Interpretation according to 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for providing a first signal to a remote receiver on a conductor” in Claim 8;
“means for receiving a control signal from the remote receiver on the conductor, wherein the control signal is a bias voltage on the conductor” in Claim 8;
“means for providing a second signal on the conductor in response to receiving the control signal” in Claim 8.
Claim Rejections – US U.S.C. 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8, all the “means” can be interpreted as software component. They fail to provide physical structural element to constitute the apparatus as claimed.
Claims 9-14 are vague by virtue of their dependency on Claim 8.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (2021/0195436).
Regarding Claim 1, Hong et al. (2021/0195436) discloses a method of receiving radio frequency signals with a remote antenna module, comprising:
providing a first signal (bus 244 is bidirectional and multiple) (paragraph [0043], fig. 2) to a remote receiver (transceiver 202 may include one receiver and one transmitter, paragraph [0046], fig. 2);
receiving a control signal (244) (paragraph [0043], fig. 2) from the remote receiver (202);
providing a second signal (244) (paragraph [0043], fig. 2) in response to receiving the control signal (paragraphs [0044] to [0046]).
As discussed above, Hong essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose bias voltage.
However, since the circuit inside a handheld device UE104 comprises digital circuit and analog components, voltage running inside must be kept low. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided bias voltage (steady DC voltage) to communicate and supply the circuit components inside the handheld device in order to prevent the electrical components from blowing up or overheating since AC is very high voltage and AC cannot be run inside a digital circuit.
As discussed above, Hong essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose providing voltage on a conductor.
However, Hong teaches coaxial cable as conductor to transmit voltages in a remote source (paragraph [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided coaxial cable as conductor to transmit voltages in order to reduce latency and obtain signal stability as taught by Hong.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, Hong discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the control signal is configured to vary a state of a low noise amplifier (LNA 290) (fig. 2), and wherein the first signal is based on a first state (on/off state of switch 292) of the low noise amplifier and the second signal is based on a second state (off/on state of switch 292, fig. 2) of the low noise amplifier (to control minimum and maximum gain values as first and second states) (paragraph [0048]).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 3, Hong discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the control signal is configured to vary a state of a variable tuning element (turned to operate at specified frequencies), and wherein the first signal is based on a first state (at one specified frequency) of the variable tuning element and the second signal is based on a second state (at another specified frequency) of the variable tuning element (paragraph [0051]).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 4, Hong discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the control signal is configured to vary a state of a radio frequency filter, and wherein the first signal is based on a first state (on/off state of switch 292) of the radio frequency filter and the second signal is based on a second state (off/on state of switch 292, fig. 2) of the radio frequency filter (296).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 5, Hong discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the control signal is configured to vary a beam angle of an antenna array, and wherein the first signal is based on a first beam angle (first serving beams) and the second signal is based on a second beam angle (second serving beams) (paragraph [0061]).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 6, Hong discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the control signal is configured to vary a physical orientation of an antenna, and wherein the first signal is based on a first physical orientation (based on orientation and placements of the RX beams) and the second signal is based on a second physical orientation (another orientation and placements of the RX beams) (paragraphs [0068], [0073]).
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7, as discussed above, Hong essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising providing feedback information on the conductor.
However, Hong teaches coaxial cable as conductor to transmit voltages in a remote source (paragraph [0100]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided coaxial cable as conductor to transmit voltages in order to reduce latency and obtain signal stability as taught by Hong.
Claim 14 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845