DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 and 14-21 in the reply filed on 6 October 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0092005 (hereinafter “Toyoshima”), and further in view of United States Patent Number 5,470,937 (hereinafter “Okamoto”), as further evidenced by an article titled “Polycarbonates” by K Tateuchi (hereinafter “Tateuchi”).Regarding claims 1, 14 and 16-20 Toyoshima teaches a display device (multilayered article) with a capacitive touch panel 100 comprising a backlight-side polarizing plate 10, a display panel 20, a phase difference film (first layer of a film) 30 for optical compensation, a view-wide polarizing plate 40, a substrate 60, first and second conductive layers 50, 70, and a cover layer 80 (abstract, paragraph [0045], and Figure 1). Toyoshima teaches the display panel is preferably a liquid crystal display panel (paragraphs [0020], [0045] and [0048] – [0050]). Toyoshima teaches the viewing-side polarizing plate 40 includes a protective film (second layer) 41 on at least one surface of the phase difference film (first layer) 30 (Figure 1 and paragraph [0057]). Toyoshima teaches the phase difference film is preferably formed from polycarbonate (paragraph [0031]). Toyoshima does not explicitly teach specific polycarbonates for use in the phase difference film (first layer of a film) 30 for optical compensation. Okamoto teaches a phase difference compensation film formed of a polycarbonate, which can be used in a liquid crystal display and shows a decreased change in retardation caused by a temperature change at a stretch forming time due to the use of a polycarbonate having a branched structure and having a viscosity-average molecular weight of 40,000 or less (abstract). Okamoto teaches the viscosity-average molecular weight preferably ranges from 20,000 to 35,000 (column 2, lines 16-34), which overlaps/falls within the claimed ranges. Okamoto teaches the polycarbonate (polycarbonate resin (a)) is a reaction product of bisphenol A and phosgene (column 5, lines 30-45). As evidenced by Tateuchi, a polycarbonate formed by a reaction product of bisphenol A and phosgene yields the following chemical structure:
(page 363, under the “5.16.1 Introduction” heading). This chemical structure corresponds to the polycarbonate resin (a) including a constituent unit represented by formula (1), as presented in claim 14, when the claimed parameters are: X represents formula (4); n and m are each independently 0; * represents a bond; and R5 and R6 are each a 1 carbon atom alkyl group. Okamoto teaches the branching agent for imparting the polycarbonate with a branched structure includes 1,1,1-tris(4-hydroxyphenyl)ethane, and is present in an amount of 0.56 mol% (column 5, lines 35 and 60-62), which corresponds to: (1) the polycarbonate resin (a) having a branched structure represented by formula (A), as presented in claim 17, when the claimed parameters are: R is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom; o, p, and q are each independently 0; and * represents a bond; and (2) the polycarbonate resin (a) is a polycarbonate resin including 99.44 mol% of a constituent unit represented by formula (1), as presented in claim 14, which falls within the claimed range. Regarding expression (i) (from claim 1) and a flow value (Q value) (from claim 16) of the polycarbonate resin, although the prior art does not explicitly disclose: (1) the polycarbonate resin (a) satisfies the following expression (i): -0.69 < (log Y - log X)/2 < -0.41, where X is a viscosity [Pa*s] of the polycarbonate resin (a) at a shear rate of 6.080 x 10 [1/s] measured at 300°C, and Y is a viscosity [Pa*s] of the polycarbonate resin (a) at a shear rate of 6.080 x 103 [1/s] measured at 300°C; and (2) the polycarbonate resin (a) has a flow value (Q value) of 1.0 or more and 6.5 or less, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art since the Okamoto reference teaches an invention with an identical and/or substantially identical structure and/or chemical composition as the claimed invention. See MPEP §2112.01. Toyoshima and Okamoto are analogous inventions in the field of polycarbonate compositions useful in phase difference compensation films for liquid crystal displays. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the polycarbonate disclosed by Toyoshima with the polycarbonate composition of Okamoto motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of a polycarbonate composition useful in a phase difference compensation film of a liquid crystal display application.Regarding claims 10 and 11 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, the use of product-by-process limitations have been noted in claims 10 and 11, for example, "[a] thermoformed article” and “[a]n in-mold formed article,” respectfully. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process", In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, "although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product", In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP §2113.
