DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply on 01/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this Office action, and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a platform” in line 1. It is unclear whether the claimed “a platform” is identical to or a different feature from the claimed “a platform” in claim 2. For the purpose of office action, the recitation will be treated as if it recites “the platform”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites “the passivation layer” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this office action, the recitation will be treated as if it recites “the back surface passivation layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites “the back surface passivation layer” in line 7. It is unclear which antecedent basis Applicant intends for the term “the back surface passivation layer”. Specifically, it is unclear whether this term refers to “a back surface passivation layer” recited in line 2 or to “a back surface passivation layer” recited in line 6. For the purpose of office action, the recitation will be treated as if it refers to “a back surface passivation layer” recited in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the multiple “the doped layer” in line 8. It is unclear which antecedent basis Applicant intends for the term “the doped layer”. Specifically, it is unclear whether this term refers to “a doped layer” recited in line 2 or to “a doped layer” recited in line 6. For the purpose of office action, the recitation will be treated as if it refers to “a doped layer” recited in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites “the passivation layer” in lines 8-9. It is unclear which antecedent basis Applicant intends for the term “the passivation layer”. Specifically, it is unclear whether this term refers to “a back surface passivation layer” recited in line 2 or to “a back surface passivation layer” recited in line 6. For the purpose of office action, the recitation will be treated as if it refers to “a back surface passivation layer” recited in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHANG (CN 115588698 A, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a back contact solar cell (see the back contact solar cell in Fig. 1), comprising:
a silicon substrate (see the silicon substrate 1), having a first surface (see the top surface of the silicon substrate 1), wherein the first surface comprises a first conductive region, a second conductive region, and an insulation region located between the first conductive region and the second conductive region (The top surface of the silicon substrate 1 comprises the first conductive region, the second conductive region, and the insulation region located between the first conductive region and the second conductive region, see Fig. 1 attached below), wherein the first surface is provided with a groove (see the groove in Fig. 1 attached below), wherein the second conductive region corresponds to a bottom of the groove that has a textured structure (The second conductive region corresponds to the bottom of the groove that has the textured structure, see Fig. 1 attached below), and wherein the insulation region corresponds to a side surface of the groove (The insulation region corresponds to the side surface of the groove, see Fig. 1 attached below);
a first transport layer (see the first conductive semiconductor layer 22) located on the first conductive region (see Fig. 1 attached below); and
a second transport layer (see the second conductive semiconductor layer 72) located on the second conductive region (see Fig. 1 attached below), wherein the second transport layer extends from the second conductive region through the insulation region to the first conductive region, and partially covers the first transport layer (see Fig. 1 attached below), wherein a thickness of a first portion (see the thickness of the first portion) of the second transport layer located on the insulation region is greater than a thickness of a second portion (see the thickness of the second portion) of the second transport layer located on the second conductive region (The thickness of the first portion of the second conductive semiconductor layer 72 located on the insulation region is greater than the thickness of the second portion of the second conductive semiconductor layer 72 located on the second conductive region) (see Fig. 1 attached below).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
ZHANG teaches the insulation region further comprises a platform (see the platform in Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1) located between the first conductive region and the groove (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
ZHANG teaches the platform has a polished structure (Regarding the recitation “polished”, the recitation is directed to the method of making a product and it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims [R-9]. See also In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Only “the structure(s)” is(are) given patentable weight. Since the claim does not further require a particular shape of structure, the flat structure of the platform is considered to meet the claimed “polished structure” (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1)).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
ZHANG teaches the first conductive region is parallel to the platform (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
ZHANG teaches the side surface of the groove is inclined relative to the platform (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1), and a cross-sectional area of the groove decreases along a direction from an opening of the groove to the bottom of the groove (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
ZHANG teaches a portion of the side surface of the groove proximate to the first conductive region has a polished surface structure (Regarding the recitation “polished”, the recitation is directed to the method of making a product and it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims [R-9]. See also In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Only “the structure(s)” is(are) given patentable weight. Since the claim does not further require a particular shape of structure, the flat structure of a portion of the side surface of the groove is considered to meet the claimed “polished furface structure” (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1)).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 6.
