DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0256090 to Huppi; in view of US 2022/0058355 to Yoshida.
As per claim 1, Huppi teaches a button structure of projected capacitive touch panel disposed on a touch screen, comprising:
a button body (Figs. 1 and 3, 20) disposed on the touch screen (Fig. 3, 12);
a capacitive touch sheet (Fig. 3, 70) disposed on the touch screen and positioned inside the button body (Fig. 3, 34);
a conductive pad (Fig. 3, 34, paragraph 70-71, “the contact pads 34, 44, 54 and 64 may be embodied as a conductive element … the bottom surface of the contact pads 34, 44, 54 and 64 may be configured with a pliable or wear resistant material and/or have shapes that reduce wear on the touch sensitive surface 14 when the contact pad engages the surface.”) disposed inside the button body, wherein the conductive pad comprises a contact portion which can contact the capacitive touch sheet (Fig. 3, pad 34 accommodates electrode 70); and
a button cap comprising a connecting body (Fig. 3, plug 30) and a cover body (Fig. 3, cap 32), wherein the connecting body is disposed on the conductive pad, and wherein the cover body protrudes out of the button body (Fig. 3, cover body 32 protrudes out of button body 20);
wherein the contact portion (Fig. 3, portion of 34 in contact with 70) contacts the capacitive touch sheet (Fig. 3, 70) when the button cap is pressed down, and wherein the conductive pad and the capacitive touch sheet are conducted to generate an input signal to the touch screen.
Huppi does not teach the conductive pad made out of rubber.
Yoshida suggests the conductive pad made out of rubber (Fig. 2(D), paragraph 194, “a movable contact 254 made of conductive rubber having elasticity is provided to absorb the contact interval variations of the portion where the lower side fixed contacts 614 on the circuit board”; Fig. 94, paragraph 628, “an electrically conductive spring 257 is sandwiched between the first stage electrode connection terminal 631 of the second circuit board 630 and the lower side movable contact unit 251 instead of the movable contact 256 made of conductive rubber”, in other words, an elastic material, which may be conductive rubber, is used to make electrical contact with an input surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Huppi, so that the conductive pad is made out of rubber, such as taught by Yoshida, for the purpose of ensuring proper contact with the input receiving surface.
As per claim 2, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 1, wherein a top of the button body (Huppi, Figs. 1 and 3, top of 20) comprises an accommodation space, and wherein a top of the conductive rubber is positioned in the accommodation space (Yoshida, Fig. 2D, conductive rubber 254 extends upwards towards an accommodation space) when the conductive rubber is in a stretched state.
As per claim 3, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 2, wherein when the contact portion (Huppi, Fig. 3, portion of 34 in contact with 70) contacts the capacitive touch sheet (paragraph 70, “the touch input device 12 is a capacitive sensing device”), the connecting body protrudes downward out of the accommodation space, and the top of the button body (Huppi, Figs. 1 and 3, 20) is accommodated in the cover body (Fig. 3, cap 32).
As per claim 4, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 2, wherein a portion of the connecting body (Huppi, Fig. 3, a portion of plug 30) protrudes out of the accommodating space when the conductive rubber is in the stretched state.
As per claim 5, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 1, wherein a slide rail structure (Huppi, Fig. 3, sidewall structure formed in 20 and accommodating the cap) is disposed between the button cap (Huppi, Fig. 3, cap 32) and the button body (Huppi, Figs. 1 and 3, 20), and wherein the button cap moves up and down along the slide rail structure (Huppi, paragraph 50, “the mechanical actuators 18 may correspond to mechanical sliders 18A that slide relative to the base 20, dials 18B that rotate relative to the base 20, buttons 18C that translate up and down relative to the base 20 or switches pivot or toggle relative to the base 20”).
As per claim 6, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 5, wherein the slide rail structure comprises at least one track (Huppi, vertical sidewalls of 20 accommodating cap 32 and plug 20) and at least one main body (Huppi, horizontal part of 20 accommodating cap 32), and wherein the track and the main body are arranged on the connecting body (Huppi, Fig. 3, plug 30) and in an accommodating space on the top portion of the button body (Huppi, Figs. 1 and 3, 20), respectively.
As per claim 7, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 1, further comprising a rubber mounting portion (Yoshida, Fig. 2D, portion below conductive rubber 254 configured to contact an input detection surface) disposed on the touch screen and surrounding the capacitive touch sheet, wherein a bottom portion of the conductive rubber is disposed on the rubber mounting portion.
As per claim 8, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 1, wherein the conductive rubber is squeezed to form a compression protrusion to contact a compression contact portion on an inner wall of the button body (Yoshida, rubber 254 has elasticity and is immediately adjacent to housing sidewalls; Huppi, Fig. 3, pad 34 configured as elastic rubber, would contact the corner of the inner wall of body 20 if/when compressed) when the contact portion contacts the capacitive touch sheet.
As per claim 9, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 1, wherein the conductive rubber comprises a stretched edge portion in a stretched state to contact a stretched contact portion on an inner wall of the button body (Yoshida, rubber 254 has elasticity and is immediately adjacent to housing sidewalls; Huppi, Fig. 3, pad 34 configured as elastic rubber, would contact the corner of the inner wall of body 20 if/when compressed).
As per claim 10, Huppi and Yoshida teach the button structure of projected capacitive touch panel of claim 1, wherein the button body is a hollow semi-conical structure (Figs. 1 and 3, circular section of 20 accommodating plunger 30 and cap 32), and wherein the conductive rubber is disposed on a bottom portion of the button body, and wherein the bottom portion of the button body surrounds the capacitive touch sheet and contacts the touch screen (Huppi, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/JOSE R SOTO LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622