Claims 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyoshima and Okamoto, as evidenced by Tateuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0217444 (hereinafter “Suzuki”).Regarding claims 2, 3, 5 and 7 The limitations from claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Toyoshima teaches the protective film (second layer) 41 is used to protect the polarizing plate 40 (paragraph [0151]). Toyoshima does not explicitly teach the protective film (second layer) 41 comprises: (i) a thermoplastic resin (b) comprising an acrylic resin; (ii) a thermoplastic resin (b) having a thickness of 10-100 µm; (iii) the multilayered article has a total thickness of 0.1 to 3 mm; and/or (iv) a ratio of a thickness T1 of the first layer to a thickness T2 of the second layer (T1:T2) is 1:1 to 50:1. Suzuki teaches a laminated film including a substrate film (second layer) (abstract). Suzuki teaches the substrate film preferably comprises an acrylic resin (thermoplastic resin (b)) film to be used as a protective film of a polarizing plate which is a constituent member of a liquid crystal display device (paragraphs [0004], [0039], [0040], and [0179]). Suzuki teaches a thickness of the substrate film (second layer) preferably ranges from 10-80 µm, and more preferably ranges from 15-40 µm (paragraph [0180]), which falls within the claimed range. Toyoshima and Suzuki are analogous inventions in the field of protective films for polarizing plates of a liquid crystal display device. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protective film (second layer) 41 of Toyoshima with the substrate film of Suzuki motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of a protective film of a polarizing plate useful in a liquid crystal display application. Regarding (iii) and (iv), Okamoto teaches the thickness of the phase difference compensation film (first layer) is generally 2 µm to 3 mm (column 3, lines 56-58), and Suzuki teaches a thickness of the substrate film (second layer) more preferably ranges from 15-40 µm, with a 30 µm film being used in an example of manufacturing the substrate film (second layer) (paragraphs [0180] and [0300]). These teachings correspond to: (iii) a total thickness of the claimed multilayered article (requiring the first layer and the second layer) ranging from (2 µm + 30 µm) 32 µm (0.032 mm) to (3 mm + 30 µm) 3.03 mm, which encompasses the claimed range; and (iv) a ratio of a thickness T1 of the first layer to a thickness T2 of the second layer (T1:T2) is 0.067:1 (2:30) to 100:1 (3000:30), which encompasses the claimed range.Regarding claims 4 and 6 The limitations from claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Toyoshima teaches the protective film (second layer) 41 is used to protect the polarizing plate 40 (paragraph [0151]). Toyoshima does not explicitly teach: (i) the protective film (second layer) 41 comprises a thermoplastic resin (b), and further comprises a hard coat layer on at least one surface of the phase difference film (first layer of a film) or the protective film (second layer); and/or (ii) the multilayered article has a total thickness, excluding the hard coat layer, of 0.1 to 3 mm. Suzuki teaches a laminated film including a substrate film (second layer) (abstract). Suzuki teaches the substrate film preferably comprises an acrylic resin film (thermoplastic layer (b)) to be used as a protective film of a polarizing plate which is a constituent member of a liquid crystal display device (paragraphs [0004], [0039], [0040], and [0179]). Suzuki teaches embodiments where the substrate film (second layer) has a cured layer or antistatic layer (each defined as corresponding to a hard coat layer) applied directly thereon (paragraphs [0004], [0141] and [0193] – [0209]), which corresponds to the claimed article further comprising a hard coat layer on at least one surface of the first layer or the second layer. Suzuki teaches it is widely known that the incorporation of a hard coat layer improves the scratch resistance of various articles, including an image display device such as a LCD (paragraph [0003]). Toyoshima and Suzuki are analogous inventions in the field of protective films for polarizing plates of a liquid crystal display device. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protective film (second layer) 41 of Toyoshima with the (a) substrate film and (b) hard coat of Suzuki: (a) motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of a protective film of a polarizing plate useful in a liquid crystal display application; and/or (b) to improve the scratch resistance of the film. Regarding (ii), Okamoto teaches the thickness of the phase difference compensation film (first layer) is generally 2 µm to 3 mm (column 3, lines 56-58), and Suzuki teaches a thickness of the substrate film (second layer) more preferably ranges from 15-40 µm (paragraph [0180]). These teachings correspond to a total thickness of the claimed multilayered article (requiring the first layer and the second layer, and excluding the hard coat layer) ranging from 17 µm (0.017 mm) to 3.04 mm, which encompasses the claimed range.Regarding claim 9 The limitations from claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Toyoshima teaches the protective film (second layer) 41 is used to protect the polarizing plate 40 (paragraph [0151]). Toyoshima does not explicitly teach the protective film (second layer) 41 comprises a hard coat layer. Suzuki teaches a laminated film including a substrate film (second layer) (abstract). Suzuki teaches the substrate film preferably comprises an acrylic resin film (thermoplastic layer (b)) to be used as a protective film of a polarizing plate which is a constituent member of a liquid crystal display device (paragraphs [0004], [0039], [0040], and [0179]). Suzuki teaches embodiments where the substrate film (second layer) has a cured layer or antistatic layer (each defined as corresponding to a hard coat layer) applied directly thereon (paragraphs [0004], [0141] and [0193] – [0209]), which corresponds to the claimed second layer comprises a hard coat layer. Suzuki teaches it is widely known that the incorporation of a hard coat layer improves the scratch resistance of various articles, including an image display device such as a LCD (paragraph [0003]). Toyoshima and Suzuki are analogous inventions in the field of protective films for polarizing plates of a liquid crystal display device. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protective film (second layer) 41 of Toyoshima with the (a) substrate film and (b) hard coat layer of Suzuki: (a) motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of a protective film of a polarizing plate useful in a liquid crystal display application; and (b) to improve the scratch resistance of the film.