ZHANG teaches the side surface of the groove and the silicon substrate form an acute angle (see the acute angle between the side surface of the groove and the silicon substrate; see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 115588698 A, see English Machine Translation) as applied to claims 2.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Regarding the claimed “wherein a thickness of the second transport layer located on the platform is greater than a thickness of the second transport layer located on the side surface of the groove”, ZHANG disclose the second semiconductor layer may be formed by PECVD [n0127]. One of the ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the film thickness formed by PECVD may be varied based on the angle of the surface from the PECVD source. It would have been obvious to choose the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the platform which is greater than the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the side surface of the groove from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for choosing the thickness; the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the platform which is greater than the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the side surface of the groove, the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the platform which is the same as the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the side surface of the groove, or the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the platform which is smaller than the thickness of the second conductive semiconductor layer located on the side surface of the groove. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale E, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Regarding the claimed “wherein a length of a platform on two sides of the groove along an extension direction of the groove is less than or equal to 10 microns”, ZHANG discloses that the area for the first electrode 10 on the first conductive region is approximately the same area for the second electrode 11 on the second conductive region (see Fig. 1 attached in the rejection of claim 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that when the length of a platform is too long, the area for the first electrode decreases. As the area for the first electrode is variable that can be modified by adjusting the length of the platform, the precise length would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed length cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the length of the platform in ZHANG to obtain the proper area for the first electrode (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (WO 2023050824 A1, see US publication US 20240395960 A1 as an English translation of WO 2023050824 A1 since US 20240395960 A1 corresponds to the application that was the national stage entry of WO 2023050824 A1) in view of ZHANG (CN 115588698 A, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 12, regarding the claimed limitations required by claim 1 on which claim 12 depends, LI teaches a back contact solar cell (see the back contact solar cell in Fig. 7), comprising:
a silicon substrate (see the silicon substrate 10; [0057] The material of the substrate 10 may be selected from the materials such as silicon (Si)), having a first surface (see the top surface of the silicon substrate 10), wherein the first surface comprises a first conductive region, a second conductive region, and an insulation region located between the first conductive region and the second conductive region (The top surface of the silicon substrate 10 comprises the first conductive region, the second conductive region, and the insulation region located between the first conductive region and the second conductive region, see Fig. 7 attached below), wherein the first surface is provided with a groove (see the groove in Fig. 7 attached below), wherein the second conductive region corresponds to a bottom of the groove that has a textured structure (The second conductive region corresponds to the bottom of the groove, see Fig. 1 attached below; Regarding the claimed “a textured structure”, LI does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, ZHANG discloses a back contact solar cell, wherein referring to Fig. 1, the region on the first surface corresponding to the position except the gap in the first portion of the second semiconductor layer (corresponding to the claimed “the second conductive region”) has a textured structure, so that the anti-reflection and light absorption effects can be improved [n0094]. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the textured structure in the second conductive region in LI as taught by ZHANG, because the textured structure provides the anti-reflection and light absorption effects), and wherein the insulation region corresponds to a side surface of the groove (The insulation region corresponds to the side surface of the groove, see Fig. 7 attached below);
a first transport layer (see the first interface passivation layer 14 & the first doping layer 11) located on the first conductive region (see Fig. 7 attached below); and
a second transport layer (see the interface passivation film layer 15 & the doping film layer 12) located on the second conductive region (see Fig. 7 attached below), wherein the second transport layer extends from the second conductive region through the insulation region to the first conductive region, and partially covers the first transport layer (see Fig. 7 attached below), wherein a thickness of a first portion (see the thickness of the first portion) of the second transport layer located on the insulation region is greater than a thickness of a second portion (see the thickness of the second portion) of the second transport layer located on the second conductive region (The thickness of the first portion of the interface passivation film layer 15 & the doping film layer 12 located on the insulation region is greater than the thickness of the second portion of the interface passivation film layer 15 & the doping film layer 12 located on the second conductive region) (see Fig. 7 attached below).
And, LI teaches the first transport layer comprises a back surface passivation layer (see the first interface passivation layer 14) and a doped layer (see the first doping layer 11) stacked in sequence (see Fig. 7 attached above), wherein the back surface passivation layer is closer to the silicon substrate than the doped layer (see Fig. 7 attached above), the doped layer comprises doped polysilicon ([0059] the first doping layer may be polycrystalline and the materials of the first doping layer can be silicon (Si)), and the passivation layer comprises tunneling silicon oxide ([0075] the materials of the materials of the first interface passivation layer, the second interface passivation layer and the third interface passivation layer can be silicon oxide, which has tunneling property); and the second transport layer comprises a back surface passivation layer (see the interface passivation film layer 15) and a doped layer (see the doping film layer 12) stacked in sequence (see Fig. 7 attached above), wherein the back surface passivation layer is closer to the silicon substrate than the doped layer (see Fig. 7 attached above), the doped layer comprises doped microcrystalline silicon ([0059] the second doping layer may be microcrystalline and the materials of the second doping layer can be silicon (Si)), and the passivation layer comprises intrinsic amorphous silicon ([0075] the materials of the first interface passivation layer, the second interface passivation layer and the third interface passivation layer can be hydrogenated amorphous silicon, which is intrinsic).
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728