DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220147212 A1, hereafter Kim) in view of Zeng et al. (US 20240393897 A1, hereafter Zeng).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an input sensing part comprising:
a base layer including an active area (AA) and a peripheral area (NAA) disposed adjacent to the active area (Fig. 5A, [0113], where the sensing electrodes are in the active region AA and there is a peripheral region NAA);
first sensing electrodes (TE1) arranged in the active area and extending in a first direction (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are first touch electrodes TE1);
second sensing electrodes (TE2) arranged in the active area and extending in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are second touch electrodes TE2);
first pen sensing electrodes (PE1) arranged in the active area, extending in the first direction, and insulated from the first sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are first pen electrodes PE1);
second pen sensing electrodes (PE2) arranged in the active area, extending in the second direction, and insulated from the second sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are second pen electrodes PE2); and
a pen sensing line connected to the first pen sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0125], where third signal line SL3 is connected to first pen electrode PE1).
But, Kim does not teach the input sensing part further comprising an additional electrode insulated from the pen sensing line and overlapping at least a portion of the pen sensing line in a plan view. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Zeng (Figs. 5 and 6, [0070], where there are touch type leads in the peripheral region S; Figs. 7, 8, 10, and 12, [0136]-[0140], where there is shielding region Sr comprising an insulating layer 4 that overlaps the touch lead L1). Both Kim and Zeng teach touch-sensing devices including stylus sensing. Kim is silent with respect to the inclusion of a shielding region overlapping the pen sensing electrode leads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the shielding region Sr as taught by Zeng to the device of Kim so as to improve signal strength.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 1. Zeng in the combination further teaches the input sensing part wherein a reference voltage is applied to the additional electrode (Fig. 7, [0139]-[0140], the insulating layer 4 being directly adjacent to a grounding line 42 having ground applied).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 1. Zeng in the combination further teaches the input sensing part comprising a guard line arranged in the peripheral area and at least partially surrounding the active area, wherein the additional electrode is connected to the guard line (Figs. 7, 8, 10, and 12, [0136]-[0140], where the insulating layer 4 is directly adjacent to the shielding line 41, the shielding line 41 surrounding the active area).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 3. Zeng in the combination further teaches the input sensing part wherein a reference voltage is applied to the guard line ([0136]-[0140], where the shielding line has a voltage to prevent signal interference).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 1. Kim in the combination teaches the input sensing part further comprising a first conductive pattern formed on the base layer; and a second conductive pattern formed on the first conductive pattern, wherein the first conductive pattern forms the pen sensing line, and the second conductive pattern forms the additional electrode (Fig. 4, [0106], where the input sensor ISP is formed in a non-emission region NPXA and comprises first conductive layer ICL1 and second conductive layer ICL2; Figs. 4 and 5A, [0113], where the input sensor ISP may include a plurality of sensing electrodes SE).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 5. Kim in the combination teaches the input sensing part further comprising a first insulating layer arranged between the at least a portion of the pen sensing line and the additional electrode (Fig. 4, [0106], where there is a sensing dielectric layer IIL2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 6. Kim in the combination teaches the input sensing part wherein the first insulating layer is an inorganic insulating layer ([0110], where the sensing dielectric layer IIL2 includes an inorganic layer).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 5. Kim in the combination further teaches the input sensing part wherein the first conductive pattern forms at least one of the first pen sensing electrodes and the second pen sensing electrodes (Figs. 4 and 5A, [0106], [0113]-[0116], where the ISP includes the sensing electrodes SE which in turn include the first electrode PE that is a pen electrode).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 8. Kim in the combination further teaches the input sensing part wherein the second conductive pattern forms at least one of the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes (Figs. 4 and 5A, [0106], [0113]-[0116], where the ISP includes the sensing electrodes SE which in turn include the first electrode PE that is a pen electrode).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 9. Kim in the combination further teaches the input sensing part comprising an insulating layer arranged between the first pen sensing electrodes and the second pen sensing electrodes and between the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes, wherein the insulating layer is an organic insulating layer (Fig. 4, [0106], where there is a sensing dielectric layer IIL2; [0111], where the sensing dielectric layer IIL2 includes an organic layer).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 9. Kim in the combination further teaches the input sensing part comprising: a first insulating layer arranged between the at least a portion of the pen sensing line and the additional electrode (Fig. 4, [0106], [0110]-[0111], where there is a cover dielectric layer situated between adjacent elements ICL2); and a second insulating layer arranged between the first pen sensing electrodes and the second pen sensing electrodes and between the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes (Fig. 4, [0106]-[0107], where the dielectric layer IIL2/IIL1 isolates the sensing electrodes from each other) wherein a thickness of the first sensing layer including the at least a portion of the pen sensing line, the additional electrode, and the first insulating layer is less than a thickness of the second sensing layer including the first pen sensing electrodes and the second pen sensing electrodes, the first sensing electrodes and the second sensing electrodes, and the second insulating layer (Fig. 4, where the combined layers IIL2 and IIL1 are thicker than IIL3).