DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51, 55, 71-75, 77-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al (US 20230131188 A1) in view of Molavianjazi et al (US 20220191940 A1).
`Regarding claims 51, 55, 71, 72, 73, Hu et al discloses an apparatus for communication (fig. 3), comprising: at least one processor (the terminal device 120 includes a processor and a memory; paragraph 0009); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: obtain (obtain a message ; the network device transmits a contention resolution message, i.e., Msg 4, to the terminal device ; paragraph 0093) from a serving cell (the terminal can decode and obtain a Timing Advance Command; the UE may perform random access initialization and select a random access resource; in addition, the network device transmits a random access response to the terminal device; paragraph 0066-0067, 0085), a physical downlink control channel order instructing the apparatus to trigger a random access procedure (the UE may perform random access initialization and select a random access resource to initiate a random access procedure; the network device transmits a Random Access Response , i.e., Msg 2, to the terminal device; paragraph 0066, 0082; furthermore, the first indication information is used to instruct the terminal device to skip monitoring of the physical downlink control channel PDCCH; and determines, by the terminal device, whether to skip monitoring of PDCCH based on the first instruction information ; see paragraph 0007, 0015, 0082-0083) to a lower layer mobility candidate cell, the PDCCH order indicating a random access preamble resource (the terminal device transmits a random access preamble (or Msg 1) to the network device; note that the random access preamble may also be referred to as a preamble, a preamble sequence, a random access preamble sequence ; paragraph 0079-0080), the random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response (read as: the message can indicate a random access resource or receive a random access response; the network can instruct the terminal device to skip PDCCH monitoring for a period of time by transmitting dynamic signaling; receiving a random access response within the random access response window during the triggered random access procedure; in addition, the UE monitors the PDCCH during DRX active time; when the terminal device receives a PDCCH skipping instruction from the network device, the terminal device shall follow the PDCCH skipping instruction and skip monitoring of the PDCCH during the following PDCCH skipping duration, even if the UE is in the DRX active time in the PDCCH skipping duration; see paragraph 0007, 0015; paragraph 0140-0141; furthermore, the first information may include a message A (i.e., MsgA) in a two-step contention-based random access procedure; the MsgA includes a preamble sequence (i.e., Msg1) and a unique identification corresponding to the terminal device, e.g., C-RNTI; when the network device receives the MsgA, it can identify the terminal device based on the unique identification of the terminal device, so as to know the scheduling requirement of the terminal device ; see paragraph 0157-0162; it means that the message may indicate a first RA preamble resource from the first of random access preambles to indicate to the UE that the UE is to monitor or receive a random access response within a random access response window during the triggered random access procedure; paragraph 0157-0162).
However, Molavianjazi et al, does not specifically disclose the features of a random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure ; and determine not to monitor the RAR within the RAR window based on the PDCCH order.
On the other hand, Molavianjazi et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure (the UE receives an indication to monitor the DCI; the UE monitors random access response for the triggered RA procedure ; furthermore, the UE monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a first random access response (RAR) in a first configured time window after a first PRACH transmission for a first RA procedure, and also monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a second RAR in a second configured time window after a second PRACH transmission for a second RA procedure; paragraph 0094); and determine not to monitor the RAR within the RAR window (the UE determines a first SSB index and a second SSB index; the UE monitors PDCCH and receives the first RAR on the first panel; in addition, the message may indicate a RA preamble identifier or RA preamble index that includes a field for