, Nishihara describes that the temperature, pressure, and time of hot pressing influence the density of the sputtering target produced (para 00285), thus recognizing the hot press duration/time as a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum or workable ranges of duration of hot pressing Co-Nb targets by routine optimization, which can include a hold time of 2 to 4 hours. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 7, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales teaches the target may be formed to have a density of at least 99% by thermomechanical rolling (Ivanov para 0004-0006, 0011, 0013, 0023).
Regarding claim 8, the previous combination of Hasegawa, Lo, Nishihara, Ivanov, and Morales fails to explicitly teach the powder mixture contains 10 to 20 at% niobium and the remainder cobalt and impurities. However, Hasegawa teaches the target may contain a main element selected from Fe, Co, and Ni with a total content of at least 60 at% where the remainder of the target contains unavoidable impurities and at least one element selected from a group including niobium/Nb (para 0009, 0011), thus teaching an embodiment of a target and associated powder mixture including Co of 60 at% or more and the remainder Nb and impurities, which equates to an Nb content in the powder mixture of less than or equal to about 40 at%. Though the aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach the niobium content in the powder mixture is 10 to 20 at%, one skilled in the art would have expected the use of any values within the Hasegawa range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values from about 1 to 40 at% Nb, including values within the claimed ranges, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Michaluk (US 20040186810 A1) teaches powders for making a sputtering target may include niobium and cobalt metal and may have a purity of 99.95 (3N5) to 99.999 (5N).
/PATRICK S OTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1794