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 1. Kim in the combination further teaches the input sensing part comprising a pad connected to at least one of the first pen sensing electrodes, wherein the pad is disposed on one side of the active area to be spaced apart from the active area and the pen sensing line is disposed on another side which opposes the one side of the active area and connected to the first pen sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0113], [0124], where the signal line SL3 is connected to the first pen electrode PE1 and connects to a terminal disposed on one side of the active area AA, the line SL3 being disposed on a different side than the pad).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 1. Kim in the combination teaches the input sensing part further comprising a peripheral pen sensing electrode arranged in the peripheral area and connected to the pen sensing line (Fig. 5A, [0125], a portion of the line SL3 connected to first pen electrode PE1 being reasonably considered as a peripheral pen sensing electrode).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Zeng would the input sensing part of claim 13. Kim in the combination teaches the input sensing part further comprising a first conductive pattern formed on the base layer (Fig. 5A, [0106]-[0108], where the first conductive layer ICL2 is on base layer IIL1); and a second conductive pattern formed on the first conductive pattern, wherein the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern form the peripheral pen sensing electrode (Fig. 5A, [0106]-[0108], [0118]-[0119], where ICL2 is formed on ICL1, part of the ISP comprising PE1 and PE2).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the input sensing part of claim 14. Kim in the combination teaches the input sensing part wherein the first conductive pattern forming the peripheral pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the second conductive pattern forming the peripheral pen sensing electrode (Fig. 4, where there exists an electrical connection between ICL1 and ICL2 through IIL2).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 1B, [0058], where there is a display panel DP); and
an input sensing part arranged on the display panel,
wherein the input sensing part comprises:
a base layer including an active area (AA) and a peripheral area (NAA) disposed adjacent to the active area (Fig. 5A, [0113], where the sensing electrodes are in the active region AA and there is a peripheral region NAA);
first sensing electrodes (TE1) arranged in the active area and extending in a first direction (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are first touch electrodes TE1);
second sensing electrodes (TE2) arranged in the active area and extending in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are second touch electrodes TE2);
first pen sensing electrodes (PE1) arranged in the active area, extending in the first direction, and insulated from the first sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0118], where there are first pen electrodes PE1);
second pen sensing electrodes (PE2) arranged in the active area, extending in the second direction, and insulated from the second sensing electrodes; and
a pen sensing line connected to the first pen sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0125], where third signal line SL3 is connected to first pen electrode PE1).
But, Kim does not teach the input sensing part further comprising an additional electrode insulated from the pen sensing line and overlapping at least a portion of the pen sensing line in a plan view. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Zeng (Figs. 5 and 6, [0070], where there are touch type leads in the peripheral region S; Figs. 7, 8, 10, and 12, [0136]-[0140], where there is shielding region Sr comprising an insulating layer 4 that overlaps the touch lead L1). Both Kim and Zeng teach touch-sensing devices including stylus sensing. Kim is silent with respect to the inclusion of a shielding region overlapping the pen sensing electrode leads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the shielding region Sr as taught by Zeng to the device of Kim so as to improve signal strength.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the display device of claim 16. Kim teaches the display device further comprising a touch circuit configured to drive the input sensing part and electrically connected to a pad of the input sensing part (Fig. 3, [0072]-[0074], where there is a sensor controller 100 that drives the input sensing electrodes), wherein the pad is disposed on one side of the active area to be spaced apart from the active area and the pen sensing line is disposed on another side which opposes the one side of the active area and connected to the first pen sensing electrodes (Fig. 5A, [0113], [0124], where the signal line SL3 is connected to the first pen electrode PE1 and connects to a terminal disposed on one side of the active area AA, the line SL3 being disposed on a different side than the pad).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the display device of claim 16. Kim further teaches the display device wherein a reference voltage is applied to the additional electrode (Fig. 7, [0139]-[0140], the insulating layer 4 being directly adjacent to a grounding line 42 having ground applied).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the display device of claim 16. Zeng in the combination further teaches the display device wherein the input sensing part further comprises a guard line arranged in the peripheral area and at least partially surrounding the active area, and the additional electrode is connected to the guard line (Figs. 7, 8, 10, and 12, [0136]-[0140], where the insulating layer 4 is directly adjacent to the shielding line 41, the shielding line 41 surrounding the active area).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kim and Zeng would show the display device of claim 16. Kim further teaches the display device wherein the input sensing part further comprises: a first conductive pattern formed on the base layer (Fig. 5A, [0106]-[0108], where the first conductive layer ICL2 is on base layer IIL1); a second conductive pattern formed on the first conductive pattern (Fig. 5A, [0106]-[0108], [0118]-[0119], where ICL2 is formed on ICL1, part of the ISP comprising PE1 and PE2); and a first insulating layer arranged between the at least a portion of the pen sensing line and the additional electrode (Fig. 4, [0106], where there is a sensing dielectric layer IIL2), wherein the pen sensing line is formed of a same layer as the first conductive pattern, the additional electrode is formed of a same layer as the second conductive pattern (Figs. 4 and 5A, [0106], [0113]-[0116], where the ISP includes the sensing electrodes SE which in turn include the first electrode PE that is a pen electrode), and the first insulating layer is an inorganic insulating layer ([0110], where the sensing dielectric layer IIL2 includes an inorganic layer).
Conclusion
/PETER D MCLOONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621