not monitoring a random access response within the RA response window during the triggered random access procedure ; paragraph 0145-0146, 0148, 0195) based on the PDCCH order (a UE determination of the first and second SSB indices can be based on UE detection of the corresponding SSBs, such as with SSB RSRP above a threshold, or can be based on gNB indication to the UE about the corresponding SSBs, such as using a PDCCH order; paragraph 0195-0196). Note that the UE may receive an indication from a serving gNB of a panel for reception of Msg2/RAR or Msg4; for example, a DCI format scheduling a Msg4 reception can provide a field that indicates a reception panel for Msg4 PDSCH (paragraph 0398). The UE can determine a received RAR correspond to a first PRACH/RA procedure or to a second PRACH/RA procedure using an RA-RNTI that is used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling the RAR (paragraph 0372). For instance, a first RA procedure can be initiated by UE higher layers such as L2/L3 and a second RA procedure can be concurrently initiated by gNB signaling such as PDCCH order. The two or multiple concurrent RA procedures can be associated with a single PRACH trigger or can be associated with different PRACH triggers (paragraph 0079, 0085-0086). In addition, multiple concurrent RA procedures enable a UE to acquire panel-specific timing advance values to use for subsequent UL transmissions (paragraph 0082, 0115). For a UE with multiple concurrent RA procedures, the UE monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a first random access response (RAR) in a first configured time window after a first PRACH transmission for a first RA procedure, and also monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a second RAR in a second configured time window after a second PRACH transmission for a second RA procedure (paragraph 0093-0094). After MSG1 transmission, the UE monitors for a response from the network within a configured window. For CFRA, dedicated preamble for MSG1 transmission is assigned by the network and upon receiving random access response from the network, the UE ends the random access procedure (paragraph 0136-0137). Note that the UE determines a first SSB index and a second SSB index. For example, the UE can detect the first SSB using the first panel and detect the second SSB using the second panel (paragraph 0301-0303). In other words, a UE has at most one ongoing RA procedure at a given time in a MAC entity. PRACH initiation on a PCell can be by RRC, MAC entity, or PDCCH order; PRACH initiation on a SCell can by a PDCCH order. Furthermore, a random access procedure (for PCell) can be triggered by a number of events such as: Initial access to establish RRC connection (from RRC_IDLE to RC_CONNECTED).fwdarw.contention based random access (CBRA); RRC Connection Re-establishment procedure (paragraph 0125-0126, 0140-0141). In addition, the MAC entity may stop ra-Response Window (and hence monitoring for Random Access Response after successful reception of a Random Access Response containing Random Access Preamble identifiers that matches the transmitted PREAMBLE_INDEX for a UE without capability (paragraph 0310, 0326). It is shown above that Molavianjazi et al, discloses the features of a random access preamble resource indicated by the PDCCH order which implicitly indicates to the apparatus that the apparatus need not monitor the RAR within the RAR window. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Molavianjazi to the communication system of Hu in order to provide a method for adapting physical downlink control channel monitoring behaviors.
applying PDCCH skipping and search space set group switching .
Regarding claim 74, Hu et al as modified discloses an apparatus for communication (fig. 3), wherein the apparatus receives a timing advance, TA, value outside of the triggered random access procedure (the RAR is successfully received, and the terminal can decode and obtain a Timing Advance Command, an uplink grant resource and a Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity for transmission of the Msg 3; paragraph 0085, 0243).
Regarding claim 75, Hu et al as modified discloses an apparatus for communication (fig. 3), wherein the apparatus receives the TA value from the serving cell (monitoring and receiving a TA value from each of the candidate target cells; the terminal device determines whether to skip monitoring the PDCCH based on the first indication information ; monitor the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI within the receiving window of the random access response ; paragraph 0082, 0085-0086).