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyoshima and Okamoto, as evidenced by Tateuchi as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Suzuki, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0025484 (hereinafter “Kim”).Regarding claim 8 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Toyoshima teaches the protective film (second layer) 41 is used to protect the polarizing plate 40 (paragraph [0151]). Toyoshima does not explicitly teach the protective film (second layer) 41 comprises a thermoplastic resin (b). Suzuki teaches a laminated film including a substrate film (second layer) (abstract). Suzuki teaches the substrate film preferably comprises an acrylic resin (thermoplastic resin (b)) film to be used as a protective film of a polarizing plate which is a constituent member of a liquid crystal display device (paragraphs [0004], [0039], [0040], and [0179]). Toyoshima and Suzuki are analogous inventions in the field of protective films for polarizing plates of a liquid crystal display device. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protective film (second layer) 41 of Toyoshima with the substrate film of Suzuki motivated by the expectation of successfully practicing the invention of a protective film of a polarizing plate useful in a liquid crystal display application. The combination of Toyoshima and Suzuki does not explicitly teach a print layer on at least one surface of the protective film (second layer). Kim teaches a polarizing plate comprising a polarizer, a polarizer protective film (second layer) disposed on at least one surface of the polarizer, an adhesive layer, and a print layer interposed between the polarizer and the polarizer protective film (print layer on at least one surface of the second layer) (abstract). Kim teaches the print layer prevents elements in a non-display region from being viewed from the outside (paragraph [0008]). Toyoshima, Suzuki and Kim are analogous inventions in the field of polarizing plate stack configurations of a liquid crystal display device. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the surface of the protective film (second layer) 41 from the combination of Toyoshima and Suzuki with the print layer of Kim to prevent elements in a non-display region from being viewable from the outside.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyoshima and Okamoto, as evidenced by Tateuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0044352 (hereinafter “Yamamoto”).Regarding claims 10 and 11 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, the combination of Toyoshima and Okamoto does not explicitly teach a thermoformed or in-mold formed article comprising the multilayered article of claim 1. Yamamoto teaches a polarizing optical composite comprising a polarizing plate holding a polarizer sheet layer between two protective sheet layers (abstract). Yamamoto teaches the polarizing plate is formed by laminating protective sheet layers on either side of the polarizer sheet layer, a film is stuck to one side of the polarizing plate, and by injection molding the same material as the film by an in-mold treatment, the film is integrated with the polarizing plate (paragraphs [0023] – [0027]). Yamamoto teaches the product may be used as a polarizing plate of a liquid crystal display plate, where the incorporation of the polarizing plate to a cover of the window of the display can be integrally molded together, whereby the occurrence of an interference pattern caused from an air layer formed between the polarizing plate and the cover can be prevented (paragraph [0112]), which corresponds to a thermoformed or in-mold formed article comprising the multilayered article of claim 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the polarizing plate of Toyoshima with the integrally molded process disclosed by Yamamoto to prevent the formation of an air layer between adjacent components resulting in an interference pattern.
Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyoshima and Okamoto, as evidenced by Tateuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0185959 (hereinafter “Kwon”).Regarding claims 15 and 21 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Okamoto does not explicitly teach the polycarbonate resin (a): (i) includes two or more types of polycarbonate resins having different viscosity average molecular weights; or (ii) comprises a first polycarbonate resin having a first viscosity average molecular weight, and a second polycarbonate resin having a second viscosity average molecular weight, wherein the first viscosity average molecular weight and the second viscosity average molecular weight differ by 20,000 or more. Kwon teaches a thermoplastic resin composition comprising polycarbonate (abstract). Kwon teaches the polycarbonate can include a mixture of at least two polycarbonate resins having different weight average molecular weights (different viscosity average molecular weights) (polycarbonate resin (a) comprising a first polycarbonate resin having a first viscosity average molecular weight, and a second polycarbonate resin having a second viscosity average molecular weight, wherein the first viscosity average molecular weight and the second viscosity average molecular weight differ) in order to improve flowability of the resin composition (paragraph [0039]). Kwon teaches the polycarbonate resin may include any typical polycarbonate resin, such as phosgene reacted with a diphenol, such as bisphenol A (paragraphs [0032] and [0036]). Okamoto and Kwon are analogous inventions in the field of polycarbonate resin compositions. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify the polycarbonate resin of Okamoto with the mixture of at least two polycarbonate resins having different weight average molecular weights (different viscosity average molecular weights) of Kwon to improve flowability of the resin composition. The combination of Okamoto and Kwon does not explicitly teach the first viscosity average molecular weight and the second viscosity average molecular weight differ by 20,000 or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine appropriate weight average molecular weight (viscosity average molecular weight) values for the different polycarbonate resins in the aforementioned mixture, and a difference thereof, using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve the desired improvement to the flowability of the resin composition. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783