Regarding claims 77, 78, 79, 80, 83, 84 Hu et al discloses a method executed by an apparatus (fig. 3), comprising: obtaining (obtain a message ; the network device transmits a contention resolution message, i.e., Msg 4, to the terminal device ; paragraph 0093), from a serving cell (the terminal can decode and obtain a Timing Advance Command; the UE may perform random access initialization and select a random access resource; in addition, the network device transmits a random access response to the terminal device; paragraph 0066-0067, 0085), a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order instructing the apparatus to trigger a random access, RA, procedure (the UE may perform random access initialization and select a random access resource to initiate a random access procedure; the network device transmits a Random Access Response , i.e., Msg 2, to the terminal device; paragraph 0066, 0082; furthermore, the first indication information is used to instruct the terminal device to skip monitoring of the physical downlink control channel PDCCH; and determines, by the terminal device, whether to skip monitoring of PDCCH based on the first instruction information ; see paragraph 0007, 0015, 0082-0083), to a lower layer mobility candidate cell, the PDCCH order indicating a random access preamble resource, the random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response (the terminal device transmits a random access preamble (or Msg 1) to the network device; note that the random access preamble may also be referred to as a preamble, a preamble sequence, a random access preamble sequence ; paragraph 0079-0080), the random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure (read as: the message can indicate a random access resource or receive a random access response; the network can instruct the terminal device to skip PDCCH monitoring for a period of time by transmitting dynamic signaling; receiving a random access response within the random access response window during the triggered random access procedure; in addition, the UE monitors the PDCCH during DRX active time; when the terminal device receives a PDCCH skipping instruction from the network device, the terminal device shall follow the PDCCH skipping instruction and skip monitoring of the PDCCH during the following PDCCH skipping duration, even if the UE is in the DRX active time in the PDCCH skipping duration; see paragraph 0007, 0015; paragraph 0140-0141; furthermore, the first information may include a message A (i.e., MsgA) in a two-step contention-based random access procedure; the MsgA includes a preamble sequence (i.e., Msg1) and a unique identification corresponding to the terminal device, e.g., C-RNTI; when the network device receives the MsgA, it can identify the terminal device based on the unique identification of the terminal device, so as to know the scheduling requirement of the terminal device ; see paragraph 0157-0162; it means that the message may indicate a first RA preamble resource from the first of random access preambles to indicate to the UE that the UE is to monitor or receive a random access response within a random access response window during the triggered random access procedure; paragraph 0157-0162).
However, Molavianjazi et al, does not specifically disclose the features of a random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure, determining not to monitor the RAR within the RAR window based on the PDCCH order.
On the other hand, Molavianjazi et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of random access preamble resource implicitly indicating that the apparatus is not to monitor a random access response within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure (the UE receives an indication to monitor the DCI; the UE monitors random access response for the triggered RA procedure ; furthermore, the UE monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a first random access response (RAR) in a first configured time window after a first PRACH transmission for a first RA procedure, and also monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a second RAR in a second configured time window after a second PRACH transmission for a second RA procedure; paragraph 0094); and determine not to monitor the RAR within the RAR window (the UE determines a first SSB index and a second SSB index; the UE monitors PDCCH and receives the first RAR on the first panel; in addition, the message may indicate a RA preamble identifier or RA preamble index that includes a field for not monitoring a random access response within the RA response window during the triggered random access procedure ; paragraph 0145-0146, 0148, 0195) based on the PDCCH order (a UE determination of the first and second SSB indices can be based on UE detection of the corresponding SSBs, such as with SSB RSRP above a threshold, or can be based on gNB indication to the UE about the corresponding SSBs, such as using a PDCCH order; paragraph 0195-0196). Note that the UE may receive an indication from a serving gNB of a panel for reception of Msg2/RAR or Msg4; for example, a DCI format scheduling a Msg4 reception can provide a field that indicates a reception panel for Msg4 PDSCH (paragraph 0398). The UE can determine a received RAR correspond to a first PRACH/RA procedure or to a second PRACH/RA procedure using an RA-RNTI that is used for scrambling a CRC of a DCI format scheduling the RAR (paragraph 0372). For instance, a first RA procedure can be initiated by UE higher layers such as L2/L3 and a second RA procedure can be concurrently initiated by gNB signaling such as PDCCH order. The two or multiple concurrent RA procedures can be associated with a single PRACH trigger or can be associated with different PRACH triggers (paragraph 0079, 0085-0086). In addition, multiple concurrent RA procedures enable a UE to acquire panel-specific timing advance values to use for subsequent UL transmissions (paragraph 0082, 0115). For a UE with multiple concurrent RA procedures, the UE monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a first random access response (RAR) in a first configured time window after a first PRACH transmission for a first RA procedure, and also monitors PDCCH for scheduling of a second RAR in a second configured time window after a second PRACH transmission for a second RA procedure (paragraph 0093-0094). After MSG1 transmission, the UE monitors for a response from the network within a configured window. For CFRA, dedicated preamble for MSG1 transmission is assigned by the network and upon receiving random access response from the network, the UE ends the random access procedure (paragraph 0136-0137). Note that the UE determines a first SSB index and a second SSB index. For example, the UE can detect the first SSB using the first panel and detect the second SSB using the second panel (paragraph 0301-0303). In other words, a UE has at most one ongoing RA procedure at a given time in a MAC entity. PRACH initiation on a PCell can be by RRC, MAC entity, or PDCCH order; PRACH initiation on a SCell can by a PDCCH order. Furthermore, a random access procedure (for PCell) can be triggered by a number of events such as: Initial access to establish RRC connection (from RRC_IDLE to RC_CONNECTED).fwdarw.contention based random access (CBRA); RRC Connection Re-establishment procedure (paragraph 0125-0126, 0140-0141). In addition, the MAC entity may stop ra-Response Window (and hence monitoring for Random Access Response after successful reception of a Random Access Response containing Random Access Preamble identifiers that matches the transmitted PREAMBLE_INDEX for a UE without capability (paragraph 0310, 0326). It is shown above that Molavianjazi et al, discloses the features of a random access preamble resource indicated by the PDCCH order which implicitly indicates to the apparatus that the apparatus need not monitor the RAR within the RAR window. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Molavianjazi to the communication system of Hu in order to provide a method for adapting physical downlink control channel monitoring behaviors.
Regarding claim 81, Hu et al as modified discloses a method executed by an apparatus (fig. 3), further comprising receiving a timing advance, TA, value outside of the triggered random access procedure (the RAR is successfully received, and the terminal can decode and obtain a Timing Advance Command, an uplink grant resource and a Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity for transmission of the Msg 3; paragraph 0085, 0243).
Regarding claim 82, Hu et al as modified discloses a method executed by an apparatus (fig. 3), wherein the TA value is received from the serving cell (monitoring and receiving a TA value from each of the candidate target cells; the terminal device determines whether to skip monitoring the PDCCH based on the first indication information ; monitor the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI within the receiving window of the random access response ; paragraph 0082, 0085-0086).
Claim 76 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al (US 20230131188 A1) in view of Molavianjazi et al (US 20220191940 A1) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Niu et al (US 20220312463 A1).
Regarding claim 76, Hu and Molavianjazi disclose everything claimed as explained above, except the features of a second list of random access preamble resources are associated with not monitoring a RAR within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure ; and wherein the PDCCH order indicates a random access preamble resource from the second list of random access preamble resources to implicitly indicate that the apparatus is not to monitor a RAR within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure (
However, Niu et al discloses the features of a second list of random access preamble resources are associated with not monitoring a RAR within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure (a PDCCH indicates a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble; UE monitoring behavior implementing a skipping downlink control indicator during a long discontinuous reception cycle 100, where the skipping DCI allows the UE to not monitor certain periods of the long DRX cycle 100; paragraph 0039-0040, 0047); and wherein the PDCCH order indicates a random access preamble resource from the second list of random access preamble resources (a network node and a UE use PDCCH skipping to change PDCCH monitoring behavior, where the PDCCH monitoring behavior may be indicated in a downlink control indicator ; in addition, the UE may receive a DCI, where the DCI may indicate to the UE to implement skipping in the monitoring behavior of the UE; paragraph 0036, 0040-0041, 0047) to implicitly indicate that the apparatus is not to monitor a RAR within a RAR window during the triggered random access procedure (a PDCCH indicates a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble; furthermore, a scheduling DCI may provide a timeline to apply the skipping after receiving a DCI indicating skipping; for instance, the network node may send the DCI with skipping indication together with a last transmission block for downlink/uplink transmission; paragraph 0047-0051). Note that a UE PDCCH monitoring behavior changes based on a DCI with PDCCH monitor pattern indication, where the UE may support search space/coreset change together with band width part switching (paragraph 0091-0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Niu to the modified system of Hu and Molavianjazi in order to provide a method for applying PDCCH skipping and search space set group switching for the purpose of improving flexibility of random access preamble transmission.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 51, 55, 71-84 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641